User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 190
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    5
    This one had big shoes to fill. The late night MTV cult following were those who kept this story alive, it is in fact a great story. But alas, leave it to Hollywood and their complete lack of imagination and creativity to bring us a movie horribly written and conceived. Today's movies may seem like stories that have all been told before because they have. The greedy execs and talentlessThis one had big shoes to fill. The late night MTV cult following were those who kept this story alive, it is in fact a great story. But alas, leave it to Hollywood and their complete lack of imagination and creativity to bring us a movie horribly written and conceived. Today's movies may seem like stories that have all been told before because they have. The greedy execs and talentless hacks go to the well of the comic book or animation flicks of yesteryear because they simply forgot how to make good movies in that town. It's all about boxing yesterday's success and forcing it down our throats. Aeon Flux is just that. The epitome of everything that is wrong with tinsel town. The only saving grace is that the story is solid or this would be a solid 0. Expand
  2. ThomasS.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. I don't know what the critics are whining about. My own memory of the original animated series was as a plotless though visually stunning series of shorts. I was thrilled that the picture itself was indeed visually stunning and that in addition they'd seen fit to add a plot! Yep it had a twist and everything! I may even go see it again.
  3. Gray
    Dec 7, 2005
    3
    Terrible dialogue, badly shot action sequences, and mediocre special effects plague this hardly-ambitious sci-fi cash-in. The only reason people will see it is for Theron, and even she is a let-down. The plot has some interesting twists, and the ideas behind it are intriguing, but these are all Chung's work, not Kusama's. 'Keep off the grass."... I'd rather keep out of Terrible dialogue, badly shot action sequences, and mediocre special effects plague this hardly-ambitious sci-fi cash-in. The only reason people will see it is for Theron, and even she is a let-down. The plot has some interesting twists, and the ideas behind it are intriguing, but these are all Chung's work, not Kusama's. 'Keep off the grass."... I'd rather keep out of the theater. Get the DVD set instead. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    4
    Aeon Flux is a young woman living in a world safe from danger. 400 years ago a disease wipes out 99% of the human race. The 1% that remain live in a secure city away from the dangers of the outside world. But as a resistance begins to form against the oppressive government long kept secrets begin to show and it is time for humanity to accept its end.
    The story is a great concept. however
    Aeon Flux is a young woman living in a world safe from danger. 400 years ago a disease wipes out 99% of the human race. The 1% that remain live in a secure city away from the dangers of the outside world. But as a resistance begins to form against the oppressive government long kept secrets begin to show and it is time for humanity to accept its end.
    The story is a great concept. however the poor execution in terms of poor directing, bad filming, a terrible cast and some really really awful CGI makes Aeon Flux a film that can be easily looked over.
    Expand
  5. MacT.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Rating this flick 10 just to offset the nonsense scores of zero. As scifi flicks go, I found this one to be very entertaining. Great concept, good execution, and a fine-looking film overall. A right-straight voodoo curse on all those who either cannot appreciate a good action pic or are so hung up on a specific comic concept that they can't enjoy an inexact adaptation.
  6. KarenC.
    Jan 27, 2007
    1
    This is the worst of simple eye candy. Very bad.
  7. Jason
    Aug 26, 2006
    3
    Poorly scripted, poorly plotted, poorly acted and poorly made. In short a real disappointment.
  8. MatthewK.
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    I must say, I loved this movie. Yah you could say it was so fictional and all that stuff but come on it was based on a japanese show or animation. Bottom line it had good twist in the movie crazy action fighting scenes and I think what they did was great. I also think it had an ok storyline like lets face it there are some movies with bad bad storylines but this one was good, the whole I must say, I loved this movie. Yah you could say it was so fictional and all that stuff but come on it was based on a japanese show or animation. Bottom line it had good twist in the movie crazy action fighting scenes and I think what they did was great. I also think it had an ok storyline like lets face it there are some movies with bad bad storylines but this one was good, the whole idea about this virus and how it wiped out the whole human raise other then few millions and then the whole thing with the cloneing was cool and sweet. But thats just me I love fiction future movies. Expand
  9. TravisC.
    Jan 7, 2006
    2
    Wow, this movie was terrible, I still don't know what it was about, horrendous.
  10. TerrenceS.
    Apr 26, 2006
    7
    This movie wasn't half as bad as these so called expert critics said it would be. I must agree that the unimaginative and mainstream movie goers may not be able to grasp the concept of the story. A fan of Anime or young Science Fiction will definitely find this movie worth a look.
  11. JoeH.
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    The critics obviously did not watch or care for the MTV series. I thought the mood and feel of the film were very true to the animated form back in the 90's. I remember stumbling on to the first Aeon Flux short late one night. I did not know what to make of it, but I could not get it out of my mind. That look... the strange, brooding feel of the characters. The dreamlink and never The critics obviously did not watch or care for the MTV series. I thought the mood and feel of the film were very true to the animated form back in the 90's. I remember stumbling on to the first Aeon Flux short late one night. I did not know what to make of it, but I could not get it out of my mind. That look... the strange, brooding feel of the characters. The dreamlink and never completely understood mission without definition of success. Aeon Flux the movie captures all this and more. If you were captivated by the series, you will no doubt love the movie, and continue thinking and talking about it for a long time thereafter. Expand
  12. KellyS.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    Great film - fun and sexy.
  13. EricJ.
    Dec 3, 2005
    8
    A fun movie with a clever story bogs down a little and the end.
  14. RogerD.
    Dec 4, 2005
    6
    Mostly a disappointment. I've been waiting for this movie since I heard it was being filmed. I loved the animated shorts on MTV's Liquid Television. I had no real idea what to expect coming into the movie as the animated shorts were so minimal with no dialogue. All I was hoping for with the movie was that it be entertaining. Unfortunately it was kind of boring. Not a horrible Mostly a disappointment. I've been waiting for this movie since I heard it was being filmed. I loved the animated shorts on MTV's Liquid Television. I had no real idea what to expect coming into the movie as the animated shorts were so minimal with no dialogue. All I was hoping for with the movie was that it be entertaining. Unfortunately it was kind of boring. Not a horrible movie but pretty slow and not that engaging. I could have used some more acrobatic moves and Aeon flying through the air. Expand
  15. Graham
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Just awful, pointless, there was no need to make this film.
  16. MINTONmedia
    Dec 9, 2005
    2
    This is as unhealthy an entertainment choice as anything at the theater's snack bar. As eye candy, it's marshmallow peanuts compared to the anime shorts' Godiva chocolate. As brain food, it's a brief sugar rush followed by a long, restless sleep where any dream you might have beats what's onscreen. Not good for you even if you HAVE finished your veggies.
  17. AviK.
    Dec 9, 2005
    8
    Not nearly as bad as the critics said.
  18. MichaelH.
    Jan 12, 2006
    7
    Good movie! I don't understand why there is such negative press on this. Theron does a good job in transforming herself into a fit, svelte, sexy Aeon flux. I agree it could have used more of the dark elements of the original (masterful and provoking), and the sets did seem a bit bland, but the story and action were well done... It kept me interested and entertained. It just needed Good movie! I don't understand why there is such negative press on this. Theron does a good job in transforming herself into a fit, svelte, sexy Aeon flux. I agree it could have used more of the dark elements of the original (masterful and provoking), and the sets did seem a bit bland, but the story and action were well done... It kept me interested and entertained. It just needed more of the mystery, suspense and violence (cmon..this series combined both parts disturbing, and sereal, as well as a palpatble sence of emotion and passion ) especially the deviousness of the main charcters...that was missing.. Maybe the sequel will be give this too timid film the darker makeover it deserved. Expand
  19. ChadS.
    Jan 16, 2006
    2
    In a library, a book gets shot. Fearing she had a bomb on her hand, perhaps this was an act of subversion, a mea culpa. In "Mystery Men", a possibly embarrased Janeane Garofalo, in what sounds like an ad-lib, says, "I would like to dedicate my victory to supporters of local music and those who seek out independent film." Seek "Girlfright; run from "Aeon Flux". At some point during the In a library, a book gets shot. Fearing she had a bomb on her hand, perhaps this was an act of subversion, a mea culpa. In "Mystery Men", a possibly embarrased Janeane Garofalo, in what sounds like an ad-lib, says, "I would like to dedicate my victory to supporters of local music and those who seek out independent film." Seek "Girlfright; run from "Aeon Flux". At some point during the production, Frances McDormand should've asked her boss if she was trying to make her look like Tori Amos' mom. When Ms. Flux and/or Sithandra(Sophie Okonedo) visit "The Handler", a POV shot might've helped the ridiculous way they access her seem less so. There also seems to be a caste system at work here. The black girl gets the silly appendages, the white girl gets the snappy line about, said silly appendages. "Aeon Flux" is a natural for "Mystery Science 3000". Expand
  20. KlevainW.
    Mar 12, 2006
    8
    I don't understand all the critics that say "the narrative lapses in and out of incoherence"-The Globe & Mail and many others. I thought it was perfectly clear. Had the story been told even slightly more transparently, those same critics would be complaining about it's spoon feeding a simple archetypal story. Aside from lacking the trippy opaque-ness of the no-dialog original I don't understand all the critics that say "the narrative lapses in and out of incoherence"-The Globe & Mail and many others. I thought it was perfectly clear. Had the story been told even slightly more transparently, those same critics would be complaining about it's spoon feeding a simple archetypal story. Aside from lacking the trippy opaque-ness of the no-dialog original animations, what doomed this movie is that Aeon is essentially a terrorist whose actions just may doom what is left of humanity. I liked this movie because it made me wonder if her cause was worth the risk of human extinction. I'm surprised no critic has advanced the sympathetic terrorist aspect. Maybe I'm reading to much into it, but this movie isn't the shallow fluff it's been written off as. Nick B. is right, this is reminisent of classic trippy sci-fi. Expand
  21. NathanS.
    May 14, 2006
    7
    When I saw the preview I thought "This movie looks cool." And it did look cool, however, the reviews weren't exactly phenominal so I thought my $7.75 was better spent elsewhere. It finally came out on DVD so I rented it. Maybe when a movie's a rental you expect less from it (because you haven't invested almost $15 from ticket + popcorn/drink, not to mention so did your When I saw the preview I thought "This movie looks cool." And it did look cool, however, the reviews weren't exactly phenominal so I thought my $7.75 was better spent elsewhere. It finally came out on DVD so I rented it. Maybe when a movie's a rental you expect less from it (because you haven't invested almost $15 from ticket + popcorn/drink, not to mention so did your friends, so that adds up to a lot), but I enjoyed watching it. I thought that the actual message and storyline was a lot better than how it was actually executed. It's a deep movie - about life, death, and how in our current state after Adam's we live but only a short time and die. No matter how hard we try we really can't beat it, not at all. We need to accept it. At least that's what I got from this movie. Had some fun action, and good storyline and message. Worth seeing first-run, probably not. Worth renting? Absolutely. Expand
  22. CherylB.
    Jun 11, 2006
    8
    This is why I can't take critics seriously. This is a fine movie that should have done well at the box office. Instead of giving this film a chance, they turned to audience away. This was a good, solid movie for this genre of film. The story was clear and not too heady as some critics have complained. Instead of comparing it to the animation series (which has no constraints), judge This is why I can't take critics seriously. This is a fine movie that should have done well at the box office. Instead of giving this film a chance, they turned to audience away. This was a good, solid movie for this genre of film. The story was clear and not too heady as some critics have complained. Instead of comparing it to the animation series (which has no constraints), judge it as is. A good story, great costumes, amazing sets and a world that we may be experiencing soon than we think. I highly recommend AEON FLUX! Expand
  23. PatC.
    Jun 30, 2006
    4
    Disjointed. Adequate of action but deficient of relevance.
  24. Czar
    Jun 8, 2006
    8
    I expected a pretty poor movie. Instead I was entertained and enjoyed watching it. I was never a follower of the animated series so that probably helps. The concept was well done. If you like sci fi then a pretty good nights viewing.
  25. KrisM.
    Aug 8, 2006
    1
    Aeon Flux is, in my opinion, the worst movie of last year. The story is slow and hard to understand, the acting was crap, and the special effects were terrible. I've never seen the original cartoon and can already tell it's been slaughtered by this crap.
  26. AaronR
    Dec 10, 2005
    7
    It really wasn't all that bad. It was more just fun than anything. Hip for hipness' sake.
  27. jamess.
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    Thought the main girl was annoying from the start and though most of it was quite obvious; thought the costumes and graphics were great! [the machine guns used by the enemy; aren't (Nazi Designs)?
  28. KalinN.
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    After hearing lots (and lots... and lots...) of negative comments, I finally overcame my revulsion toward the grotesque that has recently been parading under the "SF" label and made myself watch AE. (Ms Theron's participation helped, too. After Devil's Advocate, Sweet November and The Monster, how would it not?) I was, at first, pleasantly surprised. Passable choreography, After hearing lots (and lots... and lots...) of negative comments, I finally overcame my revulsion toward the grotesque that has recently been parading under the "SF" label and made myself watch AE. (Ms Theron's participation helped, too. After Devil's Advocate, Sweet November and The Monster, how would it not?) I was, at first, pleasantly surprised. Passable choreography, delicate human touches (in addition to the futuristic gadgets, none too original, but often presented in a memorable manner...think Aeon with two contrasting eyes), Ms Theron and Mr Czokas moving me in a way that has little to do with 13, excuse me American friends :), 15-year-olds, some ecological/genetic/ethical food for thought even, gee, the stuff's getting into cinematic SF too, at last... But it really hit me as I was pondering over the story - and everyone's disparaging reviews - tonight: a phrase I'd almost missed, half-deafened by the crash of machine guns; something that I had never, ever expected to hear in a Hollywood movie, perhaps because I've heard it only in such unorthodox tales like Peter Beagle's _Last Unicorn_ (the book, not the animated adaptation), or just any SF movie, with the usual technological bias of SF - something that makes, to me at least, Aeon Flux the mightiest revolution in film SF thought since The Matrix. (A very silent revolution, prone to remain unnoticed, obviously.) I'm not going to give it away. Heck, you've been irking me with your insensitive readings for a week already; you deserve some teasing in turn. :) Try to listen for it yourselves, probe its boldness and humanity on your own. It's not that _subtle_; as some critic said, it has to get across to the popcorn-munchers, too. (Hee-hee...funny it hasn't got across to _you_, is it not?) The 9, rather than a 10, is because of a personal grudge against the omnipresent use of violence for resolving conflict, and the annoying "We're not anarchists" explanation near the end - that one is a subtle offense, too, if you are inclined to look at the characters in a particular PC way. These are minor flaws compared to the film's strengths, so my rating is 9.5, really. I am not the most astute and observant of film critics - I mostly watch movies for their emotional and thought-provoking impact. Which makes me wonder: Why do all the folks who saw nothing in the Flux watch movies? And is that a problem of the film, or of personal perceptions? Collapse
  29. MitchellF.
    Dec 20, 2005
    6
    What?...that was on question on my mind throught the whole movie. I had no idea what what was happening. Where did she get all these powers? How is she so good at fighting? What the hell what with the guy in the blimp? I for one have never seen the cartoon show, or read the comic's, so I didn't know what was happening. But the fighting, wow, if you had to go for one reason, this What?...that was on question on my mind throught the whole movie. I had no idea what what was happening. Where did she get all these powers? How is she so good at fighting? What the hell what with the guy in the blimp? I for one have never seen the cartoon show, or read the comic's, so I didn't know what was happening. But the fighting, wow, if you had to go for one reason, this is it. The fighting was fantastic. And the F/X were good too. Its a pass, but barily. Expand
  30. TomB.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    I was drunk while watching this movie, and therefore slept through parts of it. The parts I did see, I enjoyed.
  31. JohnJ.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    This was a very fun movie to watch. It all came together in the end which made it really exciting.
  32. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2005
    7
    Not a bad movie. Story a bit lame when it came at 3/4 way in the show. Great effect and futuristic background.
  33. PhilT.
    Dec 4, 2005
    4
    Aeon Flux Sux.
  34. MattC.
    Dec 4, 2005
    0
    So unoriginal, so derivative, Aeon Flux drains your faith in the human race. How many times have we seen a glossy, sexy suit on a heroine lost within an utterly incoherent plot? The movie is ludicrous; the Resident Evil films come to mind, as does Underworld. That Theron chose this between such actual work as Monster and North is a disgrace; she and Oscar-caliber Halle Berry can choose So unoriginal, so derivative, Aeon Flux drains your faith in the human race. How many times have we seen a glossy, sexy suit on a heroine lost within an utterly incoherent plot? The movie is ludicrous; the Resident Evil films come to mind, as does Underworld. That Theron chose this between such actual work as Monster and North is a disgrace; she and Oscar-caliber Halle Berry can choose whichever projects (and paychecks) they want, and they go with Catwoman and Aeon Flux. What discerning taste, ladies. People: please see this dreck for what it is, a shameless attempt by a corporation to repurpose a piece of dead content it owned, and a shameful, thoughtless check-cashing by Theron. Another entry in a year of winners from Hollywood. Expand
  35. DanielL.
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    An intelligent science-fiction film, wich may be part of its problem with critics.
  36. BryanR.
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    I think it was very subtle in certain parts and so for many people they won't get it. What some people call watered down, I call minimalist. I really liked it.
  37. andrew
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    Entertaining good looking faithfull to the original cartoon( to some extent). its not going to win any oscars but at least the studios tried to be original to some degree. art house sci fi films are a strange breed and this one is ok. if your into your sci-fi and know how to open your mind to these type of films then it wont be a complete dissapointment. at least its better than doom and Entertaining good looking faithfull to the original cartoon( to some extent). its not going to win any oscars but at least the studios tried to be original to some degree. art house sci fi films are a strange breed and this one is ok. if your into your sci-fi and know how to open your mind to these type of films then it wont be a complete dissapointment. at least its better than doom and fantastic 4. Expand
  38. thunderlippps
    Dec 7, 2005
    0
    The worst movie I've seen since the matrix. The editing in the action scenes have hamstrung what would have at least been a shoe-in as a cult favorite. I won't even get this on used DVD due to that abominable flaw. Uwe Bol or paul anderson couldn't have done much worse.
  39. LomaxH.
    Dec 8, 2005
    0
    You know an action movie is destined to be awful when the main antagonist is shown for a split second and a women doing the splits over blades of grass is the biggest attraction. I've go an idea! They made Alien vesus Predator, why not Catwoman versus Aeon Flux? Berry and Theron can each recieve $20 million to wear skin tight leather outfits in the most incoherent stinker of all You know an action movie is destined to be awful when the main antagonist is shown for a split second and a women doing the splits over blades of grass is the biggest attraction. I've go an idea! They made Alien vesus Predator, why not Catwoman versus Aeon Flux? Berry and Theron can each recieve $20 million to wear skin tight leather outfits in the most incoherent stinker of all time! Go Hollywood! Keep pumping out these winners!! Expand
  40. IlzeS.
    Jan 14, 2006
    6
    Movie was enjoyable. Only too much action. Charlize Teron, I think is nice actress to look at.
  41. MohammedR.
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    This is a very good movie and remained very true to the original cartoon. It had the same feel. Many people would complain about the lack of character development and so on. But, just like the cartoon, the focus is on the action. On that, the movie did dilver well.
  42. Frostbolt
    Feb 4, 2006
    0
    Perhaps it was that I was never introduced to Aeon Flux previously that I disliked this movie so, because this flick is particularly bad. From the mediocre acting to the pointless fight sequences, it just is NOT entertaining on any level, which really is a shame because I greatly enjoy science fiction related stories. Ohh well. My opinion is given. I do not reccomend, unless you yourself Perhaps it was that I was never introduced to Aeon Flux previously that I disliked this movie so, because this flick is particularly bad. From the mediocre acting to the pointless fight sequences, it just is NOT entertaining on any level, which really is a shame because I greatly enjoy science fiction related stories. Ohh well. My opinion is given. I do not reccomend, unless you yourself are an Aeon Flux fan. Aeon Flux sucks, Aeon Flux = Aeon Sux. I literally could think of these all day and still be far more entertained....yes I find this movie that bad. Expand
  43. groundfisher
    Mar 27, 2006
    4
    I went into this movie not having read any reviews. The ideas underpinning the plot are somewhat interesting. However, they are wasted by the film's poor pacing and lack of introspection. There are perhaps two good action sequences in this film, and more than two awful ones. Theron is mis-cast here. This is not a role for her. She's not an Angelina Jolie in Tomb Raider or a Kate I went into this movie not having read any reviews. The ideas underpinning the plot are somewhat interesting. However, they are wasted by the film's poor pacing and lack of introspection. There are perhaps two good action sequences in this film, and more than two awful ones. Theron is mis-cast here. This is not a role for her. She's not an Angelina Jolie in Tomb Raider or a Kate Beckinsale in Underworld who are both compelling to watch, even as one-dimensional characters, and who both come to epitomise the heavily stylised worlds in which the action takes place. Theron looks out of place, and suffers from a mediocre script. This movie certainly had potential, but it just didn't work out. The narrative didn't flow, certain aspects of the plot are revealed too late or too soon or all at once. A half-decent story is spoiled not be a lack of coherence, but a lack of consistency. That's my opinion, anyway. Expand
  44. R.Campbell
    Mar 4, 2006
    5
    Don't waste money on seeing at the cinema, wait until it's out on DVD and rent it if you really feel the need to see it.
  45. WillieG.
    May 22, 2006
    5
    Points awarded were for some slick visual effects and because CTlooks really good. In the end though, CT was probably miscast and the fight choreography was definitely horrid. Ultimately this was good eye candy, but a rather pointless and forgettable film.
  46. RaineS.
    May 5, 2006
    8
    I don't understand how this film got such bad reviews. There are sooooo many other really bad films that got a much higher score. I thought it was a clever film, the locations were solid and interesting, the fashion made sense and wasn't stupid like a lot of sci fi can be, the story was original. More action is what the critics wanted, there are too many just action no story I don't understand how this film got such bad reviews. There are sooooo many other really bad films that got a much higher score. I thought it was a clever film, the locations were solid and interesting, the fashion made sense and wasn't stupid like a lot of sci fi can be, the story was original. More action is what the critics wanted, there are too many just action no story films already. Much better than the Island or Paycheck. Expand
  47. Katie
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    A terrific movie with non-stop action and an in-depth and imaginative story. Theron makes a great action hero and she makes it immediately clear that no one could have done the job better. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie even though it's tough to find a good review. I can rest assured, though, because those who review movies professionally are notoriously misguided and often miss the A terrific movie with non-stop action and an in-depth and imaginative story. Theron makes a great action hero and she makes it immediately clear that no one could have done the job better. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie even though it's tough to find a good review. I can rest assured, though, because those who review movies professionally are notoriously misguided and often miss the whole point. I certainly hope no one takes you too seriously; I certainly don't. Expand
  48. MattT.
    Dec 17, 2005
    9
    Good movie, followed the original Aeon Flux stories well including the clunky comic dialogue. Visually excellent and the story moved along pretty well. Too bad the hack movie critics at the papers panned it; this head & shoulders above Peter Jackson's King Kong.
  49. M.Jones
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    I would give this movie a 8.5 or 9, but am giving it a 10 to offset all the idiots who are influenced by what the critics are saying. They must not have been watching the same movie because I thought it was pretty good. Action, style, interesting look at futuristic comments, morality, and a twist. Anyone who gives this anything below a 6 (lou lumenick of the new york post) is obviously I would give this movie a 8.5 or 9, but am giving it a 10 to offset all the idiots who are influenced by what the critics are saying. They must not have been watching the same movie because I thought it was pretty good. Action, style, interesting look at futuristic comments, morality, and a twist. Anyone who gives this anything below a 6 (lou lumenick of the new york post) is obviously lacking severe brain function. Expand
  50. Alex
    Dec 19, 2005
    6
    It was pretty much "meh" the whole way through. not a great movie, but its something to maybe rent once in a while for a rainy satruday afternoon. Charlise Theron is pretty sexy in tight leather.
  51. Mike
    Dec 20, 2005
    0
    This is to offset M. Jones, who wants to offset the scores of everyone else. Nice try, tool. Yes, you've got a right to your opinion. And the other voters (and the critics) have a right to theirs. If their opinion doesn't coincide with yours, then you don't try to cancel theirs out. You sit there, and you understand that everyone isn't always going to agree with you. This is to offset M. Jones, who wants to offset the scores of everyone else. Nice try, tool. Yes, you've got a right to your opinion. And the other voters (and the critics) have a right to theirs. If their opinion doesn't coincide with yours, then you don't try to cancel theirs out. You sit there, and you understand that everyone isn't always going to agree with you. It's called tolerance. Expand
  52. NickB.
    Dec 2, 2005
    5
    Charlize Theron does her best, but with a script that is delivered like a blind reading, no one can really act much. I was engaged during about half of the action scenes. The style and finesse of the cartoon isn't present. In its place is a unbalanced mix of design, American Blockbuster, and the hope of an interesting story.
  53. AlexA.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie. It was mesmerizing from the very start. I thought that the plot was very cohesive and moved the audience along in a very intelligent and dynamic way. The cinematography was wonderful, as well as the scene layouts and the vantage points that the camera provided were amazing.
  54. TonyB.
    Dec 2, 2005
    6
    Enjoyable. Not famililar with original story, so can't compare, but from what some of the critics said, maybe it was better that way. It was nice to see Charlize looking like herself again. Some fun action sequences. Did not think the movie was "draggy." (Interesting thought - i wonder who would win if there was a fight between Uma Thurman from Kill Bill and Charlize from this movie.)
  55. BeckyS.
    Dec 2, 2005
    0
    I never thought a movie could be so terrible!
  56. KenG
    Dec 22, 2005
    7
    The action is well done, and movie has an effective moody atmophere. It is also dealing with more ideas that most Hollywood action movies. Some have called it incoherent, but I didn't find it diffecult to follow. Film really never raises above the level of an action-comic book, but it works on that level.
  57. BrianB.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Listen the critics are all wrong. For fans of sci fi action it gives you everything you want. Charlize is great, I liked the plot. I will be going again.
  58. DotD.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie! i thought it was a gorgeous, feminine, organic representation of a future society...and it's worth seeing for that alone! i remember each scene of the movie as having something that made my eyebrows go up (while thinking, "that's cool.")
  59. DavidM.
    Dec 3, 2005
    7
    It's nothing that will go down in history, but the actors all did a good job, the story was thoughtful, the sets and art direction were excellent, and I was entirely satisfied with the movie. As long as you don't walk into the room expecting something legendary, you should walk out happy.
  60. GregD.
    Dec 3, 2005
    6
    A love-it or hate-it movie, I enjoyed it for the mindless action sequences and surreal sets. If you want a tour-de-force of the human condition, though, you're going to be disappointed. I can't help but think of it as Kill Bill with more plot and less budget. I do think that the critics are being a bit extra-harsh due to being snubbed on the screenings. Do your pocketbook a A love-it or hate-it movie, I enjoyed it for the mindless action sequences and surreal sets. If you want a tour-de-force of the human condition, though, you're going to be disappointed. I can't help but think of it as Kill Bill with more plot and less budget. I do think that the critics are being a bit extra-harsh due to being snubbed on the screenings. Do your pocketbook a favor, though, and keep it in a matinee-- it isn't worth $10, but $6 isn't so bad. Expand
  61. GregoryF.
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    The movie was very entertaining and I thought they did a good job with the material and stayed truthful to the story of the cartoons. I really liked it and recommend you see it in the theatres. Not the best movie of the year but a very good and entertaining movie.
  62. KekoaK.
    Dec 3, 2005
    4
    I find this movie undefiniedm skurred and blurred, plot and ideas submergin and reemerging - quite unforcused. To me, it is a pity that a good actress like she was iun her Academy-winning role, Charlyse has not been able tofind any better vehicles since.
  63. Dennis
    Dec 4, 2005
    7
    It's not THAT bad a movie... It's supposed to be an action sci-fi movie, and it was fun... The first half is a little confusing, but it answers those questions in the second half. Definitely a lot of professional critics out there that are bashing this movie solely to protect their image.
  64. L.Woodward
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    Charlize Theron is a heck of a lot better than Halle was in Catwoman ...good show...entertaining...fun...good sci fi. Deserves better critic rating...but what do they know????
  65. Tab
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    A great looking sci fi movie that brings new life to the genre using a whole different approach to the traditional future (a new Stanley Kubrick-look) using an innovative approach to sci fi technology. This whole movie is than wrapped up in a more sophisticated, convoluted plot with heart and emotion that still manages to keep its action and thrills at the same time. While the ending is a A great looking sci fi movie that brings new life to the genre using a whole different approach to the traditional future (a new Stanley Kubrick-look) using an innovative approach to sci fi technology. This whole movie is than wrapped up in a more sophisticated, convoluted plot with heart and emotion that still manages to keep its action and thrills at the same time. While the ending is a little too conventional and some loose ends were never tied up, this movie sets a new bar for science fiction much like Alien did for monster sci fi movies. Expand
  66. RaulJ.
    Dec 5, 2005
    7
    I liked it. The critics really are lost on this one (most of them). Don't believe THEIR hype!
  67. MarcD
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    The best movie I've seen since The Matrix!
  68. Swordsman
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Pathetic attempt to bring a great and intriguing animated series to live-ation. The film mars the original brutally, losing it's heavy bdsm sexual themes and the deviousness of its core characters, while barely justifying it's action sequences with an extremely predictable plot. This is one intstance where the critics are dead-on correct with their reviews (the negative Pathetic attempt to bring a great and intriguing animated series to live-ation. The film mars the original brutally, losing it's heavy bdsm sexual themes and the deviousness of its core characters, while barely justifying it's action sequences with an extremely predictable plot. This is one intstance where the critics are dead-on correct with their reviews (the negative reviews...) If you have seen the original series or part of it, do yourself a favor and save the money and time you would waste on seeing this anomaly. Expand
  69. AndrewR.
    Dec 9, 2005
    6
    I liked this movie. Maybe not the best dialogue but fun.
  70. Anonymous
    Jan 18, 2006
    0
    Lame excuse to make another Tomb Raider film... Bad Girl with guns.... Lets not forget that Aeon Flux stars an ugly girl not a bombshell georgeous woman... and that she dies in the most rediculous ways in every episode. Lame excuse to make money out of a name. As FF Spirits Within is not Final Fantasy... This movie is not Aeon Flux!
  71. RobertM.
    Jan 23, 2006
    0
    There can be no justification for scores above 3 for this movie. I've seen some garbage flicks in my life, but this one is near the top. See what happens when you get an "A" star filming two movies at once - better believe one of the projects is gonna suffer.
  72. Sam
    May 16, 2006
    6
    The movie is like watching your friend play a video game. The good news is the video game is more fun to watch than it is to play, but it still doesn't change the fact that I was dissapointed.
  73. BernardP.
    May 11, 2008
    2
    Well id give it at least a 3 if it wasn't for the horrible aftertaste. I'm sorry but I am not sorry because this mediocre movie shows no respect to the trueness of what aeon flux was and still vaguely is. its disrespectful to the cartoon. 1/4
  74. Kevin
    Sep 18, 2008
    1
    Awful overall. The characters are wooden, the acting uninspired, and the plot decent at best. On the plus side, the special effects are good, and Charlize Theron is extremely hot in skin tight clothing.
  75. NickK.
    Dec 12, 2005
    7
    This film covers the same themes as The Island and I think its a much more enjoyable film (although thats not saying much :) The film has some good twists to the plot and is entertaining as a sci-fi action movie. Its not great, but certainly not as bad as some of the reviews.
  76. christophern.
    Dec 17, 2005
    4
    This movie, and obvious blend of The Matrix and The Island, tries to be intellegent. Tries to have good action, but fails. I was never a fan of the anime series, but Charlize Theron seems like a good enough character and is very athletic. Good selection as a main character.
  77. Steve
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    Boring, poorly directed and poorly made movie. This is garanteed to put all but the most forgiving, or those that have some kind of dvd player that sits on you and forces you to watch this rubbish, to sleep. Aimed clearly at anime geeks that are looking for a fix of overly pretencious but utterly shallow and empty movie with no real innovation, talent or thought behind its story. Looks Boring, poorly directed and poorly made movie. This is garanteed to put all but the most forgiving, or those that have some kind of dvd player that sits on you and forces you to watch this rubbish, to sleep. Aimed clearly at anime geeks that are looking for a fix of overly pretencious but utterly shallow and empty movie with no real innovation, talent or thought behind its story. Looks like its designed by some generic cloned art grad student. Expand
  78. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    I watched this film on DVD the other night and quite enjoyed it. It's certainly no masterpiece, but it's definitely fun to watch. Just don't expect too much when you're going to watch it. ;-) Production design, costumes, sets etc. are very nice.
  79. Jan 7, 2011
    4
    The film criticizes the wish to live forever. It suggests to accept our destiny to only have one human life as nature intended, and to live it to the fullest. It claims our purpose is to give our contribution to the world and then give way for the next generations to do it better. Unfortunately, the script is superficial and despite many opportunities the acting is emotionless.
  80. Feb 21, 2011
    6
    I cant say its great noir terrible. It entertained me, I didnt really find it that cheesy. Some of the futurism ideas were pretty cool in the closed off world. If you like sci-fi then this is at least worth a watch. Charlize Theron is beautiful and if you liked her previous work Im sure you will like her style in this movie as well. Not bad overall but easily forgotten if you ask me, solidI cant say its great noir terrible. It entertained me, I didnt really find it that cheesy. Some of the futurism ideas were pretty cool in the closed off world. If you like sci-fi then this is at least worth a watch. Charlize Theron is beautiful and if you liked her previous work Im sure you will like her style in this movie as well. Not bad overall but easily forgotten if you ask me, solid popcorn flick. Expand
  81. Apr 2, 2013
    2
    I know this is NOT an MTV Films-produced movie, but I was really not into Aeon Flux. My beloved MTV animated series that was short-lived and still one of the greatest cult classic shows of all time turned into a horrendous "Aeon"-like wannabe played by Charlize Theron. This film just really alienated the fans of the pop culture classic for good and with an action movie like this, I sortaI know this is NOT an MTV Films-produced movie, but I was really not into Aeon Flux. My beloved MTV animated series that was short-lived and still one of the greatest cult classic shows of all time turned into a horrendous "Aeon"-like wannabe played by Charlize Theron. This film just really alienated the fans of the pop culture classic for good and with an action movie like this, I sorta fell asleep for like 10 minutes. Somewhere down the road in the future, I hope MTV could possibly thinking of a new idea to reboot the series. That would be so awesome! As for the Flux movie, save your money or rent it. I don't care, but this is one of the most ridiculous movies I've ever seen. Expand
  82. Jan 2, 2012
    0
    Aeon Flux is silly, boring, disappointing visually and lacks enough action along with an awful performance from Charlize Theron who at the time just won an Oscar. I give this film 4%.
  83. Jun 26, 2012
    1
    I'm not sure if its appropriate to be writing a review for a movie I only watched for 10 minutes, but seeing as how its quality was the defining factor in only managing to last that long, I feel justified. The acting was awkward, dialogue also so. But primarily, nothing made sense. And I dont mean plot, I mean everything, from 400 years in the future and guards still carry guns and areI'm not sure if its appropriate to be writing a review for a movie I only watched for 10 minutes, but seeing as how its quality was the defining factor in only managing to last that long, I feel justified. The acting was awkward, dialogue also so. But primarily, nothing made sense. And I dont mean plot, I mean everything, from 400 years in the future and guards still carry guns and are horrible at guarding anything. That undercover rebels dress to stand out, and draw more attention than less to themselves by making out, then walking away. The premise of 99% of the world having been killed and all those left saved by Goodchild, and yet is more Big Brother than God. And the fact that daily poisons could hope to keep nature at bay. If you are going to take yourself so seriously, make sure you make sense.
    The 1 point was for at least trying to have different fashion when compared to the modern day, something which is blatantly ignored far to much.
    Expand
  84. Dec 10, 2012
    4
    Charlize's beauty and acting skills were not able to hold this movie on foot, very poor script, and really bad acting something to do with direction. It was like watching an old 007 movie every time Aeon had to face some stupid-robot-like enemies. A few good special effects.
  85. Jan 28, 2015
    0
    Péssimo filme com uma péssima história. Tédio nível Hard...
    Sem mentira é difícil quase impossível assstir até o final.
    Nem Charlize Theron salva essa fraca história,na verdade desperdiça o talento dela.
  86. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    The idea of the characters being copies of other persons prevented me from caring about them and the protagonist doesn't have a worthy opponent. However, 'Aeon Flux' has a lot of action, visually interesting locations and Charlize Theron at the main role, so it's pleasant to watch.
    argonautis.eu
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    60
    Aeon Flux is not that terrible. It's certainly more fun than a lot of films that get lovingly showcased.
  2. 63
    The ideas underlying Aeon Flux's plot are the film's strength, and the filmmakers deserve some credit for doing more than paying lip service to them.
  3. With the exception of a few enjoyable action scenes, such as when Aeon and fellow operative Sithandra (Sophie Okonedo) flip and backflip their way across a lethal garden of bullet-spewing trees and spikes disguised as blades of grass, Aeon Flux is surprisingly draggy.