Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: May 5, 2006
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 52 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
7
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
timcMay 14, 2006
Yeah, this was pretty bad. However, it is watchable, with a good plot twist that shall not be divulged here. The movie would have made a 5 rating had they simply excised (exorcise?) completely the 2006 "modern day" footage from the plot. Yeah, this was pretty bad. However, it is watchable, with a good plot twist that shall not be divulged here. The movie would have made a 5 rating had they simply excised (exorcise?) completely the 2006 "modern day" footage from the plot. Useless and worse, it makes the movie feel like a TV special from the 80's. The ending (set in modern day) is possibly the weakest element in the movie... and that's saying a lot. One big logic complaint. Is everyone so retarded that they leave Betsy alone in her room at midnight night after night after night??? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.May 7, 2006
[***SPOILERS***]"American Haunting" has one of the biggest plot holes in recent memory. When the idea finally hits them(about time!) that Betsy(Rachel Hurd Wood) should be moved from the house, the demonic spirit hunts them down and thwarts [***SPOILERS***]"American Haunting" has one of the biggest plot holes in recent memory. When the idea finally hits them(about time!) that Betsy(Rachel Hurd Wood) should be moved from the house, the demonic spirit hunts them down and thwarts their horse-driven escape. But it's a dream, and apparently Betsy must've told the other Bells that it didn't work. Nonetheless, you would think that fleeing the house is preferable than being molested by a poltergeist. It's downright laughable how many times Betsy is allowed to sleep in her room. Maybe the real escape from the house ended up on the cutting room floor. "An American Haunting" doesn't have the accidental entertainment value that another not-screened-for-critics film, "A Sound of Thunder", had, even though the special effects are equally cheesy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jimmytancrediAug 22, 2011
It was good to spend time and take a few scares, but the ending is too predictable... It seems they wanted to give a rational explanation of the events but were kind of on the fence, almost as if they hadn't explained right (not in order toIt was good to spend time and take a few scares, but the ending is too predictable... It seems they wanted to give a rational explanation of the events but were kind of on the fence, almost as if they hadn't explained right (not in order to leave doubt in the air, but in the explanation poorly performed). Perhaps it would have been better if they had chosen to leave between the haunt be really a curse, or let the phenomena being the reflection of the trauma of the girl explained naturally. The mixture of these two options, in my opinion, left the rather weak script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DanL.May 7, 2006
There is such thing as too much music, and for God's sakes, could we stop moving the camera for one second? Besides that, well, still not good. Some of the themes were freaky in concept, but were done so pathetically that you There is such thing as too much music, and for God's sakes, could we stop moving the camera for one second? Besides that, well, still not good. Some of the themes were freaky in concept, but were done so pathetically that you couldn't help but roll your eyes. Maybe there's just not room for such an innocent horror movie in today's Saw/Hills Have Eyes horror market, because this movie felt so cute there were times when you thought you were watching a straight-to-DVD Disney flick. One more note on the innocent route, without spoiling too much: when a movie is so innocent that it's laughable, don't make the conclusion so blunt and insensitive that it's repulsive. It's a disgusting effect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanH.May 19, 2006
Nothing about this movie was remotely good. There was no story to give the movie depth and the only way to be some what interested with the movie is if you read about the Bell Witch "Haunting" before you make the mistake of buying a ticket Nothing about this movie was remotely good. There was no story to give the movie depth and the only way to be some what interested with the movie is if you read about the Bell Witch "Haunting" before you make the mistake of buying a ticket and watching this horrid movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JonC.Jul 20, 2006
Someone must have paid Felix Vasquez Jr., Sheri Linden and Jack Matthews to say nice things about this HORRIBLE movie. IF not, then they are as inept as film critics as the filmakers of this piece of crock. This is easily the worst film of Someone must have paid Felix Vasquez Jr., Sheri Linden and Jack Matthews to say nice things about this HORRIBLE movie. IF not, then they are as inept as film critics as the filmakers of this piece of crock. This is easily the worst film of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamMay 6, 2006
I think it needed a few more windows opening and closing... There was nothing original or creative about this movie whatsoever. Everything shot in this film has all been done a thousand times before and has been done much better. I've I think it needed a few more windows opening and closing... There was nothing original or creative about this movie whatsoever. Everything shot in this film has all been done a thousand times before and has been done much better. I've never come so close to walking out of a movie in my entire life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MaseMay 13, 2006
This movie is like watching a home video of yourself riding "the haunted mansion" over and over for 2 hours. Believe it this is God awful. It kinda reminded me of one of horrible japanese imports like say "the grudge part 8" transported to This movie is like watching a home video of yourself riding "the haunted mansion" over and over for 2 hours. Believe it this is God awful. It kinda reminded me of one of horrible japanese imports like say "the grudge part 8" transported to little house on the praire, without any of the japanese quirky weirdness. It should be a crime to waste Sissy Spacek like this. So predictable so boring almost unwatchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Alexander_FredDec 10, 2011
With a story line that promises thrills and an interesting opening sequence, An American Haunting falls flat on its face. Not only does it become illogical almost immediately, but the camera movements are intolerable, the acting is lacklusterWith a story line that promises thrills and an interesting opening sequence, An American Haunting falls flat on its face. Not only does it become illogical almost immediately, but the camera movements are intolerable, the acting is lackluster at best, the number of historical and factual inaccuracies become too numerous too count, and the final ending is not only one of the worst endings to a horror film, but is almost impossible to decipher. By the time this film ends, either boredom or anger will assuredly begin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CGJan 3, 2007
Some one missed some research for this movie. I have lived in Tennessee all my life and now very close to Adams Tennessee and never in all the doumentation I have ever read anything close to how this movie ended. Nowhere near the truth. I Some one missed some research for this movie. I have lived in Tennessee all my life and now very close to Adams Tennessee and never in all the doumentation I have ever read anything close to how this movie ended. Nowhere near the truth. I guess hollywood had to make it up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jul 20, 2006
Based on truth or not, this is one of the stupidest films I've ever seen. Ridiculously stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful