Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: July 22, 2011
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 178 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
110
Mixed:
29
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
JamesLAug 19, 2011
A big disappointment for me. I saw nothing new, interesting or exciting. I was not taken deeply into any chracther's inner life and I found the story about the second Earth totally irrelevant. Maybe, I was having a bad day, but I cannotA big disappointment for me. I saw nothing new, interesting or exciting. I was not taken deeply into any chracther's inner life and I found the story about the second Earth totally irrelevant. Maybe, I was having a bad day, but I cannot recommend this film. I had to laugh when she seduces the older male and he has no idea why or who she might be. That was total bs! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
jon44Aug 2, 2011
Nice acting, but not much of a story. I really enjoyed the restrained style of this film, but the story never really amounted to much more than a typical after-school special. (And the sage, self-blinded Indian janitor was just completelyNice acting, but not much of a story. I really enjoyed the restrained style of this film, but the story never really amounted to much more than a typical after-school special. (And the sage, self-blinded Indian janitor was just completely ridiculous and a bit offensive.) Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyFendiMay 3, 2012
What if there is another you on another earth? Thiz question will generate other hundreds or maybe thousands of new questions. On the eve of the discovery of a second earth, Rhoda car accidentally crashed into john and killed his wife and hisWhat if there is another you on another earth? Thiz question will generate other hundreds or maybe thousands of new questions. On the eve of the discovery of a second earth, Rhoda car accidentally crashed into john and killed his wife and his little boy. Now after four-year sentence, Rhoda with her guilt tries to approach the frustrated John to ask for forgiveness. I will not tell you where the rest will lead us. The story centers on two main characters, Rhoda (Brit Marling) and john (William Mapother). Brit Marling made her acting debut through thiz movie. She can show her vulnerable emotion convincingly. William Mapother also made a good balance on their interaction. Even though first-time feature Director Mike Cahill has very limited resources, he seems so successful to raise a debate among the audience with his unique story. I realize that thiz movie has an ambiguous ending. It means the ending could mean anything depends on how the content is interpreted by the viewers. Thiz kind of art house movie reminds me of Spike Jonze and Charlie Kaufman strange smart movies like in BEING JOHN MALKOVICH (1999), ADAPTATION (2002), ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND (2004), SYNECDOCHE, NEW YORK (2008) or WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE (2009). I think thiz movie is a large-scale metaphor of life. It is straightly about how to redeem a guilty feeling. Certainly, we cannot change the past. So the movie reminds us of the importance of forgiveness. To put it simply, if you want to make people around you to feel happiness then you have to make yourself happy first. Otherwise, if you want to make yourself to be happy, then you have to make other people happy. We are all in the same boat. It is a good contemplation.

Visit My Blog on JONNY MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Stormcrow666Oct 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is boring. I found myself looking at other things on the internet and wondering when or if something would happen in this film. The best parts of the movie are the "homemade" style cgi images of a 2nd earth. This plot is more akin to a B style drama that doesn't explain much about the so called 2nd earth at all. To me this film tries too hard to be artsy and psychological but it ends up dull and contrite. Brit Marling is an adequate actress and the overall performances of all the actors is good but it is the main plot that is just dull. There could have been alot more done with the premise of a 2nd mirror earth than some woman's plight of reckless driving. Too bad it had promise Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AIDYDec 7, 2011
The "other Earth" served only as a subliminal feature in the film. Slow paced. Inconsistent. In the end, "another Earth" came off as just "another" uniquely disappointing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SacrificeNov 28, 2011
"Another Earth" is a slow drama that revolves around a tragedy. This is an important point since the title and cover may give a different impression. There is little science-fiction; the other earth is mostly a side note and a catalyst for"Another Earth" is a slow drama that revolves around a tragedy. This is an important point since the title and cover may give a different impression. There is little science-fiction; the other earth is mostly a side note and a catalyst for some speculative discussions in the film.

I found the film interesting, but overly slow and artsy. By the end I was looking forward to the film coming to an end, only to have it end where I wanted it to continue! Still, it was a thought-provoking finish that is perhaps best left for speculation.

The acting is decent, but does fall flat at times. It definitely has the look and feel of a low-budget indie film, so it may not be for everyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RobinsNestJan 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was intrigued by Rhoda's interaction with John. I wanted her to tell him the truth but I was hoping the "other planet" would become another character. But it didn't. It was a device to hold my interest but was not used until the final frame. And then i didn't know what happened. She sees herself and what does that mean? Did John send her back? What happens now that there are two of them on one planet? Some esoteric conclusion to be drawn? Why was the other planet there if not to be explored, even in a dream sequence, to see of John's family was still alive? Could time and space be altered? So much potential with the idea, wasted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews