Universal Pictures | Release Date: January 12, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 99 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
49
Mixed:
31
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
KathiS.Jan 8, 2008
As a 47-year-old woman with a 53-year-old husband we did not expect to love this movie. We did, though. Timberlake was great but I thought the rest of the cast was, too. I don't kn ow why it received all the bad reviews. Was it really As a 47-year-old woman with a 53-year-old husband we did not expect to love this movie. We did, though. Timberlake was great but I thought the rest of the cast was, too. I don't kn ow why it received all the bad reviews. Was it really just the cursing. Big deal. I know it was disturbing but real life often is. We loved the movie and plan on buying the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GritMar 20, 2007
Justin is as good an actor as a singer. What a surprise! And to the haters, stop.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 10, 2007
If nothing else, Alpha Dog's worth a look for the performance of Justin Timberlake, the moral center of a movie sorely in need of some conscience. Already a gifted comic actor--his Saturday Night Live appearances are now anticipated If nothing else, Alpha Dog's worth a look for the performance of Justin Timberlake, the moral center of a movie sorely in need of some conscience. Already a gifted comic actor--his Saturday Night Live appearances are now anticipated events--he proves himself able to go to a pitch-black place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickH.Jan 21, 2007
Surprisingly effective after the fact - with a clean visual style and some strong acting moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GerronK.Mar 8, 2007
First of all, Justin Timberlake's performance is the most poignant one in the entire film. The way he behaves (as some of you all put it: as the nasal whining person) is required of his character. He is supposed to be the human in the First of all, Justin Timberlake's performance is the most poignant one in the entire film. The way he behaves (as some of you all put it: as the nasal whining person) is required of his character. He is supposed to be the human in the entire fiasco and he portrays it finely. The movie as a whole was a bit of a mess, but the film came together in the last 30 minutes, and with its tragic ending, is a smart film for such an early year release. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ConorKJun 7, 2007
good movie, captivating scenes, true story so it had to be good
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewC.Jan 12, 2007
Although the characters are a bunch of idiots I really liked Nick Cassavetes style and thought that he really captured their whole scene very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
olivers.Nov 3, 2007
I usually am more a fan of the classics than new films, however i found this film enjoyable and to have a very good story. I thought it depicted the characters perfectly and gave shock and horror. I am not at all a Justin fan but acted I usually am more a fan of the classics than new films, however i found this film enjoyable and to have a very good story. I thought it depicted the characters perfectly and gave shock and horror. I am not at all a Justin fan but acted exceptionally well in this film. All in all the acting was great, the script was great and the plot was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StpehanieJan 13, 2007
I thought this movie was very good. I liked everything about it, to the actors, to the drama, everything. This movie was very mind catching, and really hit me at the end. It was a very sad story and I'm glad someone smart made the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulR.Oct 17, 2007
I can't believe all the negative reviews. I thought the movie was very good! The acting was great, even from Timberlake. Sad ending, but I read the MSNBC story, so I knew it was coming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanF.May 13, 2007
This film really surprised me with how well it depicted the strange world of a group of LA wigger, wannabe gangsters. These small time thug's world spirals out of control, as they try to 'keep it real' and be OG's... I This film really surprised me with how well it depicted the strange world of a group of LA wigger, wannabe gangsters. These small time thug's world spirals out of control, as they try to 'keep it real' and be OG's... I thought this movie was a good commentary on the senselessness of gangsta rap, and the attempts of suburban white youth to imitate gangster culture. This film reminded me a little bit of Todd Solondz or Harmony Korine's movies, I even picked up a bit of a Tarantino (for a younger generation) feel to the movie. Somewhat original, fairly thought-provoking film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XtianCJan 19, 2008
Enjoyable, and well acted. A startling insight into true events, it shows how kids are becoming more and more desensitized ad anti-social. Excellent social comment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobinRFeb 26, 2008
It saddens me that this movie has been put aside by viewers because of the words "Justin's in it so why watch?" This film was vulgar, I believe it was on a top 100 list of some sort for how many times it says the "f word." However, It saddens me that this movie has been put aside by viewers because of the words "Justin's in it so why watch?" This film was vulgar, I believe it was on a top 100 list of some sort for how many times it says the "f word." However, Alpha Dog is one of my favorite movies because of the reality vibe it gives. I laughed and I cried. Alpha Dog should definitely be considered one of the best films of 2007. The buildup to the climax of the plot line is just wonderfully portrayed by Yelchin and yes, even Timberlake. His acting was very good and this. I really wish people could see him as an actor off the street and not view him as an image of his past. He has evolved quite well, and Alpha Dog is a big step in the rise of his success. Overall, I thought this film was beautifully acted and carried out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilipeM.Oct 13, 2009
A glossy yet unflinching portrait of violent, hedonistic teenagers. Bruce Willis and Sharon Stone chew the scenery, while Justin Timberlake gives a noteworthy performance. Anton Yelchin is able to bring all of the conflicting emotions of A glossy yet unflinching portrait of violent, hedonistic teenagers. Bruce Willis and Sharon Stone chew the scenery, while Justin Timberlake gives a noteworthy performance. Anton Yelchin is able to bring all of the conflicting emotions of Zach and conveying all of it beautifully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AxonOct 28, 2010
I'm absolutely against violence, but the rage of Ben Fosters character spoke to me. I found a sincerity in the acting that I wont forget. This is one of my favorite movies; primarily due to the base emotions it elicited in me. It's not forI'm absolutely against violence, but the rage of Ben Fosters character spoke to me. I found a sincerity in the acting that I wont forget. This is one of my favorite movies; primarily due to the base emotions it elicited in me. It's not for everyone, but if you feel this movie is for you I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Mar 6, 2012
This movie deserves more credit from everyone. The development of the relationship between the kid and timberlake's character is easily the biggest thing this movie has going for it. The story is absurd and I don't know how much of this isThis movie deserves more credit from everyone. The development of the relationship between the kid and timberlake's character is easily the biggest thing this movie has going for it. The story is absurd and I don't know how much of this is "true" but what I do know is that by the end I felt for the characters, so it obviously did something right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJMar 12, 2013
This movie shows the real face of the most American people. I liked it, because it has a unpredictable story. It's great to watch with friends. So i recommend it with my final score 7/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews