Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 890 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A fictional film set in the alluring world of one of the most stunning scandals to rock our nation, American Hustle tells the story of con man Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale), who along with his equally cunning and seductive partner Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams) is forced to work for a wild FBI agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper). DiMaso pushes them into a world of Jersey powerbrokers and mafia that's as dangerous as it is enchanting. Caught between the con-artists and Feds is Carmine Polito (Jeremy Renner), the passionate, volatile, New Jersey political operator, but it's Irving's unpredictable wife Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) who could be the one to pull the thread that brings the entire world crashing down. [Sony Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 21, 2013
    100
    A work of tremendous confidence and dazzling showmanship that may just be a delirious movie-as-drug-high or may, if you choose to read it this way, contain a level of commentary about the nature of America and the illusioneering of Hollywood.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 12, 2013
    100
    High-energy comedy comes naturally to the filmmaker. He exults in free association, emotional riffs, in the craziness that underlies ostensibly rational behavior. The crosscurrents have crosscurrents in his films, but the current that carries everything along here is announced by the first strains of music from the screen: Duke Ellington's "Jeep's Blues," with one of the most exuberant passages in all of jazz. David O. Russell does buoyancy better than anyone.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    American Hustle is David O. Russell's best film, one that finds him in that ideal zone of spontaneity and complete control.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 12, 2013
    88
    For some, the silver linings in Russell’s movies represent a failure to embrace darkness. I see them as a humanist’s act of resistance. That’s why American Hustle ranks with the year’s best movies. It gets under your skin.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 19, 2013
    88
    The warmth that courses through American Hustle makes it irresistible, with Russell’s affection for his characters and his sharp-eyed evocation of their recessionary times, honoring their struggle, however dishonest, rather than denigrating it.
  6. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Dec 16, 2013
    80
    An extremely entertaining, brilliantly acted, highly diverting film which — like all hustles — delivers less than it promises. Still, it’s worth being taken for the ride.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 10, 2013
    50
    American Hustle is a movie that was built backward, or inside out: It puts actors’ needs before the audience’s. There’s no heart under those polyester lapels, and what all that Aqua Net is pasting together is a few sparse strands of wispy story.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 244
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    David O. Russel proves once again how good of a director he is. The acting is also hugely strong, most notably from Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale. This is a sure bet for the Oscar race and as a whole its just a fantastic film, beautifully acted, vibrantly filmed and if you're a fan of Silver Linings Playbook or other O. Russel pics you'll love this film. Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Mind simply blown !!!
    American Hustle
    What a brilliant film I have just seen ....
    Everything is just ... just awesome... This is actor's
    movie and you will be amazed by every performances. Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale steal the show.... Best thing about Christian Bale is... when he is preparing for new role.. he inspires you... and his characters simply mark your brain... for many days... till his next performance... and this time we have Bradley Cooper to fight with him... the fight is so thrilling... fearless Amy Adams, classic Jeremy Runner and Robert Di Nero in guest appearance .... you cant demand for more... And captain of the ship is Great Director David O Russel !!!
    It is soft love story having thriller, comedy, emotions, twists in it !!!

    This film is going to rock at the Oscars.. surely !!! Am so confused now... am going to stick with Gravity or changing my party now... but I m loving this confusion....
    Don't think again... leave your place and rush to the nearest theaters... You stop that torrent right now as you should watch such art in the theaters to experience the EXPERIENCE...
    Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    An impossibly well-performed, skillfully written, and nimbly shot comedic drama, "American Hustle" is yet another quirky success for David O. Russell.
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    7
    If you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilarious fasion. Cooper isn't as amazing as you'd like him to be here (he needed to tone down the mania just a bit), but Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, and, especially, Amy Adams carry the weight of this film. And yes, lest I forget, Renner is brilliant. I'd also like to specifically call out the music as dead-on perfect. The film feels a touch long, but you really can't go wrong with this movie Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2014
    6
    Going into this movie, I thought with David O. Russell at the helm and the cast he put in place that this was going to be one of the year's best. While a good movie and well acted, this movie had trouble focusing for me and seemed to employ a lot of improv that hurt the overall product. Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    5
    Critics are wrong sometimes but why do they thought this film terrific, this film is bad, tge unic thing that saves this film are the actings and im not talking about the not so good at this film jennifer lawrence. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    Unoriginal, unfunny,unengaging , uninteresting, unentertaining, self obsessed, super pretentious and absolutely boring. The oscar wining the sting meets goodfellas/casino and cast Robert DeNiro to insult the injury.

    We see Christian Blair doing his hair in the opening scene and this is the point where the film loses the connection with its audience and proves that " the look" is so important. This is why we see the 70s hair do, fashion and music all the way through film but hey Who cares the plot?

    Some of the audience might have loved the film's charm.However ,it is a 20 minute too long and empty film in the end.
    Expand

See all 244 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.