User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 90
  2. Negative: 11 out of 90

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 21, 2016
    5
    Fans, unite! Because you're going to love Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters more than the rest of us. For the rest of us, it just seems like another mediocre movie felt like a cash-grab.
  2. May 17, 2015
    6
    When I first heard that they were taking an idea that works best in eleven minute segments and expanding it out to feature length, I was very trepidatious. But interest and hype coerced me to try my luck, and I got burned. It was WAY too long, the genuinely funny moments only made me hate it more because other people would defend it, even though it was too long, not funny enough, with tooWhen I first heard that they were taking an idea that works best in eleven minute segments and expanding it out to feature length, I was very trepidatious. But interest and hype coerced me to try my luck, and I got burned. It was WAY too long, the genuinely funny moments only made me hate it more because other people would defend it, even though it was too long, not funny enough, with too much plot. But enough about the movie Ted. This one was good enough. Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    What an interesting animated film. I had not seen the series when I saw this, yet I still was amused. It's funny, and stupid at the same time. It has multiple plots---some revealed around the middle of the film. Fans and people who enjoy the series will no doubt like this but may I just advise you to watch the series first.
  4. ArmondA.
    Sep 8, 2007
    6
    Here's a rule that I always abide by: two people who agree with one another about films nearly all of the time are quite likely to disagree over comedies quite often and with great vigor. Far be it from me, then, to try to explain WHY I find ATHF to be funny. Moreover, in the case of this particular film, the single score that we're asked to issue is in itself misleading, since Here's a rule that I always abide by: two people who agree with one another about films nearly all of the time are quite likely to disagree over comedies quite often and with great vigor. Far be it from me, then, to try to explain WHY I find ATHF to be funny. Moreover, in the case of this particular film, the single score that we're asked to issue is in itself misleading, since it represents an average of TWO scores--perhaps a 9 and a 3--as if an individual critic cannot agree with himself. The reader can picture me watching this cinematic fruit salad and reacting with hoots, howls, grimaces, and indifference. I can say with some certainty that this critique would be less good-natured had I gone to the trouble and expense of seeing the movie in a theater rather than watching it in the more forgiving and receptive state of the couch-potato, Nothing ventured, nothing resented. Perhaps the most important quality in the film is its "modesty", which seems like an odd perception given the frequent references to infantile sexual preoccupations. The modesty is in the film's satirical targets. Unlike South Park, for instance, the "auteurs" stick to making fun of the conventions of popular culture, which is a field in which the young cartoonists are genuine experts. While seemingly "lawless" and "subversive", this superficially "outrageous" collage has its roots in the soil of the old Dick Van Dyke show, Sid Caesar's Show of Shows, and even the equally hit and miss absurdist sketches of Ernie Kovaks and Monty Python. That puts it in some pretty fine company. Know what I mean?? Know what I mean?? Wink-wink! Expand
  5. BDub
    Aug 20, 2007
    6
    I am a long term fan of the show. I have to agree with others that this show is probably best left at it's regular 12 minute duration. I couldn't have known this without watching this movie. It is still a must see for any fan of course and i laughed often. I was a little disappointed with the "80 minute deleted movie." It isn't really worth watching. It is a non-finished I am a long term fan of the show. I have to agree with others that this show is probably best left at it's regular 12 minute duration. I couldn't have known this without watching this movie. It is still a must see for any fan of course and i laughed often. I was a little disappointed with the "80 minute deleted movie." It isn't really worth watching. It is a non-finished version of the actual movie. It contains the deleted scenes, but isn't fully animated. Basically all the voice acting put to stills. The deleted movie really shouldn't be marketed as some bonus really. Expand
  6. WillA.
    Apr 24, 2007
    4
    I like the show, esp the early episodes--not so much the movie. The intro was funny, but little of the actual movie was. Not worth the price of the ticket. 30 min of laughs and 56 min of thinking it will get better. It doesn't.
  7. DanS.
    Apr 19, 2007
    6
    [adult swim] humor is often based on contextual factors aside from the actual jokes told in their programming. For example, a show about a talking ass who is a cop may not be the funniest show ever, but the fact that [as] is airing a show about a cop who's a talking ass is pretty hilarious. I feel this humor was mostly missing from the Aqua Teen movie due to the fact that fans of the [adult swim] humor is often based on contextual factors aside from the actual jokes told in their programming. For example, a show about a talking ass who is a cop may not be the funniest show ever, but the fact that [as] is airing a show about a cop who's a talking ass is pretty hilarious. I feel this humor was mostly missing from the Aqua Teen movie due to the fact that fans of the show (like myself) are quite familiar with it. For me, the funniest things about this movie were watching middle-aged people walk out of it and seeing that the Boston Globe gave it the lowest score represented on this site. Ok, well the opening metal song was pretty great, but Aqua Teen doesn't work with a plot, which fans of the show will recognize as being more present in the movie. As a result the whole thing just feels really drawn-out and only occasionally as zany and unpredicable as it should be. Expand
  8. AllistairP.
    Apr 19, 2007
    5
    Simple as this, if you loved Season 1-4 but hated season 5 (the current one) WAIT FOR VIDEO! If you still think season 5 is funny (possibly b/c you are stoned out of your mind) go see it now. Closer to the Family Guy movie (this should have been straight to DVD, as well) then the South Park movie.
  9. ChristopherW.
    Apr 14, 2007
    6
    What a peculiar little film! I've never actually seen the television show that inspired this oddity, but I would be very interested in checking it out after seeing the film. There really isn't much of a plot to speak of, but the absurdity and adult oriented silliness throughout were enough to keep me entertained. I certainly can't speak for anyone else. I'm sure there What a peculiar little film! I've never actually seen the television show that inspired this oddity, but I would be very interested in checking it out after seeing the film. There really isn't much of a plot to speak of, but the absurdity and adult oriented silliness throughout were enough to keep me entertained. I certainly can't speak for anyone else. I'm sure there will be plenty of uninitiated people who respond with a great big "What the $&%@!" However, I must say that I've never seen anything quite like it. In this case, that's a good thing! Expand
  10. EricO.
    Apr 13, 2007
    4
    Aqua Teen Hunger Force is an often brilliant show on the cartoon network that works best in 15 minute segments. It does not, however, function as an 88 minute movie. My suggestion: watch the first 20 minutes or so, take a nap for a half hour, and wake up for the final quarter. You won't miss much, and you'll feel better about spending your hard-earned cash on something you could Aqua Teen Hunger Force is an often brilliant show on the cartoon network that works best in 15 minute segments. It does not, however, function as an 88 minute movie. My suggestion: watch the first 20 minutes or so, take a nap for a half hour, and wake up for the final quarter. You won't miss much, and you'll feel better about spending your hard-earned cash on something you could get on TV for free. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. 63
    To call the animation crude would be high praise. But they succeed enough of the time to make a perversely entertaining movie.
  2. 50
    Narrative's beside the point in a movie created by two guys who gorge on pop culture's high-fat diet and regurgitate it into something approaching . . . art? Close enough.
  3. The plot can't be summarized: Let's just say that crazy s--- happens, and occasionally, you laugh.