Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 10, 2001
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 182 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
83
Mixed:
47
Negative:
52
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TTW107Dec 26, 2011
Same crew. Same sense of humor. Same ridiculous situations. I love it but it's not quite the classic that the first one is. Eugene Levy is so freakin hilarious
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
CarmenB.Mar 5, 2002
I loved American pie 1!!!but this one is way less funny. Too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ShaggyCloudFeb 14, 2002
Have an pretictable ending, an unoriginal argument, but it's funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremySep 29, 2003
I guess AP2 works because the jokes are still funny, and the other good attributes are still there, but the sequel feels more like a cheap laugh than a fresh comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelD.Aug 14, 2001
Good - but not great. While it does better than most sequels, it doesn't live up to the first's plot line. Though not entirely plausible, AP1 had direction in its plot. Each of the four had their mini-sagas, and the movie focuses Good - but not great. While it does better than most sequels, it doesn't live up to the first's plot line. Though not entirely plausible, AP1 had direction in its plot. Each of the four had their mini-sagas, and the movie focuses on how they overcome them. Unfortunately, however, AP2, while equally as slap-stick funny, lacks plot direction. Truly, Jim is the only one of the four whose intentions are made clear to us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NedD.Sep 14, 2001
Not as original or fresh as the first, but still consistently amusing and entertaining. Always likable and never cruel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KarlD.Jan 11, 2002
If you are a one track minded pervert, go see this movie you'll enjoy it! But I have to give a 10+ for the beatiful ladies. Actually, why do so many people go to see a movie of this type huh?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewM.Jun 21, 2004
This isn't a bad movie, but it's not a really great one either. There are a few genuinely funny moments (watching Stifler get pissed on was a highlight) but I was put off by too many strained moments where unfunny jokes were This isn't a bad movie, but it's not a really great one either. There are a few genuinely funny moments (watching Stifler get pissed on was a highlight) but I was put off by too many strained moments where unfunny jokes were reworked into....other unfunny jokes. I was also confused by Seann William Scott's acting; at times his comedic timing was brilliant (in the lesbian house, for example) while in other scenes he came across as nothing more than a ham! I dunno. Eugene Levy on the other hand was outstanding. His innocent little 'pep' talks with his son are really the funniest scenes in the film and are the perfect antidote to the cruder, more base moments in the film. It's an ok film...it won't ruin an evening...but it won't necessarily make it one to remember either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
Yes, the comedy still has that quality typical, but the sequel begins to lose the joke goes as releasing new films, the audience gets used to a kind of comedy, and then when seen for the second time no longer has the strength it had in first impact.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 22, 2013
American Pie 2 is still funny, yes, but the storyline that made the original so fresh and exciting is washed over here. But, thanks to the smart screenwriters, the third movie, American Wedding, felt new again, so we can forgive them for thisAmerican Pie 2 is still funny, yes, but the storyline that made the original so fresh and exciting is washed over here. But, thanks to the smart screenwriters, the third movie, American Wedding, felt new again, so we can forgive them for this one only being average. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
Yes, the comedy still has that quality typical, but the sequel begins to lose the joke goes as releasing new films, the audience gets used to a kind of comedy, and then when seen for the second time no longer has the strength it had in firstYes, the comedy still has that quality typical, but the sequel begins to lose the joke goes as releasing new films, the audience gets used to a kind of comedy, and then when seen for the second time no longer has the strength it had in first impact... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews