Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 16, 2011
3.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 115 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
19
Negative:
68
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Tiber5Jan 14, 2017
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ThisIsSparta666Jan 14, 2017
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SimpsonFansJan 14, 2017
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Shipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PAMAJan 14, 2017
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Shipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Creepers200Jan 14, 2017
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Shipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Pama300Jan 14, 2017
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
superbatAug 5, 2016
The songs are bad, the plot is bad, the characters are bad, annoying singing. This movie was so unbearable I walked out 2/3 in. The whole thing is just ridiculous
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Leet_CriticJul 9, 2016
I don't know what to say really. The animation and acting isn't too bad, which is really all I can say that is decent for this. The plot is completely random and nonsensical, The humor is low-brow, And its an extremely illogical movie. WhyI don't know what to say really. The animation and acting isn't too bad, which is really all I can say that is decent for this. The plot is completely random and nonsensical, The humor is low-brow, And its an extremely illogical movie. Why would you save a crazy lady that tried to kill Dave and needs mental help? How did they survive a blast of volcanic ash? And how does Theodore, a tiny chipmunk, eat a entire donut twice his body size nearly instantly and gain weight? Probably one of the worst movies of 2011. 4/10, because im nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheLonelyCriticJun 27, 2016
Painful comedy, annoying character stereotyping, intolerable songs and morals that feel like they're being shoved down your throat, Chipwrecked is unwatchable. I'm sure there's a more elaborate way of saying it, but I refuse to put in morePainful comedy, annoying character stereotyping, intolerable songs and morals that feel like they're being shoved down your throat, Chipwrecked is unwatchable. I'm sure there's a more elaborate way of saying it, but I refuse to put in more effort than the writers did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SquarerayzJun 6, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This evening I rented this film and it was just Horrendous!,
I sold my two copies of the first two during a garage sale,
Right now I had to suffer through it cause I knew it was just a waste of filler,
The message and the jokes are preachy, Simon's just a ripoff of Buck from Ice Age 3,
And there's no heart or emotion at all, due to the flaws of the film,
It's not the worst film I seen, but it's the worst out of the entire franchise!
2/10
Terrible
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FuturedirectorMar 22, 2016
Alvin and the chipmunks 3 doesn't anything special to the audience, showing just great music and enjoyable story-telling,, only for children viewers. The results are very low and this is the worst of the thrillogy, almost the same as the second one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
It just remains the same as the other two movies before it. With more singing at a high pitched voice, and movie stuff for the kids. If you want the same movie again, here you go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
Once again, get your equipment ready as the chipmunks (along with the chipettes) return again for their third installment filled with annoying singing chipmunks taking over the movie wherever you go!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MariofanMar 7, 2015
This is a great 3rd installment. WAY better than the terrible Toy Story 3. The storyline was very nice. There were funny parts. The characters were great. The songs were good. Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked is great for kids & family.This is a great 3rd installment. WAY better than the terrible Toy Story 3. The storyline was very nice. There were funny parts. The characters were great. The songs were good. Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked is great for kids & family. You should definitely watch it. You people and critics NEED to lighten up! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
otakudbzDec 24, 2014
Well, I liked Alvin and the Chipmunks 1 and 2 a LOT. I've watched the cartoon when I was a kid and I loved it, and I thought that the first 2 movies didn't disappointed. But,I have to admit that Chipwrecked was the worst one and I hate it.
I
Well, I liked Alvin and the Chipmunks 1 and 2 a LOT. I've watched the cartoon when I was a kid and I loved it, and I thought that the first 2 movies didn't disappointed. But,I have to admit that Chipwrecked was the worst one and I hate it.
I remember that I was in a theater with A LOT of people expecting the movie to be great,but what we've got was a total disappointment.A LOT OF PEOPLE stopped watching the movie and thought it was really bad.
The storyline was boring,the movie was forgettable,it didn't looked like an Alvin and the Chipmunks movie,and etc.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
With terrible songs, an extremely derivative and overused plot & setting (stranded on a beach) and poor dialogue, Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked might entertain younger audiences but no one older.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
eagleeyevikingDec 17, 2013
With terrible songs, an extremely derivative and overused plot & setting (stranded on a beach) and poor dialogue, Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked might entertain younger audiences but no one older.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JasonDaCriticSep 26, 2013
This is just some 10 year old made movie who was high on cocaine! The chipmunks were crazy as hell! I wish this movie never existed. EVER. Also overall I think the 10 year old who made this should go back to school!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
jeff_reviewsJul 23, 2013
These singing, old, used chimpunks are at it again, but in a tropical location. The film is utterly predictable and has the same shipwrecked-like film ever produced. It has some moments of quirkiness but overall the film suffers entirely fromThese singing, old, used chimpunks are at it again, but in a tropical location. The film is utterly predictable and has the same shipwrecked-like film ever produced. It has some moments of quirkiness but overall the film suffers entirely from its childish humor, weak script, and boring characters. For kids, it may be an average film to enjoy, but to adults, it will be the one film you'd probably fall asleep in. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
JmsbppJul 18, 2013
Las cosas se fueron a lo ridiculo dejando a alvin a las ardillas en la ridicules y desastre total cada vez se quiebra mas esta pobre pelicula de donde se saco tanto lo bueno de la trilogia como lo malo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
LansdenrsJul 5, 2013
Stupid unrealistic pile of dirt. Jason Lee clearly wants money cause i personally would never sign up to put on a show like this. Very dumb. My ears started hurting by the end of it.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
RikiegeFeb 7, 2013
I rate this movie with a 3 for their excellent music, because if not for the music would have rated it a 1.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KidsViewDec 31, 2012
I do not see any ratings by the target audience.
I cannot pry my 7 yr old away from the DVD. She simply loves the movie and is hoping for a 4th!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Tav2244Dec 17, 2012
This 'film' is absolutely terrible. All I really need to say.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
ActorDude99Oct 28, 2012
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
madonnarulesAug 28, 2012
best film of 2011!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
MakorovJul 30, 2012
This Film was Pretty decent despite what others say, but I can see where they are coming from. But The kids loved and as adults it does not really matter what we think because at the end of the day it was aimed at the kids. But in fairness IThis Film was Pretty decent despite what others say, but I can see where they are coming from. But The kids loved and as adults it does not really matter what we think because at the end of the day it was aimed at the kids. But in fairness I think they tried to appeal to low teens as well this time. Which Ultimately let the film down. There is nothing that unique so it would not be my first choice film or the Kids's, sadly! Bye Bye Chipmunks Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
monkeyshiner444Jun 30, 2012
This bye far is the WORST Alvin and the chipmunks and the worst movie i have ever seen in my entire life. If you have a 6 year old and lower child they would like this movie..... maybe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
NiniJun 21, 2012
Terrible worst movie of 2011 and one of the worst movies in history just stupid horrible nothing special worst sequel and worst chipmunk movie very bad movie don't watch it
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Horsemad7009Apr 9, 2012
I dont understand what is with all these bad reviews. I mean the chipmunks are like ten THEY ARE GOING TO BE CHILDISH ! Sure I will admit it is not the best alvin and the chipmunks movie but who cares? I just want to watch a film that will atI dont understand what is with all these bad reviews. I mean the chipmunks are like ten THEY ARE GOING TO BE CHILDISH ! Sure I will admit it is not the best alvin and the chipmunks movie but who cares? I just want to watch a film that will at least make me smile afterwards and this does that and more ! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
JuanoloApr 3, 2012
First off, I would give this a 5, and that's being very nice. Movie is descent. The acting is descent. The music is music. Not bad, but not amazing. Story can be stupid. You can these people are running out of ideas to continue. Overall,First off, I would give this a 5, and that's being very nice. Movie is descent. The acting is descent. The music is music. Not bad, but not amazing. Story can be stupid. You can these people are running out of ideas to continue. Overall, this a descent movie to take your 4 year old to see. You'll hate it, but the kids Will love it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
a7xfanMar 7, 2012
This movie is in short: terrible. The humor is so childish that not even a 9 year-old would laugh at it and plus they have already made two bad enough movies before this why can't they just quit while they are ahead. The singing is lame, theThis movie is in short: terrible. The humor is so childish that not even a 9 year-old would laugh at it and plus they have already made two bad enough movies before this why can't they just quit while they are ahead. The singing is lame, the movie is super short, and there is no humor whatsoever. If you are two years old this movie might be up your alley. Save your $15 and don't watch it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
paulgreenFeb 23, 2012
One of the worst film !
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Hasan64Jan 17, 2012
Hmmmmm what can i possibly say... this movie is not good BUT i actually survived watching it so i didn't hesitate.

It definitely wont keep any memories and isn't a recommended movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
chipinohJan 16, 2012
At some point in my life, I'm sure I've seen a movie just as bad as "Alvin & the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked," but for the life of me, I can't think of one. Oh, wait! "The Iron Lady."

My 10-year old gave it a 3. I say zero, so we compromised.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
aaronpaul121Jan 16, 2012
Out of all the "Alvin and the Chipmunks" movies, this is probably and obviously the worst. The whole film is forgettable, dull and boring. The scenes are also predictable in my opinion. It did not meet up with my expectations. This is just aOut of all the "Alvin and the Chipmunks" movies, this is probably and obviously the worst. The whole film is forgettable, dull and boring. The scenes are also predictable in my opinion. It did not meet up with my expectations. This is just a total mess! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
ZalJan 11, 2012
There is no creativity in this movie whatsoever. The acting was bad, the pop culture references were cheap, and the writing was horrible. I knew I wasn't going to like this when I went to see it but I hoped that it would at least be cute. ButThere is no creativity in this movie whatsoever. The acting was bad, the pop culture references were cheap, and the writing was horrible. I knew I wasn't going to like this when I went to see it but I hoped that it would at least be cute. But no. They had to try really hard to make this bad. And they have succeeded. Bravo. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
heloheJan 9, 2012
After watching even 10 minutes of this, I was certain that the chances of developing eye-cancer increased by a manifold not to mention total stupidity. Do yourself a favour, don't watch this junk.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
Nero97Jan 9, 2012
Ugh. what a piece of s***. I went to the cinema with my little brother, and i almost killed myself. It's not funny, i can't imagine why children think this is funny, it's an abomination in cinema history, in humanity history, it's a damn bad movie!
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
MaxxSwan13Jan 2, 2012
Watching it right now. It's ok nothing special. Xstuftvgtxcfcc
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
RogerSmith97Jan 2, 2012
The 1st One Was S H.I.T.T. Y And So It This One..
Flush Alvin & The Chipmunks Down The Freakin Toilet Please! :)
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
avatar16Dec 29, 2011
Un plaisir plus que coupable de voir Alvin et les Chipmunks. Un plaisir qui s'explique par une sorte de coup de coeur de ce trio de chanteurs à poils causé notamment par ces voix dignes de Tic et Tac. Si j'ai suiviUn plaisir plus que coupable de voir Alvin et les Chipmunks. Un plaisir qui s'explique par une sorte de coup de coeur de ce trio de chanteurs à poils causé notamment par ces voix dignes de Tic et Tac. Si j'ai suivi la saga, c'est bien pour les voir et les entendre. Parce que, si je devais réellement prendre en compte le film, je le critiquerais comme pour les deux premiers opus : aucune histoire abordable, mauvais jeu d'acteur, une raffale de gags qui tombent à plat, trop de reprises d'autres films (ici Seul au Monde et Toy Story 3, avec une citation célèbre du Seigneur des Anneaux), totalement immature... Bref, un véritable nanar pour enfants. Il n'empêche que ce troisième opus se laisse regarder comme les autres "grâce" à ces petites boules de poils attendrissantes qui reprennent de manière entraînante certaines chansons récentes (de Lady Gaga, LMFAO...). A voir, à condition d'aimer les Chipmunks. Dans le cas contraire, ne gâcher pas votre argent avec une place ou bien le dvd. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
secretcriticDec 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i think this film is very interesting,,alot of singing and entertaiment,,its suitable for every age group.. i really enjoy this movie very much cause its kinda comedy too. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
AquophisDec 28, 2011
These films are my guilty pleasure. Sure, they're ridiculous, overblown and immature, but that's where their appeal lies. Still, I think they should stop making these films now. The first film was already the best movie that could be madeThese films are my guilty pleasure. Sure, they're ridiculous, overblown and immature, but that's where their appeal lies. Still, I think they should stop making these films now. The first film was already the best movie that could be made with these characters, so the series can only get worse.

Honestly, the movie was only made to appeal to the younger folks, and it fulfills that purpose just fine.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
Wombat_NinjaDec 28, 2011
Yet another waste of time that is Alvin and the Chipmunks. The annoying squeal of these pests make the actors seem fools. It seems the songs are just re-pitched in Audacity or another free program. How people find it even the slightest amountYet another waste of time that is Alvin and the Chipmunks. The annoying squeal of these pests make the actors seem fools. It seems the songs are just re-pitched in Audacity or another free program. How people find it even the slightest amount amusing baffles me. It gives me a headache. Here's a tip to the actors/directors and others: give up on the stupid game while you're still ahead with your cash. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
OscarOrNotDec 26, 2011
A 5 maybe, for little kids, but a -10 for anyone who knows true film. Oscar or Not? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
EPIXMAN15Dec 25, 2011
This movie was awful, the annoying sound of those chipmunks singing and speaking is enough for you to just walk out out, the movie is long, boring, and extremley childish. Not even kids will find this amusing my little cousins hated it. ThisThis movie was awful, the annoying sound of those chipmunks singing and speaking is enough for you to just walk out out, the movie is long, boring, and extremley childish. Not even kids will find this amusing my little cousins hated it. This movie is no good as its characters are at singing and they suck at singing! Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
oscarrDec 23, 2011
The only reason I gave this a 1 and not a 0 is because it would be a fun movie for toddlers. But to us who understand what "real" movies are, this movie is just an annoying and noisy piece of junk.
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
10
BookmasterDec 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This disgraceful impudence of these furry rodents must come to a full hearted end! Any nostalgia factor towards the titular, Alvin and his cohorts has already been exposed of, and the fallout of this most gruesome of alterations is appalling to the point I dare not even gaze towards it much longer! Every nickel spent towards this waste of human thought and money brings me closer to not just a brutal display of projectile vomit, but closer to my head implanted on the pavement 3 feet deep in. Within this movie, once lovable shenanigans of our nostalgic protagonist, the ruffian but loveable Alvin, reaches a factor in which it is annoying. Due to his tomfoolery, his need to go about and shove his tuffs of fur in and about everyone's business has reached the point it insults everyone's intelligence. Their cruise, that brings us eventually to our punful shipwrecking, is annoying to the point their capers fail to bring a smile to my once gleeful face. This movie's humor consists of not just hurtful, if not racist humor situations, in which everyone acts as expected according to skin color, or, for lack of better term, fatness. Case and point, the over weight boy surrendering his kite for a plate of donuts, Alvin taking on the mannerisms expecting of a rapper type persona, and the actions of the females around the dance scene within the midst of the middle act. What kind of child friendly movie allows for such harmful ideas to be laughed along with. This is only comparable to North Korea's actions of including hurtful and spiteful lyrics within children's nurseries. This is what we're getting at America, North Korea. And Communism. As the movie goes on, we eventually leave hurtful towards out race and outward appearance, and just enter hurtful to out minds and self respect. As the film reaches it's second half, the cast of this long-derailed train finally, and I put emphasis on FINALLY, reach the promised island. The first thing we're greeted to after out journey about stereotypes, hurtful comedy, and just foolish antics that look down upon our children like a principal to a common hoodlum? Simple, a parody of LOST. Among other things, the second act of this movie proves to be almost as spiteful as the very introduction to our cast and crew. The movie continues on it's merry way of talking down to your children and you, by treating us like we're the fools, who'll laugh at any pop cultural thing brought up! My words have been hateful so far, and let me assure you, it shall continue down this slope to insanity! It shall! I shall rain down with my rage and hatred! HOW DARE CGI CHIMPMUNKS, TAKE A SMALL CHUNK OF MY WALLET, AND SWALLOW IT DOWN THEIR ANIMATED GULLETS! HOW DARE THEY DIGEST MY CURRENCY, RENDER MY VIEWING EXPERIENCE RUINED FOREVER! GUAAAAAAAAAAAAAH! *thanks for reading :3 Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
RioRanchoKidDec 17, 2011
My husband & I saw the Chipwrecked movie this AM. We really enjoyed the movie! It was cute. I think it deserves a great rating. It is sweet, cute, and a fine plot. We need family friendly, feel good movies today. It starts well and endsMy husband & I saw the Chipwrecked movie this AM. We really enjoyed the movie! It was cute. I think it deserves a great rating. It is sweet, cute, and a fine plot. We need family friendly, feel good movies today. It starts well and ends well. If you like the chipmunks, you will like this movie as well. Expand
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews