Admission

Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    75
    Admission is not especially funny. The trailer can’t seem to make up its mind. On the one hand, it looks like a satire of academia. On the other hand, it could be a gentle rom-com. In truth, it’s neither.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    The result is a picture curiously yet intriguingly at odds with itself: One moment is edgy, the next is not; the cast is terrific, the direction is not; here it’s satirically sharp, there it’s sloppily sentimental; now we’re happily engaged, then we’re cruelly dumped. Some films are electric – Admission settles for alternating current.
  3. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    Admission ultimately can’t quite figure out what kind of a film it wants to be, so like a lot of promising but unfocused contenders, it never quite lives up to its potential. But there’s value to be found in its meandering.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    Admission, a likably breezy campus movie directed by Paul Weitz (About a Boy), is blissfully non-insulting.
  5. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Mar 21, 2013
    65
    Where "About a Boy" was both funny and wise about urban alienation, Admission settles for skin deep.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 22, 2013
    63
    Largely because of its engaging cast, Admission is an amiable, but only slightly-above-average, comic romp.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    She’s (Fey) so good that — up to a point — you can ignore Paul Weitz’ erratic direction and a patchy script, both of which clumsily handle shifts between comedy and drama.
  8. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    My evaluation is to wait-list Admission and catch it when it reaches the less demanding platform of home video.
  9. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Admission works in stops and starts.
  10. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Cheerful, skittish entertainment that never takes its subject seriously enough.
  11. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    There's a good movie in this story. The one that got made is roughly half-good.
  12. 63
    Fey plays this inner-outer conflict well. But at her most wide-eyed and vulnerable, she still has trouble making a romance credible, even with Rudd, edgy comedy’s puppy dog of a leading man.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    I think the Metascore is about right on for this one. I like Paul Rudd and Tina Fey is solid, but the writing/editing of this story neededI think the Metascore is about right on for this one. I like Paul Rudd and Tina Fey is solid, but the writing/editing of this story needed tightening up. The end is awkward, the crisis is mishandled, and the subject matter overall getting a kid into Princeton is just not quite interesting enough to form the backbone of a feature film at least the way it's written here. Lilly Tomlin does a nice job in a very small role. Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    While it could be totally phony the ending is not exactly what I expected so I would say not as bad as some are saying. I think this film is aWhile it could be totally phony the ending is not exactly what I expected so I would say not as bad as some are saying. I think this film is a very decent one to see with your girl when you ran out of credit for action movies. Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    What can be said about a perfectly charming movie that the critics got so terribly wrong? It's a story with great heart and humor, one thatWhat can be said about a perfectly charming movie that the critics got so terribly wrong? It's a story with great heart and humor, one that hits all the right notes, including strong performances from Fey and Rudd and Tomlin as well as the rest of the supporting cast members. Finally a movie without explicit sex, bathroom humor, endless profanity, and graphic violence—a really good romantic comedy that deal with matters of the heart. Full Review »