User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1017 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    David O. Russell continues his fantastic film making. Though not as good as Silver Linings Playbook, American Hustle works mainly because of top notch acting. A
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    American Hustle is the 3rd film from director David O. Russel, and it is a great film .One of the very you will see in 2013.The movie is energetic,extremely well made and features outstanding performances from it's A-List cast, which includes the likes of Christian Bale,Amy Adams, and Bradley Cooper.The characters bring the movie to life, and help to make up for the uneven script. TheAmerican Hustle is the 3rd film from director David O. Russel, and it is a great film .One of the very you will see in 2013.The movie is energetic,extremely well made and features outstanding performances from it's A-List cast, which includes the likes of Christian Bale,Amy Adams, and Bradley Cooper.The characters bring the movie to life, and help to make up for the uneven script. The movie reminds me of older Scorsese films like Goodfellas, and while it falls a bit short of being that grand, what you get with this movie is some of the best entertainment of 2013.American Hustle is a great movie, and very much worth a watch. Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    Loosely based on the FBI ABSCAM Operation in the 1970’s, the film follows successful conman Irving Rosenfeld, played by the usually committed Christian Bale, and his deceptive crime partner and mistress “Edith Greensly” played with allure by Amy Adams. To evade prosecution these con artists are forced to serve the FBI by creating an elaborate sting operation to nail corrupt politicians inLoosely based on the FBI ABSCAM Operation in the 1970’s, the film follows successful conman Irving Rosenfeld, played by the usually committed Christian Bale, and his deceptive crime partner and mistress “Edith Greensly” played with allure by Amy Adams. To evade prosecution these con artists are forced to serve the FBI by creating an elaborate sting operation to nail corrupt politicians in the U.S of A. Spearheading this FBI operation on the field is Bradley Cooper’s Agent Richie DiMaso, who goes toe-to-toe with the very con artists he enlisted. Among the corrupt politicians being played by all involved; Mayor Carmine Polito (well played by Jeremy Renner) has his heart in the right place but uses the wrong means to go about accomplishing his plans. While all this scamming and “stinging” is going, Jennifer Lawrence’s Rosalyn Rosenfeld, the zany wife of Irving, threatens the whole operation with her jealousy driven antics. I detailed all the major characters, not to fill space or waste time, but to express my appreciation for the characters in this film. A great character is nothing without great performances, and the cast delivers from all angles! If I was to single out any performance it would probably be Bradley Cooper’s eccentric characterization, which was nice comedic work in an already hilarious film. As it stands the ensemble was fantastic, and well guided by director David O. Russell who continues to prove his ability to direct actors. With the multiple narrators to widen the viewer’s perspective, the off-key film editing and the soundtrack, O. Russel may have taken a few too many notes from Scorsese; but it works, it all works well. This approach was a service to the complicated story, which was made into a digestible viewing experience. It also helped in character development; after all, the film was a character study at its heart. With a sound cast and confident direction, this was a wild burst of energy from a filmmaker who is eyeing gold at this year’s awards season. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2014
    7
    Though the acting is strong and eclectic to where it adds rather sophisticated comedy, the style and feel of the movie is strikingly similar to 'Goodfellas', a classic of cinema. 'American Hustle' is an entertaining and well written film that, unfortunately, takes too many essences of past films, thought I won't go into the list. I don't see Jennifer Lawrence as anything in here. BradleyThough the acting is strong and eclectic to where it adds rather sophisticated comedy, the style and feel of the movie is strikingly similar to 'Goodfellas', a classic of cinema. 'American Hustle' is an entertaining and well written film that, unfortunately, takes too many essences of past films, thought I won't go into the list. I don't see Jennifer Lawrence as anything in here. Bradley Copper was annoying. Christian Bale and Amy Adams were the standalone characters in this film, Bale especially with his dedication to the role. David O. Russell's previous two films were his most talented, not 'American Hustle'. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    3
    This movie is so overrated. It is not funny nor the story is interesting. I have no clue why it is considered to be so good. It deserves 5/10 at most.
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Another unforgettable movie of David O. Russel emerged. The story not only contains a perfect amount of comedy, but also enough suspense to sustain the 140 min. of running time. Moreover there are incredible performances of the leads, especially Bale, Lawrence. A film which is to be recommended.
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    4
    Prior to watching this: I went to see the film because of the many good reviews. Snucked in a Dominos Pizza and felt lethargic half way through film. Got food poisoning that night.
    Review:
    Pros: General good acting, particularly Lawrence's. Cons: This is a rather slow and miserable film with terrible hair for all the main actors. Cooper's character was a d**k, Bale's was inept,
    Prior to watching this: I went to see the film because of the many good reviews. Snucked in a Dominos Pizza and felt lethargic half way through film. Got food poisoning that night.
    Review:
    Pros: General good acting, particularly Lawrence's.
    Cons: This is a rather slow and miserable film with terrible hair for all the main actors. Cooper's character was a d**k, Bale's was inept, Lawrence's was naive and I've never liked Adams's acting ever.
    2/5 - Don't bother.
    Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2013
    6
    I'm still not sold on this movie. I feel that something is missing. Acting was great, stellar cast, but I expected something a little more. I can't quite put it into words, but I think there was too much tried to put into this movie, needed a bit more suspense leading up to the final twist. Similarly the movie took a bit too long to get moving.
  9. Dec 22, 2013
    6
    AMERICAN HUSTLE explores the uniquely American need for self-reinvention and our obsession with success and finding a better life. Unlike most filmmakers, David O. Russell is able to use the great American con as a metaphor for our larger personal ills. Unfortunately, Russell does not seem like the right director for this tale. Scenes are lethargic and go on for far too long. A reallyAMERICAN HUSTLE explores the uniquely American need for self-reinvention and our obsession with success and finding a better life. Unlike most filmmakers, David O. Russell is able to use the great American con as a metaphor for our larger personal ills. Unfortunately, Russell does not seem like the right director for this tale. Scenes are lethargic and go on for far too long. A really super music score is laid down in the most perfunctory fashion. His cast is totally game and look amazing in their 70s garb but they too often come across as lifeless. Except for Jennifer Lawrence who totally steals the show! She delivers an astoundingly insightful performance that is both over the top and subtle. She's funny, whacked, sad and lonely--all at the same time. A miraculous performance. If only AMERICAN HUSTLE reached the same dizzying somber heights. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2013
    1
    I'm with the minority on the one. The comments by Sodlid and Subseq nail it. American Hustle is like a unfunny joke at a party filled with pretentious people. What really surprises me are the numerous comments of great acting.

    I couldn't get passed the cheesy, cliched overacting by Christian Bale and Amy Adams. Bradley Cooper was annoying and not by design. Jennifer Lawrence was the
    I'm with the minority on the one. The comments by Sodlid and Subseq nail it. American Hustle is like a unfunny joke at a party filled with pretentious people. What really surprises me are the numerous comments of great acting.

    I couldn't get passed the cheesy, cliched overacting by Christian Bale and Amy Adams. Bradley Cooper was annoying and not by design. Jennifer Lawrence was the lone exception. This was just one of the many problems with this film. But it was a big enough obstacle to not want to go further.
    Expand
  11. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    Thin. It felt like Russel was channeling Scorcese's Goodfellas. And that move only highlights how much better Goodfellas was than American Hustle. You can disagree. But we all have gone on quoting lines from Goodfellas for years and years. What will we quote from this movie? What scenes carry the weight of "you think I'm funny, like a clown?" This movie never takes itself serious enough toThin. It felt like Russel was channeling Scorcese's Goodfellas. And that move only highlights how much better Goodfellas was than American Hustle. You can disagree. But we all have gone on quoting lines from Goodfellas for years and years. What will we quote from this movie? What scenes carry the weight of "you think I'm funny, like a clown?" This movie never takes itself serious enough to be memorable. Fun to watch, sure, but it doesn't ever make much of a dent. Expand
  12. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    This film is a mess. Like most David O Russel films, this is a great example of quirky and obnoxious affectation that sacrifices meaningfulness, coherence and solid narrative. It seems that the media, by giving this film such unabashed acclaim, makes sloppy chaotic direction seem legitimate. If you have enough likable actors in your ensemble it doesn't matter that the dialogue only servesThis film is a mess. Like most David O Russel films, this is a great example of quirky and obnoxious affectation that sacrifices meaningfulness, coherence and solid narrative. It seems that the media, by giving this film such unabashed acclaim, makes sloppy chaotic direction seem legitimate. If you have enough likable actors in your ensemble it doesn't matter that the dialogue only serves to beguile us with how fast they can say it, or as long as it sounds complicated it might actually mean something. The films plot just tumbles forward sporadically when the characters are done talking and decide to get back to the task at hand. David O Russel is full of Critics and sheep alike enjoyed this film because they like watching a 90's quirk-era hack splatter brightly colored paints on the wall because, "Heck, I don't know what it means but it sure looks pretty." Expand
  13. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Thought the acting was terrible by the leads except for bale, and his character was unwatchable. Lawrence was good playing crazy, but her character was almost pointless making her scenes look way overdone. Can't figure out the media's "rapturous" reception of this disaster of a movie. Cooper and Adams are particularly bad, and it looked like the director let them develop their ownThought the acting was terrible by the leads except for bale, and his character was unwatchable. Lawrence was good playing crazy, but her character was almost pointless making her scenes look way overdone. Can't figure out the media's "rapturous" reception of this disaster of a movie. Cooper and Adams are particularly bad, and it looked like the director let them develop their own characters and lines, which will get you this amateurish result from actors who are not that good. 0 is a bit rough, but it was meant to counter balance the overrated reviews of audience and critics, it is probably a 4 or 5. Expand
  14. Jan 17, 2014
    0
    Truly stunning how the worst movies of the year get Oscar nominations. This movie is a joke, there is not a single redeeming feature in all of it, except for maybe Amy Adams' looks, she is cute, but that has nothing to do with the movie. It really is hard not to fall asleep. The characters are all unlikable, they look weird, they dress weird, the are weird. This movie, together withTruly stunning how the worst movies of the year get Oscar nominations. This movie is a joke, there is not a single redeeming feature in all of it, except for maybe Amy Adams' looks, she is cute, but that has nothing to do with the movie. It really is hard not to fall asleep. The characters are all unlikable, they look weird, they dress weird, the are weird. This movie, together with 'Gravity', should have never been released to the public. Simply awful. Expand
  15. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    More hype than hustle and a major disappointment. This film has too much stagnant film time where nothing of consequence occurs. Every time it gathers some momentum, it diverts to the snails pace love triangle hustle that is frankly not very interesting. Amy Adams revealing cleavage isn't enough to make up for the fact the hustle is does not constitute enough of the film to keep yourMore hype than hustle and a major disappointment. This film has too much stagnant film time where nothing of consequence occurs. Every time it gathers some momentum, it diverts to the snails pace love triangle hustle that is frankly not very interesting. Amy Adams revealing cleavage isn't enough to make up for the fact the hustle is does not constitute enough of the film to keep your attention. There are about three scenes of interest and the rest of the film is a bore. Expand
  16. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    This movie is referred to as a crime/drama/thriller/history, but it's rather a comedy.
    Typical American extravaganza, good if you want to watch something light filled with steretypes such as money, cheating, fraut etc.
    The actress, Amy Adams, was the highlithg of the movie, in my opinion. Great acting.
    But for the rest, especially story-wise, this move is rather mediocre.
  17. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    Awesome film. David O. Russell kills it as director and Bale, Adams, Cooper, Lawrence, Renner, Louis CK, De Niro, etc, kill it in this one. The characterization of everyone is fantastic and it's awesome that we got to see so many back stories of different characters, which helped you to understand why they did the things they did. Honestly, this is my favorite film of 2013 that I've seen thus far.
  18. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Again David O. Russell comes out on top. Bringing back a lot of the people that were in his previous project "Silver Linings Playbook", the film is rich with the cast (the cast, wow!), the story, and the writing. Not to mention some of the humor the film brings is very enjoyable. The film of 2013 without a doubt.
  19. JEK
    Jan 6, 2014
    0
    The acting was good but the movie sucks. I don't know why does these critics call them critics. The movie was dragging and boring. I was expecting the ending would be great but I got really disappointed with the movie.
  20. Dec 21, 2013
    2
    Totally forgettable movie, I was real disappointed by this one. Being a fan of Russel's previous films, i had high expectations for this one but this one is a rare dud for him. There never seems to get going until the very end. Never was able to get into the film. Jennifer Lawrence is the only reason to see this, maybe Christian Bale.
  21. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    This is a very good film that is chock full of wonderful performances and unfortunately a little short on plot. To me, it felt like Ocean's Twelve only better. Great ensemble cast but poor subject matter.

    The actors are terrific, especially Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence, and the performances by some of the great cameos spoiler alert, Louis CK and Robert DeNiro were quite a
    This is a very good film that is chock full of wonderful performances and unfortunately a little short on plot. To me, it felt like Ocean's Twelve only better. Great ensemble cast but poor subject matter.

    The actors are terrific, especially Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence, and the performances by some of the great cameos spoiler alert, Louis CK and Robert DeNiro were quite a treat. However, the plot which should have been the glue that held the movie together was weak. The little twists didn't jump off the screen like they could have. Instead of saying "holy cow!" I wound up just saying, "hmmm."
    Expand
  22. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This movie starts out a little slowly, and because the first few minutes are out of time sequence, starts out confusing as well. Takes a good half hour or so and then things get wildly interesting. The ending will amply reward you for your patience: its brilliant. Most importantly, the characters are extraordinarily well developed by the screenplay and extraordinarily portrayed by aThis movie starts out a little slowly, and because the first few minutes are out of time sequence, starts out confusing as well. Takes a good half hour or so and then things get wildly interesting. The ending will amply reward you for your patience: its brilliant. Most importantly, the characters are extraordinarily well developed by the screenplay and extraordinarily portrayed by a brilliant cast. When Robert De Niro is a minor character, yet wonderful in his only thrilling and tense scene of perhaps 6 minutes, you can imagine how well Cooper, Bale, Adams and Lawrence are in their demanding rolls. There are some hilarious moments and you are kept on the edge of your seat because so many endings are possible. While the movie is based on the 70s ABSCAM political license, it is only loosely based on it. Lots of fictional license is taken and used superbly. We will see it again on pay per view. Expand
  23. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Being from the Bronx near Grand Concourse, I can say that Christian Bale NAILS IT! Jennifer Laurence is the hottest woman in Hollywood and this movie is a blast. This movie is so well worth the price of admission it makes up (almost) for all the bad movies I've seen recently. Hilarious, philosophic and an insight to all types of people that will remind you of some you know and you will wetBeing from the Bronx near Grand Concourse, I can say that Christian Bale NAILS IT! Jennifer Laurence is the hottest woman in Hollywood and this movie is a blast. This movie is so well worth the price of admission it makes up (almost) for all the bad movies I've seen recently. Hilarious, philosophic and an insight to all types of people that will remind you of some you know and you will wet yourself. Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent movie and Amy Adams truly deserves an Oscar of her performance. She is an extraordinary actress, far better than many Oscar winning actresses of our time and she proved it in this movie.

    Bradley Cooper also did an excellent job. He was truly hilarious and he did an excellent job of playing Richie Dimaso. Amy Adams together with Bradley Cooper held this movie
    This is an excellent movie and Amy Adams truly deserves an Oscar of her performance. She is an extraordinary actress, far better than many Oscar winning actresses of our time and she proved it in this movie.

    Bradley Cooper also did an excellent job. He was truly hilarious and he did an excellent job of playing Richie Dimaso. Amy Adams together with Bradley Cooper held this movie together.

    However, Christian Bale did overdo some scenes. On occasions, Bale's facial expressions were not in line with his character or the particular emotion in the scene and every time it happened, it was painfully obvious.

    Also Jennifer Lawrence, was not right for this role. She did well in the dressing room scene with Amy Adams but mostly J Law was out of her element. Her facial expressions were in line with the character but her voice, tone and accent just didn't fit the character at all. And it was just so obvious that she didn't belong in this character. She has had a very protective upbringing to play this kind of a character.

    But overall, it was an excellent movie. A must watch!!
    Expand
  25. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    A few thoughts on this film... It was like each actor was trying to out-do each other with over-the-top, Oscar-bait performances. The acting felt artificial and too cerebral. Poorly cast and the accents of the characters were all over the place. Jeremy Renner as an Italian New Jersey mayor? Huh? I find Christian Bale arrogant and smug, so his presence here didn't help. And he's notA few thoughts on this film... It was like each actor was trying to out-do each other with over-the-top, Oscar-bait performances. The acting felt artificial and too cerebral. Poorly cast and the accents of the characters were all over the place. Jeremy Renner as an Italian New Jersey mayor? Huh? I find Christian Bale arrogant and smug, so his presence here didn't help. And he's not convincing as a balding, paunchy New York Jew. Jennifer Lawrence doesn't belong in this movie and can't do accents. Amy Adams is wonderful, but she's a little too sweet for this role. Great outfits, though. Expand
  26. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Good story and plot, with a fairly unpredictable ending unless you know a great deal about the ABSCAM senario. Bale was very good with his role and even Cooper was good as he finally got out of his type-casting roles and into something that resembles acting. As a b0onus, since the flick is based in the 70s the sound track is well done as well.
  27. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    The character development in this movie is fantastic. Each character is thoroughly developed and is really fleshed out. You like some characters, you hate some; you even love some. The cast, which only helps character development, was one of the best casts I have seen in a movie. Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence, Jeremy Renner, Louis C.K. and the list just keepsThe character development in this movie is fantastic. Each character is thoroughly developed and is really fleshed out. You like some characters, you hate some; you even love some. The cast, which only helps character development, was one of the best casts I have seen in a movie. Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence, Jeremy Renner, Louis C.K. and the list just keeps going on! The story was also quite exemplary. It was not a cliche movie, and everything was tied up in the end. The movie was like a puzzle. All the pieces fell into place. It was very satisfying. David O. Russel did a fantastic job with the directing on this. I would love to see Jennifer Lawrence get Best Supporting Actress at the Oscars. As far as movie of the year, I personally don't think it will get it. It was good, but there are many other great movies out there. Expand
  28. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    The heist film genre is one of the most exciting film genres in recent memory, thanks to the likes of elaborate minds and stylistically driven directors. From Soderbergh’s Ocean trilogy which began the trend of mainstream, modern-day cops-and-robbers films, to other very meticulously crafted caper films, the heist genre is one which is both exciting and compelling to crack before theThe heist film genre is one of the most exciting film genres in recent memory, thanks to the likes of elaborate minds and stylistically driven directors. From Soderbergh’s Ocean trilogy which began the trend of mainstream, modern-day cops-and-robbers films, to other very meticulously crafted caper films, the heist genre is one which is both exciting and compelling to crack before the climactic final act. American Hustle is a modern day, somewhat self-indulgent, patriotic heist film with outstanding performances, many good times and very few bad times. The beauty of Hustle lies in its amazing ability to fake it; whether it be faking an overly complicated narrative for no apparent reason or a meaningful story that never gets old, Hustle is a solid film that will con your heart, through and through.

    American Hustle is a testament to a very powerful, respected and hard-working director. David O. Russell is a director who focuses more on his characters than he does on his story, and it is easily noticed in Hustle. Each and every one of the performances in his newest writing/directing credit is every bit as evolved and appreciated as his last. O. Russell has proven, time and time again, that his ability to get the best performances out of his actors is one of his many featured signatures. From Melissa Leo, Amy Adams, Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Jacki Weaver, Robert Di Nero, and Jennifer Lawrence, O. Russell brings a furious velocity to his characters in the form of his actors that have ended in Oscar glory, if not recognition, at the very least.

    American Hustle is a con film showing the real con-artists as small time players against the biggest con artists of the world; the American government and the American judicial system. Hustle is a loose re-telling of the events following the investigation of the operation named “Abscam”.

    Like any good story being told, it begins, and will always begin with a girl. That girl, in this case, is Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams), or Lady Edith Greensly, either way, it starts with a girl, as do most American narratives. When low-level con artist and small-time businessman Irving Rosenfeld meets stripper Sydney at a party in 1978, the two begin a love-affair that involves low-level stakes at fraud and scamming, unbeknownst to Irving’s unstable wife at the time, Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence). As Irving and Sydney meet investors and embezzle their money, they attract the attention of undercover FBI agent Richie Di Maso (Bradley Cooper). Desperate to make a name for himself, Di Maso entraps the two con-artists in a scam that includes the mayor of Camden, New Jersey Carmine Polito (Jeremy Renner), various members of Congress, and the mafia.

    While Irving’s life spins completely out of control between spiralling cons, a love triangle between him, Sydney, and Richie, as well as his manipulating and out of control wife, Irving must master the fine art of deception so that he and Sydney can still come out with their lives.

    Much like the marketing of the film, and true to the style of the director, the performances are at the forefront of Hustle. Turning in two of the best performances of his career (the other being the slow burning thriller Out of the Furnace) Bale solidifies his confidence as a serious method actor. Bale’s dedication to the craft, whether it be his outrageous weight-gain or loss, heightens his performances.

    Other stand-out performances include Amy Adams, whose confused and beguiling depiction of a desperate woman in search of love, happiness, and the American dream, is met wholeheartedly when she delivers lines like “you’re nothing to me until you’re everything”. Adams sheds her good-girl image as she did for O. Russell previously in The Fighter, by playing the sexy pillar to her love interests. Much like Julia Roberts did in Erin Brockovich, I’m not sure if Adams deserves the supporting Oscar nomination or if her constantly revealing side-boob does. Either way, Adams seduces her leading men in high fashion, and ironically enough, low fabric.

    Lawrence, who won the Oscar for Lead Actress with O. Russell’s highly over-rated Silver Linings Playbook last year as another unstable, slutty persona, really gives a sense of her characters unwillingness to change. Lawrence’s Rosalyn is a crazy, contorting character who shows that her character is way out of her league in her husband’s world of deceit. Rosalyn is really a child in a grown man’s world.

    Renner hits it out of the park as Polito, an honest man whose sketchy manoeuvres as a person in power, really sheds the action-hero substitute Renner has been playing recently in franchise revival action genre films.
    Expand
  29. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    This years Argo with the most Golden Globe nominations of any movie. American Hustle seems to be preferred by critics than the public, just take a look at the discussion forum, however I found it to be one of the years best films.

    Despite a slow and disappointing start, in which I was already planning my review containing many uses of the word overrated, American Hustle improves hugely
    This years Argo with the most Golden Globe nominations of any movie. American Hustle seems to be preferred by critics than the public, just take a look at the discussion forum, however I found it to be one of the years best films.

    Despite a slow and disappointing start, in which I was already planning my review containing many uses of the word overrated, American Hustle improves hugely in the last 100 minutes. Mainly because of the brilliant ensemble cast with names such as Christian Bale, in yet another body transformation for a role. His two wives Amy Adams as Sydney Prosser and Jennifer Lawrence giving the best performance in the movie for Rosalyn Rosenfeld. Oscar nominee, for Silver Linings Playbook, Bradley Cooper is mesmerising along side Louis C.K. as the 2 FBI agents. But the most surprising performance is definitely by the most unknown members of The Avengers himself Jeremy Renner who was obviously out of his comfort zone playing the corrupt politician Carmine Polito. A very unusual role for him to play because he didn't blow anything up within the first 5 minutes. How much they develop over the 130 minutes is probably the most unpredictable and surprising thing about the whole picture. Everything is filmed with a unique style obviously paying homage to the decade it is set in, the 70's. Retro costumes and most noticeably retro hair give American Hustle a very likable and entertaining visual style which I hope will appear in more of David O. Russell's movies in future. Much to my surprise American Hustle also has a very witty and effective sense of humor, which easily made me laugh on many occasions, mainly due to the convincing chemistry between Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence. However what surprises the most is without a doubt is the almost unbelievable fact that American Hustle is based on a true story, it obviously has exaggerated elements put in the script for dramatic or comedic effect, but still it's pretty mind blowing that someone would even attempt the events that happen in this movie.

    Perfectly cast and full of unique interesting characters who never fail to entertain you, America Hustle is one of the best scripted and directed movies of 2013. I enjoyed near to every second of it and think it deserves it's title as this years Argo.
    Expand
  30. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    David O. Russell has done it again. American Hustle has it all. Sexy, funny, and Great Performances. Christian Bale and Cooper are great. Christian almost never disappoints, so you will find yourself entertained by his character. Mr. Cooper has really taken on the job of a true actor in his last few films. He is 2 for 2 on David O. Russell directed films, and I wouldn't be surprised if weDavid O. Russell has done it again. American Hustle has it all. Sexy, funny, and Great Performances. Christian Bale and Cooper are great. Christian almost never disappoints, so you will find yourself entertained by his character. Mr. Cooper has really taken on the job of a true actor in his last few films. He is 2 for 2 on David O. Russell directed films, and I wouldn't be surprised if we see a few more team ups by the two. The costumes, hair, and make-up are spot on. Great ensemble cast. Lawrence and Adams are two of this era's best actresses. Must see film. Expand
  31. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the Best Movie of the year, easily. It was completely different and a nice change from all the drama category. It was entertaining, hilarious and overall engaging film. What really made the movie come alive was the fantastic cast ensemble, from Bradley Cooper to Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence. The cast complemented each other like butter and toast, smooth, silky andDefinitely one of the Best Movie of the year, easily. It was completely different and a nice change from all the drama category. It was entertaining, hilarious and overall engaging film. What really made the movie come alive was the fantastic cast ensemble, from Bradley Cooper to Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence. The cast complemented each other like butter and toast, smooth, silky and sweet. David O. Russell is a great director and writer and deserves to win Original Screenplay and Director. His repertoire definitely puts him in the finest director category along with Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg from his work for "The Three Kings," "The Fighter," and last year's "The Silver Lining's Playbook." Expand
  32. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Wow! Ever since I watched The Godfather or Scarface, I was craving a strong movie like them. I say this was the best movie of the century! Just makes the viewer so satisfied. There were no negatives about it. Acting was perfect, movie was perfect, perfectly directed, ending was perfect... Thank You David O. Russel.
  33. Dec 20, 2013
    3
    After all the 4 star reviews, critic’s raves, plus the 7 Golden Globe nominations, including Best picture, for “American Hustle” this will definitely be a minority review.

    Along with cementing her versatility as an actress, Jenifer Lawrence is the main, if only a few, reasons to see this film. Her role as Rosalyn Rosenfeld is as far from her performances as Ree Dolly in “Winter’s
    After all the 4 star reviews, critic’s raves, plus the 7 Golden Globe nominations, including Best picture, for “American Hustle” this will definitely be a minority review.

    Along with cementing her versatility as an actress, Jenifer Lawrence is the main, if only a few, reasons to see this film. Her role as Rosalyn Rosenfeld is as far from her performances as Ree Dolly in “Winter’s Bone”, Katniss Everdeen in “The Hunger Games” series or her Oscar winning Tiffany Maxwell in “Silver Linings Playbook”. Here she recalls the ditzy, dumb blonds through all of Hollywood film history and would be right at home in a 1930s, 1940s, screwball comedy. She is the shining light in “American Hustle”.

    The soundtrack offers a variety of music from Duke Ellington’s “Jeep Blues” to Amy Adams and Christian Bale dancing to “I’ve Got Your Number” and then her and Bradley Cooper dancing in a disco to, who else?, the Bee Gees and Jennifer Lawrence lip synching to “Live and Let Die” all definitely a plus for the movie.

    One surprise, to me, was the role played by Patsy Levine and I will leave it at that.

    Bradley Cooper, as an FBI man setting up a sting using con artists Adams and Bale, is, as Bale is, in love with Adams and with her low cut down to there dresses that is understandable, brings a lot of his charm to his role. The cast as a whole do the best they can though many times Christian Bale mumbles, like Marlon Brando did at his worst, making his speech indecipherable.

    The 1970s and New York at the time is duplicated by the production crew and the hair styles are standouts, especially for Copper and Bale in two scenes.

    While most critics praised the direction by David O. Russell, and the screenplay by Eric Warren Singer along with Russell, I just didn’t get into the film or characters and looked forward to every appearance by Lawrence.
    Expand
  34. Mar 10, 2014
    0
    Good actors, poor story, extremely boring movie. They could make the ending brilliant by saying something like "And then he found a five dollar bill!"
  35. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    I'm surprised at all the love given to this film. The acting? Superb throughout. The story, however, was a little boring at times, and there really is no character you can root for. Also, many critics are saying it is a comedy, and I chuckled a few times but neither I or the packed theater I saw it with laughed all that much. In the end, the great acting throughout made it a passableI'm surprised at all the love given to this film. The acting? Superb throughout. The story, however, was a little boring at times, and there really is no character you can root for. Also, many critics are saying it is a comedy, and I chuckled a few times but neither I or the packed theater I saw it with laughed all that much. In the end, the great acting throughout made it a passable film, but it does not have the repeatability factor for me. I have no desire to see it again. As a footnote, Jennifer Lawrence may be the best actress in Hollywood. The movie came to life every time she was on the screen. Expand
  36. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Filled with phenomenal performances, an expertly written screenplay with both clever twists and likable characters, and a perfect blend of comedy and drama, American Hustle is another incredible achievement from one of my favorite film directors of the past few years. American Hustle is easily my favorite movie of the year.
  37. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    American Hustle has an energy that makes the movie come alive and injects the story with comedy, tension, surprise and sympathy for the characters. The entire cast gives outstanding performances in David O. Russell's best film.
  38. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    "American Hustle" is a pretty darn good, entertaining, and fun film. While I don't think it's director David O' Russell's best film, I still think it is his best directed. It is directed with a flashy style that really fits with the era of the movie. There are many over the top moments and exaggerated camera sweeps that really brings a lot of excitement on screen. The script is layered"American Hustle" is a pretty darn good, entertaining, and fun film. While I don't think it's director David O' Russell's best film, I still think it is his best directed. It is directed with a flashy style that really fits with the era of the movie. There are many over the top moments and exaggerated camera sweeps that really brings a lot of excitement on screen. The script is layered with hilarious dialogue and deeper meaning of living the "American Dream" than what is actually being presented on screen. However, I wish it did have more focus and a tighter story as it did feel like it was all over the place. The journey is also more satisfying than the actual conclusion.

    The cast is great and the director really gets some amazing performances from the cast. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, and Bradley Cooper are great in their roles and play very dimensional characters. They make them come alive and their on-screen chemistry is great. However, the real stand-out in this star studded cast is Jennifer Lawrence, who doesn't have as much depth or screen time, but commands total attention on-screen. She embodies everything that the movie is going for by being over the top, zany, and full on entertaining. Everytime she was off-screen, I kept on begging for more.

    Overall, "American Hustle" is a really good movie that is equal parts entertaining and thought provoking. It never reaches any emotional highs and needs some focus, but David O' Russell's stylish direction, use of high energy music, and committed cast makes this movie something special. I give it 4.5/5
    Expand
  39. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    While having unambitious and unpredictable main plot "American Hustle" shines in almost every aspect of cinema! But this movie also did some questionable turns, that took away the from the overall experience!
  40. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    My second favorite movie of the year after "Blue is....". A film critic wrote the perfect blurb for this movie "This movie is like a slot machine which keeps spitting out quarters". Exactly. The movie is so much fun and scene after scene after scene are delightful. Pure entertainment.
  41. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    I went into this expecting a funny script propped up by a great cast, but this movie is much more than that. Easily the best thing I've seen in theaters in years. There are funny moments, but this is a showcase of characters that engage and never stop developing. If ever there was a case of sympathy for the bad guy, you'll find it here. Bale has the performance of a lifetime here. It'sI went into this expecting a funny script propped up by a great cast, but this movie is much more than that. Easily the best thing I've seen in theaters in years. There are funny moments, but this is a showcase of characters that engage and never stop developing. If ever there was a case of sympathy for the bad guy, you'll find it here. Bale has the performance of a lifetime here. It's unlike anything I've seen from him before. You'll see an unexpected honesty in his performance. Adams and Cooper likewise showcase their notable talents, and a cast of impeccable supporting characters really drives this home. The weakest performance comes from Lawrence, but even so she has moments of raw, emotional talent that make up for a few missteps. Don't miss this movie! Expand
  42. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    This one of the best movies I have seen since Django. It ranks up there with the Best. I was stressed the whole time and the payoff was excellent. Amy Adams and Christian bale will blow you away.
  43. Jan 14, 2014
    6
    anybody who is anybody is in this film, so as you might be able to tell my expectations were high, awesome story, the acting was OK, but i still think it lacked something to make it great and i had a difficult time paying attention and keeping up with it, it all comes together in the end though.
  44. Lyn
    Jan 2, 2014
    9
    This story was a lot of fun, the acting excellent and the soundtrack a baby boomer's dream. Have to say I think Jennifer Lawrence's status as entertainment media "it girl" led to her (absolutely fine) performance being overrated somewhat. But Christian Bale and Amy Adams are spectacular.
  45. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    The story is interesting and fun to move along with. A great cast, but the acting is at once overdone while at the same demonstrating flippant treatment of character. Whether this shortcoming is due to the actors themselves or the directing isn't clear. The script also proceeds along the lines of a Judd Apatow film, which works in some scenes but not in others. Overall this movie is wellThe story is interesting and fun to move along with. A great cast, but the acting is at once overdone while at the same demonstrating flippant treatment of character. Whether this shortcoming is due to the actors themselves or the directing isn't clear. The script also proceeds along the lines of a Judd Apatow film, which works in some scenes but not in others. Overall this movie is well put together but will likely not shine among the other outstanding films on which the actors, director, and screenwriters have worked. Expand
  46. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has everything you'd want in a movie -- an interesting plot, a well-crafted film, and great acting. Amy Adams hasn't received much acclaim for her role here, having been largely over-shadowed by Jennifer Lawrence, but there are no weak performances here.
  47. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Overall a very good movie with some top notch acting performances and a really good story and twist near the end. The film really hit the 70s atmosphere. The lead actors were all amazing; however, I personally didn't find Jennifer Lawrence all that convincing. She just doesn't seem to fit in overall and I feel like she over-acted her role. Just too flamboyant and over the top in all herOverall a very good movie with some top notch acting performances and a really good story and twist near the end. The film really hit the 70s atmosphere. The lead actors were all amazing; however, I personally didn't find Jennifer Lawrence all that convincing. She just doesn't seem to fit in overall and I feel like she over-acted her role. Just too flamboyant and over the top in all her scenes. The other actors were simply awesome. Expand
  48. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    This movie is very well done and expertly charracter driven. All of the actors do an amazing job. That is where the slight problem occurs with this movie. The story struggles, they would build up a scenario (setting up Carmine) then something would change (Mob) and a whole new problem would arise without resolving anything. Really enjoyed it! Still gave it a 7 because its just below great.
  49. Jan 15, 2014
    7
    At the end of the film, I felt like starting a chant, "overrrated!". That's exactly how I felt about American Hustle after watching it, even though, I enjoyed it at times. The film seems to be garnering lots of praise because it has several actors and a director working in their prime (David O. Russell, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Christian Bale, and Amy Adams). The acting isAt the end of the film, I felt like starting a chant, "overrrated!". That's exactly how I felt about American Hustle after watching it, even though, I enjoyed it at times. The film seems to be garnering lots of praise because it has several actors and a director working in their prime (David O. Russell, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Christian Bale, and Amy Adams). The acting is definitely good, as is the directing (good acting usually requires good directing), but the story is subpar. It is quite clear that Russel and his writing team were going for a Scorsese type feel to the movie, given all the voice over narratives, and at times manic flow to the film. Russel, should however, take notes next time he watches a Scorese film because although Scorsese's movies bounce around at times, their always coherent; the same can;t be said for Russel's American Hustle. There was something to like or enjoy in just about every scene of Hustle, but I rarely ever knew what was going on. Also, it was hard for me to connect to any of the characters because there was no character development done. It seems like the point Russel was going for, was that the characters are all conning each other, so the film in a way is conning the viewers and keeping them on the edge on their seats. That just didn't work for me. I absolutely loved Silver Linings Playbook, so I was excited to see American Hustle, it's too bad the film was just average. Expand
  50. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    Ehh. It's good but it does not come close to knocking it out of the park as critics would have you believe. It was entirely watchable and I enjoyed it, but it was a step down from silver linings playbook. It's worth going to see, but I didn't find it particularly special.
  51. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    After making great fighter and The Silver Linnings Playbook that helped in the total image transformation director, David O.Russel reaches the apex of his career doing his hilarious, daring, and ambitious film about the reinvention of the human being and the necessity of such a cheat to live with the minimum of dignity, and he tells it through fine performances ranging from soft-spokenAfter making great fighter and The Silver Linnings Playbook that helped in the total image transformation director, David O.Russel reaches the apex of his career doing his hilarious, daring, and ambitious film about the reinvention of the human being and the necessity of such a cheat to live with the minimum of dignity, and he tells it through fine performances ranging from soft-spoken characters we all know that one hour will explode, the ones who are always on ecxtase and his screen presence is striking, in a reverent, slow but very fun and compensatory what makes you think without guilt contrary to another strong oscar nominated 12 years a slave history. Expand
  52. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    American Hustle will hustle your heart away. Everybody is out to be their better selves and in a way they all succeed with a few minor short comings. I adored the acting and the characters displayed in the film, but as with O. Russells last effort Silver Linings, i did not really care for the characters. I felt this film was much more entertaining than Silver Linings and it was worth theAmerican Hustle will hustle your heart away. Everybody is out to be their better selves and in a way they all succeed with a few minor short comings. I adored the acting and the characters displayed in the film, but as with O. Russells last effort Silver Linings, i did not really care for the characters. I felt this film was much more entertaining than Silver Linings and it was worth the watch and should win some awards. Expand
  53. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has a continuous flow of energy that keeps you captivated and wanting more. All the performances are good, especially Ms. Lawrence's; her character has such self-pride and a way of putting the blame on everyone else that she becomes the comic relief to almost every scene she's in.
  54. Feb 7, 2014
    8
    El director David O. Russell está en su estado más puro, primero The Fighter, luego Silver Linings Playbook, ahora es el turno de premiar a American Hustle, por ser valiente y original. La película ofrece una trama completamente original e interesante, y de momentos, muy entretenida diversión con tintes de comedia. La puesta en época es excelente, el vestuario es magistral y merece unEl director David O. Russell está en su estado más puro, primero The Fighter, luego Silver Linings Playbook, ahora es el turno de premiar a American Hustle, por ser valiente y original. La película ofrece una trama completamente original e interesante, y de momentos, muy entretenida diversión con tintes de comedia. La puesta en época es excelente, el vestuario es magistral y merece un Oscar, pero lo mejor de esta película fueron las actuaciones, todas y cada una es perfecta (destaco más sobre Christian Bale y Jennifer Lawrence). Si disfrutas del buen cine o el cine ganador, debes ir corriendo a ver esta película, no los decepcionará. Expand
  55. Jan 5, 2015
    0
    Hey here's an idea for ya. If you're going to bust someone on a wire or film, you might want to have done a bit of surveillance on who the crims are so you know wha tthe **** is going on. If a film is setting itself up as a heist flick of some sort of tricky intelligence, then it had at least have some. Its almost as bad as the Oceans 12 or 13 movie which is off the planet isane in itsHey here's an idea for ya. If you're going to bust someone on a wire or film, you might want to have done a bit of surveillance on who the crims are so you know wha tthe **** is going on. If a film is setting itself up as a heist flick of some sort of tricky intelligence, then it had at least have some. Its almost as bad as the Oceans 12 or 13 movie which is off the planet isane in its stupidity, but this does get close.
    Just horrible characters al about ripping everyone off, and the'yre somehow justified in doing it, but their original con that get s the attention of the FBI is just ridiculous, pretending to get people loans and then not getting them, but securing a fee, surely someone would've beat the **** out of them for that.
    But the movie sort of reaches for some sort of grandiosity that never delivers because as stated teh con jobs are lame and then the penultimate one is incredulous for the cops stupidity. Critcs dispalayed collective insanity on this one. Too much concentrated media ownership once again, gotta get the money back. well done Hollywood you self congratulating morons. ****wits!!!
    Expand
  56. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    "American Hustle" looks like a really fun romp. The fact that it's by the same man who did "Silver Linings Playbook" tells you that this movie is going to be great.
  57. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Great. O Russ is a dynamic director. Acting by every character is pretty impressive. Everyone had chemistry. A good written story that keeps you sticking around. 8.7/10
  58. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    This is the biggest rip off of Goodfellas ever... It's a good but not great movie that just feels like David O is trying to hard to be Martin Scorsese. Louis C.K. is the best part of the movie.
  59. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    An entertaining movie, exceptionally acted. Somebody in this movie will win an Academy Award for acting...probably Bradley Cooper for his portrayal of the ambitious FBI agent. The main characters were all terrific. I have to say I felt a bit disappointed in the end though. I was hoping for a more satisfying ending akin to "The Sting".
  60. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    “Some of this actually happened.”

    From this first inter-title, David O. Russell’s new crime comedy-drama American Hustle(2013) promised two and a half hours of the twisted, the practically anarchic, but most especially, the absolutely absurd and in the best way possible. Despite its late arrival to the Oscar scene (along with Scorsese’s Wolf of Wall Street) and its being overshadowed
    “Some of this actually happened.”

    From this first inter-title, David O. Russell’s new crime comedy-drama American Hustle(2013) promised two and a half hours of the twisted, the practically anarchic, but most especially, the absolutely absurd and in the best way possible. Despite its late arrival to the Oscar scene (along with Scorsese’s Wolf of Wall Street) and its being overshadowed by Steve McQueen’s long-awaited 12 Years a Slave, American Hustleproves worthy of every nomination and accolade to date and lives up to its enormous hype. It is one of the best films to hit cinemas in years

    If the subject matter doesn’t scream Scorsese’s Goodfellas (1990) (or even Mean Streets (1973), if you squint), the style most definitely does. American Hustle’s narrative trajectory is almost reminiscent of Casino (1995) in its first person narrative, given from the perspectives of both Bale’s Irving Rosenfeld and Adams’ Sydney Prosser. Yet, it’s no Scorsese in regards to cinematography and definitely no Guillermo del Toro. From a first viewing, the camera placement and movement remains incredibly simplistic and unremarkable. The cinematography, therefore, simply acts as an enabler for the film’s greatest aspects namely the performances by the A-list cast, and its fantastic script and plot.

    The screenplay is simply sensational, creating a remarkable dynamic between both comedy and drama that is so rarely accomplished with films of this nature. Dramatic moments including a screaming match between Irving and and his unstable wife, Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) are immediately followed by hilarious quips and creative dialogue that left me gasping for air. Everything about the script is interconnected fluidly and cleverly and moments expressed in the film’s infancy reappear later on with greater prominence and importance, all working together to create a story that comes full circle and completely encapsulates its overall themes of reinvention and survival. The story is fantastic, the writing superb and the plot completely driven by its characters.

    Christian Bale, renowned for his dedication when it comes to a character’s physicality, immediately astounds with a comb-over and beer belly in his interpretation of lead, Irving Rosenfeld. However, it’s his rendition of Irving that truly startles. Bale cleverly crafts a man who, despite his conning nature, is honourable at heart and is uncomfortable with potentially destroying a good man with good intentions (Jeremy Renner’s Carmine Polito). Bale could have gone over the top with Irving he is, after all, a conman from the Bronx but, instead, he opted for a more realistic, grounded character. It was a fantastic choice, and one that definitely adds to the story’s growing tension and drama. This may perhaps be one of Bale’s best films.

    Opposite Bale is Amy Adams, in arguably one of her best showings to date, as well. Her performance as cleverly deceptive Sydney Prosser (or Lady Edith Greensly, if you’re on the wrong side of the desk) is punctuated by moments of severe sincerity and emotional turmoil. Adams’ prowess as an actress is in top form, and she proves absolutely deserving of her nomination for Best Leading Actress at this year’s Golden Globe awards.

    In almost a throwback to another Russell film, Silver Linings Playbook, Bradley Cooper plays uncontrollable FBI agent Richie DiMaso (slightly familiar to Paul Solitano in regards to his wild desperation), who is determined to prove himself as a worthy player to not only his department, but his mother and especially himself. Though not Cooper’s best performance to date, American Hustle definitely shows off his stuff and solidifies his position as a powerful, talented actor in Hollywood.

    Jennifer Lawrence once again proves herself to be one of the most daring and talented young actresses in the business as Rosalyn Rosenfeld, Irving’s unstable and uncontrollable wife. In a world of reinvention and masks, Rosenfeld is the only character who tries not to change (“I hate change. I think I’d die before I ever changed”) and it shows through her erratic and sometimes violent behavior perfectly executed by Lawrence. Simply put, after watching American Hustle, I threw my hands up in the air and exclaimed to a startled audience of moviegoers, “Just give her the Oscar now!”

    If the acting and pristine characterisation isn’t any indication of what an incredible film American Hustle is, just take a look at the Golden Globe nods its received (7 in total). And American Hustle proves incredibly deserving of every scrap of recognition that it’s been getting.

    If you haven’t heard about or seen American Hustle, please get yourself out from underneath whatever rock you’ve been under for the last six or seven months and stomp on over to your local cinema immediately. Also, tune into the Golden Globe Awards on Jan. 12, 2014, where it’s sure to give 12 Years a Slave a run for its money!
    Expand
  61. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    Bradly Cooper has to be one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood; Few flaws in this movie. The role of the "good" politicians just trying to "help" their communities was foolishly unrealistic
  62. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Mind simply blown !!!
    American Hustle
    What a brilliant film I have just seen .... Everything is just ... just awesome... This is actor's movie and you will be amazed by every performances. Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale steal the show.... Best thing about Christian Bale is... when he is preparing for new role.. he inspires you... and his characters simply mark your brain... for
    Mind simply blown !!!
    American Hustle
    What a brilliant film I have just seen ....
    Everything is just ... just awesome... This is actor's movie and you will be amazed by every performances. Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale steal the show.... Best thing about Christian Bale is... when he is preparing for new role.. he inspires you... and his characters simply mark your brain... for many days... till his next performance... and this time we have Bradley Cooper to fight with him... the fight is so thrilling... fearless Amy Adams, classic Jeremy Runner and Robert Di Nero in guest appearance .... you cant demand for more... And captain of the ship is Great Director David O Russel !!!
    It is soft love story having thriller, comedy, emotions, twists in it !!!

    This film is going to rock at the Oscars.. surely !!! Am so confused now... am going to stick with Gravity or changing my party now... but I m loving this confusion....
    Don't think again... leave your place and rush to the nearest theaters... You stop that torrent right now as you should watch such art in the theaters to experience the EXPERIENCE...
    Expand
  63. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    from the guy who brought you silver lingings playbook which i love brings american hustle i did not that mush but it find it too much drama but i love david o rusell his ideas in movies are 99% useful and brilliant
  64. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This movie has you guessing which way the story is heading one minute and then it heads in the opposite direction. It's replete with comedy, intrigue, suspense and action. It's well worth it to see it on the big screen.
  65. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    The movie was great but not outstanding. It is definitely not academy award winning picture of the year, or even nomination level. Seeing it once was enough.
  66. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    I confess that I slept through the fatigue for 10 minutes as I watched, but that does not detract from the merit of the film covered all possible parameters in order to become what it is today, the tape with more nominations for Academy Awards (Gravity like).
    With effervescent dialogues, spectacular performances, for me the best was that of Amy Adams certainly.
    Excellent sound,
    I confess that I slept through the fatigue for 10 minutes as I watched, but that does not detract from the merit of the film covered all possible parameters in order to become what it is today, the tape with more nominations for Academy Awards (Gravity like).
    With effervescent dialogues, spectacular performances, for me the best was that of Amy Adams certainly.
    Excellent sound, soundtrack, photography, art, costumes, everything. Undoubtedly one of the 10 best films of 2013.
    Expand
  67. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I can't give an opinion on this movie without talking about David O. Russell's previous film first.

    I didn't enjoy Silver Linings Playbook when i first saw it. I thought the characters were too crazy and the story was just over-the-top. As the months went by, i started realizing that, maybe, we all are really crazy; each in his/her own subtle way. David O. Russell just denotes this
    I can't give an opinion on this movie without talking about David O. Russell's previous film first.

    I didn't enjoy Silver Linings Playbook when i first saw it. I thought the characters were too crazy and the story was just over-the-top. As the months went by, i started realizing that, maybe, we all are really crazy; each in his/her own subtle way. David O. Russell just denotes this idea, without the subtle so as to make it clear to us. That's when i watched the movie again and really loved it. And then i watched American Hustle, and loved it as well.

    The characters are really screwed up. Thanks to very stellar performances, especially by Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence, the characters really exemplify the craziness inherent in many people. Amy Adams is brilliant, while Bradley Cooper should have taken the craziness down a notch. The directing is superb, and so is the script. And it has one of the best soundtracks of the year.

    I'm so glad to have seen this film. David O. Russell is one of my favorite director's right now.
    Expand
  68. Jan 27, 2014
    6
    Well i love the cast and have to admit i'm a big fan of Jennifer Lawrence, but can't give this a high score. On the pros; it had an excellent sounds track (especially for baby boomers) and yes much of the cast blended together very well. But on the negative side, i just felt the plot line was a bit tedious and the movie overall felt like it was about 30 min too long.
  69. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    This movie overwhelms with great roles being performed fantastically. Good plot. It's just that the first half of the movie is so slow paced that it almost bored me to death. And then the second half is a nice comeback. Why couldn't it have been a bit more stable? In the end I had fun but I was fearing for the worst when it was half time...
    Please people, this is not a 10 movie...
    This movie overwhelms with great roles being performed fantastically. Good plot. It's just that the first half of the movie is so slow paced that it almost bored me to death. And then the second half is a nice comeback. Why couldn't it have been a bit more stable? In the end I had fun but I was fearing for the worst when it was half time...
    Please people, this is not a 10 movie... however, the actors were great!
    Expand
  70. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    A colorful wrap, great music, original narrative ... It is not enough to save us from "the nothingness" that this film develops. And besides, it's unforgivable to make such an almost-boring film with such condiments.

    This and Gravity favorites for the Oscars. No surprises: Vacuity, nothingness, empty space.
  71. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Another excellent film under the directorship of David O. Russell. American Hustle is a modern day classic. Just genius. It tells the story of conman Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and his seductive mistress and partner Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams) who are forced to work with the F.B.I by Agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper) to set up an elaborate sting operation to uncover corruptAnother excellent film under the directorship of David O. Russell. American Hustle is a modern day classic. Just genius. It tells the story of conman Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and his seductive mistress and partner Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams) who are forced to work with the F.B.I by Agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper) to set up an elaborate sting operation to uncover corrupt politicians including the Mayor of camden (Jeremy Renner) however it's the unpredictability of Rosenfelds's wife (Jennifer Lawrence) that puts the plan in danger. It's filled with fantastic performances from all the leads. Christian Bale proves his class with a stellar showing accompanied by his partner in crime Amy Adams who herself, impresses with a varying performance. Bradley Cooper also comes up with the goods in yet another star turn. Yet again, it's Jennifer Lawrence who steals the show. The girl isn't just amazingly stunning but she's an extraordinarily gifted actress as she continues to wow audiences in each film she appears in. She is sensational in her supporting role. The film is thoroughly entertaining. Infact, it's contagious!! Definitely a feel good film that you would foolish to miss out on especially when you have the star studded line up on show. Expand
  72. Jan 30, 2014
    5
    Yeah, this film really derives most of its interest from exposing people to the fashions and foolishness of the seventies and the distorted appearance of Christian Bale. It's mostly made up of insipid characters in a rather far-fetched love triangle and the con plays a secondary role. If it had concentrated more on that, it could have some intrigue. As a comedic Seventies' romp, it wouldYeah, this film really derives most of its interest from exposing people to the fashions and foolishness of the seventies and the distorted appearance of Christian Bale. It's mostly made up of insipid characters in a rather far-fetched love triangle and the con plays a secondary role. If it had concentrated more on that, it could have some intrigue. As a comedic Seventies' romp, it would have possibilities. To take a fine cast, dress them up stupidly and have them dance around in the middle of these two possibilities ends up being a trifle, nothing more. Expand
  73. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    American Hustle tells the story of con man Irving Rosenfeld (Bale) and partner Sydney Prosser (Adams) as they are forced to use their tricks in order to help ambitious FBI agent Richie DiMaso (Cooper).

    Featuring a fantastic cast and a darkly humorous script this is certainly one of the best movies of 2013, even if it doesn’t quite deliver fully on it initial set up.
  74. Jan 19, 2014
    4
    The film is chalk full of good performances, too bad they’re drowned out by weak storytelling, blathering dialog and an unsure sense of style.
    Bale, Cooper, Adams, Lawrence, Renner and the rest all give solid performances. Bale as the self-assured conman is as usual, methodical in his performance. Cooper is rightly over the top in his role as the overly self-involved FBI agent. Adams is
    The film is chalk full of good performances, too bad they’re drowned out by weak storytelling, blathering dialog and an unsure sense of style.
    Bale, Cooper, Adams, Lawrence, Renner and the rest all give solid performances. Bale as the self-assured conman is as usual, methodical in his performance. Cooper is rightly over the top in his role as the overly self-involved FBI agent. Adams is rock solid, albeit Russell and the wardrobe department seem to think her cleavage should have top billing. Lawrence does her Silver Linings shtick and does it really well. Renner is wonderfully charismatic as the naïve corrupt mayor. And yet all these parts do not add up to a great or even a good movie.
    The poor storytelling that is on display in this film well, it wastes all the strength of its performances. The film is merely a series of events strung together to deliver the semblance of a story. The film starts of quickly enough, but quickly spirals out of control as the narration speeds through events and character development from one set piece to the next. The audience has no time to breathe or take in any of the atmosphere that Russell rushes through on his way to fill the tale with detail. Characters are introduced and then promptly discarded as if they were nothing more than set pieces (poor Michael Pena). Major events are set up that have the pacing of a teledrama, like the documentaries on crime you see while skipping through the history channel in the morning, albeit with a few **** more. It’s such a flurrying buzz of events and information presented in a disorganized fashion that by the end you’re not entirely sure what you’ve just sat through. Sure the story is all their, the pieces fit, but the elegance of the man who brought us The Fighter, Three Kings and such is nowhere to be seen. The narration does not help things, there are three different narrations and their used in an ad hoc manner as if they weren’t sure whether to use them or not, so instead they cut it down and sprinkled it down at random points throughout the film. All this combines to create an environment where even a great performance is easily lost to sloppy filmmaking. By mid-way through the film you realize, that you might be more interested in reading the Wikipedia article about the Abscam then actually finishing this meandering film.
    Lawrence’s manic energy is drowned out to make room for as much story as possible. Her character has no moments of connection; she is all energy all the time. There is no respite from her whimsy, she exits only to do bafflingly stupid things and is given no redemptive qualities. Lawrence does her best, and I can imagine a lot of her performance was left on the cutting room floor, but she can’t get over the fact that her character is nothing more than a means to an end, like the car that gets them from point A to point B. Renner fares little better as the nice but naïve mayor. His character is made to look like such an oaf you begin to wonder how he ever became a mayor of anything. These two are the main supporting cast so if they’re treated like furniture, imagine how the third tier cast is treated.
    Cooper and Bale are good in their roles, but their resolved to acting out specific scenes that rarely tie into the previous one. This makes it seem as if their performances are uneven and at time all over the place. By the end of it, the two seem to blend in as almost one character that could be interchangeable were it not for the hair styles. Russell should’ve look to The Town to see how it is that a film makes a clean cop look like the bad guy.
    Adams on the other hand is evidently trying and the camera pays her a lot of attention. Wait no sorry my mistake, it pays her breasts a lot of attention. Apparently the films wardrobe didn’t allow for a dress or shirt that didn’t show of her mammary glands. In a film like this, this kind of attire distracts from the performance, which I think was pretty good, but thanks to the camera’s constant focus on her **** or hair I can’t be sure. In fact this brings up a great way to Segway to the next point.
    With films dull, textbook like narrative structure one might be prone to dose of or possibly even turn of the movie and save yourself at least one hour that this movie robs you of. In my case that wasn’t the case, I strove to finish it even as my brain screamed at me to just read the Wikipedia article to see what happens. Thankfully I stayed which allowed me to experience the good part of the film. No not the end, that was just as boring as the start. No, I talk of the technical side and visual style of the film. The camera work is fantastic. As the camera flows and weaves through each set piece, it’s almost like floating through the film on a cloud. You find yourself ignoring the blathering dialogue and enjoying the picturesque view of the film.
    The art deco and cinematography both do a wonderful job, even if they falter once or twice. The glitz and glamour of the Abscam world is brought to vibrant light as the characters navigate their harrowing odyssey. The disco scene in particular is stunning to behold. The colours, the movement, the sound all match up perfectly. They almost make you forget that you’re watching a **** film. The only odd part about the deco style of the film is when they try to throw in some gritty realism. It instantly looks out of place and knocks you from the daze. The start of the disco scene is a prime example of this. It’s as if they are trying to be an ode to seventies style fog machine but winds up looking cheap.
    All said and done, the film is really just a montage of events padded to a two plus hour’s length. That or the film is really three hours long and was cut down without care for structure or pacing. The performances are good, but they are good enough to overlook the storytelling problems that painfully populate the screen. A film with tons of stuff happening, but lacking in tension. The Globes and the Academy might be giving Russell a pass, by I sure as hell won’t. But hey, at least it looks pretty.
    Oh and it has a pretty decent soundtrack.
    Expand
  75. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    Over-hyped but certainly good. The story is very intriguing but can feel drawn out to the point where you wonder if the film could do with being half an hour shorter, although trying to predict how it will end is enough to keep you watching anyway. The strongest point about American Hustle is the performances. Every one of the lead actors (Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, JeremyOver-hyped but certainly good. The story is very intriguing but can feel drawn out to the point where you wonder if the film could do with being half an hour shorter, although trying to predict how it will end is enough to keep you watching anyway. The strongest point about American Hustle is the performances. Every one of the lead actors (Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Renner, Jennifer Lawrence) plays their role to perfection and the interaction between them seems completely natural. The characters themselves are fantastic, each one providing reasons to love and hate them in equal measure which leaves you wondering whose side you want to be on throughout the film. Even so, there are quite a few scenes that seem obnoxiously drawn out and after a while you may start to wish the film would get to the point instead of indulging itself so much that it creates images of David O. Russell jacking one out to his own sense of self satisfaction.
    I can entirely understand why this is a front-runner for film of the year but if you're going to see it then bear in mind that you need an impressive attention span to fully enjoy it.
    Expand
  76. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    It's truly a rare occasion to have such prominent cast in one movie, each capable of a leading role on their own, the amalgamation of these talents, coupled with extraordinary directing, make American Hustle a deceptively dark yet charming comedy. In a commentary on how far people are willing to use others for own selfish purpose, these illustrious characters seduce, lie and cheat in anIt's truly a rare occasion to have such prominent cast in one movie, each capable of a leading role on their own, the amalgamation of these talents, coupled with extraordinary directing, make American Hustle a deceptively dark yet charming comedy. In a commentary on how far people are willing to use others for own selfish purpose, these illustrious characters seduce, lie and cheat in an orgy of deceit. It's ludicrous, self-deprecating while still able to be funnily relatable and thoroughly enjoyable.

    American Hustle is a story of two con artists, Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and Sydney Prosse (Amy Adams), who make a living by setting up small fraud businesses. Unfortunately for them, they are caught red-handed by an FBI agent Richard DiMaso (Bradley Cooper). Now faced with heavy charges, both have no choice but to aid the agent in capturing more high profile targets. The operation soon becomes out of control as they try to manipulate increasing amount of victims and also outmaneuver each other, while dangerous and powerful men caught whiff of the sting operation.

    Every time a scene plays out, the actors passionately perform at excellent caliber. Christian Bale transforms himself into almost a completely different person. He looks plumper, wears hair piece and struts with somewhat slouched posture, it's realistically impressive. He shows complacent cautious behavior to mask his sly ambitious side. I admittedly didn't recognize him at some points as he almost merges in the character. Bradley Cooper plays the suave agent, who is Irving's counterpart, brimming with confident and unbridled ambition. The way he portrays his character is explosively brazen, almost obsessively erratic in his endeavor.

    Amy Adams as the role of sensual mistress, trademarked by how unwilling she is on wearing bra, has another persona as Edith, the supposed British lady. She shifts between the roles so convincingly, weaving layers of lies with great British accent; she may very well elude the audience. Jennifer Lawrence plays Irving's overly defensive, disturbed and near **** insane wife. She seems so broken with habitual reliance on dubious men, both using and being used by them. There is one scene where Adams and Lawrence loath each other with such malicious intensity, it's almost creepy to witness.

    I like the addition of Louis C.K. as the reluctant cop and DiMaso's supervisor; he brings organic humor to the table, mostly on his own character’s expense. Jeremey Renner rocks a flamboyant haircut as the seemingly philanthropic mayor Carmine Polito. Sometimes Renner looks genuinely motivated to do good for his city, also rather too innocent to mingle with the rest of suspicious characters. Robert DeNiro, however, portrays an old mob boss, calculatingly dangerous in short time he's on-screen.

    Every minute of the movie practically boasts high level of talent, they are simply captivating, even as they desperately claw their ways by forging fictional version of themselves. Director David O. Russell succeeds in presenting these talents in near over-the-top scenes, which are fairly ridiculous but will make audience can't help but feeling there's a glitter of glamor on them. The movie is clever of its use of twist, although characters' personal struggles are still the essence.

    There lie few movies that can rival American Hustle in the quantity and quality of its actors. It weaves a fantastic gripping tale of fraudulence with colorful characters, dancing with the tune of greed.
    Expand
  77. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    AMERICAN HUSTLE has an impeachable cast, a 70s zeitgeist ambience (sterling soundtrack, hairstyling and wardrobe selections), a not-so-bulletproof script, but the film is nonetheless a hail of David O’Russell’s consistency in his endeavour of characters-centred dramedy, he relentlessly supplies improvisations for his actors to illicit their spontaneous interactions with maximum dynamism,AMERICAN HUSTLE has an impeachable cast, a 70s zeitgeist ambience (sterling soundtrack, hairstyling and wardrobe selections), a not-so-bulletproof script, but the film is nonetheless a hail of David O’Russell’s consistency in his endeavour of characters-centred dramedy, he relentlessly supplies improvisations for his actors to illicit their spontaneous interactions with maximum dynamism, meanwhile his slick camera mobility complements the narrative steadily with intentional oomph to woo the audience, a strategy functions unexpectedly well after the one-two punch THE FIGHTER (2010, 8/10) and SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK (2012, 7/10), now AMERICAN HUSTLE repeats the mojo, altogether ricochet him to the rarefied echelon of a three-times BEST DIRECTOR nominees, and an auteur status rosily awaits.

    read the rest of my review at my blog "cinema omnivore", google it.
    Expand
  78. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    A great cast and an interesting story that keeps you entertained through out. It's one of few films with a 2 hour + run time that I actually did not mind sitting through.
  79. Mar 4, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Didn't have much of a good time with this movie. Its story is not interesting at all. I'm only giving 7 to it because of the actors, music and some of the dialogs. The ending is good, but the characters and the development of the trama are kind of boring. Expand
  80. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    First things first....Christian Bale deserves the Oscar. He was Fantastic! All the characters are wonderful in this movie. Everybody is rally really good. Well acted and Directed. The story is good but not great. I wrote the opposite for Wold of Wall Street. The story could have been better and thats what help it back from perfection.
  81. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    Another incredible ensemble from David O. Russell. He's once again taken a dark theme and somehow made it comedic. I applaud David O. Russell and his wonderful cast of bandits. Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence once again prove their worthiness.
  82. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    Despite its head-straching moments in this otherwise interesting plot, American Hustle is nostalgia with its brillant acting from the ensemble cast...
  83. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    Over hyped by the critics and to many awards/nominations. Lawrence/Adams are amazing! Cooper is Cooper...same character he always plays. I am not a fan of Russel. Great 70 's play-list and costumes.
  84. Jan 27, 2014
    6
    Again, it's David O'Russel that saves this clumsy fairy tale. The cast was OK although i find Bradley Cooper and Jenifer Lawrence very annoying and not interesting in general. I even felt real chemistry between Bale and Adams (and Adams was sooooo beautiful in this film).
  85. Jan 20, 2014
    6
    A very entertaining movie. Good story, well written and well acted. I thought as I watched that it was not that good but as the movie ended and after I left the theater I reflected and found it to be a pretty good movie. Well worth the price of the ticket.
  86. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Fun to watch with a great director David O. Russell, phenomenal cast Jennifer Lawrence, Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Louis C.K. and Jeremy Renner, very successful production design, hair styles and costumes.Script may be a little bit weak but they did a great job, especially Jennifer Lawrence as Irving's manic but sexy wife Rosalyn.
  87. Mar 25, 2014
    8
    Solid movie, a lil long and disjointed, but VERY little. This is a GREAT movie, it'll really get cha 'rooting' and saying verbals like "oh yeah!", "that's right", "OMG OMG!". The only complaint is the ending, the end twist is what disjoints the movie, its an EXTREMELY small twist, that doesn't start developing till LONG after the plot has run its course. The main complaint with the endSolid movie, a lil long and disjointed, but VERY little. This is a GREAT movie, it'll really get cha 'rooting' and saying verbals like "oh yeah!", "that's right", "OMG OMG!". The only complaint is the ending, the end twist is what disjoints the movie, its an EXTREMELY small twist, that doesn't start developing till LONG after the plot has run its course. The main complaint with the end twist, is how predictable and boring it is, it also gets right down corny at the VERY end. The ending brings a top notch 9/10 or even 10/10 movie, down to a 8/10. GREAT movie though, a must see, for movie lovers. Expand
  88. Jun 1, 2014
    8
    A whole bunch of good actors playing interesting characters with clear motivation. I've read that the director cared about the characters more than about the story, so he let them improvise, and that's really great! The story is pretty slow though and some interesting events start to happen only in the second half of the movie.
  89. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    This is truly a great film. David O. Russel takes a film that easily could have gone into pulp, era film, but his direction and screenplay (with Eric Singer) manages to make a film that is very entertaining, and great. Bradley Cooper is amazing, as is Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence, and Jeremy Renner turns in one of his most memorable performances since "the Town." Whilst IThis is truly a great film. David O. Russel takes a film that easily could have gone into pulp, era film, but his direction and screenplay (with Eric Singer) manages to make a film that is very entertaining, and great. Bradley Cooper is amazing, as is Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence, and Jeremy Renner turns in one of his most memorable performances since "the Town." Whilst I feel that this film is not as good as Silver Linings Playbook, it is still a great film, and David O. Russel goes 3 for 3, with 3 of the best films in recent years under his direction. I can't wait for his next film. Expand
  90. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    I'm just scratching my head looking at these comments complaining how silly and over the top everything was.
    Um, you people are aware this is a comedy, right? In the words of the Joker: "Why so serious?"
  91. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    An impossibly well-performed, skillfully written, and nimbly shot comedic drama, "American Hustle" is yet another quirky success for David O. Russell.
  92. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has a slow, dragging style, which explains why I gave up the first time I watched it before it reached the half hour mark. It felt like the film was trying too hard to create a story, and all the characters felt archetype. But the movie does pick up and become somewhat interesting after that. Though the character motivations are never explored, we get to see the differentAmerican Hustle has a slow, dragging style, which explains why I gave up the first time I watched it before it reached the half hour mark. It felt like the film was trying too hard to create a story, and all the characters felt archetype. But the movie does pick up and become somewhat interesting after that. Though the character motivations are never explored, we get to see the different sides of them which make them all human.

    The plot is simple yet complex, but what it never is intriguing enough. Some con-men are coerced by the FBI into setting up members of the Congress and the Mafia. They must find a way to do the job without being targeted by them afterwards and yet not get incarcerated.

    Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) is an ageing swindler who has a nice steady income through his various clandestine operations. Things get messy for him when he comes across Edith Greensly (Amy Adams), for he has a wife Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) who can create a lot of trouble for him if she isn't kept happy. Richard (Bradley Cooper) is the agent who deals directly with him. He is clever and ambitious and selfish, but mostly is a liability who more often than not gets in their way and creates complications as they try to complete their job assigned to them by the agency. Carmine Polito (Jeremy Renner) is the mayor who is fooled into joining the team in helping the FBI bring down the politicians and the mobsters.

    I felt like the nominations in the categories of acting were undeserved. On the contrary I'm of the opinion that Renner should have been recognized instead of the underwhelming performance given by Cooper. Sure Bale did a good enough job, and he felt like he worked for the role, with his hair and body fat. Adams, in addition to showing a lot of skin, showed another side of her which I believe I had not seen before. She certainly felt like a better actress.

    The art department did a commendable job. The hairstyles, costumes, cars, and room interiors were convincing enough. What was lacking was a plot which would have matched the effort put into bringing the 70s era onto the screen. I was amused by some of the characterization, yet was waiting for over the top humour or insight into the business or a plot twist or something. Sadly there was little if not nothing that blew my mind. Other movies have done the job required of a period piece equally well and fallen to pieces without the support of a strong story but this film was spared that fate because of the names of the cast and director. Rush would have been a better consideration for the category of Best Picture. At least it succeeded in entertaining the hell out of me as well as showing the 1970s.

    It wasn't especially a bad movie, just not something I would have liked nominated for the top prize. It was way over-hyped, and left a bad taste in my mouth when within ten minutes of starting copied Goodfellas in dual voice-over.
    Expand
  93. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    I was looking forward to this film and i wasnt dissapointed the film was great. The acting was great and the story was interesting it and there was even some bits of comedy that blended well with the serious stuff was overall a great movie 8/10
  94. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    I liked this film a lot (at least compared to the other crap in 2013-14). The acting was great. Amy Adams and Christian Bale were very good....you cared about the characters in this movie, which is more than I can say about others (Gravity, Grand Budapest, even Wolf of Wall st). The ending was great too. There was humor interspersed, but not overly done for a drama. I went into thisI liked this film a lot (at least compared to the other crap in 2013-14). The acting was great. Amy Adams and Christian Bale were very good....you cared about the characters in this movie, which is more than I can say about others (Gravity, Grand Budapest, even Wolf of Wall st). The ending was great too. There was humor interspersed, but not overly done for a drama. I went into this with low expectations, thinking it was over-hyped, but I enjoyed it. Better than Wolf of Wall St, which I also enjoyed. Expand
  95. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    American Hustle is a vigorously accomplished, and impressively stylized film. It's funny, it's full of twists, and it's undeniably alive. David O. Russell has absolutely perfected his directing style, and has cemented a spot among the top talents in the business. The screenplay is just incredibly well written. The actors are all either at the top of, or over the top of their game.American Hustle is a vigorously accomplished, and impressively stylized film. It's funny, it's full of twists, and it's undeniably alive. David O. Russell has absolutely perfected his directing style, and has cemented a spot among the top talents in the business. The screenplay is just incredibly well written. The actors are all either at the top of, or over the top of their game. Nearly every performance is shockingly good, even by the standards of this ensemble. The one I was most impressed with had to be Bale. His character was so far removed from his usual roles that at times I just had to laugh in astonished disbelief for how strange it was to see him like this. If I have any complaints about the movie they are few and far between. In the first act some lines are hard to hear, and some scenes can get pretty skanky. Other than that, it's great. In 2013, which was one of the best film years ever, American Hustle just might have been the best movie of the year. Expand
  96. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    [8.8] This film might prove a bit tedious or underwhelming to those who can't appreciate the nostalgia, but even beyond its impeccable depiction of the late 70's, it's a smart, funny con story, with a solidly entertaining plot, and tremendous characters. Jennifer Lawrence also has a career best performance, and Christian Bale is almost unidentifiable. Louis C.K. also does incredibly well[8.8] This film might prove a bit tedious or underwhelming to those who can't appreciate the nostalgia, but even beyond its impeccable depiction of the late 70's, it's a smart, funny con story, with a solidly entertaining plot, and tremendous characters. Jennifer Lawrence also has a career best performance, and Christian Bale is almost unidentifiable. Louis C.K. also does incredibly well in a dramatic role, and even Amy Adams delivers an unusually great performance (not to say she isn't good in other roles). Despite its few flaws and slight tedium, it's all around a pretty great movie. Expand
  97. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    I agree, it can sound like any mafia movie made​​, but the subtle and solid direction from David can make Hustle, a film with personality, people can say O. Russell is not a good director, but as the movie goes, you forget that someone is driving everything, and that's one of the greatest assets for a director. There are people there, they are affected, and you feel it, not to mention theI agree, it can sound like any mafia movie made​​, but the subtle and solid direction from David can make Hustle, a film with personality, people can say O. Russell is not a good director, but as the movie goes, you forget that someone is driving everything, and that's one of the greatest assets for a director. There are people there, they are affected, and you feel it, not to mention the fact that it is incredibly fun. Expand
  98. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    Whether you try to unravel the titular hustle's plot yourself or you just wait for it to be revealed, it's altogether very entertaining and fast-paced. The all star cast lives up to expectations, with, in my opinion, Bale, Renner , and Amy Adams giving out the best performances. Bradley Cooper blurbs as if he's still acting in Silver Linings, all fast and repeating the same sentence overWhether you try to unravel the titular hustle's plot yourself or you just wait for it to be revealed, it's altogether very entertaining and fast-paced. The all star cast lives up to expectations, with, in my opinion, Bale, Renner , and Amy Adams giving out the best performances. Bradley Cooper blurbs as if he's still acting in Silver Linings, all fast and repeating the same sentence over and over, but that's okay. It also has a spectacular soundtrack (though not so much adherent to the time setting: we are in 1978 and the soundtrack sounds more like '72) and there's nothing pretentious about the film, as some have suggested.

    All in all, it's fun to watch, it's well acted, it's well scored, it's well written. What else is there?
    Expand
  99. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    I finally watched this movie on Blu-Ray today. No need to recap the many, many comments already made. Suffice to say, in my opinion, that the performances, by an excellent cast, were more over-the-top than seemed necessary. I grew weary of all of the shouting. In summary, "American Hustle" was about 30 minutes too long.
  100. Feb 10, 2014
    6
    "American Hustle" offers us mixed sensations. I can't stop to think how would be this film if Scorsese had directed it. I think David O. Russell is overrated. Although cast ensemble is amazing. Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence are wonderful.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 24, 2013
    80
    Like everyone else in Russell's cast, Lawrence appears to be having a blast in the role. It's downright contagious.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 21, 2013
    100
    A work of tremendous confidence and dazzling showmanship that may just be a delirious movie-as-drug-high or may, if you choose to read it this way, contain a level of commentary about the nature of America and the illusioneering of Hollywood.
  3. 100
    The movie is a slot machine that never stops spitting quarters.