Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 14, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 252 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
33
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DudesweetMar 10, 2016
I am a huge Beatles fan I have the say, Excellent Soundtrack. The music fits the film to a tee. I grew up in the 60's and remember a lot of the themed scenes in the film .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JB_BeesMar 1, 2014
I'm late to the party, but this was straight up dong. The only redeeming quality about it was the music. I pledge no contest to how awesome the covers were. But when you take away the music, what we have here is a disorganized and sappy loveI'm late to the party, but this was straight up dong. The only redeeming quality about it was the music. I pledge no contest to how awesome the covers were. But when you take away the music, what we have here is a disorganized and sappy love story about an elated English boy who comes to America, falls in love with a shallow, superficial girl because of her looks. The plot requires they become a couple but it turns out they are not compatible at all. Jude is an artist and is logical, passive, and enjoys the natural things in life. Lucy is an activist, selfish, impressionable, loves adoration, naive, and judges others. She berates Jude for his beliefs and his lifestyle choices when he chooses not to involve himself with the protest. The film poorly uses 60's era issues like Vietnam to test their relationship. Anyway she fails at life and gets herself involved with the wrong people. He comes to her rescue and gets deported. He then somehow is allowed back into America the very next day and apologizes to her through 'All You Need Is Love.' And we see the whole cast doing this except Lucy. She was seen wandering the street at the end not giving a **** about anyone until she hears a song praising her. The **** sang about how special she was because her boyfriend went to die in Vietnam for her. I kept yelling at the TV "SHE WAS IN THE WRONG! WHAT THE HELL IS THIS?!"

'All You Need Is Love' was a good closure song, But Jude is apparently the one in the wrong in the end? He has to be the one burdened to make things right again? It should be her blonde ass on a rooftop singing about wanting love and acceptance from Jude and her friends (whom she didn't interact with the entire film). And the other characters? Nothing. Not a damn thing. Prudence being an introverted, in-the-closet, lesbian with burgeoning desires she can't act on? No closure given there. They just needed a girl named Prudence in the story because a Beatles' song was about a girl named Prudence. Or how about the black guy? He was a member of a generation victimized by racial prejudice and nothing else was mentioned about him. The thought process with putting him the movie was: "Well there was racial intolerance issues in that era, so we should have one scene about that, and a black main cast member too." Christ.

There was no depth or genuine feeling to the characters, theme, or scenery. When we weren't focusing on Jude, who turned out to be spineless beta-orbiter in love and Scumbag Stacey Lucy, the other characters task in this story was to do things people did in the 60's to give us this feeling that film was deep. The musical numbers have no relevance to anything. In one scene the gang decide to go to New York where they encounter Bono who performs 'I am the Walrus.' Bear in mind Bono did not play a character in the movie, Bono was being Bono. The scene was done for the sole purpose of Bono making an appearance and singing a Beatles' song.

I'm done wasting energy commenting on this work. If I had a choice to watch this or shiv myself in the face, I'd take the latter.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moonman1994Jul 26, 2013
Cool and very stylistically done. This film does a fantastic job of uniting favorite Beatles songs into a interesting and unique story line. There are some aspects about the film that are a little rough around the edges but over all the filmCool and very stylistically done. This film does a fantastic job of uniting favorite Beatles songs into a interesting and unique story line. There are some aspects about the film that are a little rough around the edges but over all the film is very entertaining and artsy (and on occasion creepy) in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bm2759Jun 13, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First and foremost this is an entertaining movie with a great soundtrack and wonderful visuals to match the scene and songs. If you like the Beatles and musicals you will definitely enjoy this film. It is not perfect and sometimes seems contrived but overall I was impressed with the production, singing and setting. Strawberry Fields Forever though was quite awful.

My biggest gripe is the weak closing of the film. The story builds, characters grow, everyone suffers in some way, and in the end everyone comes together again. Yet as we see Jude and Lucy gazing at eachother across the rooftops I wanted a little bit more. Just seeing what each character did after that rooftop gig would have given the audience satisfaction instead of the quick ending we received.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jetpackulleySep 8, 2012
A musical is a movie where music is used as a piece of constancy, not as utensil for buying the viewers easy boredom. That's what musicals nowadays don't understand (like High School Musical, Camp Rock, etc.) But Across the Universe trulyA musical is a movie where music is used as a piece of constancy, not as utensil for buying the viewers easy boredom. That's what musicals nowadays don't understand (like High School Musical, Camp Rock, etc.) But Across the Universe truly makes a difference. It isn't the lame, disturbing-to-see type of musical: In fact, this is the first of the two musicals where I actually get impressed and potently pleased with what the movie delivers, othe other one being Hairpsray. It's groundbreaking, spectacular, extraordinarily rare and crazy, but not for the faint of heart. I loved it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pinkscreenFeb 20, 2012
It is a clever movie. People who loves the 60's will be thrilled. Like ''Moulin rouge'' this is not a boring musical with home made lyrics. It's a good way to review all the Beatles's masterpieces. Delightful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
moviegrabbagFeb 7, 2012
I love the Beatles but this movie is just horrible. It's horribly pretentious and is very forced. There are characters thrown in just for the sake of some how tying in another song. The only positives this movie has is the music, but I canI love the Beatles but this movie is just horrible. It's horribly pretentious and is very forced. There are characters thrown in just for the sake of some how tying in another song. The only positives this movie has is the music, but I can get that on my Ipod with out all the needless crap. The other positive is there is some very good cinematography but the vast majority of it was in the trailer. The think that irritated me most was the worthless cameos by Bono and Eddie Izzard. They were un-needed and a waste of their talent. Go out and buy a Beatles album and avoid this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JfandangoDec 1, 2011
Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever.Best movie ever. Go and see it. Now
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
dopigsfly123Mar 16, 2011
Pretentious, self-indulgent, and pseudo-artsy. The story is boring and superficial, peppered with far too many attempts at "powerful" psychedelic imagery. The music is the only good thing about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Jovial_BisonDec 1, 2010
The film ultimately comes across as one mega-gimmick. This is a musical that does not use the soundtrack to enhance the plot and character development like most musicals. Rather the plot is used as a clumsy device to shoot from one song orThe film ultimately comes across as one mega-gimmick. This is a musical that does not use the soundtrack to enhance the plot and character development like most musicals. Rather the plot is used as a clumsy device to shoot from one song or reference to the other, often inexplicably. For instance, the female lead is named Lucy, solely for the purpose of playing "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds" which ends up seeming nonsensical in the greater context of the film; the pinnacle of this is the director's interpretation of "Dear Prudence," which features the group singing the lyrics "Dear Prudence, won't you come out to play?" to a secondary character named none other than... Prudence who has locked herself in a closet in a fit of teen angst. It could be argued that the scene contains a deeper meaning in that Prudence is revealed to be a lesbian (not coincidentally in a scene that makes no sense in the larger scope of the narrative) and that this is the group urging her to "be herself," this however is ultimately lost in the almost comical absurdity of the scene. Situations such as this present themselves often in ACROSS THE UNIVERSE, and I couldn't help but feel that during every single musical selection or reference to THE BEATLES or their work that the movie itself was nudging me with its elbow, constantly asking if I got what it did there. The end result is a musical that is hindered by its use of soundtrack as opposed to being aided by it and thinks far too highly of itself in the process.

Pros: There's some pretty things to look at.
Cons: Plot? who needs plot when you have a soundtrack.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bartzfact0rNov 14, 2010
Across the Universe is quite a ride, but your experience is largely dependent on how much you love The Beatles. The first third of the movie is pretty great, the energy and acting there is perhaps the most superb in the entire film. TheAcross the Universe is quite a ride, but your experience is largely dependent on how much you love The Beatles. The first third of the movie is pretty great, the energy and acting there is perhaps the most superb in the entire film. The second third loses me a bit, as it goes to a mood similar to LSD and is filled with missing plot points and irrelevant numbers. However, what does happen there is essential to the final third, in which the movie picks itself up after tripping to finish well with respectable songs, good acting and a satisfying though clichéd ending. The music covers range from outstanding to simply "meh"; for every marvelous "I've Just Seen a Face" or "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" there is a stiff "Being For the Benefit of Mr. Kite!" or "I Wanna Hold Your Hand". The storyline is present, but seems to be mainly abandoned in the distracting second third, though that may perfectly reflect the confusion and turmoil of the era. Acting overall is quite good-Jim Sturgess stands out as an excellent lead with Bono, Martin Luther McCoy and Joe Anderson also contributing.
*I can basically cut the crap now and just say that the movie is well made, although some sections will make you want to cringe with their overwhelming length and irrelevance. The beginning is great, the middle stumbles over itself and the end comes back just in time to save the film. There are some great moments in this film and is an excellent tribute to the band that taught the world to sing. If you enjoy the Beatles or a good musical, watch it and see for yourself. It certainly has faults and areas you just want to skip over, but so does life. Perhaps there's some reason for that.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelOct 11, 2010
Julie Taymorâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
At times it is a visual masterpiece, but other times it is a sprawling mess of jumbled story arcs. The actual music is very well integrated in the movie, but that doesn't mean I would listen to any of the covers over the original BeatlesAt times it is a visual masterpiece, but other times it is a sprawling mess of jumbled story arcs. The actual music is very well integrated in the movie, but that doesn't mean I would listen to any of the covers over the original Beatles version. All in all, this movie just seems unnecessary in this day and age of cinema - the 1960s were an interesting time, but this movie just flies through all of the controversial aspects without any real effort to look at why they were going on; it fills that hole with teen angst and a rather weak and predictably bland storyline. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MattK.Jul 16, 2009
A wonderful movie with some of the Beatles' best hits. It was all put together really well, with a dynamic storyline encompassing all of the seemingly random characters of the movie into one, moving plot. I loved this movie and even A wonderful movie with some of the Beatles' best hits. It was all put together really well, with a dynamic storyline encompassing all of the seemingly random characters of the movie into one, moving plot. I loved this movie and even sang along to some of my favourite songs. Plus the cameos were pretty cool (Look out for Bono and Selma Hayek). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MorganFJun 23, 2009
One of the most orginal, imaginative movies I've ever seen. The musical numbers were simply mindblowing. Sure to please Beatles fans, and perhaps make new ones. My only complaint was that sometimes you had to work hard to piece together One of the most orginal, imaginative movies I've ever seen. The musical numbers were simply mindblowing. Sure to please Beatles fans, and perhaps make new ones. My only complaint was that sometimes you had to work hard to piece together the jigsaw puzzle of a plot. Overall, a very enjoyable, entertaining film that captured the spirit its subject. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephMMay 19, 2009
I loved this movie! I thought I would completely hate it but I was wrong. I'm a huge Beatles fan and I love watching this movie over and over to catch all the tiny references to Beatles lyrics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahM.Jan 27, 2009
I absolutely love this movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LynnWJan 2, 2009
Pretty amazing. The most creative film I've ever seen, but never indulgently, never just for its own sake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShaneMDec 25, 2008
A thoroughly appalling, wasteful mess. The movie consists of a series of poorly executed, horribly arranged music videos connected by a shoe string plot and a cast of caricatures. One of the biggest movie disappointments I could ever imagine seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RubyRubyDec 13, 2008
One of the bests movies of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavNov 25, 2008
As all the 10's out there realize, art is for arts sake and this was true art. The arrangement and integration of each seen to the subject matter blending music to storyline was truly masterful. Riddance to the naysayers!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrittanyAOct 14, 2008
Amazing movie, awesomely arranged songs of The Beatles and perfect matching with the songs and scenes. Crazy, out-there, over the top and astounding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Oct 2, 2008
Any movie that could so successfully polarize an audience must be on to something. It's pretty apparent from the start of the film that this is pure emotion in cinematic form - definitely not one for the "intellectual" crowd (and by Any movie that could so successfully polarize an audience must be on to something. It's pretty apparent from the start of the film that this is pure emotion in cinematic form - definitely not one for the "intellectual" crowd (and by intellectuals I mean people who are good at over-analyzing things they can't understand on an intuitive level.) But for those who are willing to just "let go" and ride the wave, well, you're in for a visually arresting treat set to some wonderful interpretations of classic Beatles songs. A good majority of the performances were sung live during the actual filming, lending them an intimacy that just seems to flow off the screen and into your heart. And as for the large number of violently negative criticisms which this film has garnered - well Bono puts it best in the movie when he says "You're either on the bus or you're off the bus." Thank you Julie Taymor for slipping one past the man and into our theatres. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
susieqSep 29, 2008
Taymor confronted the screaming infidelities within her characters but demanded appreciation for their imperfection within the audience. The characters provided a window of expansion in the plot which brilliantly flattered the Beatles' Taymor confronted the screaming infidelities within her characters but demanded appreciation for their imperfection within the audience. The characters provided a window of expansion in the plot which brilliantly flattered the Beatles' songs. As a frame compliments a breathtaking painting, this story created an outline for the infamous songs. Or at least thats what I wrote in my evaluation essay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriquePAug 2, 2008
this movie is one of the best films I have ever seen in my whole life!! I really love films and I know about the film industry and this film is so special!! Its awsome how julie Taylor creates a completely new world when love appears!! Every this movie is one of the best films I have ever seen in my whole life!! I really love films and I know about the film industry and this film is so special!! Its awsome how julie Taylor creates a completely new world when love appears!! Every little detail is included and every character has its own personality ! I have to say that julie has a lot of imagination and we can also see her abilities on the lion king on broadway .... All the songs in the movie are extraordinary and some of them are better in the film than the real songs!! That is really difficult to do but they did it creating one of the best musicals ever!!! Its incredible how love converts everything into a dream and then how everything becomes sad and normal when love I'd in pause! I really loved this film and it is now one of my favourite movies!! Congratulations!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AaronMJul 29, 2008
It's easy to tell that the only purpose of the "movie" is to play as many songs as possible. The storyline played out like... well, a terrible movie. I give it a 2 because the Beatles have some good songs, although some are butchered in It's easy to tell that the only purpose of the "movie" is to play as many songs as possible. The storyline played out like... well, a terrible movie. I give it a 2 because the Beatles have some good songs, although some are butchered in this 2 hour music video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChetR.Jul 22, 2008
The inspiration and subtlety will grow on viewers and it will emerge as a classic viewed by generations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdaG.Jun 13, 2008
I found it pretty complete, a musical with GOOD music - I mean, anything better than Beatles?! Great plot, surprising, there's a love, historical facts, the society is realistically depicted... it was a long time I did not enjoy a movie I found it pretty complete, a musical with GOOD music - I mean, anything better than Beatles?! Great plot, surprising, there's a love, historical facts, the society is realistically depicted... it was a long time I did not enjoy a movie so much!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidF.Jun 7, 2008
No movie could capture the political, cultural and historical events of the late sixties but this one makes an excellent attempt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VivianL.Jun 6, 2008
Really bad Beatles karaoke movie with possibly the flimsiest plot and characters i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErikM.May 29, 2008
Loved it, the only thing holding it back was it was too short and too many songs were left out, but then again if it included all my favorite songs it would have been 6 hours long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarinaK.May 1, 2008
My mouth is permanently open to you small-minded critics. Across The Universe is without a doubt extremely out there and different but that's what makes it so special. When was the last time you saw such a creative and well-thought My mouth is permanently open to you small-minded critics. Across The Universe is without a doubt extremely out there and different but that's what makes it so special. When was the last time you saw such a creative and well-thought through film? I must have seen this movie at least 20 times and each time I get something new out of it. Whether it's the outstanding symbolism portrayed or a new connection found through the dialogue, Across The Universe is a one-of-a-kind movie that whether you want to believe or not, is going down in history. If you were true Beatles fans you'd understand the magnitude Julie Taymor has for songs such as "I want you." How brilliant to think of the old Uncle Sam saying in that way? And then to twist it into a "want" of sexual desire. Lighten up, alright? You're too up tight. This is a movie to let loose to and teach you that life's going to have it's up's and down's but you have to just go with it or you won't survive. This movie has a place in my heart, and always will. I hope some of you ignorant fools who think otherwise revise your thoughts and way of life; you must be living a dull, cruel one now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DevonSApr 27, 2008
The first half of the movie is a pretty basic love story with psychedelic effects, while the second half is a visually enchanting portrayal of the Vietnamese War, drugs, and how the government reacted to the youth of America speaking their The first half of the movie is a pretty basic love story with psychedelic effects, while the second half is a visually enchanting portrayal of the Vietnamese War, drugs, and how the government reacted to the youth of America speaking their minds. Thankfully it all meshes together into a very beautiful film, and probably one of the best movies we'll see Hollywood produce for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmityS.Apr 26, 2008
Across the Universe is a movie that grows increasingly better with each view. THe carefully picked soundtrack is artistically revamped and interweaves with the storyline. This musical proves to be a respectful tribute to the music of The Beatles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BaronSaturdayApr 18, 2008
Wow the 60s! It's exactly as everyone said it was. I mean exactly: Vietnam, protest, drugs, sex. But watered down from Hair, the musical it copies. There is nothing original or thought provoking here at all. Just a bunch of tired Wow the 60s! It's exactly as everyone said it was. I mean exactly: Vietnam, protest, drugs, sex. But watered down from Hair, the musical it copies. There is nothing original or thought provoking here at all. Just a bunch of tired cliches. Poor Beatles songs! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattAApr 13, 2008
Not as good as it could have been. The music was great...of course however...it's like having a piece of manipulatable gold as clay. The story however, left more to be desired. Obviously the movie depicted the events of an era as Not as good as it could have been. The music was great...of course however...it's like having a piece of manipulatable gold as clay. The story however, left more to be desired. Obviously the movie depicted the events of an era as opposed to sticking to the interactions between characters throughout the story. I really couldn't get emotionally attached to any of the characters, and they all seemed to be just additions to the songs. They weren't living beings, but only a sack of feelings with little to no actual goals in life except to sing and have sex. Sure, it's pretty to look at, and maybe that's all we need in life... but i think we deserve a little more emotional connection to these characters, besides knowing the songs that they sing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyRMar 26, 2008
A fabulous movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.Mar 26, 2008
Not only the best movie of 2007, one of my top ten of all time. Julie Taymor rules!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JinxS.Mar 26, 2008
I'm kind of disgusted at what some of your reasons were for not liking this film, negative critics. Someone didn't like it because of a "little Asian lesbo"? Honestly. This film was fantastic in every which way. It brought back the I'm kind of disgusted at what some of your reasons were for not liking this film, negative critics. Someone didn't like it because of a "little Asian lesbo"? Honestly. This film was fantastic in every which way. It brought back the feel of a time when we needed change, rebellion, and heart. Taymor, my hats off to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyB.Mar 24, 2008
I imagine that the people who don't like this movie are the same ones who criticize Bob Dylan in concert because he doesn't render his songs as they were on the albums. I felt like I was hearing some of these songs for the first I imagine that the people who don't like this movie are the same ones who criticize Bob Dylan in concert because he doesn't render his songs as they were on the albums. I felt like I was hearing some of these songs for the first time and that their simple, stripped down presentations brought forth their meanings in ways that I initially missed when hearing these songs in the 60's. I was smiling all the way through this movie and I am overwhelmed by Julie Traynor's creativity. Thank you, Julie, for this gift! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeW.Mar 18, 2008
A favorite for any Beatles fan. The soundtrack is phenomenal, adding new life to the great Beatles tracks. The story itself is a great love story and really reflective of life in the 1960s and 70s. I think there is a lot of symbolism in the A favorite for any Beatles fan. The soundtrack is phenomenal, adding new life to the great Beatles tracks. The story itself is a great love story and really reflective of life in the 1960s and 70s. I think there is a lot of symbolism in the movie. I have watched this over 20 times already, and every time I view it I catch something new. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ReelWorldMar 4, 2008
Turned it off after the little Asian lesbo started singing about the blonde cheerleader. Absolute trash. Anyone who can recall listening to the Beatles when they were kids on LP should avoid this film like the plague. This is what HSM would Turned it off after the little Asian lesbo started singing about the blonde cheerleader. Absolute trash. Anyone who can recall listening to the Beatles when they were kids on LP should avoid this film like the plague. This is what HSM would be without a Disney sponsor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkD.Mar 4, 2008
If you are old enough to have lived when this music was new and the country was definitely on edge from the Vietnam War, you will probably love this movie for all the memories it evokes. And some of the vignettes are musically and visually If you are old enough to have lived when this music was new and the country was definitely on edge from the Vietnam War, you will probably love this movie for all the memories it evokes. And some of the vignettes are musically and visually brilliant - Bono's "I am the Walrus" for example. I can't help but think that it's less than stellar critical reception stems from the fact they did this with a virtually unknown cast (outside the few cameos). That must be a no-no. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeremyMar 3, 2008
Everything was so forced and put on, the film was nearly impossible to watch. Oh, and the music...well, if you like good music then this film is not for you. If you like very sappy, ridiculous, embarrassingly awful renditions of some of the Everything was so forced and put on, the film was nearly impossible to watch. Oh, and the music...well, if you like good music then this film is not for you. If you like very sappy, ridiculous, embarrassingly awful renditions of some of the best songs ever written, then this film is for you. I don't like to be so harsh, but this movie did nothing but piss me off. Every time they seemed like they were going to do something worth watching, somebody would start singing and would bury my head and pray for it to be over. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Mar 1, 2008
Julie Taymor hits a home run with her incredibly creative adaptation of the Beatles catalog to the times from which the songs were born. This movie isn't for everyone, clearly that's the case judging by some of the harsh reviews, Julie Taymor hits a home run with her incredibly creative adaptation of the Beatles catalog to the times from which the songs were born. This movie isn't for everyone, clearly that's the case judging by some of the harsh reviews, but if you've a liberal mind, I think it will appeal to you. Remember, these are the flower children days, so pro war supporters will be naturally turned off at having images tied to some songs they may have tolerated listening to in the past. When viewed as a love story set in the turbulent 60's with dashes of historical events or references to those events, and accompanied by Beatles songs, it's hard to see this film not earning a place in the hearts of those open to its nostalgic charm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
Don't let the critics fool you. This is a good trip.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RS.Feb 28, 2008
A brilliant movie with so much meaning behind strawberry fields forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseM.Feb 24, 2008
This is a great approach to the 60's / 70's, the story is nice and the music is very consistent with those times. Some portions of the movie seems to extend the time of the film without adding much to the tale. Good for those that This is a great approach to the 60's / 70's, the story is nice and the music is very consistent with those times. Some portions of the movie seems to extend the time of the film without adding much to the tale. Good for those that did not live those times, this is a naif way to see what happened, those fans of The Beatles and specially Lennon may love or hate the score but the songs where well selected and the performances are acceptable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeckyL.Feb 23, 2008
Very nostalgic. A great job of encapusulating what it felt like to be there at the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayJ.Feb 23, 2008
This was a great audio/visual experience. I can only guess the movie was not supposed to pay just tribute to the Beatles, nor explain sufficiently the suffering of the Vietnam war, nor explain the social revolution of the 1960 extensively This was a great audio/visual experience. I can only guess the movie was not supposed to pay just tribute to the Beatles, nor explain sufficiently the suffering of the Vietnam war, nor explain the social revolution of the 1960 extensively but instead bring us an entertaining, movie full of great music, cinematography, fun characters and smiles. I loved it for what it is and think it will be watched for years. Lighten up people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HowardR.Feb 23, 2008
Thought it was an excellent movie but with regard to acting, visuals, and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregP.Feb 20, 2008
What the movie suffered from most was neither the weak treatment of 60's culture nor the poor tribute to the Beatles. What it suffered most from was the nagging sensation that almost every named character and almost every scene was a What the movie suffered from most was neither the weak treatment of 60's culture nor the poor tribute to the Beatles. What it suffered most from was the nagging sensation that almost every named character and almost every scene was a mere contrivance to "force" a scene out of a particular set of lyrics. For those who have seen the movie, the absolutely pasted-on "Dear Prudence" (not to mention the namesake character herself) scene is made bearable only by comparison to the absolute nonsense that was "Strawberry Fields Forever." The events leading up to and surrounding such scenes are such a cobbled-together mess of an excuse that the movie becomes absolutely painful. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
LuisG.Feb 20, 2008
heres a film that you hate yourself for not liking.... Taymor brilliance is lost and reserved for elaborate montages and eccentric scenery that just does not counterbalance a weak story ... lost in translation... musical numbers don't heres a film that you hate yourself for not liking.... Taymor brilliance is lost and reserved for elaborate montages and eccentric scenery that just does not counterbalance a weak story ... lost in translation... musical numbers don't arise with grace they seem forced and heavily drawn out and dependent on its flare .. characters have no soul and aside form prudence no one else takes center stage... total disappointment... FRIDA !!! remember that was beautiful Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkGFeb 16, 2008
Imagine the post-teen stars of the WB singing the Beatles! Sound good to you? Then you'll love this movie. There's maybe 10 minutes of good sequences, though, which saves it from a 0. Bono lends the film some much-needed weird Imagine the post-teen stars of the WB singing the Beatles! Sound good to you? Then you'll love this movie. There's maybe 10 minutes of good sequences, though, which saves it from a 0. Bono lends the film some much-needed weird energy. And it is interesting to hear Beatles songs re-set; they deserve to be, because they hold up so well. But it is horrible to see them re-set to a trite, thin story which somehow manages to thoroughly trivialize the Vietnam War, the Civil Rights movement, and the creative magic of the Beatles' music. It is as if the worst of the Baby Boomer cliches have been given hipper haircuts in an extended iPod commercial. This movie is godawful, but not even "interesting-bad." Just bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillBFeb 15, 2008
At times the arrangements were enjoyable, and at other times they seemed to just be stuck in there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisS.Feb 15, 2008
If you're in the mood to sit through two hours of non-stop singing, then this is the right movie for you. Song, after song, after song, every musical number in this film seems to be have crammed in. This is one of those movies in which If you're in the mood to sit through two hours of non-stop singing, then this is the right movie for you. Song, after song, after song, every musical number in this film seems to be have crammed in. This is one of those movies in which you can only see once. Although some covers of the Beatles songs are quite enjoyable, most of the over-thirty songs in this film are cut short. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JadeBFeb 15, 2008
What a horrid movie. Its like a nonstop interwoven Christian rock video. I could see if you were 50 something and really out of touch and were a hippy for one summer before you went to college and got a job that just maybe you might get What a horrid movie. Its like a nonstop interwoven Christian rock video. I could see if you were 50 something and really out of touch and were a hippy for one summer before you went to college and got a job that just maybe you might get sentimental and actually fall for this dreck but come on! Theres not even any Beatles songs in it!!! Yes there are people singing Beatles songs... but they nor this film doesn't even come close to a smidgen of creative force that was and is the Beatles. The only good scene was Eddie Izzard doing Tim Leary, that was good! Bloated Bono doing Kesey and the Merry Pranksters... wow that was embarrassing. Horrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankM.Feb 13, 2008
You either love it or hate it. I loved the film, probably for the same reasons it's not liked: over the top, a bit pretentious and at times silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanDFeb 13, 2008
Those who hate this movie are nothing but cheap McCartneyites who throw around the Lennon name just like ultra-patriots play the Un-American card. This movie shocked me by not being a corporate-friendly McCartney fest, no, it showed how Those who hate this movie are nothing but cheap McCartneyites who throw around the Lennon name just like ultra-patriots play the Un-American card. This movie shocked me by not being a corporate-friendly McCartney fest, no, it showed how America was falling apart at its seams then because the people realized something was wrong. With great covers such as "Helter Skelter", "Revolution", and "Hey Jude", you will not want to miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamanthaKFeb 10, 2008
A fabulous movie. Some scenes are so cheesy you'll want to barf, but the scenes that give the Beatles songs you've come to love a COMPLETELY new meaning make up for it- really really cool. There are probably one or two songs that A fabulous movie. Some scenes are so cheesy you'll want to barf, but the scenes that give the Beatles songs you've come to love a COMPLETELY new meaning make up for it- really really cool. There are probably one or two songs that will bother you... but when is the last time someone did something like this perfectly? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RobinB.Feb 7, 2008
Warning to anyone with sentiment for the Beatles music: this movie metaphorically defecates on the Lennon memorial. I felt like an Orthodox Catholic watching Jesus Christ Superstar. What'll Taymor do next? Heart Shaped Box: the musical Warning to anyone with sentiment for the Beatles music: this movie metaphorically defecates on the Lennon memorial. I felt like an Orthodox Catholic watching Jesus Christ Superstar. What'll Taymor do next? Heart Shaped Box: the musical of Kurt Cobain. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Ingridw.Feb 6, 2008
This was the best movie ever. the best. anyone who gave it under 7 on this rating site is a very shallow person. this movie sent a great message, and it was very deep and powerful. a must-see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
worth one viewing. A very little more than mediocre film. The fragile story often pointlessly digressed to include a poorly chosen Beatles song just because it is well-loved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RaquelPJan 31, 2008
Its such a travesty trying to cram 33 of the Beatles
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanDudermackeralJan 26, 2008
I don't know where to start, metacritic. This movie was awesome. The sounds were all great. The filming was totally rad. The scene w/ Eddie Izzard as Mr Kite was about the craziest thing ever able to penetrate the human mind. I could I don't know where to start, metacritic. This movie was awesome. The sounds were all great. The filming was totally rad. The scene w/ Eddie Izzard as Mr Kite was about the craziest thing ever able to penetrate the human mind. I could say that it got a little boring at the end with the whole lovesy puvsy stuff, but the beginning and middle more than make up for it. Besides, who doesn't like a happy ending? I know I do. Dudermackeral, out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJ.Jan 26, 2008
A Magical Mystery Tour De Force, Those who didn't like it didn't live it.Your loss .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnS.Jan 19, 2008
The sensation after watching this movie is akin to being run over by a bus and then it backed up and ran over you again. This movies utterly predictable and quite frankly at time a bit irritable. If there ever was a case of a musical having The sensation after watching this movie is akin to being run over by a bus and then it backed up and ran over you again. This movies utterly predictable and quite frankly at time a bit irritable. If there ever was a case of a musical having too many songs, it was this one. By 3rd song, one is praying that the power just cuts out. If there is one star in this movie its Jim Sturgess who plays Jude. Managing to somewhat carry the viewer along with him, he's possibly the only good thing to come out of this movie Overall, this movie represents a bad acid trip. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimmyJamJan 16, 2008
Just got back from seeing this, with a totally open mind. What a horrible, insufferable film, what a cheesy embarrassment. Definitely in the Top Ten of the Worst Movies I've Ever Seen. And I love musicals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jan 16, 2008
This is the best movie I have ever seen in my life. The acting was so REAL, unlike any other typically Hollywood movie. The Beatles are the best musicians ever, and watching this movie gives me new respect for the messages in their music This is the best movie I have ever seen in my life. The acting was so REAL, unlike any other typically Hollywood movie. The Beatles are the best musicians ever, and watching this movie gives me new respect for the messages in their music that I never thought of. Anyone who gives this movie a rating under 50 must be mentally incapable of seeing outside the tiny little American-bred boxes their minds are locked inside of. It was a beautiful movie with a beautiful message. A must see classic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesCJan 6, 2008
Abortive is the key word here. The movie introduces a bunch of archetypal characters, which are quickly ushered out after some awkward attempts at relevance. After a bit, we're left with the two main characters and a boring, Abortive is the key word here. The movie introduces a bunch of archetypal characters, which are quickly ushered out after some awkward attempts at relevance. After a bit, we're left with the two main characters and a boring, unconvincing, love story that's strictly by-the-numbers. Even the music, surprisingly, is mediocre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayelSSSSSJan 5, 2008
A movie that entertained, informed, and made you think! A great combination in this day and age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Franty1977Jan 2, 2008
Julie Taymor woke up one day and thought to herself: "Why don't I take a load of beatles songs and turn it into a crappy high-school musical-like Disney movie"? And here it is: terribly acted, poorly written and with the worst singing Julie Taymor woke up one day and thought to herself: "Why don't I take a load of beatles songs and turn it into a crappy high-school musical-like Disney movie"? And here it is: terribly acted, poorly written and with the worst singing voices that movie fans heard in the past 10 years. the reason i'm not giving it a zero is the bad teeth joke. that was funny, but almost nobody noticed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RhondaP.Dec 30, 2007
I loved this film! Artsy, Musical, Deliciously Beautiful. I think the naysayers are taking it way too seriously. I'm 52 and was thoughly delighted the whole time. Going back to see it again before it goes off the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HazzaB.Nov 17, 2007
I will review only the first 20 minutes, as this is all I could bear before I slunk down my seat and crawled out of the movie theater in sheer embarrassment. It is a musical, and an awful one at that. Wielding it's cutesy cleaver, and I will review only the first 20 minutes, as this is all I could bear before I slunk down my seat and crawled out of the movie theater in sheer embarrassment. It is a musical, and an awful one at that. Wielding it's cutesy cleaver, and butchering Beatles classics as it went. The dialogue and characterisation was wooden, and the portrayal of the 60's drew on the most simplistic cliches. Why don't you just take the entire back catalogue of the World's greatest band, and let the preliminary contestants of Amercian Idol massacre insteadl? At least this kind of sacrilege will by vaguely funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LarryB.Nov 16, 2007
Really plastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KayteM.Nov 16, 2007
This looks like, and has about as much depth as, a (bad) film-school music-video. It lacks depth and heart, and tries so hard to fit Beatles lyrics in as dialogue that everything comes across as stilted and painful. Bono's cameo is This looks like, and has about as much depth as, a (bad) film-school music-video. It lacks depth and heart, and tries so hard to fit Beatles lyrics in as dialogue that everything comes across as stilted and painful. Bono's cameo is almost unbearably dreadful. The three rating is given only because hey, it's the Beatles, and it does have its (very occasional) moments of being actually quite visuall arresting, and Jim Sturgess is, quite surprisingly, a pleasure to watch. Otherwise, to be avoided/to be run away from. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeaS.Nov 13, 2007
Loved it. Can't quite understand the nay-sayers. This is a musical for gods sake. What are you expecting??? In as far as musicals goes, you can't get better nor more creative. Yes, at it's base, it's just another simple, Loved it. Can't quite understand the nay-sayers. This is a musical for gods sake. What are you expecting??? In as far as musicals goes, you can't get better nor more creative. Yes, at it's base, it's just another simple, and predictable, love story, but what a joyful ride getting there!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarrieOct 30, 2007
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CedricB.Oct 29, 2007
The fitting dialogue are excellent, the picture magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ArthurXOct 28, 2007
Whoever categorized this movie as a musical probably never saw a musical. In the entire movie, there is probably 20 minutes worth seeing. Besides "I've Just Seen a Face" and "Come Together" all songs felt clumsily tacked on. After the Whoever categorized this movie as a musical probably never saw a musical. In the entire movie, there is probably 20 minutes worth seeing. Besides "I've Just Seen a Face" and "Come Together" all songs felt clumsily tacked on. After the first 50 minutes, the characters meander around pointlessly. The story twists and contorts itself for the inclusion of a few more poorly done songs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MusicalloverOct 25, 2007
First the basics- my friend and I (both late forties) left this movie pumped and happy. To us it was well worth the price of admission and the time. Usually I'm all for rich dialogue and complex storytelling but movie musicals are in a First the basics- my friend and I (both late forties) left this movie pumped and happy. To us it was well worth the price of admission and the time. Usually I'm all for rich dialogue and complex storytelling but movie musicals are in a class by themselves. Those're often more experience than story, and this film is no exception. The voices range from pleasing to powerful, and the song renderings are heartfelt, making most of the individual situations believable (however improbable the whole). The visuals are compelling and beautiful, and in some cases stunning. The Beatles are never mentioned and as far as this movie is concerned they aren't relevant except for their wonderfully evocative and layered lyrics that enable the characters to say so much even when they're using very few words. The early scenes are mostly backstory for Jude, Max, Lucy and Prudence- a Cliff Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartyO.Oct 25, 2007
One of the most visually audacious and wildly imaginative movie musicals probably ever filmed. Although its flighty tongue-in-cheekness and psychedelic vision may throw off viewers expecting a more realistic view of the 60s and One of the most visually audacious and wildly imaginative movie musicals probably ever filmed. Although its flighty tongue-in-cheekness and psychedelic vision may throw off viewers expecting a more realistic view of the 60s and interpretation of Beatle opus, actually the movie succeeds at capturing the poignancy and beauty of the songs reimagining them in the context of the American youth's cultural and political movements. Drollness and irreverence were some of what the Beatles and the 60s were about and the movie tries this while also portraying the hopes and darkness that surrounded the era in all its youthful exuberance. Despite a goofy story line and lack of chronological order - musical and otherwise - which undoubtedly will enrage purists, the movie its a must see for Beatle fans, boomers, those interested in the 60s and pyschedelia,and those interested in contemporary movie musicals and special effects. Far superior to other rock musicals such as "Tommy" and "The Wall," it should be Oscar-nominated for its music, cinematography and choreography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryT.Oct 24, 2007
This is a film you either love or apparently (seeing the reviews and responses) hate. I thought it was beyond incredible. A great love story, an anti-war statement and wildly creative. It all worked for me, my husband and our sons, 9 and 10 This is a film you either love or apparently (seeing the reviews and responses) hate. I thought it was beyond incredible. A great love story, an anti-war statement and wildly creative. It all worked for me, my husband and our sons, 9 and 10 years old. This film makes you also realize that the music of the Beatles is a gift to humanity. Hats off to you Julie Taymor - you are a genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyOct 23, 2007
Absolutely brilliant. Never was it truer that it was the best of times and also the worst of times back in the 60's. The Beatles music comes to life as their lyrics take on a crystal clear meaning. The age of innocence followed by the Absolutely brilliant. Never was it truer that it was the best of times and also the worst of times back in the 60's. The Beatles music comes to life as their lyrics take on a crystal clear meaning. The age of innocence followed by the Viet Nam War, the Civil distress and all the mayhem that followed. The cast is brilliant, the acting and directing superb. This is definitely a movie that is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaliforniaCastawayOct 23, 2007
This movie was great! I went and saw it with my gf and we both loved it. I would def recommend it to anyone interested in seeing a good movie. Those people who said it was hard to follow and that it is all jumbled together are not This movie was great! I went and saw it with my gf and we both loved it. I would def recommend it to anyone interested in seeing a good movie. Those people who said it was hard to follow and that it is all jumbled together are not intelligent enough to understand what this movie was saying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberM.Oct 23, 2007
This movie was great in every way! I thought to myself what a perfect time for a movie like this one to expose itself! We need more like it during this time in our world! Awesome movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnB.Oct 19, 2007
Across the Universe is definitely an ambitious movie full of ideas however many of the ideas lack a real sense of place and purpose. Pieces seemed to have been thrown in here and there if only to get us more Beatles songs, which were, by the Across the Universe is definitely an ambitious movie full of ideas however many of the ideas lack a real sense of place and purpose. Pieces seemed to have been thrown in here and there if only to get us more Beatles songs, which were, by the way, butchered beyond credibility. This is a direct result of the difficult concept attempted and lack of solid direction. The movie ended up being extremely cliche and incoherent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulienC.Oct 16, 2007
Let me put it this way: some reviewers in my opinion have expectations of movies that are beyond normal people like me. So, this movie is sheer brilliance quite simply put. if on top of that you love the Beatles, don't hesitate and Let me put it this way: some reviewers in my opinion have expectations of movies that are beyond normal people like me. So, this movie is sheer brilliance quite simply put. if on top of that you love the Beatles, don't hesitate and watch this movie, it's beautiful, will move you, is very well played and sung. If you're 74 years old and you've been reviewing movies for 50 years you will think it's shallow... otherwise you will simply love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveT.Oct 16, 2007
Dave Z. is onto something: changing the context of these huge hits gives them a new meaning. And Taymor's image of the new inductees, marching in their underwear, carrying a giant Statue of Liberty through the SE Asian jungle landscape Dave Z. is onto something: changing the context of these huge hits gives them a new meaning. And Taymor's image of the new inductees, marching in their underwear, carrying a giant Statue of Liberty through the SE Asian jungle landscape was worth the price of my ticket. Taymor may not always hit it out of the park, but she's not afraid to swing for the fences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
POOct 15, 2007
This movie was the biggest waste of money ever. The writer must have been high on something more than caffeine. The movie was so random it was scary. I have now found my worst movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveG.Oct 15, 2007
This movie makes a mockery of the Beatles and their music. The fact that every character is named after a Beatles' song is bad enough. But to use the Beatles' music to drive this insipid plot is criminal. There are some creative This movie makes a mockery of the Beatles and their music. The fact that every character is named after a Beatles' song is bad enough. But to use the Beatles' music to drive this insipid plot is criminal. There are some creative visual images in the film and the young actors do a fairly good job singing. But this is a bad movie. I love the Beatles. I remember when they did not allow their music to be used for any commercials, etc. It was hard for me to sit through their songs being made into plot points. This movie is not an homage to the Beatles -- it is an abomination to their legacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Oct 13, 2007
When we first meet Lucy(Evan Rachel Woods), America is still in the midst of a fifties hangover(read: pre-British Invasion), so rather than link "Hold Me Tight" to such antiquated imagery of the previous decade, it would've made better When we first meet Lucy(Evan Rachel Woods), America is still in the midst of a fifties hangover(read: pre-British Invasion), so rather than link "Hold Me Tight" to such antiquated imagery of the previous decade, it would've made better sense had "Across the Universe" used a non-Beatles song(like "Paul and Paula") that represented the general malaise on the radio airwaves before the foppish Liverpudlians' music distract people from their recently assassinated president and corresponding cynicism towards their government. "Across the Universe" should have used the McCartney/Lennon canon in a more chronological fashion(early-to-mid-period-to-late) to tell the story of how innocent young Americans were transformed by the Civil Rights Movement and the Vietnam War. Start with "I Wanna Hold Your Hand"; end with "Let it Be". That's what I mean. To the film's credit though, never for a moment did any of the musical numbers remind me of the unfortunate "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band". It's good to see this filmmaker taking risks again after the surprisingly routine biopic "Frida". But still, the film squanders its potential. More should be made of the Lucy's first contact with Jude(Jim Sturgess). Something that would remind the audience of how America first reacted to the Fab Four's appearance on our soil, and on our televisions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EnriqueOct 13, 2007
A strange experience. During the first 20 minutes (aproximately) I was hating this movie. When I was about to live, an extremely imaginatively and well choreographed scene made me stay. Very soon I fell in love with it and I stay during the A strange experience. During the first 20 minutes (aproximately) I was hating this movie. When I was about to live, an extremely imaginatively and well choreographed scene made me stay. Very soon I fell in love with it and I stay during the whole show. I left the theatre with a pleasant feeling, in spite of a naive and almost silly ending. Visually stunning, excellent music background, and with the exception of Evan Rachel Wood, the cast is fine. Julie Taymor is a superficial director that obviously come from a Broadway background, but knows how to deliver her goods. With the exception of "Titus," she has done nothing relevant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Oct 12, 2007
Astonishing. The Beatles shared their music with the world - all of us. Their music is inseparable from the soundtrack to so many of our lives. This film is a lush, beautiful and powerful parallel of what is happening RIGHT NOW. One reason Astonishing. The Beatles shared their music with the world - all of us. Their music is inseparable from the soundtrack to so many of our lives. This film is a lush, beautiful and powerful parallel of what is happening RIGHT NOW. One reason the Beatles are so timeless and good is because they convey emotional, social and political messages that are clear eyed, compassionate, strong and also subtle. We have always had to read between the lines. John, Paul, George and Ringo wrote music that asked us to look around and see what is going on in the world in the present, in the now, in the moment. Julie Taymor isn't a historian - she is a talented filmmaker that makes movies communicating with current images, signs and symbols that are the language of our world. This film is a beautiful way of sharing awareness, love and the state of the world today: "Living is easy with eyes closed." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Oct 11, 2007
When Hair opened on Broadway in 1968, it brought "Drugs, Sex and Rock & Roll" and took the theatre world by storm. When Milos Forman made it into a film 11 years later, the impact was gone and the movie seemed dated and without relevance. In When Hair opened on Broadway in 1968, it brought "Drugs, Sex and Rock & Roll" and took the theatre world by storm. When Milos Forman made it into a film 11 years later, the impact was gone and the movie seemed dated and without relevance. In Across The Universe, Julie Taymor is telling almost the same story by weaving the songs of The Beatles into the narrative, and as a first generation Hippie I must say, It's Brilliant! The difference here is that Taymor is not trying for relevance, she has made a visual time-capsule not of The Beatles, but of a generation told through the music of the band that defined that generation, and what a visual treat it is. Using all covers of the Beatles catalog, some work better than others, but with those songs, they all start at good! The actors are all very good, especially Jim Sturgess as Jude (who must be a McCartney Clone) and Eddie Izzard as Mr. Kite. And despite what critics have found corny, I loved naming the characters after songs(Lucy, Sadie, Penelope etc) and characters clearly designed to be Janis, Jimi and Timothy Leary. Ms. Taymor again uses her signature animation and puppet design with extraordinary results. Across The Universe is, without a doubt, an old hippies dream and one of the best movie musicals ever! I've read that the studio cut the film to their liking and if that's the case, I can't wait for the director's cut on dvd! Bravo Ms. Taymor, you are a cinematic magician!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustineB.Oct 10, 2007
This film moved me at a visceral level. I don't care that we've heard this message before and that the plot lines are cliche. The eye candy is fun to watch and the beautifully simple, catchy Beatles lyrics have been updated for our This film moved me at a visceral level. I don't care that we've heard this message before and that the plot lines are cliche. The eye candy is fun to watch and the beautifully simple, catchy Beatles lyrics have been updated for our generation. At its core, this anti-war film wonders why our society has made the same mistakes this decade as we did during the Vietnam War. In an interview Director Julie Taymor asked "Where is the outrage about the Iraq War?" Where indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NoahT.Oct 9, 2007
I have a confession to make: I do not like Julie Taymor. I have never enjoyed her films, I have never found her to be talented or competent when dealing with a cast and I have always had the distinct impression that she simply wants to pat I have a confession to make: I do not like Julie Taymor. I have never enjoyed her films, I have never found her to be talented or competent when dealing with a cast and I have always had the distinct impression that she simply wants to pat herself on the back for making all those pretty pictures. Well, I'm glad to say that with this movie, Taymor has moved up in my mind from terrible to...meh. Overall, ACROSS THE UNIVERSE is nothing special. We've all seen it before: psychedelia in musicals, musicals based on a band's songs, and of course the cross-continental love story. Where Julie Taymor really drops the ball is with the songs that she uses. Despite boasting 31 classic Beatles tracks, it seems like too much of an overload. The story is awful, and it appears to be grafted on to fit the songs, and some songs aren't even relevant to the overall story ("Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!", "I am the Walrus", "I Wanna Hold your Hand" just to name a few). The cast is poorly-directed and it's a shame too, because the dialogue is excellent and could have been even better with some solid performances. Overall, skip this and watch MOULIN ROUGE instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimO.Oct 8, 2007
Fantastic film-a must see on the big screen. One of the best film I've ever seen actually. Loved the visuals, the symbolism, it was a real "trip".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliciaOct 8, 2007
The best movie I have ever seen I love that movie I really really really love it a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelOct 7, 2007
This was a beautifully made movie. The cinematography was stunning, the effects were creative, and the plotline was moving. Overall, this was my favorite movie so far this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful