Roadside Attractions | Release Date: February 23, 2007
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
8
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JanC.Mar 5, 2007
Words cannot expess what kind of feeling I had inside after seeing this movie. As a Christian, it touches your heart and turns a " light" on inside about conviction, compassion, hope, humility and most of all faith.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnJul 5, 2008
Not perfect-but a really good story well told. Inspiring, uplifting and well acted and directed. Highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CyntchaD.Feb 24, 2007
Timely movie about the power of good and the courage to speak out, ultimately hopeful and grace-filled. beautiful scenery and background of the "good life" juxtaposed w/the darkness of injustice. Reminded me of Ghandi's quote that Timely movie about the power of good and the courage to speak out, ultimately hopeful and grace-filled. beautiful scenery and background of the "good life" juxtaposed w/the darkness of injustice. Reminded me of Ghandi's quote that ultimately goodness wins. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GuyF.Feb 25, 2007
One of the better movies from the Christian genre since Chariots of Fire? Movie with a powerful message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DouglasG.Feb 26, 2007
One of the best movies I have seen. It does not overglamorize conviction put into action, and is therefore accessible to each individual in their own lives. Further, it does not gloss over the Christian source of Willburforces's One of the best movies I have seen. It does not overglamorize conviction put into action, and is therefore accessible to each individual in their own lives. Further, it does not gloss over the Christian source of Willburforces's conviction, compassion, and action. It is an exciting movie, because it excites the viewer who understands the context and shares the Christian foundation to action, hope, and humility. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveS.Apr 2, 2007
It may not suffice as entertainment in the anti-intellectual culture of the 21st Century, but it is an important movie for its messages. I explicitly said messages, because there is a great myth-breaking expose being revealed along with its It may not suffice as entertainment in the anti-intellectual culture of the 21st Century, but it is an important movie for its messages. I explicitly said messages, because there is a great myth-breaking expose being revealed along with its anti-slavery message. This true story helps illuminate the relationship between evangelical Christianity and the great progressive triumphs of the 18th and 19th centuries and hopefully dispels some of the ignorant assumptions held today about religion and social change. Wilberforce, along with John Wesley, John Newton and many others were able to eradicate much evil in their societies because of their faith in God and I applaud the filmakers for honestly portraying this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Nov 20, 2007
I have been hearing nothing but good things about this movie since it came out. Now that I've seen it, I can tell you that all these things are true. This is a wonderful story. As a Christian, I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of I have been hearing nothing but good things about this movie since it came out. Now that I've seen it, I can tell you that all these things are true. This is a wonderful story. As a Christian, I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of time the film spent mentioning God. I especially loved when John Newton made the comment, "I am a great sinner, and Christ is a great savior." This was a very powerful film. Finally, I have a note for the academy. In my opinion, this film deserves no less than two nominations: first as Best Picture and also Albert Finney as Best Supporting Actor for his portrayal of John Newton. Go pick this film up as soon as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobW.Feb 23, 2007
OUTSTANDING film!!! I left the screening inspired and recharged!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveT.Feb 23, 2007
Earnest but moving portrait of reformer parliamentarians in late 18th Century England and their campaign to outlaw slavery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StelP.Feb 26, 2007
Better than I expected. Yes, there are some slow spots, but the cinematography and period costumes pull it through. The casting seemed to fit the roles quite well. More historical than I thought it'd be. Overall, very solid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
D.L.B.Mar 11, 2007
Wonderful history with a message. As a historian, I was pleased that the producers and director chose not to over-dramatize a story that stands on its own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Steve&BettyS.Mar 19, 2007
Well done! The dark side and light side of this movie could have both been overdone, but they weren't. We were thoroughly engrossed by it. Ioan Gruffudd was up to the task of carrying the load of the story. The society of the time was Well done! The dark side and light side of this movie could have both been overdone, but they weren't. We were thoroughly engrossed by it. Ioan Gruffudd was up to the task of carrying the load of the story. The society of the time was an essential character, and the filmmakers handled its complexities well. My one quibble is with Romola Garai: while she was good, she was a little too precious about it, and you could see her acting (as opposed to seeing Mrs. Wilberforce). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackieSMar 5, 2007
Movie is well done. Refreshing to see a movie that is intelligent, captivating and moving all at the same time. Very thought provoking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArnaS.Nov 20, 2007
Great movie, Great message!! One that we all should watch!! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkD.Feb 23, 2007
Loved the movie. Great story that too few people know about. Very well executed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Feb 27, 2007
I just saw the movie Amazing Grace about William Wilburforce's leadership to end slavery. Wilburforce is a real activist's activist. If you don't want to immediate go out and fight whatever cause you hold dear (in my case I just saw the movie Amazing Grace about William Wilburforce's leadership to end slavery. Wilburforce is a real activist's activist. If you don't want to immediate go out and fight whatever cause you hold dear (in my case ending abortion) with a renewed heart to the last of your day's, then I'm afraid you fell asleep. It took Wilburforce years and years of countless and pain ridden efforts, but they were not in vain. His empathy, sense of moral justice, and unending endurance spurred on by his passion were played out almost to a T. The movie touched on a spiritual nerve that I feel would be a healthy enlivenment for those who chose to be receptive to such. In any case just trust me and go see it. It's a great piece of historical fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobN.Dec 6, 2008
As a historical lesson it is an okay film. As your typical historical bio-pick/hero-saves-the-day film, it fails. Rightfully so. What makes this film outstanding, and different from most films of this nature out there, is the constant As a historical lesson it is an okay film. As your typical historical bio-pick/hero-saves-the-day film, it fails. Rightfully so. What makes this film outstanding, and different from most films of this nature out there, is the constant crisis-of-conscience which is present throughout. William is physically and spiritually sick since so many are dying each day within and without the ships. Newton is torn by the 20,000 ghosts of those he shipped into slavery and death. As a look into the tormented souls of these men, this is an outstanding film as one fills in the subtle gaps and emotions. This film is a Christian one, and it is very good. As a look into slave-trade, there are better ones out there, but as a look into conscience in a dangerous and new time in history, this film is outstanding. Newton was, in fact, a tormented man. Wilberforce was, in fact, a tormented man. This film, if nothing else, does a great job in focusing on this. That alone makes this different and good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nanaApr 13, 2008
It was an AMAZING movie! A true story of a man who fought against all odds to bring FREEDOM to African slaves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Del&SharonNov 18, 2007
This is one of the most outstanding films I've viewed in a long time. The story of what it took one man and his growing band of supporters to change a culture and slave based industry, is insightful and inspiring too. The drama and This is one of the most outstanding films I've viewed in a long time. The story of what it took one man and his growing band of supporters to change a culture and slave based industry, is insightful and inspiring too. The drama and developement of strength of character in Mr,Wilberforce is profound in it's contrast to todays politics of self centered and pathetic compromising as well as echoing of and pandering to the code of 'real dealism' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaKaUAAug 12, 2010
Great movie. It's hard to believe that people like that exist. It prompted me to read up on some history, get out John Newton's auto-biography. I'm so grateful for such movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ccarroll21Sep 17, 2011
I thought this movie was great. It's been a little while since I've seen it, but I remember really enjoying it. There was a lot happening so I lost the story from time to time but eventually figured out what was going on. A movie everyoneI thought this movie was great. It's been a little while since I've seen it, but I remember really enjoying it. There was a lot happening so I lost the story from time to time but eventually figured out what was going on. A movie everyone should see at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews