Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 9, 1999
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 445 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
182
Negative:
142
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ZerpnosMar 16, 2017
Ortalama bir gençlik filmi, başlarda aşırı derecede sıkılmıştım fakat sonlara doğru kendini çok iyi açtı ve güldürdü. Kendi türü açısından, devrimsel bir film olduğunu düşünüyorum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
American Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for yearsAmerican Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for years to come. It may be crude and uncalled for from beginning to end, but it has delightful characters, a decent plot-line, and a stellar soundtrack. It is far from a cinematic masterpiece, but it is an easy-going watch for anyone that enjoys a good comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
The3AcademySinsJun 7, 2016
I don't care what anyone says. The first American Pie movie is a genuinely good film. It's gross out humor has a very sweet, very thought provoking core that keeps you hooked for the entire movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
If this is what we call comedy, then this is literally the worst type of comedy I've ever seen. There's no absolute reason to combine a bunch of too many gross things to a film which American Pie fails to make me laugh, instead making me getIf this is what we call comedy, then this is literally the worst type of comedy I've ever seen. There's no absolute reason to combine a bunch of too many gross things to a film which American Pie fails to make me laugh, instead making me get disgusted because of the clichés that keeps on blowing back and forth. An idiotic movie made by a pair of idiots who had dirty minds at the time for idiots that can keep up a chuckle or two. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscOct 19, 2015
An original raunchy, cheerful teen comedy that has comical, funny and interesting characters gives you belly laughs and a bit of charm, even though it's cliche'd but the film is self aware of it. The performances by Jason Biggs, Chris Klein,An original raunchy, cheerful teen comedy that has comical, funny and interesting characters gives you belly laughs and a bit of charm, even though it's cliche'd but the film is self aware of it. The performances by Jason Biggs, Chris Klein, Sean William Scott and Thomas Ian Nicholas are scintillating and comedic gold under the direction of Paul Weitz (About A Boy). Weitz has perfect comedic timing which elevates the screenplay by Adam Herz. The film's a winner and makes you forget about those other teen genre films, which this film is my favorite high school film and makes you want to be in high school again. Grade A Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Paramilitary400May 17, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are some scenes in American Pie that are amusing. One scene that I found funny was the scene where Jim is dancing for Nadia. He doesn't realize they're being watched on the internet by others. He has a webcam and everyone is watching them through a link. Jim sends the link to everyone so they then have access to his webcam. He's only supposed to send the link to his friend's but he addresses the email wrong. Jim blows his shot with Nadia, then at school the next day everyone knows about his failure. He doesn't catch on to the fact that many people were watching them instantly but he does. Some acting in the movie was well done like Alyson Hannigan as the band geek and Eugene Levy's role as Jim's father. Overall though American Pie fails to be a hilarious, smart comedy. It is mildly amusing but mostly lame due to the crudeness of the sexual content and the gross out gags that misfire. Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
MovieReviewsJul 4, 2014
I watched this movie two days ago for the first time and I enjoyed every bit of it. It is crude, it is raunchy and it is what started everything we love about comedies. I must watch!
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
8
tildeMay 30, 2014
American Pie is a bag of laughs, it's hilarious, well acted and interesting. It's the story of the typical adolescent teenagers lusting for some sexual experiences.
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
5
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Não sou muito fã desses tipos de comédia porém até que chega a ser um filme divertido em certas partes mais não passa disso sendo um besteirol puro e chato.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 22, 2013
American Pie is one of those movies a bachelor has on his movie shelf, watching occasionally to his pleasure. But, once the missus moves in, that movie is going with the comics, porn, and dirty movies he has.

Nevertheless, the movie deals
American Pie is one of those movies a bachelor has on his movie shelf, watching occasionally to his pleasure. But, once the missus moves in, that movie is going with the comics, porn, and dirty movies he has.

Nevertheless, the movie deals with issues concerning teens growing up and finding ways to crave their sexual desires, which we all go through eventually. Also, it is fun and kooky, springing up some very awkward scenes. The message: don't watch this movie with your parents!
Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
7
Luke_McLaughlinJul 29, 2013
American Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for yearsAmerican Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for years to come. It may be crude and uncalled for from beginning to end, but it has delightful characters, a decent plot-line, and a stellar soundtrack. It is far from a cinematic masterpiece, but it is an easy-going watch for anyone that enjoys a good comedy. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
The original American Pie is certainly a classic comedy on the must see list, but it's not the best of the seven American Pie inspired films. Personally, I preferred the second one too the first, as everyone was much more relaxed and knewThe original American Pie is certainly a classic comedy on the must see list, but it's not the best of the seven American Pie inspired films. Personally, I preferred the second one too the first, as everyone was much more relaxed and knew each other, making the movie flow better. Don't get me wrong, this one certainly had it's funny moments, but in my estimation it wasn't as good as the second one. Jason Biggs Alyson Hannigan are hilarious, but for all they bring to the table, bad actors like Eddie Kay Thomas and Chris Klein take away, making the good performances moot. American Pie is a classic teen comedy about sex and it ushered in a new era in comedy that's still relevant today. It has the raunchy, crazy, good looking youth we see in today's comedy, but unfortunately also has some really lame jokes and bad acting, that thankful went out with the nineties. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
Speed4RunsDec 10, 2012
This movie shouldn't be taken just as crude etc.: it mainly shows the teens' silly fun. Many teens are "searching" for sex, and this movie shows it with funny moments and these moments which you call "crude".
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
trevortalksNov 14, 2012
Movie bliss.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Pie tells the tale of high school seniors searching for sex, love, and acceptance in the world. Yes, the film is raunchy and crude, but it is also hilarious from start to finish, and has a warm spirit and well developed characters.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
1
7dogguyApr 13, 2012
this is a porn not a movie basically every 5 seconds someone is having sex or there are boobs this movie is not funny at all im a teenager and i would never want to be do%&he bags like the people in this movie and not to mention most of thethis is a porn not a movie basically every 5 seconds someone is having sex or there are boobs this movie is not funny at all im a teenager and i would never want to be do%&he bags like the people in this movie and not to mention most of the jokes are disgusting because people are like puking everywhere and making people drink horse sperm its horrible but ill give it a 1 for the boobs lol Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Mar 31, 2012
American Pie is no teen movie we haven't seen before, but its strong performances, huge amounts of heart, lovable characters, and plenty of laughs ;American Pie is a solid and memorable comedy. I give this movie 86%.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
DominykasJan 30, 2012
If you hadn't seen this movie yet you should see it right now. Of course im not insisting you guys to watch it if you don't like teen movies but its classic of this kind of comedy.I mean it! This might look little bit stupid because its likeIf you hadn't seen this movie yet you should see it right now. Of course im not insisting you guys to watch it if you don't like teen movies but its classic of this kind of comedy.I mean it! This might look little bit stupid because its like a "stupid comedy" Thats how i like to call movies like this.Actually they aren't stupid at all it's very hard to create jokes like this and make a movie like this.But I could hardly recommend this movie if you are looking for different kind of comedy something opposite from teens movie like good rated movie with good well known actor and a good storyline or a family comedy because it would be pretty weird watching movies with your children or with your parent (depends who you are). This movie is way different is about teenagers life, and
their jokes. I could say this was one of the best of this kind of
comedy i have ever seen! if someone asks for a comedy about teens first
movie i say is "American pie". This movie would be best if you're
looking for something really easy and very hilarious to watch as I
said already. Thanks for reading
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Dec 26, 2011
A god damned classic that every teenage boy is bound to love. Screw the critics when it comes to movies like American Pie, of course older people will **** all over it because they are just mad they aren't young anymore.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
7
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
Pure comedy, there is no proper story to follow (only in the sequel), is simply following a story based on the facts of the day to day and laugh with some epic events.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
Really america? This is what qualifies as hysterical comedy? An endless stream of sight gags and sex jokes. If you don't want to have to think here is your movie. If you like the same jokes you liked when you were 12 this is your movie. IReally america? This is what qualifies as hysterical comedy? An endless stream of sight gags and sex jokes. If you don't want to have to think here is your movie. If you like the same jokes you liked when you were 12 this is your movie. I also recommend you pick up Captain Underpants books, you'll LOVE them! Grow up and get yourself some George Carlin DVD's. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
ShayneGJan 26, 2011
This is a classic teenage comedy and a personal favourite for me. The cast work together well on a plot with comedy in every scene. Sean William Scott deserves an Oscar.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
eunmovieNov 24, 2010
Not funny as American Pie 2 and 3 but the first American Pie tells a introduction. After watching the first American Pie, people will laugh in the American Pie 2 and 3
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Campea16Aug 20, 2010
i honestly dont understand this score. i rewatched this a few days ago and was howling of laughter. its definitely one of the funniest movies of my generation, and it inspired many movies with similar humour (example: 40 year old virgin,i honestly dont understand this score. i rewatched this a few days ago and was howling of laughter. its definitely one of the funniest movies of my generation, and it inspired many movies with similar humour (example: 40 year old virgin, superbad, etc). Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
4
LCJun 15, 2007
It had it's moments, but even they were crude and irritating in some way. I'm not sure it deserves it's 58 metascore.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
9
MeJul 5, 2006
a 58 metascore is a travesty. This is one of most realistic comedies of all time, and hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful