Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When a mission to recover a kidnapped CIA operative unexpectedly results in the discovery of an imminent, terrifying global threat, an elite team of highly trained Navy SEALs must immediately embark on a heart-stopping secret operation, the outcome of which will determine the fate of us all. Act of Valor combines stunning combat sequences, up-to-the-minute battlefield technology, and heart-pumping emotion for the ultimate action adventure film–showcasing the skills, training and tenacity of the greatest action heroes of them all: real Navy SEALs. (Relativity Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Feb 23, 2012
    75
    Peculiarly entertaining exercise in bare-bones, Hollywood-style action heroism.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 23, 2012
    63
    Act of Valor is a competently directed action movie, but forcing the audience to wear such narrow goggles is a dereliction of duty.
  3. 60
    Although the film has its undeniably immersive, convincing moments, the merging of dramatic re-creations and on-camera "performances" proves less seamlessly executed than those masterfully coordinated land, sea and air missions.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 23, 2012
    50
    The action beats come straight out of the video game "Call of Duty." And when you have real SEALs placed in a picture that lives and dies on the same old first-person-shooter aesthetic, you have a film divided against itself.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 24, 2012
    40
    Like all advertisements, this scripted movie is a perfect fantasy: expertly coordinated, simplistic (the bad guys like yachts and bikini girls while our heroes have loving families) and more than a little scary.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Feb 23, 2012
    38
    The problem is that these stoic warriors infect Act of Valor with more wooden acting than you'd see at a ventriloquism school.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Feb 23, 2012
    0
    A movie whose cinematic ineptitude is matched only by its ideological rottenness, Act of Valor features a cast of real-life active-duty Navy SEALS in order to grant the project's us-versus-them geopolitical worldview a sham moral authority.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 9 out of 61
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    The realism of this movie is unprecedented. The acting during the non-action parts, may be not as good (I didn't even notice the difference), but it is made up for in the action parts. During those parts they are not acting. They are preforming far better than some hollywood stuntman. Those stuntmen are not man enough to do what those Navy Seals did! I also found the action awesome! The movie had tons of very memorable action. Finally, the movie was made to honor the Navy Seals, and it did this well. At the end it even lists the names of the Seals who gave their lives overseas. This movie honored their sacrifice and unparalleled bravery. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    The Acting isn't going to win any awards. But the action sequences are spectacular and the film overall is fantastic. I don't understand most of the critic's reviews as they focus more on the acting than the intended message of the film. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I am profoundly offended... Not by this movie but by the negative reviews of it! As a Navy combat veteran of the first Gulf War I admit I may be as biased as can be, but This was a masterpiece of a movie. You don't have to be a veteran to appreciate it but unless your an America hating Hollywood liberal you will be filled with pride and humbled by the magnitude of skill, heart and sacrifice our most elite defenders of your life liberty and pursuit of happiness. I've heard some complain that the SEAL's in this movie can't act... Well thank God they aren't actors. These Men are the real thing and they "act" like the real thing not some "dumbed down" Hollywood wannabes. If you don't get that then "You can't handle the truth! Son, we live in a world that has walls, and those walls have to be guarded by men with guns." Expand
  4. May 20, 2012
    7
    The fact that the director could get Navy Seals to halfway act is an achievement in itself. Let alone, the film had some badass moments. The sound of the M4A1's banging away was powerful, and the scene with the miniguns on the boat was downright awesome. The story was about right, with some drawn out portions that could have been improved. Overall, this film made our boys and girls on the frontline look like the badasses they are. The scene where they take it to the Mexican drug cartel was pretty badass as well. The terrorist was pretty realistic--although it was kind of unrealistic that he wouldn't have ties to Al Qaeda. Overall, watch this movie with the expectation to see some pretty nice fight sequences. They are what keeps the film high on my list. Collapse
  5. May 3, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film really spoke of how the life of people who sacrifice themselves for us to live happly in safety but as far as this storyline goes absolutely disappointed!. This ending was the worst and who the hell! Kills of a character by jumping on a Granad! The worst kill off I've seen. At least make it a bigger explosion to make up for it..the scripting wasn't at all surprising that in fact was a poor effort. I can keep going but after the fighting sences and prepe that was done very well done. Over all I give it a 6.5 (not bad) Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    What the hells of this movie. The story is boring and has no any new things. It's just a war movie that anyone can see in any war movies. In addition, the visual effects and the sound effects did not do that much in this movie. It's just for one time watch and forgot about it in 10 minutes later. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I'd like to state that this is not a propaganda piece. What it is, however, is a cynical ploy by the studio to cash-in on a highly polarized yet energized conservative movement and a large number of returning veterans now that the wars overseas are being brought to a close. It is also a ploy by the DoD to boost recruitment for the military, but it is not a propaganda piece. For it to be propaganda the film would have to say something, anything, with more depth than "Jihadis bad; criminal networks who support Jihadis bad". That's something that everyone barring a few radicals on both ends of the political spectrum can agree on. It's like saying "rape bad," everyone agrees already you don't need to release a film to convince us. Hence, I don't feel the film was attempting to convince us of anything other than, maybe, join the military? There's nothing to really be said about the film; in about an hour and a half (feels like four) blank-slates will go around shooting dark-skinned people in exotic locales until they go someplace else to shoot dark-skinned people in exotic locales. No, I'm not attempting to push some claim of racism or anything as daft as neocolonialism on the part of the movie. Just think about that premise for a moment -- it's every first-person shooter released between Call of Duty 4 and now. Let's talk about those blank-slates; my primary criticism of nearly every war film I've watched is that each character is essentially the same as the character before him. When you create a character and give him one defining characteristic, he or she is that characteristic. When you're making a film and you give a group of people that same characteristic they're that single characteristic. At the end of the film I had to ask my father who died. His response was "the LT," yes but who is the LT?" The guy who is having a baby" still, who the hell is that? These aren Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers