Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Before you could say, "Alvinnnnn!!!" talks began about a new Alvin and the Chipmunks movie. Not content to rest on their laurels, the 'Munks are preparing yet another "first": There have been many great movie sequels. There have even been prequels. Now, get ready for the world's firstBefore you could say, "Alvinnnnn!!!" talks began about a new Alvin and the Chipmunks movie. Not content to rest on their laurels, the 'Munks are preparing yet another "first": There have been many great movie sequels. There have even been prequels. Now, get ready for the world's first Squeakquel, in which Alvin, Simon and Theodore finally meet their match - and maybe more - in the newly arrived female trio, The Chipettes. (20th Century Fox)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    A frenetic but undeniably funny follow-up that offers twice the number of singing-and-dancing rodents in another seamless blend of CGI and live-action elements.
  2. The excellent animation makes up for a so-so plot, but it really doesn't matter. "The Squeakquel" is for kids.
  3. The earlier “Alvin” movie made more than $217 million just in the United States. It’s hard to imagine this somewhat confused sequel doing as well.
  4. 50
    Closing out a pretty great year for children's movies—Betty Thomas's dutiful animated and live-action sequel to 2007's "Alvin and the Chipmunks" brings up the rear with capable mediocrity.
  5. 42
    Sure enough, director Betty Thomas delivers pretty much the bare minimum: peppy, brightly colored, tune-filled nonsense sure to meet the low, low standards of its pre-kindergarten core audience.
  6. Blending CGI and live action, this “squeakquel” to the witless 2007 kids’ film proves just how dangerous such technology is when placed in the wrong hands.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 55
  2. Negative: 21 out of 55
  1. BrendaA
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    I think the movie was terrific and very kid friendly. Adults will love it too.
  2. Dec 11, 2015
    8
    I do not get the problem with this movie, I found it fun. Man the alvin and the chipmunks movie are great examples of underrated movies, and II do not get the problem with this movie, I found it fun. Man the alvin and the chipmunks movie are great examples of underrated movies, and I hope the bad criticism stops with road chip. Expand
  3. DavidW.
    Jan 3, 2010
    7
    A perfectly acceptable kids film. My little boy loves the first film and the Squeakquel was just as well received. I wouldn't watch this A perfectly acceptable kids film. My little boy loves the first film and the Squeakquel was just as well received. I wouldn't watch this film on my own, with out the company of my son, Alvin and his pals are best enjoyed with a younger audience in tow. Expand
  4. RayJ
    Dec 23, 2009
    4
    To much slapstick and not enough humor.
  5. Dec 24, 2015
    4
    Alvin pulled a sequel, and Alvin, Simon and Theodore have company of Ardites , lol that funny idea of ​​a sequel to Alvin and the Chipmunks ,Alvin pulled a sequel, and Alvin, Simon and Theodore have company of Ardites , lol that funny idea of ​​a sequel to Alvin and the Chipmunks , but otherwise was the best movie of one of the most disastrous film of the family sagas. Expand
  6. JulianM
    Dec 27, 2009
    3
    Anyone over 12 years of age will find this movie boring, childish, repetitive, and stupid.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    Really a very tasteless movie. I don't want to waste my time with another brainless movie like this. Really stupid argument even for a 5 yearsReally a very tasteless movie. I don't want to waste my time with another brainless movie like this. Really stupid argument even for a 5 years kid!! And they want to make another!!! Noooooooo! Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.