User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    With outstanding and revolutionary make-up and howling special effects, An American Werewolf In London is a major success especially with its surprising blend of horror and humor.
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this is truly the best werewolf-themed movie of all time, effortlessly combining horror with comedy and presenting a transformation sequence which will probably never be matched. Also the background filler songs, all referencing the moon adds to the treat that this is. The mood of the film bounces up and down like a biorhythm chart, with the extreme highs counterbalanced with the terrifying lows. Perhaps, to nitpick, a few things I didn't like about it include the bumbling law enforcers, and during the final transformation sequence, when David/"David" stares at his hand as it elongates - which actually became one of the iconic images people tend to use when referencing this movie. Otherwise, this is a modern classic. My favorite moments are those when "Jack" makes his visionary appearances, each one in a further state of decay. Place this on your bucket list - it's a must-see. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    4
    It is an old school film that was unsure of it`s self. The horror was not scary although there is artistry present during the transformation scene and many of the scenes where you see Jack back from the dead. I found the odd moment funny but much of the over the top humor did not work for me. don`t even get me started about the ending.
  4. May 26, 2012
    5
    En voyant que le réalisateur se nomme John Landis, il ne fallait pas vraiment s'attendre à un véritable film d'épouvante. Bon, il y a bien une certaine ambiance dans la première partie, dans les landes brumeuses. Mais à aucune moment le film ne fait illusion sur le but d'effrayer le specateur. Cela marchait peut-être l'époque, je ne le nie pas. Mais aujourd'hui... Tout ça pour dire que ce Loup-Garou de Londres a pris un sacré coup de vieux! Sinon, nous avons affaire à une histoire de loup-garou en plus, mais qui est tout de même sauvé par deux choses. A commencer par son degré (que l'on pouvait attendre de Landis), assez rigolo (la scène de "réunion" au cinéma porno). Et puis surtout les maquillages, tout simplement bluffant et superbement réalisés, surtout pour l'époque! Justement, en t repensant, Le Loup-Garou de Loup ne serait-il pas une sorte de "prolongation" au clip Thriller? On pourrait le voir comme ça. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    Very good for a werewolf flick. Sure we ain`t got a complicated story here. Just a guy who gets bitten by a scary costume and turns one day. The love story is also quite shallow. But the movie still manages to hold the viewer to see more. The single main thing I looked at is : is this film scary? Well yes, it is damn scary! Not all the time, mind you. The English country side looks funny compared to all other such flicks where we see the woods mainly. Here, the boys get attacked at night, yes, but at an open area. Ofcourse by now the speciall effects look silly at times, though the man-wolf transformation is the best I`ve seen yet. Still, it is convincing. It also contributes to building the main character - he also experiences a lot of pain and remorse. The film also has a few funny scenes. The thing I liked the most about it : the werewolf is a savage beast and kills people in the most gruesome ways, just out of bloodthirst. Excellent sound to that. Overall a movie that manages to amuse inspite of time. Collapse
  6. May 29, 2011
    9
    I knew this would be a different kind of horror movie when the first 15 minutes or so featured such witty banter between David Naughton & Griffin Dunne. They're great together, and after Dunne "changes", their interactions only get better. The soundtrack is perfect- esp. CCR's "Bad Moon Rising" - and the woman who plays the nurse is terrific. Rick Baker, who won the Oscar for his special effects & makeup, did some unprecedented things in the transformation scene. Probably the worst part of the film is the ending - or lack thereof. Don't quite know what Landis was thinking there, but it certainly didn't spoil the fun for me. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 28, 2011
    89
    This movie presented a radical melange of genuine horror and self-aware comic touches, not to mention the fabulous Rick Baker special effects.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    May 28, 2011
    80
    Carnivorous lunar activities rarely come any more entertaining than this.
  3. Reviewed by: Dave Kehr
    May 28, 2011
    30
    It's a failure, less because the odd stylistic mix doesn't take (it does from time to time, and to striking effect) than because Landis hasn't bothered to put his story into any kind of satisfying shape.