Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: It was the summer of 1999 when four small-town Michigan boys began a quest to lose their virginity. In the years that have passed, Jim and Michelle married while Kevin and Vicky said goodbye. Oz and Heather grew apart, but Finch still longs for Stifler's mom. Now these lifelong friends haveIt was the summer of 1999 when four small-town Michigan boys began a quest to lose their virginity. In the years that have passed, Jim and Michelle married while Kevin and Vicky said goodbye. Oz and Heather grew apart, but Finch still longs for Stifler's mom. Now these lifelong friends have come home as adult to reminisce about - and get inspired by - the hormonal teens who launched a comedy legend. (Universal Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 4, 2012
    78
    Of course, if you loathed the first film, this one probably won't do much to change your mind. But fans, and I count myself among them, of the Weitz brothers' unexpectedly enjoyable original will find themselves in a familiar and perhaps comforting place … filthy language, risqué situations, die-hard friendships, and all.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 4, 2012
    70
    The result is the best slice of Pie yet: a savvy sequel that's flat-out hilarious raunchy fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    There's some laughing gas left in the cupboard, but this series may require an infusion of new blood to last until "American Funeral."
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    The film alternates sloppily executed sex gags with sentiment, as did its predecessors. And it's all just slightly more endearing and amusing than it has any right to be.
  5. 50
    Halfway through, everyone starts drinking heavily and the film turns into agreeably sloppy fun. (Isn't that always the way – class reunions often perk up when someone spikes the punch.)
  6. Reviewed by: James White
    Apr 30, 2012
    40
    The first couple of servings back in the day were fresh and fruity, but the franchise has been left on the shelf a little too long. It's occasionally entertaining to have these characters back in our lives, but for the most part this fails to party like it's 1999.
  7. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Scenes will wander from gross-out gag to sentimental schmaltz to pervy leer to cheap nostalgia within a 30-second span, utterly free of clear directorial guidance. Even worse, very little of it is remotely funny.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 49
  2. Negative: 7 out of 49
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Saw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some seriousSaw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some serious moments, the funny moments are some of the best of the series. Definitely a must see for American Pie fans Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    my co-worker's aunt brought in $19189 a month ago. she is getting paid on the computer and bought a $588700 home. All she did was getmy co-worker's aunt brought in $19189 a month ago. she is getting paid on the computer and bought a $588700 home. All she did was get fortunate and put to work the instructions shown on this link lazycash1.com Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised with this film. The American Pie series was never the best plot-wise, but their characters are unforgettable. ManyI was pleasantly surprised with this film. The American Pie series was never the best plot-wise, but their characters are unforgettable. Many years have passed, but nothing has changed. The characters are slightly aged, but still humorous and specific. I will even pay the writers a complement and say this is the best written script of the series. However, the soundtrack is not nearly as epic as all the other films. I likely would have stopped watching the series after American Pie 2 had the soundtracks been lackluster. Not a home run, but exactly what the American Pie series needed, a solid conclusion. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    Ok, ok, the movie is funny (and much), have some great and cool moments, but is same that the other american pie movies, the same jokes, andOk, ok, the movie is funny (and much), have some great and cool moments, but is same that the other american pie movies, the same jokes, and all this things, for me is the second better of the saga, but is same. Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious,While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious, nonetheless. Probably the last piece of pie we're getting from Universal. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2014
    5
    American reunion is a ok instalment with nothing to really remember about it. The film is a good inside look at what can happen after everyoneAmerican reunion is a ok instalment with nothing to really remember about it. The film is a good inside look at what can happen after everyone settles down and moves on in life, there are some funny moments but nothing like the others. There is no trade mark or line to tell a friend.

    Worth watching once
    Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2012
    0
    American Reunion brings nothing new to comedies. It's exactly the same kind of humor that you see in 90% of comedies out right now. It'sAmerican Reunion brings nothing new to comedies. It's exactly the same kind of humor that you see in 90% of comedies out right now. It's almost as bad as the second Hangover. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.