Relativity Media | Release Date: February 24, 2012
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 149 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
37
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
DuduziuzMar 5, 2015
O filme é fraco. Tenta ser um drama, sem sucesso. Tenta passar uma moral, sem sucesso. Os atores são MUITO fracos. O que salva são cenas de ação muito bem produzidas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithDec 31, 2013
Act of Valor isn't terrible. It has some exciting action scenes, and it does honor the soldiers who risk their lives to protect us, but the acting and writing is fairly poor. The main villain could have been good if he didn't forget hisAct of Valor isn't terrible. It has some exciting action scenes, and it does honor the soldiers who risk their lives to protect us, but the acting and writing is fairly poor. The main villain could have been good if he didn't forget his accent every other minute, and most of the soldiers are scripted as your typical "Hoo rah!" heroes. There's really no nuance in the film at all either. So overall, it's no Saving Private Ryan, but it delivers enough in the action department to save it from going completely under. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ThegodfathersonDec 15, 2013
However, as cool as that all is, it doesn't excuse the fact that it's still a pretty forgettable movie in the long run. Yes, there are some decent action scenes particularly near the beginning but their entertainment value slowly declinesHowever, as cool as that all is, it doesn't excuse the fact that it's still a pretty forgettable movie in the long run. Yes, there are some decent action scenes particularly near the beginning but their entertainment value slowly declines as the film trudges along. All in all, Act of Valor never becomes anything more than a feature length recruitment video touting shameless jingoism that never feels quite genuine enough, despite its undeniable good intentions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
Act of Valor is a refreshingly new and ambitious idea, that takes the stories of active U.S. Marines and turns them into one big story, which is then played out by the very Marines who experienced them. I loved the concept, but this filmAct of Valor is a refreshingly new and ambitious idea, that takes the stories of active U.S. Marines and turns them into one big story, which is then played out by the very Marines who experienced them. I loved the concept, but this film falls way short of expectations. I believe the purpose of military is the service and protection of our nation, but in Act of Valor the Marines are portrayed as trigger happy Americans. We see the Marines, following up on CIA Intel, going into four different foreign countries, shooting first and asking questions later. Is this really the image of our military that we want to portray to the rest of the world? Regardless of what's real and what's not, these Marines come off as ruthless, with an attitude of you we're American, we'll do what we want.' As expected, the action scenes were some of the best and most realistic I've ever seen. I would except nothing less, being that the film features men who have been in actual combat and know what it looks like. The acting, also as excepted, was really awful, but for the first time in the twenty month history of this blog I won't blame the actors for it, since after all, they aren't really actors. The action sequences alone more than make up for the acting job, but again, I have a real problem with the message this film is sending out to the world. Chronicling the heroism and every day life of a U.S. Marine is admirable, but portraying them like Bruce Willis in Die Hard isn't doing them any favors, in fact it's making an already difficult job harder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KangarooKurtOct 17, 2012
What's your expectation? If you're thinking of watching this and comparing it to something in any other genre, it's going to let you down. This is a mix between a Tom Clancy movie and a video game, and surely if you're reading about it, youWhat's your expectation? If you're thinking of watching this and comparing it to something in any other genre, it's going to let you down. This is a mix between a Tom Clancy movie and a video game, and surely if you're reading about it, you know that it features real-life, active duty SEALs.

The story is basic. The pace is fast. The dialog is weak, but realistic. The acting by the SEALs is 'a heroic effort' but these men are clearly not actors. The acting by the actors is just fine. The characters are simple. The action is fast, hard, dynamic, and visceral.

Basically: if you're against this kind of gung-ho recruitment piece, avoid it. If you want to see well-produced training video for an elite combat unit, give it a shot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Captain_KirkAug 14, 2012
What a letdown. The trailers and TV spots made the film look so much better than it turned out to be. While it's not awful, the film falls short due to some pretty wooden acting, bland dialogue, and an uninteresting story. At least the actionWhat a letdown. The trailers and TV spots made the film look so much better than it turned out to be. While it's not awful, the film falls short due to some pretty wooden acting, bland dialogue, and an uninteresting story. At least the action scenes are pretty well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
alnawrasAug 10, 2012
What the hells of this movie. The story is boring and has no any new things. It's just a war movie that anyone can see in any war movies. In addition, the visual effects and the sound effects did not do that much in this movie. It's just forWhat the hells of this movie. The story is boring and has no any new things. It's just a war movie that anyone can see in any war movies. In addition, the visual effects and the sound effects did not do that much in this movie. It's just for one time watch and forgot about it in 10 minutes later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
X0RJun 11, 2012
I have great respect for those serving the military, and veterans; but I have a hard time respecting this film. It is a bit aimed at young or low-expectation viewers, and does not do much justice to films of this genre. Overall, I felt itI have great respect for those serving the military, and veterans; but I have a hard time respecting this film. It is a bit aimed at young or low-expectation viewers, and does not do much justice to films of this genre. Overall, I felt it was meagerly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AkkharMay 25, 2012
All they showed is that America is pure Gold and rest of the world is crap . The story sucked big time. Players were not actors so they were suppose to be bad and they were really really bad . Actions scenes were good . That fist person viewAll they showed is that America is pure Gold and rest of the world is crap . The story sucked big time. Players were not actors so they were suppose to be bad and they were really really bad . Actions scenes were good . That fist person view was amazing . But sometimes it seemed like Games , There were like hundreds of Gunners with some US Seals and what ever happens not one of them gets shot . And the ending of the movie was the worst . Direction was good but Over all the movie is 30/70 enjoyable . I expected more but it was disappointing ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RedMoonMay 3, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film really spoke of how the life of people who sacrifice themselves for us to live happly in safety but as far as this storyline goes absolutely disappointed!. This ending was the worst and who the hell! Kills of a character by jumping on a Granad! The worst kill off I've seen. At least make it a bigger explosion to make up for it..the scripting wasn't at all surprising that in fact was a poor effort. I can keep going but after the fighting sences and prepe that was done very well done. Over all I give it a 6.5 (not bad) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jredekopApr 22, 2012
While the action sequences are realistic and near flawless, everything else is an absolute mess.The acting is ridiculous. Really, really bad. Even if they had passable actors, the script would still bog them down. Probably my favorite partWhile the action sequences are realistic and near flawless, everything else is an absolute mess.The acting is ridiculous. Really, really bad. Even if they had passable actors, the script would still bog them down. Probably my favorite part of the movie is where an interrogator randomly throws everything off his desk and then yells "do you think this is a game?" Most of the film is cheesy little action cliches like this. If you're going to see this movie, see it in theaters. No reason to see this movie on anything other than the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AndeePApr 6, 2012
Active US Navy Seals kicking terrorist butt. Far better than I thought it would be. Cheesy lines, bad acting, and semi-lame storyline bring this movie down. Can't expect superb acting from Navy Seal guys though I guess. Action scenes are veryActive US Navy Seals kicking terrorist butt. Far better than I thought it would be. Cheesy lines, bad acting, and semi-lame storyline bring this movie down. Can't expect superb acting from Navy Seal guys though I guess. Action scenes are very realistic, breathtaking, and really really awesome. Not the greatest action movie, but good if you are wanting to watch something for simple entertainment value that also does not involve a lot of thinking, this is an option.
P.S - The movie screams propaganda as well, but it aint no walk in the park to become a Navy Seal!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jrseau55Mar 7, 2012
Admittedly, there was a sense of unease during the opening portions of the film where the Navy Seals pretended to be actors. It was nearly intolerable. Once the movie moves into the main portions of its narrative, however, the pacing and theAdmittedly, there was a sense of unease during the opening portions of the film where the Navy Seals pretended to be actors. It was nearly intolerable. Once the movie moves into the main portions of its narrative, however, the pacing and the quality of the film picks up. The action sequences are well filmed and directed and they are most definitely the highlight of this film. There is little depth in the actual story arc and at times the film does feel like a recruiting tool. That being said, I came away enjoying this action film despite some obvious warts Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
CitizenCharlieMar 6, 2012
The SEAL in Navy SEAL stands for Sea, Land, and Air Team. Act of Valor makes abundant use of these three separate environments to showcase the U.S. militaryâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryFeb 28, 2012
This movie's gimmick: the men playing Navy SEALs are real Navy SEALs. Their mission involves rescuing a CIA agent, then saving the US from a terrorist invasion. They may know how to pull off special ops, but they sure can't act and the lameThis movie's gimmick: the men playing Navy SEALs are real Navy SEALs. Their mission involves rescuing a CIA agent, then saving the US from a terrorist invasion. They may know how to pull off special ops, but they sure can't act and the lame dialogue makes their interactions even more embarrassing. Basically, they end up being a group of men with no discernable personalities and the bad writing would mortify real actors. Instead of competent storytelling, the filmmakers used jerky camerawork and overbearing music. There's lots of shooting, explosions and running around, but the action is poorly-staged and confusing. It felt like a Steven Seagal straight-to-DVD production. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews