User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 127
  2. Negative: 42 out of 127

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    4
    There are some scary moments, but all of these moments cannot overcome the boredom and the lethargic pace of "Apollo 18", or should I say "The Paranormal Activity Wannabe".
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    About the worst movie I've ever seen. I give it a one for the few brief spooky moments, but other than that everything was predictable and shoddily made. If you want to convince somebody that it's real (or at least try), get somebody who can act the part. Both of the main actors made me want to stand up and walk out whenever they said something.
  3. Dec 19, 2011
    3
    Seriously!? It's "The Blair Witch Project" on the moon. Not only is it a ripoff, but it's a ripoff over 10 years too late. This movie is only for the drunk and bored.
  4. Sep 2, 2011
    4
    Proficiently made, this new addition to the "found footage" horror/science fiction sub-genre has a couple of jump off your seat moments and a very effective sound design; however, the many inconsistencies (do these guys even researched about NASA's protocols?) and the feature of one of the most silly villains since Shyamalan's"The Happening" conspire to dilute the final punch these type of narratives should have. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2011
    1
    The best approach is to begin with the characters, because they are the most annoying part of the movie. Of course, I didn't feel their humanity and feelings so even archive footage at the end wasn't touching - it was just the obvious and untalented trying to call our empathy. Though there's a sense of threat, director resorts on simple famous horror tricks which are not able to scare most of us. There's no originality actually in screenplay: the plot is absent. The final twist finally throws the viewer through the screen with its insensitivity. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2011
    2
    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Extremely boring throughout and they try and make a cheep thrill like a pop up to last for 20 minutes. They think your freaked out so they bore you for another 20 minutes. If cheap thrilled boring movies are you thing Apollo 18 is all yours definitely not mine.
  7. Sep 8, 2011
    0
    Is this really a documentary? I've heard of Apollo 13 and now Apollo 18? This is one of the worst documentaries since last year when Jaquin Phoenix played a now-hoax rapper in "I'm Still Here." None of this are real and so does the clumsy dialogue. 2012 was the only movie that hit rock bottom.
  8. Sep 25, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't you just love those shaky cam movies where they say everything here is true and at the end everyone dies!?!?!?!?!?!?1/!?1/1/1/1?!?1/1/!/!?!//slash!!?!??!/!??!/!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!/one/!!//??1/?!??!!!eleven11???? Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is the worst movie I have seen in my life. The Human Centipede movies are more fun to watch than this crap. Very boring, and just plain stupid. A zero is almost to good for this piece of crap.
  10. Sep 4, 2011
    3
    A wannabe '' Cloverfield '' set out in space. Sounds interesting right ? Not really, especially after seeing how bad it turned out to be. No matter how short the movie was, I wanted it to end. I don't remember turning my head away from the screen multiple times before. It was boring, completely forgettable and I didn't really cared about anything in the film. By the look of the story and the idea, I wanted it to be good, but it's not the case. After a promising trailer, this movie offers nothing. Don't waste your time and money. Expand
  11. Sep 10, 2011
    4
    if you read a review with a positive review or anything over a 5 know these people are either idiots or just want you to watch this movie. just saying. the story is sparse but a good idea, that being said the biggest flaw with this movie is that it's BORING!!!! it's watch able and that isn't saying much. the only reason i didn't walk out is because i didn't want the producers to get the satisfaction of getting my money and having me walk away without seeing it. yes i am mentally changed i think. the end. Expand
  12. Oct 13, 2011
    0
    Wow, total disappointment. I love astronomy and had been so yearn to watch this. The found footage kind of movie is supposed to be one of the easiest way to make the audience feel connected to the story. But compared to Paranormal Activity, Apollo 18 is such a joke. Silly way to scare the audience. The plot is no way near sophisticated and beautifully written. Not to mention that it's kinda confusing. Even after the movie ended my friend and I were still confused about how many characters there were. Not impressed, seriously. Expand
  13. Nov 29, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Descibe Apolo 18 in one word? Easy. Absolute rubbish. Unenjoyable, silly, scareless horror that tries to be different and ends up as Paranormal Activity... in space. An example scene;
    Astronaut 1: Oh look, a Russian spaceship!
    Astronaut 2: How did that get there?
    Astroanut 1: Umm, Oh Look Rocks!
    Astronaut 2: Aaaah! The Rocks are aliens! AND.. they want to kill us and invade earth!
    Astronaut 1: This Plot makes no sense! Let's try and end on a cliffhanger to see if we get a sequel!
    Yep, that's pretty much how dialogue goes in the movie. Acting is wooden. At least 50% of the audience left in the first 30 minutes. I'm ashamed that I didn't go with them.
    Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2012
    3
    if i had to sum up the film in one word it would be "Pointless" mainly because in the end it makes zero sense. nothing is learned about what is going on . its 90 min of mostly pointless dribble. the creatures literally have 3 seconds of screen time LITERALLY. you never get a good look at them. the film is shot in 4.3 aspect ratio in the documentory style with a very crappy frame rate to give it that 70s feel .listen film makers most of us theee days have high def HD tvs ... we prefer not to have are movies look like crap even if you are tryin to mkake it look like its from the 70s... screw that crap. it sucked it the blair witch project and it sucked in cloverfiled and it sucks in this film. its suppose to be i guess a cover up conspiercy thing thats trying to prove its self as fact... id find it more believeable looking under my bed and finding a alien that bleeds acid and wants to plant a egg in my chest over this film. the only good thing i can say is the cast is pretty good and they can act pretty well. other then that forget this film . Expand
  15. Jan 21, 2012
    2
    Completely and utterly boring. Claiming they used "real" footage and built a movie around it is akin to me taking a picture of a tree and then making a movie about them eating your house pets. 20 minutes in and I had to check the timer because it felt like I had been watching for 3 hours. There was no connection with the characters, you didn't care whether they got off the moon and I really didn't care how it ended. I just wanted it to end. The only thing that kept this movie rolling was the feeling that I spent $4 renting it so I better just finish it. Collapse
  16. Mar 27, 2012
    3
    The movie have an interesting plot, interesting title, interesting front, but is really boring, Im feeling excited when I watch Apollo 18, all the movie have a big suspense and finally, a monster stone? okay, this can be scare, but the big problem is that all the movie is completely BORING, this found footage is really terrible. Apollo 18 is bad.
  17. May 24, 2012
    1
    I gave this movie a 2, and that is me being very much generous. I'll be honest, I don't know too much about this movie, but I will explain to you what I felt for the first 30 minutes before I quit and turned the movie off- I probably expected too much out of this film, so at the beginning of it, I was very excited to see what this was about. First of all, this whole film takes place on the moon (besides the beginning). It is dark, the dialogue is boring, and the "action" parts of the movie were not exciting. I was deeply disappointed with everything this film gave and I really consider myself to not even be too picky with movies. This however, was terribly boring. I would not recommend it, unless if you are a huge sci fi "thriller" fan. If you are, maybe you can appreciate this film a little bit more than me. Expand
  18. Sep 2, 2011
    4
    This movie is one long trailer. Just drop this "found footage" thing, this movie would be good if it had been a normal movie with narrative and some back story, sort of like Apollo 13 where you see them training for the flight and all the good stuff. I had no idea what was going half of the movie, they went from being extremely concerned about certain things to sitting around on moon rocks in one shot! And what's with the paranormal-ish aliens, was it so hard to come up with a realistic enemy/danger? Also, there was almost no contact with the Mission Control Center so it felt like they were stuck in some base in Antarctica. Expand
  19. Jan 2, 2012
    4
    Apollo 18 was mildly amusing, but it had quite a few problems. First of all, this movie was short. Simply put, it didn't feel like a lot really happened in the premise. Second, it wasn't even scary. There were a few jump moments but nothing too special.
  20. Feb 2, 2012
    4
    Kind of dumb, with bland special effects. The actors are okay and the premise was interesting although it was pretty darn predictable. The stock NASA footage was used to good effect although if you were of certain age, you had seen it all before. I felt sorry for the Russian cosmonaut.....
  21. Jun 14, 2012
    3
    Apollo 18 is a boring horror/sci-fi movie that fails to be impressive in any form. The documentary "Blair Witch Project" style of filming hampers what could be a decent flick by using low budget and **** camera effects and angles to produce boredom rather than terror. This movie could have benefited from a few simple rhetorical questions like "if I can't see what i'm supposed to be scared of, how am I supposed to be scared?" or "should I use special effects in a sci-fi/horror movie on the moon?" the answers to these questions are simple. The first answer is no and the second answer is yes. Expand
  22. Aug 24, 2012
    4
    By the time of the last Apollo mission in 1972, the public had lost interest in spaceflight and, sadly, that
  23. Nov 29, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's yet another one of these docufiction movies but this is one of the worst ones I've seen. The story has some potential which is the only reason I didn't give the movie the lowest rating possible. Unfortunately, the movie is incredibly boring, the acting is mediocre, the effort to make it "edited clips" was overdone which gave it too much of a gimmicky feel, and there was no part in the movie that was remotely scary, thrilling, or horrifying. Also, it felt like the creators were lazy in the way they failed to ever show for sure what the "extraterrestrial life" was exactly. Obviously I didn't expect answers but I at least expected a good shot of them. Instead, the viewers are left to assume it to be some sort of transfiguring arachnid or something. Bottom line, the entertainment value was next to nothing. The only reason I watched the entire thing was to see how they decided to end it. Expand
  24. Feb 23, 2013
    3
    This film is shot on old cameras, in a 70s style documentary, that someone would have made on an old camcorder. Someone uncovers the tapes of this secret, classified, NASA mission, that was buried and turns it into this film. Apollo 18 shows how the astronauts came into contact with extra terrestrial life. I was expecting this to be a trippy Sci-Fi movie, it wasn't. I also thought maybe the aliens would be hostile and it would be an action packed horror flick, not really. The truth is, it's hard to say what this was besides bad! First of all, the look they use for effect, hampered the viewers, the constant interruption and flashes were just annoying! The actors really have no dialogue outside of their work, meaning we know basically nothing about them, so there is no connection with the audience. The dialogue is bland, the effects are cheap, and the cinematography makes you want to vomit. It's not Paranormal Activity, nor is it the Blair Witch, it's a cheap rip off of both, that's not worth one minute of your time. Expand
  25. Mar 24, 2013
    1
    Lacking creativity, having a less than decent story line and bad effects.
  26. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    This movie had an interesting premise for the first 10 minutes. The remainder of this movie might as well not have been shot. Combine the 'Blair Witch Project', '2001', and 'Alien' in a blender, and you would have had the same movie. Forget it.
  27. Dec 28, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Though the majority of Apollo 18 is just an average suspense movie done in Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity style that has nothing apart from its somewhat silly premise to separate it from the pack, it is the end that really pours on the stupid (and not good stupid either). When Anderson and the Liberty go floating towards Grey and the Freedom, the screen shots become so obviously contrived that they ruin any vibe of reality the film hoped to have, not to mention the terrible acting of the two actors that completely takes one out of the scene. In thirty seconds, these things manage to ruin the entire movie. Expand
  28. Mar 30, 2014
    2
    Not impressed. About the only good thing about the movie was the effects to make the footage look dated and of the quality for the time of the moon shots. The idea was too outlandish. They made it look real and as such not believable. I know that's the point of sci-fi but too many real world bounds were crossed to make the idea of et life on moon to be credible. If all personnel perished in this supposed moon shot, then why spend x billions to retrieve the footage and not the bodies, makes no sense. Expand
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 13 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Sep 8, 2011
    40
    This isn't at all scary, but the rough images can be weirdly compelling, the movie's conspiratorial jive enhanced by the fact that the lunar surface looks like someone's backyard.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 8, 2011
    50
    The real tension of the piece lies in the sound design, with its layering of heavy breaths, inexplicably compromised frequencies, and invasive thwackings of no known origin to the ship hull.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 7, 2011
    38
    Whatever merits the production values have, the cheap frights don't deliver, the performers bring no pathos and the gimmick behind Apollo 18 flat out does not work.