Almost Famous

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 364 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 364

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BobZ.
    Mar 9, 2001
    10
    I grew up in the 70's--this flick is outstanding.
  2. AndrewP.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    I love this movie! It's one of my all time favorites.
  3. DanC.
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    One of the best music movies in recent years. Great performances.
  4. MorganW
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This movie is my all time favorite movie. I first saw this movie on tv when i was 14 and it changed my whole view on music. I thought pop music was good, haha not anymore!. i wish i was penny lane, kate plays her perfectly; she should of won the oscar.The band was so real. i love every scene, and the music in them is perfect. Crow did an amazing job and I wish i had grown up in this era This movie is my all time favorite movie. I first saw this movie on tv when i was 14 and it changed my whole view on music. I thought pop music was good, haha not anymore!. i wish i was penny lane, kate plays her perfectly; she should of won the oscar.The band was so real. i love every scene, and the music in them is perfect. Crow did an amazing job and I wish i had grown up in this era so i could of excperence it instead of wishing. Expand
  5. ValerieG.
    Apr 6, 2001
    10
    This was clearly one of the best movies of the year. I can't wait to watch all over again.
  6. Fastic
    Apr 22, 2002
    10
    One of the best films ever... the bus-scene with "tiny dancer" just rules!
  7. ButteredPopcorn
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    A Very Very Good movie. Has everything I need in a movie- entertaining to the max while grappling with some substantive issues. Stays honest in its telling of Rock's backstage bawdiness which is essential. A very simple film at its heart. With so much heart, it's heard not to like it. Not an epic, not really a masterpiece, but a real gem in this viewers opinion. A movie good A Very Very Good movie. Has everything I need in a movie- entertaining to the max while grappling with some substantive issues. Stays honest in its telling of Rock's backstage bawdiness which is essential. A very simple film at its heart. With so much heart, it's heard not to like it. Not an epic, not really a masterpiece, but a real gem in this viewers opinion. A movie good enough to watch several times. The actor that portrays the mentor music-critic is really top-notch. What a hoot! Expand
  8. KevinH.
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    I have the extended Director's Cut and love it. It's one of those films that fascinates, drawing me into the story and the characters. It's funny and touching, and the actors are great. Billy Cruddup is now a name to watch, especially after seeing him in Charlotte Gray as well. Kate Hudson, is so cool and some of her subtle expressions.... What's all of this rock & I have the extended Director's Cut and love it. It's one of those films that fascinates, drawing me into the story and the characters. It's funny and touching, and the actors are great. Billy Cruddup is now a name to watch, especially after seeing him in Charlotte Gray as well. Kate Hudson, is so cool and some of her subtle expressions.... What's all of this rock & roll spirit stuff? Does it need some more grit, cynicism - what? It's a movie and one that bears multiple watchings. I can come home tired and get my tea on the table, then skip to a favourite moment - and R E L A X !! Just excellent! Expand
  9. ErickC.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Great movie!! great soundtrack!! a perfect 10 !!
  10. Paulas.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie...thought provoking and enormously entertaining.
  11. BlakeJ.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    One of the few movies that can satisfy all tastes. All of the supporting actors and actresses make the movie. Frances McDormand's turn as Elaine is a landmark in film as far as "over-bearing" mother roles are concerned. Zooey Deschanel makes for the perfect foil character of the film. Of course, Kate Hudson's turn as "Penny Lane" is an unforgettable performance, and is surely One of the few movies that can satisfy all tastes. All of the supporting actors and actresses make the movie. Frances McDormand's turn as Elaine is a landmark in film as far as "over-bearing" mother roles are concerned. Zooey Deschanel makes for the perfect foil character of the film. Of course, Kate Hudson's turn as "Penny Lane" is an unforgettable performance, and is surely the best of her career. I also thorougly enjoyed Phillip Seymour Hoffman's portrayal of Lester Bangs. This movie is perfect for all audiences. There is something in it for everyone. It is one of those movies that can be watched over and over again. Not to mention the soundtrack will bring anyone who is not already a Led Zeppelin, Elton John, or Joni Mitchell fan to go out and purchase some albums... Expand
  12. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Camerpn Crowe, a marvelous soundtrack and a story set at the nadir of great rock music. What more do you want?
  13. RyanM.
    Oct 17, 2001
    10
    It takes you back an era like your living in the life of the characters, now that is greatness--one of the ten greatest movies of all-time.
  14. PennyL.
    Jan 26, 2001
    10
    This movie will go down in time like Titanic!
  15. PicoP.
    Feb 19, 2001
    10
    The best film of the year.
  16. Deb
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Pete Travers got it right - I have sold my soul to rock and roll. And I would sell it again for a chance to live one day in the reality of this movie.
  17. J.Lake
    Aug 26, 2002
    10
    Absolutely stunning performances, one of the best movies I've ever seen.
  18. WilliamMiller
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    Absolutely amazing. This is a real movie about real people, no special effects or big explosions. Every time I watch this movie again I enjoy it even more; what a wonderful film.
  19. PeterA.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Oone of the best movies I've ever seen. Amazing character development, story, and best of all, it's honest.
  20. Anak.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    This movie made me want to pick up a guitar, and never let it go. Its a movie that once you watch you never forget. I sat in front of the TV for hours after it ended marveling the eloquence and beauty that it showed. This movie made Tiny Dancer my favorite song. It made me wish I was Kate Hudson, and I was a hippie, it made me wish I could live life like her. The soundtrack is amazing, This movie made me want to pick up a guitar, and never let it go. Its a movie that once you watch you never forget. I sat in front of the TV for hours after it ended marveling the eloquence and beauty that it showed. This movie made Tiny Dancer my favorite song. It made me wish I was Kate Hudson, and I was a hippie, it made me wish I could live life like her. The soundtrack is amazing, and over a year after I saw it, I still have a guitar in my hand. Expand
  21. ToddS
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie. I love Crudup, his indecision, not really sure where he's going. The stupid drama between the band that was so real. The coming of age for Young William. The passion of the fans and the love of rock and roll. Most importantly, the character of Penny Lane is amazing, as well as her relationships with William and Russel. Kate Hudson has never been better.
  22. MozG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Kate Hudson is the heart of this movie; Billy Crudup is its soul. Between them they carry this already astonishing piece of cinema-almost-verite into the stratosphere. Fugit is a wonderful debutante, and his honesty completes the godhead.
  23. CasperL.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie. Funny, heartfelt, and great acting. One of my favorites.
  24. CollinP
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Hands down, my favorite film of the 21st Century (so far).
  25. DonaldS.
    Jan 26, 2001
    10
    I would pay $50 to see this movie.
  26. DonaldS.
    Jan 26, 2001
    10
    I would pay $50 to see this movie.
  27. PicoP.
    Feb 19, 2001
    10
    The best film of the year.
  28. WilliamM.
    May 22, 2001
    10
    Best movie of the year BY FAR. Not just a must-see, a must-own.
  29. KonradR.
    Dec 12, 2002
    10
    One of the films of the most memorable films of all time. There are no flaws to pick out here, lead by Cameron Crowe, the mastermind behind Jerry Maguire, the cast melt perfectly together. It's touching, moving, hilarious and stunning.
  30. ElliottM.
    Oct 23, 2002
    10
    This film makes me so happy.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    88
    Crowe's script is a thing of wonder, and he again proves himself to be an outstanding director of actors.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Keogh
    100
    A wondrous honesty.
  3. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    75
    Crowe is so good on mood and milieu that when Elton John's bubblegum ballad "Tiny Dancer" swells on the soundtrack, in this context it sounds like a hymn.