Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 8, 2006
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 474 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
361
Mixed:
43
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
EthanP.Dec 16, 2006
The logic in this crapfest was so half-baked that it's a wonder there were no random cuts to 1970s porn. [***Spoilers***]: Anyone who has played hide and seek should wonder why it's possible to hide in one's best friend's The logic in this crapfest was so half-baked that it's a wonder there were no random cuts to 1970s porn. [***Spoilers***]: Anyone who has played hide and seek should wonder why it's possible to hide in one's best friend's back yard for half an hour without being found, but it's impossible for a forest-wise Mayan to find reasonable cover *anywhere in the entire Mayan land,* without, of course, letting a single splash of blood fall just as your nemesis runs under your tree-top hiding place so that it may later be discovered and immediately ascertained by one of your cohorts that the blood must be from you and that you must be hiding in the trees. Because even though those cohorts have just been party to bloody sacrifice, any one of them will easily spot a drop of blood and know for sure that it's from you and your tree-hiding. Run in a straight line for 48 hours(!), and only when we do this scene with the arrows pointing directly at you should you run back and forth in an evasive way. But the arrows will still eventually hit you and all your friends. Because these are skilled Mayan bad guys, until certain scenes in which they've decided not to throw any sharp objects in your direction, which coincidentally occur when you've stopped your running to look back and ponder/taunt your rivals and would be putting yourself in imminent danger had the evil Mayans not decided that it would be a good moment to cease fire and just look at you. And, by the way, they all run at the same pace as you, which happens to be the exact pace at which a jaguar runs. And during a downpour so bad that it fills a good-sized pit faster than a swimming pool, European dingies remain fully afloat. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RobertH.Dec 11, 2006
Mel's report card: For using indigenous language and "unknown" actors: A. For giving us yet another chop-chop action flick like "King Kong" or any of its pals: a bit fat So What? For cynically and pretentiously disguising the whole Mel's report card: For using indigenous language and "unknown" actors: A. For giving us yet another chop-chop action flick like "King Kong" or any of its pals: a bit fat So What? For cynically and pretentiously disguising the whole thing as some sort of historical meditation: F. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
NazguleroJul 15, 2011
I know now why the Mayans went extinct. They were nothing but a bunch of wild, bloodthirsty animals. Praise the Lord, or the Spanish, for bringing some civilization to that part of the world. The Arab world with their death cult and suicideI know now why the Mayans went extinct. They were nothing but a bunch of wild, bloodthirsty animals. Praise the Lord, or the Spanish, for bringing some civilization to that part of the world. The Arab world with their death cult and suicide bombings and their medieval superstitions is next, the last realm of barbarism. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
1
MattMay 23, 2007
I think it is really really important to note that, while Mr. Gibson might have set out to portray the Mayans, he actually portrayed the Aztecs. It frightens me that no one has picked up on this yet. The Mayans fell 500 years before theI think it is really really important to note that, while Mr. Gibson might have set out to portray the Mayans, he actually portrayed the Aztecs. It frightens me that no one has picked up on this yet. The Mayans fell 500 years before the Spanish came to Mexico. The Mayans did not cut open people's hearts, the Aztecs did. The Mayans did not have a big city. The Aztecs did. The Mayans did not participate in the Flower Wars (taking prisoners for the purpose of sacrificing them, as depicted in the movie) the Aztecs did. I could go on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KristenH.Dec 14, 2006
This film was terrible!!!!! The most historically inaccurate movie I have ever seen! The only good thing about the movie were the costumes. The Mayans were not the barbarians that Mel Gibson made them out to be. Get the facts straight, you This film was terrible!!!!! The most historically inaccurate movie I have ever seen! The only good thing about the movie were the costumes. The Mayans were not the barbarians that Mel Gibson made them out to be. Get the facts straight, you anti-mayanist! I want my money back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JulienJan 12, 2007
It's so violent that we finish by thinking that Mel Gibson is a sick person. His last movie is not even interesting because of its bad direction, and its stupid story. Hopefully we can save some good moments of action in the jungle for It's so violent that we finish by thinking that Mel Gibson is a sick person. His last movie is not even interesting because of its bad direction, and its stupid story. Hopefully we can save some good moments of action in the jungle for example, but it's not enough to say that "Apocalypto" has to be seen. At least it's not worse than "The Passion". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AnaC.Jan 6, 2007
Blood and gore. Nasty movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
askanirJul 21, 2007
i watched 15mins, where the mayans were sacrificing the last of the other tribe and ended when the young man was up in a tree with a cougar, i literally vomited and was physically sick. i have yet to bring myself to watch the rest.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
musstang62Nov 10, 2011
Netflix gave this a recommended 4 stars out of 5 so I thought I would watch it. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I have no idea how movie critics gave this pretty good reviews, while other great movies get **** ones. In case itNetflix gave this a recommended 4 stars out of 5 so I thought I would watch it. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I have no idea how movie critics gave this pretty good reviews, while other great movies get **** ones. In case it didn't show up already, I've got some mild spoilers here. I've got two huge beefs with this movie, aside from everything else that is wrong with it. Firstly, half of the movie revolves around the main characters being shackled up and just walking around. About as exciting as it sounds. Secondly, the main theme behind the movie is to be unafraid in the face of danger and be courageous. This is all well and good, and the main character realizes this towards the end of the movie and is capable of doing some incredible things. That's great, and would work really well in most movies, but with the situations that the main character was already in, HE WOULD HAVE DIED ABOUT 100 times over earlier in the movie if he didn't have fear as a motivator. If he would've been courageous and stood his ground and fought, like the central theme implied, the movie would end 15 minutes in, 20 minutes in, take your pick. This really destroyed any point of the main theme coming together at the end for me. Aside from this, I was facepalming about once a minute during the last 30 minutes of the movie. Not to say that some of the stuff at that juncture of the movie wasn't well done, but there was so much wrong with it that I only kept watching to see how much more this movie would f*** up. I would not recommend this movie to anyone and have no idea how the hell it was ever justified to be made Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MarkD.Dec 7, 2006
This movie was awful. Although the early parts of the film created an excellently crafted vision of a lost world, the film quickly degenerated into pointless torture-porn. The film sacrificed continuity, drama, and plot in the interest of This movie was awful. Although the early parts of the film created an excellently crafted vision of a lost world, the film quickly degenerated into pointless torture-porn. The film sacrificed continuity, drama, and plot in the interest of pressing a polished vision of misery that was neither entertaining or educational, and seemed to have less purpose than what you see in a horror movie gore-fest. I have no problem with violence in films, and in fact the most distasteful scenes weren't intrinsicly violent, but I couldn't get the image of Mel Gibson masturbating in the back of the theater (I saw an early screening that he personally introduced) to the relentless misery of both the characters on screen and the people in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndrewJun 25, 2007
I like the guy who said "I can't see how anyone could find fault with it." Maybe you should take some time to read the myriad bad reviews it got, since they all are spot on. This movie is a travesty. I thought I'd learn something I like the guy who said "I can't see how anyone could find fault with it." Maybe you should take some time to read the myriad bad reviews it got, since they all are spot on. This movie is a travesty. I thought I'd learn something about Mayans. Instead, it's like some primitive version of Hostel. Not to mention this film is grounded in as much fact as the Star Wars movies are. (Anyone saying this movie is historically accurate probably hasn't touched a history book since high school.) If you're naive and enjoy violence and gore, by all means, take in the craptacular train wreck that is Apocalypto. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArleneCJul 4, 2008
I watched this last night on a friends recommendation (I didn't really fancy watching it otherwise) and despite a promising first 5 minutes of the Tapir hunt and the meeting with the refugee tribe, it suddenly went into comedy mode when I watched this last night on a friends recommendation (I didn't really fancy watching it otherwise) and despite a promising first 5 minutes of the Tapir hunt and the meeting with the refugee tribe, it suddenly went into comedy mode when the hunters went back to the village with the sex-obsessed mother-in-law and the prank played on her daughter and son. From then on it was just downhill. The violence in the film didn't really bother me, I didn't find it gratuitous (like in Passion of the Christ) there was a lot of blood and the sacrificial scenes were a bit too long Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jsDec 10, 2006
Wow...this movie begins with dialogue and situations that seem more appropriate for an "American Pie" film and believe me, it's all downhill from there. The film tells you NOTHING about the Mayan culture and has zero plot. The last hour Wow...this movie begins with dialogue and situations that seem more appropriate for an "American Pie" film and believe me, it's all downhill from there. The film tells you NOTHING about the Mayan culture and has zero plot. The last hour is an extended chase scene and anyone who has seen an action film will be able to predict the outcome. If I can prevent just one person from seeing this film, I will have done my job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LowellK.Dec 10, 2006
More violence and less story than "Texas Chainsaw Massacre". A complete waste of your time and very disturbing for the faint of heart. This is not a date movie of any kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
noodlenozzleDec 24, 2006
For real? A freaking full moon appears on the same night following a total solar eclipse. If you knew anything about astronomy, you would immediately be able to discern that this is impossible. Then, add some more cheesy special effects, no For real? A freaking full moon appears on the same night following a total solar eclipse. If you knew anything about astronomy, you would immediately be able to discern that this is impossible. Then, add some more cheesy special effects, no substantial plot, and then to top it off, time traveling Spaniards. Stay away! If you already bought the tickets, don't go chasing bad money with good money by wasting your gas and overpaying for snacks to see this movie. Give those tickets to the shredder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EnriqueDec 6, 2006
Mayan world is reduced as a kind of S/M, gory Jurassic Park. Silly, bombastic fiasco. Good cinematography and interesting cast though. Gibson, like Tom Cruise, is clever enough to get sorrounded by talentous people to boost his projects, but Mayan world is reduced as a kind of S/M, gory Jurassic Park. Silly, bombastic fiasco. Good cinematography and interesting cast though. Gibson, like Tom Cruise, is clever enough to get sorrounded by talentous people to boost his projects, but is too heavy handed, shallow minded and basically dishonest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LolaLorberDec 8, 2006
A new low in films. It's "Braveheart" without historical significance and "Passion" without spirituality, though it dabbles in both, and it represents as brazen an act of career suicide as I can recall from a star director. If he were aA new low in films. It's "Braveheart" without historical significance and "Passion" without spirituality, though it dabbles in both, and it represents as brazen an act of career suicide as I can recall from a star director. If he were a first-timer, he'd never work again. It is a terrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
joezJan 1, 2007
instead of any context/story, the film's focus is on exhaustingly long scenes of drawn out violence. by the time the movie delivered its punchline almost every theatre goer had already given up on finding any meaning in it. instead of instead of any context/story, the film's focus is on exhaustingly long scenes of drawn out violence. by the time the movie delivered its punchline almost every theatre goer had already given up on finding any meaning in it. instead of gripping their seats, people were gripping their cell phones and jackets just waiting for the debauchle to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MauriceV.Jan 29, 2007
Just a morron would think that the most intelectual and respectful of the prehispanic cultures is as savage as they were depicted... Yup... Mel Gibson is that stupid. But that's what you get when you mix a crappy director who caresJust a morron would think that the most intelectual and respectful of the prehispanic cultures is as savage as they were depicted... Yup... Mel Gibson is that stupid. But that's what you get when you mix a crappy director who cares nothing about historical facts, and the comercial vibe to create another worthless action unwitful spoil just to fill the producers hands with money from the usual morbid mob who love the baths of blood and gore for no special reason nor plot....
Now Mayans and spanish men... well grabing a history book won't hurt anyone, then we can all know that the periods of time don't fit actually...that, and the already mentioned farfetched scenes shown all along this suplex of a film.. But ... hey... it is another fact that Gibson's brain is sort of death... so it was something really predictable. It's not worth watching at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndreaV.Feb 9, 2007
So much violence is just pornographic. There's nothing left after you watch it, just angst. The only positive aspect is the actor Rudy Youngblood (despite the fact he is not even Mayan) who trasmits feelings to the audience in a great way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ReneVJun 24, 2007
Horrible, violent, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlanKSep 12, 2008
A racist piece of Catholic propaganda about how the "barbaric" Maya needed to be saved by the Spanish priests bearing crosses that you see at the end. Also utterly predicable from start to finish. One of the very worst films I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LucianoS.Dec 22, 2006
Disappointing from beginning to end, If you like action "Blood Diamond" is a much better choice. Historically inaccurate, this movie is nothing more than any action film like Rambo or any of the Steven Seagal movies. The plot was poor, the Disappointing from beginning to end, If you like action "Blood Diamond" is a much better choice. Historically inaccurate, this movie is nothing more than any action film like Rambo or any of the Steven Seagal movies. The plot was poor, the action predictable, the characters not well developed, and the Sequences at the great Mexican Pyramids where not impressive at all. There are far better movies out there today or even at the video store. I have loved other Mel Gibson Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PRDec 22, 2006
A pukka shell necklace of cliches strung on a formula. I know less about the Maya now having watched it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CatMetaDec 9, 2006
An orgy of violence, dead of any real human connection or character, which gets boring quicky. Interesting that the obscenity of killing goes on for two hours, yet there is not one woman's nipple visible among the near-naked people, not An orgy of violence, dead of any real human connection or character, which gets boring quicky. Interesting that the obscenity of killing goes on for two hours, yet there is not one woman's nipple visible among the near-naked people, not one breechclout out of place. (God forbid bodies do anything but kill or be killed.) The whole thing is puerile. The audience laughed for much of the second half during the supposedly exciting parts; this movie is that soulless, and that silly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MiroDeHoyosJan 21, 2007
I think the historical background has been modified, there is no such history like that. Mayan civilization was one of the most advanced civilizations in the history of humanity. They were really inteligent, great astronomers, greatI think the historical background has been modified, there is no such history like that. Mayan civilization was one of the most advanced civilizations in the history of humanity. They were really inteligent, great astronomers, great mathematicians, and very respectful in their sacrifice ceremonies, and this is not shown in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GabrielaI.Jan 25, 2007
Totally unrespectful of magnificent Mayan civilization. Gibson obviously has no idea about this people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LARADOEJan 30, 2007
Having recently been in Mexico I decided to see this film. If it did not have some pretentions to being some comment on life as we know it either now, or in the time of (as Gibson would have it) "some" of our ancestors it might just beHaving recently been in Mexico I decided to see this film. If it did not have some pretentions to being some comment on life as we know it either now, or in the time of (as Gibson would have it) "some" of our ancestors it might just be mindlesslyand in some ways unprecendently cruel and crude however because it opens with a comment about how societies collapse it sets itself up as having meaning. It does not have any meaning beyond evoking profounding visceral responses that knock any possible thinking through out from after the first ten minutes. To call it flawed honours it , to me it is a brutal travesty that apparently enobles the hegemony that ruled thereafter.It is more disturbing to think about it because then you realise there is no comprehensible message. Only good for dieters - eating is not to be recommended either before, and out of the question afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobCJun 12, 2007
Despite the somewhat hopeful ending, this movie belongs on the dung-heap of movieland for the shamefully unbalanced presentation of the Mayan culture. Mel Gibson's pathologic disdain for this non-Christian civilization is graphically Despite the somewhat hopeful ending, this movie belongs on the dung-heap of movieland for the shamefully unbalanced presentation of the Mayan culture. Mel Gibson's pathologic disdain for this non-Christian civilization is graphically and brutally displayed without any balancing scenes of positive societal attributes except from the "primitives". Shame on you Mel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DavidQ.Jun 8, 2007
Only a deeply religious person could do violence this unrelenting, cruel, and perverse. Moving from the blood-spurting-out-of-the-head scene (with the camera right behind the blood spurts, to catch each one) to the underwater birth scene, Only a deeply religious person could do violence this unrelenting, cruel, and perverse. Moving from the blood-spurting-out-of-the-head scene (with the camera right behind the blood spurts, to catch each one) to the underwater birth scene, all of this shortly after the jaguar-ate-my-face-off scene, is, to be blunt, embarrassing. I could forgive all of this if the movie had any "poetry" of violence about it, but it was all pretty standard. There were, in fact, numerous scenes that I swear were shot on video. The actors were uniformly great, the costumes and makeup exceptional as well. But after a while, such pointless and not especially well-crafted sadism wears thin. What was the point? The same story could be told with Kurt Russel escaping a post-apocalyptic New York. I loved Braveheart. What happened to Mel? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful