Amadeus

Amadeus Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The 2002 Director's Cut of Milos Forman's Oscar-winning 1984 film about the rivalry between composers Mozart (Hulce) and Salieri (Abraham).

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    Remains the most popularly successful film ever to render the inner life of an artist.
  2. One of the finest qualities of Amadeus is that it reminds us of those rare occasions when an Oscar sweep is actually merited.
  3. It still soars, but now it seems richer, more expansive. Amadeus reminds us that movies can be lyrical as well as vulgar, ambitious as well as playful, brilliant as well as down and dirty -- just like Amadeus himself.
  4. 90
    Loaded with pleasures, the greatest of which derive from the on location filming in Prague, the most 18th century of all European cities.
  5. 90
    The superbly edited original version of Amadeus used overlapping sound cues for a lively flow between scenes, and the new version breaks up some of that flow with lengthy, talky interludes. Still, Ondrícek's breathtaking images and Forman's essential craft are best appreciated on the big screen, and another theatrical run for Amadeus is a welcome gift, no matter how much this edition unnecessarily gilds what's already a near-perfect lily
  6. 88
    Except for the Mozart music and Tharp movements around the edges, Amadeus plays like a monument to mediocrity. The movie belongs to Salieri.
  7. 60
    It binds up introductory lessons in music appreciation, Freudian psychology, and fanciful history with a pulp thriller plot.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    One word: Brilliant! It is in my top 10...do I need to say more? You have to watch it, that is the only way you can make up your mind! ForgetOne word: Brilliant! It is in my top 10...do I need to say more? You have to watch it, that is the only way you can make up your mind! Forget about the reviews, go and experience this movie yourself! My son watched it for the first time when he was 10 ( 4 years ago) and guess what he did after we watched it together? He went to internet to learn more about Mozart and his biography. He fell in love with Amadeus! Milos Forman inspired him! I think that tells you a lot about the value of this film. In Amadeus, the cinematography, scenography, costumes, plot, etc, are perfect! I couldn't recommend it more! Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The watcher needs no prior knowledge of classical music to enjoy this movie because the plot is so riveting and the actingAbsolutely amazing. The watcher needs no prior knowledge of classical music to enjoy this movie because the plot is so riveting and the acting is so great. Afterwards the viewer may become interested in classical music just because this movie does an exceptional job displaying Mozart and Salieri's lives in an extremely interesting and captivating way. Expand
  3. JennyG.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    this has always been and will forever be my favorite movie of all time. i have honestly seen this movie at least 30 or 40 times; about half this has always been and will forever be my favorite movie of all time. i have honestly seen this movie at least 30 or 40 times; about half of those viewings was when i was a child, not able to even follow the story line completely. i suppose most of what kept me coming back for more was mozart's brilliant compositions, which all have a certain sweetness to them that no other composer has ever been able to duplicate. as i got older and was able to understand everything that was going on in the story, i fell even deeper in love with this film. it was just about six months ago that i bought the director's cut - the deleted scenes (although strange to see after having seen the original dozens and dozens of times) shed a whole new light on the movie that i have basically memorized line for line. truly brilliant. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    My first impression was that it was a humorous movie. Gradually, the tone turned darker as Mozart turned inwards for inspiration, losing hisMy first impression was that it was a humorous movie. Gradually, the tone turned darker as Mozart turned inwards for inspiration, losing his boyish charm in the process. The music composed during this period was the most compelling. But his rival dogs his every step, sabotaging his success by using his influence at the court. Unlike some of the musicals which give me a headache afterwards, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, because there was ample humour and dialogue between the musical pieces. I have never enjoyed opera but here I could not get enough of it, for there is no denying that Mozart is a freaking genius. I had never had a full dosage of Mozart before I watched the movie and I'm glad I got introduced to his work in its full swing. For the naive viewer, this is a piece of fiction and you should take it like that. There is no evidence that Mozart's career turned out as it is depicted in this movie. It is based on a play by the famous Russian poet Pushkin, whose life could also do with a dramatic film. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    From the most important contemporary Czech director Milos Forman, whose sole work I have watched before is THE PEOPLE VS. LARRY FLYNT (1996,From the most important contemporary Czech director Milos Forman, whose sole work I have watched before is THE PEOPLE VS. LARRY FLYNT (1996, an 8/10) and he has gotten hold of two Oscar wins for BEST DIRECTOR, one for this film and another one for ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO Expand
  6. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Amadeus was alright, although it was three hours. The first hour and a half was good, but the next hour was really boring, and the last halfAmadeus was alright, although it was three hours. The first hour and a half was good, but the next hour was really boring, and the last half hour was alright, so that's why I rated it a 7. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2012
    0
    I was quite keen to watch this film but the over top and ridiculous American accent of Tom Hulce detracted from what could have otherwise beenI was quite keen to watch this film but the over top and ridiculous American accent of Tom Hulce detracted from what could have otherwise been an enjoyable historical drama. Does it not matter what country the movie is set it? I'm sick of hearing **** American regardless of the setting. Collapse

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.