All Is Bright

All Is Bright Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 3, 2013
    90
    A sardonic, smart screwball comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Ror me its heartbreaking denouement – with shades of a Raymond Carver or William Kennedy ending – packed a prodigious emotional wallop.
  3. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Oct 7, 2013
    70
    Although laughs do come... the film is happy to observe wryly as boredom and failure threaten to overwhelm the men.
  4. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Sep 6, 2013
    50
    There are tones of 1970s shaggy realism that are interrupted by moments of character-driven shtick. The wistful scenes aren’t rich enough to engross you and the comedy isn’t clever enough to make a difference.
  5. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Sep 6, 2013
    50
    Semi-flat with only a few jokes and emotional beats that land, the picture is often dull when it should be poignant.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 6, 2013
    50
    All Is Bright remains engaging, for the most part, but most of the big narrative turns feel both predictable and forced, and at odds with the natural charms of the cast.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 1, 2013
    25
    The script, by Melissa James Gibson, is as scintillating as a dead rodent.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    It's not a perfect movie, but the performances are truly first rate. Very funny and surprisingly touching. I appreciate that they actuallyIt's not a perfect movie, but the performances are truly first rate. Very funny and surprisingly touching. I appreciate that they actually shot New York for New York that's commitment. Definitely worth your time. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2014
    6
    Messed up characters trying to make ends meet. Their life's complications are twisted in such a way that it becomes a source for laughter withMessed up characters trying to make ends meet. Their life's complications are twisted in such a way that it becomes a source for laughter with heartfelt moments. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2015
    2
    i found some interesting little scenes in there....still even if there was a hilarious montage of them stealing things for a whole hour iti found some interesting little scenes in there....still even if there was a hilarious montage of them stealing things for a whole hour it would remain miserable....-JRA Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    1
    This is two hours of time lost from your life. I like these actors but this is a pointless movie with no story and no end. Not sure what theThis is two hours of time lost from your life. I like these actors but this is a pointless movie with no story and no end. Not sure what the point of the entire movie was, it was just angry banter and a few lame character interactions and not much else. I highly suggest passing on this project. Collapse

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.