Alex Cross

Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Alex Cross follows the homicide detective/psychologist, from the worldwide best-selling novels by James Patterson, as he meets his match in a serial killer. The two face off in a high-stakes game of cat and mouse, but when the mission gets personal, Cross is pushed to the edge of his moralAlex Cross follows the homicide detective/psychologist, from the worldwide best-selling novels by James Patterson, as he meets his match in a serial killer. The two face off in a high-stakes game of cat and mouse, but when the mission gets personal, Cross is pushed to the edge of his moral and psychological limits in this taut and exciting action thriller. (Summit Entertainment) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 17 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Oct 18, 2012
    63
    Director Rob Cohen shoots believable action sequences, too. Nobody jumps the gap between skyscrapers or falls 40 feet, then gets up and runs away.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Oct 17, 2012
    50
    A disjointed thriller with two many characters rattling around.
  3. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Oct 18, 2012
    50
    Alex Cross is filled with accidental comedy, and while it's a mess in any traditional movie sense, it's has its moments of preposterous fun that come in the form of a nonsensical plot and a fabulously competent, scenery-gnawing villain.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Oct 19, 2012
    38
    Aside from these curious role reversals, though, Alex Cross is a mess. Drawing on every conceivable '80s B-movie action cliché and treating its beleaguered female characters like pieces of meat (literally, in one scene of butchery), director Rob Cohen squanders a surprisingly recognizable cast on a half-baked plot adapted from James Patterson's series of novels.
  5. 30
    What a whorish film this is: Even the serial killer lectures the detective.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 18, 2012
    25
    Alex Cross is slipshod cinema hoping to capitalize on a star out of his orbit here.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 17, 2012
    12
    Expositional and often self-serious to the point of genuine awkwardness, the dialogue is never as haltingly unconvincing as when it's attempting to give some approximation of Alex Cross's essential looseness and good humor.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Alex Cross was a surprisingly good movie! I've never read the original books, so, I cannot make a comparison, but, this was a very nice movieAlex Cross was a surprisingly good movie! I've never read the original books, so, I cannot make a comparison, but, this was a very nice movie compared to some of the unoriginal stuff that they put out these days. I found it strange to see a mainly-comedy actor play a serious role, but, he actually fit it nicely. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    one of the most EPIC films of the year thus far, i was skeptical at first, but perry is amazing as the new alex cross, it's reasonably wellone of the most EPIC films of the year thus far, i was skeptical at first, but perry is amazing as the new alex cross, it's reasonably well written, and incredibly fast-paced Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    I love Madea and there were a few times I thought I heard Madea's voice come through Alex Cross. :) Aside from that, Tyler's role was decentI love Madea and there were a few times I thought I heard Madea's voice come through Alex Cross. :) Aside from that, Tyler's role was decent and a bit surprising. I did not expect him to do as well and was pleased to see how much I enjoyed the film. I would invest in seeing a series. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2015
    5
    Convincing performances by both Tyler Perry and Matthew Fox prevent this otherwise generic action thriller from being a total bomb. If nothingConvincing performances by both Tyler Perry and Matthew Fox prevent this otherwise generic action thriller from being a total bomb. If nothing else, Alex Cross served as a vehicle for Perry to prove his dramatic acting chops. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    Tyler Perry should stick to directing rather than bieng in action films. Based on the book series gave Tyler Perry the worst opening week as an actor.
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Poorly acted, lazily written, and not really directed at all, Alex Cross is the most clichéd action movie of the year.
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    0
    There's really just one thing to say: Tyler Perry, you sir are no Morgan Freeman. I really hope this doesn't become a franchise, or if itThere's really just one thing to say: Tyler Perry, you sir are no Morgan Freeman. I really hope this doesn't become a franchise, or if it has to, that they hire some real writers to sculpt an actual suspense movie and not some summarized, cliched version of its better predecessors. How this borderline tortureporn got a PG-13 rating is beyond me. I felt bad for the talented actors who had to say those lines. I look forward to seeing them in better projects in the future. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers