Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 2, 2005
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 200 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
58
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
budworthNov 29, 2010
This one had big shoes to fill. The late night MTV cult following were those who kept this story alive, it is in fact a great story. But alas, leave it to Hollywood and their complete lack of imagination and creativity to bring us a movieThis one had big shoes to fill. The late night MTV cult following were those who kept this story alive, it is in fact a great story. But alas, leave it to Hollywood and their complete lack of imagination and creativity to bring us a movie horribly written and conceived. Today's movies may seem like stories that have all been told before because they have. The greedy execs and talentless hacks go to the well of the comic book or animation flicks of yesteryear because they simply forgot how to make good movies in that town. It's all about boxing yesterday's success and forcing it down our throats. Aeon Flux is just that. The epitome of everything that is wrong with tinsel town. The only saving grace is that the story is solid or this would be a solid 0. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
potatoes351Jan 25, 2013
Aeon Flux is a young woman living in a world safe from danger. 400 years ago a disease wipes out 99% of the human race. The 1% that remain live in a secure city away from the dangers of the outside world. But as a resistance begins to formAeon Flux is a young woman living in a world safe from danger. 400 years ago a disease wipes out 99% of the human race. The 1% that remain live in a secure city away from the dangers of the outside world. But as a resistance begins to form against the oppressive government long kept secrets begin to show and it is time for humanity to accept its end.
The story is a great concept. however the poor execution in terms of poor directing, bad filming, a terrible cast and some really really awful CGI makes Aeon Flux a film that can be easily looked over.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RogerD.Dec 4, 2005
Mostly a disappointment. I've been waiting for this movie since I heard it was being filmed. I loved the animated shorts on MTV's Liquid Television. I had no real idea what to expect coming into the movie as the animated shorts Mostly a disappointment. I've been waiting for this movie since I heard it was being filmed. I loved the animated shorts on MTV's Liquid Television. I had no real idea what to expect coming into the movie as the animated shorts were so minimal with no dialogue. All I was hoping for with the movie was that it be entertaining. Unfortunately it was kind of boring. Not a horrible movie but pretty slow and not that engaging. I could have used some more acrobatic moves and Aeon flying through the air. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PatC.Jun 30, 2006
Disjointed. Adequate of action but deficient of relevance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MitchellF.Dec 20, 2005
What?...that was on question on my mind throught the whole movie. I had no idea what what was happening. Where did she get all these powers? How is she so good at fighting? What the hell what with the guy in the blimp? I for one have never What?...that was on question on my mind throught the whole movie. I had no idea what what was happening. Where did she get all these powers? How is she so good at fighting? What the hell what with the guy in the blimp? I for one have never seen the cartoon show, or read the comic's, so I didn't know what was happening. But the fighting, wow, if you had to go for one reason, this is it. The fighting was fantastic. And the F/X were good too. Its a pass, but barily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PhilT.Dec 4, 2005
Aeon Flux Sux.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IlzeS.Jan 14, 2006
Movie was enjoyable. Only too much action. Charlize Teron, I think is nice actress to look at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
groundfisherMar 27, 2006
I went into this movie not having read any reviews. The ideas underpinning the plot are somewhat interesting. However, they are wasted by the film's poor pacing and lack of introspection. There are perhaps two good action sequences in I went into this movie not having read any reviews. The ideas underpinning the plot are somewhat interesting. However, they are wasted by the film's poor pacing and lack of introspection. There are perhaps two good action sequences in this film, and more than two awful ones. Theron is mis-cast here. This is not a role for her. She's not an Angelina Jolie in Tomb Raider or a Kate Beckinsale in Underworld who are both compelling to watch, even as one-dimensional characters, and who both come to epitomise the heavily stylised worlds in which the action takes place. Theron looks out of place, and suffers from a mediocre script. This movie certainly had potential, but it just didn't work out. The narrative didn't flow, certain aspects of the plot are revealed too late or too soon or all at once. A half-decent story is spoiled not be a lack of coherence, but a lack of consistency. That's my opinion, anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
R.CampbellMar 4, 2006
Don't waste money on seeing at the cinema, wait until it's out on DVD and rent it if you really feel the need to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WillieG.May 22, 2006
Points awarded were for some slick visual effects and because CTlooks really good. In the end though, CT was probably miscast and the fight choreography was definitely horrid. Ultimately this was good eye candy, but a rather pointless and Points awarded were for some slick visual effects and because CTlooks really good. In the end though, CT was probably miscast and the fight choreography was definitely horrid. Ultimately this was good eye candy, but a rather pointless and forgettable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexDec 19, 2005
It was pretty much "meh" the whole way through. not a great movie, but its something to maybe rent once in a while for a rainy satruday afternoon. Charlise Theron is pretty sexy in tight leather.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NickB.Dec 2, 2005
Charlize Theron does her best, but with a script that is delivered like a blind reading, no one can really act much. I was engaged during about half of the action scenes. The style and finesse of the cartoon isn't present. In its place Charlize Theron does her best, but with a script that is delivered like a blind reading, no one can really act much. I was engaged during about half of the action scenes. The style and finesse of the cartoon isn't present. In its place is a unbalanced mix of design, American Blockbuster, and the hope of an interesting story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.Dec 2, 2005
Enjoyable. Not famililar with original story, so can't compare, but from what some of the critics said, maybe it was better that way. It was nice to see Charlize looking like herself again. Some fun action sequences. Did not think the Enjoyable. Not famililar with original story, so can't compare, but from what some of the critics said, maybe it was better that way. It was nice to see Charlize looking like herself again. Some fun action sequences. Did not think the movie was "draggy." (Interesting thought - i wonder who would win if there was a fight between Uma Thurman from Kill Bill and Charlize from this movie.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregD.Dec 3, 2005
A love-it or hate-it movie, I enjoyed it for the mindless action sequences and surreal sets. If you want a tour-de-force of the human condition, though, you're going to be disappointed. I can't help but think of it as Kill Bill A love-it or hate-it movie, I enjoyed it for the mindless action sequences and surreal sets. If you want a tour-de-force of the human condition, though, you're going to be disappointed. I can't help but think of it as Kill Bill with more plot and less budget. I do think that the critics are being a bit extra-harsh due to being snubbed on the screenings. Do your pocketbook a favor, though, and keep it in a matinee-- it isn't worth $10, but $6 isn't so bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KekoaK.Dec 3, 2005
I find this movie undefiniedm skurred and blurred, plot and ideas submergin and reemerging - quite unforcused. To me, it is a pity that a good actress like she was iun her Academy-winning role, Charlyse has not been able tofind any better I find this movie undefiniedm skurred and blurred, plot and ideas submergin and reemerging - quite unforcused. To me, it is a pity that a good actress like she was iun her Academy-winning role, Charlyse has not been able tofind any better vehicles since. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewR.Dec 9, 2005
I liked this movie. Maybe not the best dialogue but fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamMay 16, 2006
The movie is like watching your friend play a video game. The good news is the video game is more fun to watch than it is to play, but it still doesn't change the fact that I was dissapointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
christophern.Dec 17, 2005
This movie, and obvious blend of The Matrix and The Island, tries to be intellegent. Tries to have good action, but fails. I was never a fan of the anime series, but Charlize Theron seems like a good enough character and is very athletic. This movie, and obvious blend of The Matrix and The Island, tries to be intellegent. Tries to have good action, but fails. I was never a fan of the anime series, but Charlize Theron seems like a good enough character and is very athletic. Good selection as a main character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
juliankleissJan 7, 2011
The film criticizes the wish to live forever. It suggests to accept our destiny to only have one human life as nature intended, and to live it to the fullest. It claims our purpose is to give our contribution to the world and then give wayThe film criticizes the wish to live forever. It suggests to accept our destiny to only have one human life as nature intended, and to live it to the fullest. It claims our purpose is to give our contribution to the world and then give way for the next generations to do it better. Unfortunately, the script is superficial and despite many opportunities the acting is emotionless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrRiggsFeb 21, 2011
I cant say its great noir terrible. It entertained me, I didnt really find it that cheesy. Some of the futurism ideas were pretty cool in the closed off world. If you like sci-fi then this is at least worth a watch. Charlize Theron isI cant say its great noir terrible. It entertained me, I didnt really find it that cheesy. Some of the futurism ideas were pretty cool in the closed off world. If you like sci-fi then this is at least worth a watch. Charlize Theron is beautiful and if you liked her previous work Im sure you will like her style in this movie as well. Not bad overall but easily forgotten if you ask me, solid popcorn flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
Charlize's beauty and acting skills were not able to hold this movie on foot, very poor script, and really bad acting something to do with direction. It was like watching an old 007 movie every time Aeon had to face some stupid-robot-likeCharlize's beauty and acting skills were not able to hold this movie on foot, very poor script, and really bad acting something to do with direction. It was like watching an old 007 movie every time Aeon had to face some stupid-robot-like enemies. A few good special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Dimitris01Nov 20, 2013
The idea of the characters being copies of other persons prevented me from caring about them and the protagonist doesn't have a worthy opponent. However, 'Aeon Flux' has a lot of action, visually interesting locations and Charlize Theron atThe idea of the characters being copies of other persons prevented me from caring about them and the protagonist doesn't have a worthy opponent. However, 'Aeon Flux' has a lot of action, visually interesting locations and Charlize Theron at the main role, so it's pleasant to watch.
argonautis.eu
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews