Miramax Films | Release Date: November 2, 2001
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 443 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
341
Mixed:
20
Negative:
82
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
JuleNov 25, 2001
I may have smiled about 2 seconds during the 2 hours long. Ultimately boring, mixing MTV kind of VisualFX's with awful color saturation, tedious script, hollow characters and like i said not funny at all. I am stunned by the positive I may have smiled about 2 seconds during the 2 hours long. Ultimately boring, mixing MTV kind of VisualFX's with awful color saturation, tedious script, hollow characters and like i said not funny at all. I am stunned by the positive reviews. J-P Jeunet confirms he's a joke as far as cinema is concerned. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
Carol-AnnC.Feb 23, 2002
After reading mostly favorable reviews I went to see this ridiculoous film. Vladimar P. criticized Robert H for his 2 rating. Vladimar I do not know what stuff you're smoking but this movie was heartless, boring and downright ugly. What After reading mostly favorable reviews I went to see this ridiculoous film. Vladimar P. criticized Robert H for his 2 rating. Vladimar I do not know what stuff you're smoking but this movie was heartless, boring and downright ugly. What a dissapointment! Vladimar do not give up your day job. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
GaborA.Sep 7, 2004
Terrible. There isnt a reedeming element to this movie. No drama, no scares, no laughs (i mean anything that is actually funny), no themes, no good dialogue, and no suspense. And no "oh my god, is she going to talk to him?" does not qualify Terrible. There isnt a reedeming element to this movie. No drama, no scares, no laughs (i mean anything that is actually funny), no themes, no good dialogue, and no suspense. And no "oh my god, is she going to talk to him?" does not qualify as suspense. Amelie would have made a decent music video, or maybe a short. But two hours of watching a shy girl fumble around Paris is simply unbearable. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
RobertoL.Mar 16, 2002
I go to the movies to be entertained. What was this movie? I would best describe it as a documentary comedy on a bunch of losers who I had absolutely no feeling for? Reading some of your reviews, I think that those of you who liked this I go to the movies to be entertained. What was this movie? I would best describe it as a documentary comedy on a bunch of losers who I had absolutely no feeling for? Reading some of your reviews, I think that those of you who liked this garbage would probably enjoy watching paint dry or moss grow on a rock. Simply a horrible movie. I know I just don't get. Guess what? I'm glad! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
RobertH.Jan 13, 2002
Terribly boring movie about a quirky character that I couldn't care less about. If you are thinkiing about seeing it - passadena!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
AppleH.Apr 19, 2002
Is this movie the cure for insomnia? She nuts, but then again so are all the characters. How anyone can like this is beyond all human comprehension.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
JaredH.Apr 1, 2002
Terrible movie about some very depressing characters. Amelie wants him - hides from him - wants him - doesn't want him - meddles in other peoples lives and so on. Who cares?
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
KatjaS.Aug 27, 2002
I don't understand. Why does everyone say this movie is wonderful, blah blah blah. For one thing its TOTALLY boring. It doesnt even have a plot that you can understand! And what exactly is it trying to tell us???
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
WilliamB.Jun 16, 2002
From A to Z: Awful, Boring, Crap, Decadent, Excrement, Flimsy, Garbage, Hideous, Illicit, Junk, Kinky, Lousy, Miserable, Nonsense, Odorless, Prosaic, Queer, Rotten, Simple, Terrible, Ugly, Vicious, Wicked, ZZZZZZZ!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
3
EstebanFApr 21, 2008
Horribly boring and dumb, this is a movie that tries to be what it isn't: an artistic production. After 30 minutes of it, you just want to stop. The story is just too "pink", simply too "happy" to stand it. 0 realism, dumb, it Horribly boring and dumb, this is a movie that tries to be what it isn't: an artistic production. After 30 minutes of it, you just want to stop. The story is just too "pink", simply too "happy" to stand it. 0 realism, dumb, it doesn't challenge the audience and it doesn't make you feel anything but boredom. Soul-less, failed artistic wannabe movie. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful
0
HarryH.Apr 9, 2002
Absolute Crapola!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MateuszM.Jul 19, 2002
Not as good as I supposed. People give too many good votes for a film which is like milions of others average films.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
Brian_McInnisMay 28, 2012
Thirty-five. That is the approximate number of times I bellowed the
usual two-word, seven- letter refrain at the screen while watching this
abomination of cinema. That would bring the total number of instances I've bellowed this phrase at a
Thirty-five. That is the approximate number of times I bellowed the
usual two-word, seven- letter refrain at the screen while watching this
abomination of cinema. That would bring the total number of instances
I've bellowed this phrase at a movie to perhaps forty. Every other movie I've ever seen is a better movie than 'Amelie', but
it will appeal very well to people who'd rather live in a different
universe. It picks up real, living humans and uses them like toys, like
terminally uninformed parodies of humanity. It squanders reality. See
that bar-maid there? That actress playing her is probably a fascinating
woman - I'm SURE she's a fascinating woman - people tend heavily to be
fascinating. Sadly though, this cartoon of a movie allows no
manifestation of any side of any of its performers' personalities to
show through at any point. I have never, ever been more infuriated by a
movie. Jean-Pierre Jeunet's previous film was 'Alien: Resurrection',
which goes part-way, but not all the way, in explaining how this movie
is as bad as it is. Although there is ever so much more to be said, that's about all I'm
going to say about 'Amelie'. I'd like to tell you that this is because
the film's Hadesian wretchedness is beyond my ability to properly
describe, but that would constitute a falsehood on the scale of
'Amelie'. The truth is that I am dismayed by the idea of exerting any
more mental energy contemplating this grotesque puppet show. That the
film receives such unbroken acclaim is a dreary testament to the desire
of so very many people to escape from any form of recognizable life.
For Jean-Pierre Jeunet to spit in my face would be so much kinder than
what he did to me by making this movie it would constitute an
atonement.

(Note: Buried in the film's sound-track is one of the greatest songs
I've ever heard; a version of 'Guilty' sung by Albert Bowlly in 1931.
An acquaintance haplessly gave this film to me, and afterwards I told
her that, although it was the single most detestable film I'd ever
seen, without it I'd surely have gone the rest of my days without
having heard that sublime melody, and was grateful to her. My
relationship with that song will end only at the hour of my death,
unlike my relationship with this film and its director, which
terminates with the completion of this sentence.)
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
0
Quicksand10Nov 10, 2015
I can't understand why people like this movie, nor why the scores on Metacitic, IMDB, and Rotten Tomatoes are so high. Of all the movies I have watched, this one gets the title of "Most hated movie of all time".
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews