New Line Cinema | Release Date: November 12, 2004
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
15
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RickN.Apr 5, 2005
This film is crap, but the 10 is given for Selma Hayek's outstanding boobs, that give the best performance in this film. Truly interesting. The boobs that is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlesB.Jun 22, 2005
After reading the reviews on this site, I watched this movie, but with very low expectations. The movie appealed to me because I have been to Paradise Island, Bahamas, and I loved it. I also love heist movies. I would probably give this After reading the reviews on this site, I watched this movie, but with very low expectations. The movie appealed to me because I have been to Paradise Island, Bahamas, and I loved it. I also love heist movies. I would probably give this movie a 7 but too many people gave it a bad review. I can't really grasp why critics didnt like this one. I really don't find the movie boring or unenjoyable. I was entertained the whole time. Salma Hayek is really hot, the scenery is great (it made me want to go on vacation), the plot never got boring or tedious (the people who made the movie did a great job of cutting it down). I didn't really understand the neccesity of Don Cheadle's character, but it provided exciting twists and it was brilliantly acted. The relationship between Woody Harrelson and Pierce Brosnan's characters was hilarious. The movie had some clever twists that made you go "oooh". I found the movie overall very entertaining and not a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Jun 1, 2005
Caper movies are, as a rule, not my favorite genre, largely because I frequently have issues with the necessary suspension of ethics necessary to enjoy them, and because I realize that innocent lives and jobs are inevitably affected by the Caper movies are, as a rule, not my favorite genre, largely because I frequently have issues with the necessary suspension of ethics necessary to enjoy them, and because I realize that innocent lives and jobs are inevitably affected by the actions of the "heroes" in successfully pulling off the perfect bank robbery/ jewelry theft/ art museum heist/ Beanie Baby pilferage. For these films to even partially work for me they need at least some of the following factors: charming and likable characters, great scenery, a genuinely clever scheme, some real suspense and at least one really unguessable twist. Not only does this movie have ALL of the above, but the bonus element that really makes this Sunset shine is the intensely competitive but weirdly friendly rivalry between master crook Pierce Brosnan and frustrated FBI man Woody Harrelson (who, given his famous hemp-centered brushes with the law, must have really relished playing this role--and it shows) that put me in mind of the classic Tom and Jerry movie cartoons of the 1940s. Since it seems to be illegal in at least 40 states to discuss this film without mentioning the outfits that sexy Salma Hayek almost wears, let me add my piece: if one of the criteria for winning an Oscar nomination for Best Costume Design is the degree of sheer happiness that said costumes (and their wearer) bring to a substantial part of the movie's audience, then After the Sunset wuz robbed at least one category's worth! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Jan 10, 2005
GREAT MOVIE, soundtrack was awesome, story was great, such a relazing place to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeS.May 12, 2005
Good job :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisRMay 8, 2005
Not bad. It is pretty unpredictable. The acting kind of sucks, but Salma Hayek is so hot, you forget about the acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CameronS.Nov 17, 2004
This was a surpsingly good movie. I was really entertained. Salma Hayak is HOT and I really liked the plot. Good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanE.Nov 17, 2004
This wasn't a great thief or action movie, which is what i'm usually looking for when i watch the main star. Still, it ended up being more of a cute, sentimental film, and I recommend it for anyone who wants to watch something like This wasn't a great thief or action movie, which is what i'm usually looking for when i watch the main star. Still, it ended up being more of a cute, sentimental film, and I recommend it for anyone who wants to watch something like this.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffL.Nov 28, 2004
Pierce Brosnan may be best known as the most widely-acclaimed James Bond since Sean Connery, but he's often at his liveliest when playing roles on the other side of the law, whether as the wealthy art thief of The Thomas Crown Affair or Pierce Brosnan may be best known as the most widely-acclaimed James Bond since Sean Connery, but he's often at his liveliest when playing roles on the other side of the law, whether as the wealthy art thief of The Thomas Crown Affair or the brutal, double-crossing spy of The Tailor of Panama. In After the Sunset, he's a lot of fun playing a jewel thief who retires with his lover/partner (an astonishingly hot Salma Hayek) to a carefree life in the Bahamas, until the FBI agent he has humiliated one too many times (Woody Harrelson, delightfully bringing his brand of goofy charm to the role) comes into the picture, along with a temptation to get back into his old game one last time. The always terrific Don Cheadle is amusing as a local crime boss with a thing for The Mamas and the Papas (you'll have to see for yourself), and beautiful Naomie Harris (28 Days Later) is likeable as an island cop who understandably attracts Harrelson's attention. This fluffball caper movie may be utterly disposable, but the locations are gorgeous, director Brett Ratner (Red Dragon, Rush Hour) moves the action along quickly and amiably, and the actors have such an infectiously good time I found the film hard not to enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kitnBMar 29, 2005
Great Pierce Movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KabirNov 12, 2004
Not sure why the critics didn't like this one... saw it tonight with very low expectations, and was very pleasantly surprised. consistently funny throughout, had a great script, and salma hayek was RIDICULOUS looking... would definitely Not sure why the critics didn't like this one... saw it tonight with very low expectations, and was very pleasantly surprised. consistently funny throughout, had a great script, and salma hayek was RIDICULOUS looking... would definitely recommend, which i was not expecting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful