Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Apr 16, 2012
    60
    It's a must see for fans of roar footage.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 21, 2011
    55
    Mostly, though, African Cats is extremely tactful about the truly harsh stuff that goes down in the world of nature.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    May be Disney's most pointedly feminist effort since "Mulan."
  4. Reviewed by: Rachel Saltz
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    At one point the lions make a meal of a lovely young zebra they've just killed. That spelled the end for the little boy sitting next to me. "I'm too scared," he said, and he dragged his mom out of the theater. Sorry, kid, it's a jungle out there, even in Disneynature.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 27, 2011
    40
    This Earth Day release has honorable intentions, but it imbues the animals with human emotions and motives, which only muddies our understanding of these ferocious feline species.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 22, 2011
    40
    African Cats, while often adorable and at times gripping, is more of a TV-ready experience.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 19, 2011
    40
    Since this is a House of Mouse production, sentimental order must inevitably be grafted onto nature's pitiless chaos. The cornball voiceover ascribes human wants and desires to the animals.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Alright, if you want a more badass version of March of the Penguins, it has arrived. Swap cute little penguins with f*cking lions and smooth,Alright, if you want a more badass version of March of the Penguins, it has arrived. Swap cute little penguins with f*cking lions and smooth, calm Morgan Freeman with SAMUEL L. F*CKING JACKSON. In other words, you have no choice but to love it, even if you don't care about the subject. Full Review »
  2. SMH
    Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This film is truly amazing. Disney should get an award for this. It's a true gift from disney. Anyone who watches this film is lucky toThis film is truly amazing. Disney should get an award for this. It's a true gift from disney. Anyone who watches this film is lucky to experience the incredible close-up view of these animals in the wild. Because I am an avid animal lover, I did have to cover my eyes once or twice. But I know that confrontations between the animals are just the unfortunate reality of the situation. Thank You Disney. Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    An intriguingly intense, beautifully filmed and remarkably touching film that plays out like a live-action LION KING (minus the singingAn intriguingly intense, beautifully filmed and remarkably touching film that plays out like a live-action LION KING (minus the singing warthog, of course). Two of my boys (ages 6 and 4) found the non-graphic and relatively bloodless hunt-for-dinner scenes a little intense but they still ended up loving it (and, most importantly, sitting still for a 90-minute documentary). I'll celebrate Earth Day by not burning Styrofoam in my driveway if you celebrate it by taking your family to see Disneynature's AFRICAN CATS. Full Review »