Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The vacationing Chipmunks and Chipettes are turning a luxury cruise liner into their personal playground, until they become 'chipwrecked' on a remote island. As the 'Munks and Chipettes try various schemes to find their way home, they accidentally discover their new turf is not as desertedThe vacationing Chipmunks and Chipettes are turning a luxury cruise liner into their personal playground, until they become 'chipwrecked' on a remote island. As the 'Munks and Chipettes try various schemes to find their way home, they accidentally discover their new turf is not as deserted as it seems. (20th Century Fox)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 15, 2011
    60
    The sequel's target audience may be too young to realize that the best punch lines are long past their expiration date, but at least they're learning the idea of the catchphrase. They can hear the exclamation points.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 15, 2011
    50
    No swear words here; just harmless fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Dec 15, 2011
    42
    Good news: The shrill CG rodents, who last infested theaters in 2009's Squeakquel, are stranded on a jungle island with little hope of survival. Bad news: They've brought us along.
  4. Reviewed by: Joel Brown
    Dec 15, 2011
    25
    Whatever character they bring to their lines, the actors' voices are mostly unrecognizable after being digitally 'munk-ified.
  5. 25
    Like the recent Adam Sandler dud "Jack and Jill," a sizable chunk of Chip-Wrecked was shot on the newest ship in the fleet of a major cruise company – the ultimate in movie product placement!
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 15, 2011
    20
    I fear the furry singing sensations may have finally run completely aground. If only they were truly stranded on that desert island…
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 15, 2011
    0
    I really think the entire payoff to the Chipmunks' gambit comes in those inevitable moments when Dave bellows in exasperation, "Alvin." Maybe if we all bellow in unison it will be forceful enough to put an end to this painful film franchise.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 43
  2. Negative: 29 out of 43
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    My husband & I saw the Chipwrecked movie this AM. We really enjoyed the movie! It was cute. I think it deserves a great rating. It isMy husband & I saw the Chipwrecked movie this AM. We really enjoyed the movie! It was cute. I think it deserves a great rating. It is sweet, cute, and a fine plot. We need family friendly, feel good movies today. It starts well and ends well. If you like the chipmunks, you will like this movie as well. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i think this film is very interesting,,alot of singing and entertaiment,,its suitable for every age group.. i really enjoy this movie very much cause its kinda comedy too. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    "Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if"Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked" is a cute, funny, and unique moive. Like the movies before it was good and I think it'd be cool if there was a television series or another sequel. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    2
    These singing, old, used chimpunks are at it again, but in a tropical location. The film is utterly predictable and has the sameThese singing, old, used chimpunks are at it again, but in a tropical location. The film is utterly predictable and has the same shipwrecked-like film ever produced. It has some moments of quirkiness but overall the film suffers entirely from its childish humor, weak script, and boring characters. For kids, it may be an average film to enjoy, but to adults, it will be the one film you'd probably fall asleep in. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    1
    This movie is in short: terrible. The humor is so childish that not even a 9 year-old would laugh at it and plus they have already made twoThis movie is in short: terrible. The humor is so childish that not even a 9 year-old would laugh at it and plus they have already made two bad enough movies before this why can't they just quit while they are ahead. The singing is lame, the movie is super short, and there is no humor whatsoever. If you are two years old this movie might be up your alley. Save your $15 and don't watch it. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Las cosas se fueron a lo ridiculo dejando a alvin a las ardillas en la ridicules y desastre total cada vez se quiebra mas esta pobre peliculaLas cosas se fueron a lo ridiculo dejando a alvin a las ardillas en la ridicules y desastre total cada vez se quiebra mas esta pobre pelicula de donde se saco tanto lo bueno de la trilogia como lo malo Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    This movie was awful, the annoying sound of those chipmunks singing and speaking is enough for you to just walk out out, the movie is long,This movie was awful, the annoying sound of those chipmunks singing and speaking is enough for you to just walk out out, the movie is long, boring, and extremley childish. Not even kids will find this amusing my little cousins hated it. This movie is no good as its characters are at singing and they suck at singing! Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.