User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 203
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Robert Redford is way out in the Indian Ocean, when his sailboat is hit by a shipping container. That's only the beginning of his solo ordeal for survival. The gradual deterioration of his situation is detailed methodically, without dramatics, dialogue and with minimumal emotion (the opposite of Bullock's solo challenges in "Gravity.). Still, the continued quiet persistence in the face ofRobert Redford is way out in the Indian Ocean, when his sailboat is hit by a shipping container. That's only the beginning of his solo ordeal for survival. The gradual deterioration of his situation is detailed methodically, without dramatics, dialogue and with minimumal emotion (the opposite of Bullock's solo challenges in "Gravity.). Still, the continued quiet persistence in the face of continued frustration is effective. It's not especially gripping, but involves in an objective, almost procedural way. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    There is little poetry or artistry to this film. As someone else said, it's basically a procedural about dealing with sailing emergencies. I really don't understand so many reviewers proclaiming "the performance of a lifetime" from Robert Redford. I thought his acting was too often stiff, unrevealing and sometimes forced. It was not terrible, just uninspired, but then, has he ever beenThere is little poetry or artistry to this film. As someone else said, it's basically a procedural about dealing with sailing emergencies. I really don't understand so many reviewers proclaiming "the performance of a lifetime" from Robert Redford. I thought his acting was too often stiff, unrevealing and sometimes forced. It was not terrible, just uninspired, but then, has he ever been a really great actor? Or been in a really great movie? I don't mean to be unkind to an earnest guy making his final movie. You should probably see this so you know what everyone is talking about. And then you can wonder who's reviews you should trust. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2014
    6
    It's not a bad movie, but All Is Lost is way too sparse to hold complete attention for its almost two hour running time. It's very well shot and meticulously detailed in terms of how Redford comes up with clever ways to survive, but a lot of the time I was bored. Don't get me wrong, there were a handful of tense or exciting scenes. A couple of times the movie actually got to be prettyIt's not a bad movie, but All Is Lost is way too sparse to hold complete attention for its almost two hour running time. It's very well shot and meticulously detailed in terms of how Redford comes up with clever ways to survive, but a lot of the time I was bored. Don't get me wrong, there were a handful of tense or exciting scenes. A couple of times the movie actually got to be pretty emotionally resonant. I just haven't fallen in love with the idea of movies being as bare boned as possible. This same story could have been told with a lot more excitement if flashbacks, or at least some more lines, were added. It's all very convincing, but if you look at 127 Hours, or Life of Pi, you'll see how much more engaging this type of movie can be. Redford did a decent job acting but it wasn't a very challenging role to play. He just had to hold a serious face the whole time. The movie's not terrible but I don't get why critics adore it so much. A metascore of 87 is just way too high in my opinion. Nice storm scene though. Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In its simplest form, the film’s about Robert Redford on a boat for an hour and a half. It’s a well-made film, great visuals, and great acting. However the end result just makes it boring when it’s so easy to compare it to other films such as Cast Away and The Perfect Storm. There’s virtually no character development either, if you start the movie off by connecting with the character (fatherly or personally) you’ll enjoy it, if you think he’s a rich jerk with a boat then you can’t wait to see him fail, but this doesn’t matter because you’ll never know anything about him, other than that he knows how to sail quite well. I can respect it as an art film, but as a form of entertainment it feels hallow, stretched, boring (like being stuck out at sea, I get it). If you’re a Robert Redford fan (The Sting, Spy Games) you’ll find it okay, if you’re an artsy Robert Redford fan you’ll like it, if you like sailing it’s definitely entertaining, but if you’re looking for a movie night with some friends you might want to pass on it. Overall I feel the film is just too over rated because it has Redford, if it was anyone else I feel like it would be panned and above all just average.

    Personally I am a big fan of Robert Redford
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    6
    As Our Man (Robert Redford) narrates the only monologue throughout a practically dialogue-free film, as the deck floods and the water begins to sink into the “Virginia Jean” in the opening scene, it becomes quite apparent that optimism is not in our best interest for All Is Lost.

    J.C Chandor directs and writes, fresh off his Academy Award Nominated Original Screenplay debut Margin Call,
    As Our Man (Robert Redford) narrates the only monologue throughout a practically dialogue-free film, as the deck floods and the water begins to sink into the “Virginia Jean” in the opening scene, it becomes quite apparent that optimism is not in our best interest for All Is Lost.

    J.C Chandor directs and writes, fresh off his Academy Award Nominated Original Screenplay debut Margin Call, a subtle and deeply metaphysical picture of one man’s survival story.

    All Is Lost, a nearly dialogue free, thirty-two page treatment, tells the story of a man and his enduring will to survive the torrential Indian Ocean. When Our Man awakens to find a breach in his hull, no thanks to a floating red shipping container, he uses his keen nautical skills to detach the container from the “Virginia Jean”. Successful in his attempt to detach, Our Man steers his ship away, finally dislodged, and begins to patch his wounded boat. After successfully sealing the hull, ridding the boat of excess water and trying to readjust the boats navigational functions, Our Man is left with very little options. After a fatal storm for the “Virginia Jean” that forces Our Man to seek refuge on a lifeboat, All Is Lost showcases the talent of Redford as a veteran actor.

    As the scenes build and the obstacles for Our Man continue, the film is an affecting cinematic venture that demands thought and patience. Effortless in his nuances and thoroughly convincing as a marine veteran, it’s almost daunting to actually remember Redford as a ranch-head.

    Set against the smooth and wavy backdrop of the Indian Ocean, Our Man, wrinkled, wise, bloody, and hopeful keeps us enthralled. At times, the film plays more as an informational boating tale with cautionary repercussions than a deeply affecting drama of hope, but Redford uses the film to seal his place amongst the greatest nuanced actors of his time.

    The film itself is not for everyone. Somewhat uneventful and at a snail’s pace narratively, All Is Lost is Chandor‘s self-reflexive piece of arrogance and Highlighting his skills as a writer and captain in front of the camera, the film itself is a bit nauseating due to the sweltering reminder of how good Chandor is. The film is filled with incredible, realistic scenes of pain and suffering, underwater scenery and marine wildlife, but the film is also a poorly constructed visual disaster. Poorly edited special effects of passing by boats and overwhelming wave FX, inadvertently reminds audience members how talented Redford actually is in the role and how much Chandor has to learn.

    Redford is pushed physically and mentally, literally being plunged into the blackened water, spun around and battered within the cabin of the boat, and peeled of all human interaction, the film is Redford‘s finest work as a seasoned film icon.

    The production itself is a mixed bag of emotions. From an original score that includes a whale horn, excellent sound mixing and editing of the water and the always present mother-nature antagonist, to the extremely revealing intimate camera angles, there is much to be had with All Is Lost.

    Unfortunately for Redford and all involved, All Is Lost will mostly be an overlooked, or intentionally avoided film by many. Sure to make a splash with film enthusiasts and Redford die-hards, even then, the film will present audience members with a very hard decision, to sit through the whole movie or leave three-quarters in. There is no denying the intensity and power in Redford‘s portrayal of a literally and figuratively lost man. But, like his character in the film, All Is Lost may very well be drowned by obscurity.

    All Is Lost is a thoroughly independent film driven by a tour-de-force performance by Redford. After all is said and done, ambiguity is established and time has lapsed, one may come to the realization that All Is Lost is a rehashing of Cast Away, Open Water and last year’s Life of Pi, that may have come a little too soon, but narratively, not fast enough. I hope, for Redford‘s sake and for the sake of the sole actor steering this lost, directionless film, the film doesn’t become a hyperbole of itself. As Our Man ends his only few words, “all is lost here, except for soul and body”, Redford is present front and centre, but contrary to what the film claims, it’s soul still needs to be found.
    Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hard to sit through this one--the cinematography was good, scenery even believability--except for his not talking at all--well, barely. No one says he has to carry on a monologue with himself but, come on, I think anyone would be making some noise if they were being tossed about on a boat, literally upside-down at times. That 20 minutes to the first word (after the actual beginning) was just breaking the ice, I thought, but then there was such a dry spell afterward that I almost left; it was actually tedious to sit through. I like and admire Redford both as an actor and a person, but this particular film did nothing for me except make me wonder how much longer it was going to last........ Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The basic interest of this movie is will the Robert Redford charactor "Our Man survive. There is an apparent answer. A boat with a light approaches his lifeboat and shines a light towards his submerged body. He swims to that light and a hand reaches underwater to rescue him. Being rescued isn't consistent with the title of the movie, "All is Lost." There have been claims by people who have had near-death experiences that describe a calming light during those moments. A possible hallucination of a dying brain could be that reaching hand. Perhaps, the same thing can happen when the victim/patient succumbs. If that is what the ending portrayed, all was lost. For the theist and believer in an afterlife the hand could be symbolic of God's taking Our Man to heaven. In that case he would have died, but everything is gained. Lastly, the visual presentation at the end may be the Hollywood required happy ending. Please click this comment as helpful if you think that it is hard to explain the title of the movie based on what you saw. Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2014
    5
    One of the slowest movies I have ever watched. I would say that if you know not to expect an action packed experience going into this then you would be fine, but even as someone who knew not to expect that I found myself caught off guard by how boring this film ended up being. For the majority of the film, rather than watching Robert Redford fight for survival, we watch him go throughOne of the slowest movies I have ever watched. I would say that if you know not to expect an action packed experience going into this then you would be fine, but even as someone who knew not to expect that I found myself caught off guard by how boring this film ended up being. For the majority of the film, rather than watching Robert Redford fight for survival, we watch him go through menial tasks. There are some interesting scenes here and there, but overall the film seems to just drag on. I wouldn't call what Redford does here acting, as his character very rarely shows any emotion or speaks at all. It's not bad, but instead a rather dull and boring film. I don't recommend it unless you are just a survival fanatic. Expand
  9. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    it will generally require a herculean effort on the parts of both the director & the single actor/actress to carry a single character story in such a manner as to keep an audience entertained & captivated. unfortunately, this film does neither. with zero background provided, we really have no reason, other than basic human decency, to cheer him on in his struggle for survival. oneit will generally require a herculean effort on the parts of both the director & the single actor/actress to carry a single character story in such a manner as to keep an audience entertained & captivated. unfortunately, this film does neither. with zero background provided, we really have no reason, other than basic human decency, to cheer him on in his struggle for survival. one wonders, for example, what possible purpose and or planning went into this misguided, catastrophe laiden misadventure. presented in a vacuum, as it is, it comes & goes without generating much impact, and i found Redfords performance solid, but hardly spellbinding. unless you're a fan of his, i'd skip this one. Expand
  10. Dec 31, 2013
    5
    There is nothing to it. With less words than any movie I have ever seen, Redford needed to do some extraordinary acting to give some poetry or artistry to the film. Unfortunately, the movie becomes a standard survival film.
  11. Hum
    Nov 25, 2013
    4
    All is lost, including an hour of my life spent watching the first half of this film. Redford is like a monk, not saying a single word. When the frustration finally gets to him, he screams out one word. Given the depravity of Hollywood you can guess what that word was. The second half was barely watchable, no dialogue. See Captain Phillips instead
  12. Mar 15, 2014
    4
    in the ending robert redford tries to drown himself then someone helps him thats a dumb plan to do and guess what he catches his raft on fire thats a idoiotic move . i was really looking forward to see this .
  13. Sep 23, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watched the movie and was disappointed that the man, Robert Redford, was not really a sailor. Cannot imagine what he was doing so far away from a shore or land. He had no access to a life jacket, he didn't put the harness on until too late, his liferaft was kept in the V-berth when it should have been strapped on deck, had no EPIRB and he had no idea how to use a radio. He struggled to put on a storm jib which should have been easily accessible too since he saw the storm coming. I did like the way the boat was patched and he did try to get noticed by the containers, but as most sailors know, there is no one on the bridge of the containers and no one wandering around their decks at night. His flares left a lot to be desired but I cannot blame him for trying to light a fire on the life raft except it caught the whole thing alight. That was too bad. I do know that there wasn't any hand at the end and that he died or drowned. The photography was great and I was sad to see the boat sink. Robert Redford should have checked up on sailing rules before doing the movie or was he just too complacent to bother. Most lone sailors are much better prepared than he. Sorry about the negatives but??? Expand
  14. Apr 9, 2014
    6
    A thrilling, edge-of-your-seat ride to the bottom of the ocean pleases with its delicate sparsity. A fresh take on survival, All Is Lost is let down by its glaring lack of realistic emotion and contemplation.
  15. Mar 18, 2014
    4
    This film was unable to sustain my interest for a number of reasons. The opening prologue provided no tangible information. As a starter, it would have been helpful to know to something about this voyage. Family difficulties? Feeling guilty about past acts? but none of this was forthcoming. Also, more information should have been provided about where exactly he was (like a map) and whereThis film was unable to sustain my interest for a number of reasons. The opening prologue provided no tangible information. As a starter, it would have been helpful to know to something about this voyage. Family difficulties? Feeling guilty about past acts? but none of this was forthcoming. Also, more information should have been provided about where exactly he was (like a map) and where he was heading. Being someone unfamiliar with boats, it would have helped sustain my interest to know more about what he was doing after the storm hit. Frankly, being 1 hour and 45 minutes of a solitary sailor with no dialog, this film just lost it for me half way through. I still do not understand what the critics saw in this movie to give it high ratings. It seems like a self indulgent fantasy by Mr. Redford. And lastly, what kind of a crazy person 80 years old (or so) goes out in sailboat on the ocean by himself? Expand
  16. Feb 14, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an entry into the "white people doing things they probably shouldn't" genre. You know, like getting involved in 3rd-world coups, climbing mountains and trying to be friends with grizzly bears. Then everything goes wrong and it's time to make an inspiring film, instead of highlighting the colossal stupidity that put them in the situation in the first place. This one features a guy in his 70s sailing alone in the Indian Ocean. It does a fairly good job keeping your interest but the last 45 minutes get tedious and cliche, with the predictable "almost" rescue and the "all hope is lost" scene. Redford has almost no dialog (doesn't even talk to himself). Likewise, there are no other actors in the film. Critics love these "actor's studio" gimmicks and they explain about 20 points of the meta-score. Bottom line, if you shop at Whole Foods, were ever a fan of Coldplay and have a Thule rack on your car, you will probably be inspired by this film. Expand
  17. Jan 27, 2014
    6
    BAD FILM..Professional well crafted film with too many ERRORS!!!. (Good metaphorically speaking). Firstly ..Who is this guy? Where does he come from? If you know sailing you will know that this guy does almost everything wrong as a sailor. So I assume he is an armature, in which case he is an idiot (really...... No life jacket, no mandatory PFD? really…?) Because of the obviousBAD FILM..Professional well crafted film with too many ERRORS!!!. (Good metaphorically speaking). Firstly ..Who is this guy? Where does he come from? If you know sailing you will know that this guy does almost everything wrong as a sailor. So I assume he is an armature, in which case he is an idiot (really...... No life jacket, no mandatory PFD? really…?) Because of the obvious metaphorical caliber and cinematography of the film I will give the benefit of the doubt and assume that all the dumb choices he make are to in fact make a point.

    I’m bored and too make a long story short Ill say this;

    This film is a metaphor for about a random guy getting old and dying (a nobody) BUT more importantly how this guy simply goes through the motions of getting old giving up and dying.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    With no 3D, no friends and no hope, Redford and Chandor show how survivalist instincts can stoke thrilling, thoughtful cinema. If Gravity grabbed you, hop aboard and hold tight.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Dec 23, 2013
    100
    A triumph of pure cinema and wonderful visual storytelling from Chandor, who must now be considered the real deal, while Redford is sublime in what could well be the performance of his career.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Nov 7, 2013
    75
    The presence of Robert Redford gives the character weight, if not depth, because we bring to the film everything we know about the actor from other movies. Redford’s characters have seemed unflappable for more than 40 years: sometimes cool, sometimes cocky, but almost always master of a situation. To see him beginning to flounder is to see a new Redford, one who catches us off guard.