Screen Gems | Release Date: December 4, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 72 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
15
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
Having not heard anything about this movie I went in with an open mind and found myself enjoying Armored. It isn't an award winner and it isn't the most interesting and plot twisting story but it is short and makes the hour and a half youHaving not heard anything about this movie I went in with an open mind and found myself enjoying Armored. It isn't an award winner and it isn't the most interesting and plot twisting story but it is short and makes the hour and a half you spend watching it worth it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Shanked_SaltMar 31, 2011
The "acting" is cringe worthy.

The usually wise charactered Fisbourne plays a total fool and dillon is super annoying. The plot is ridicolous and seems half way through they ran out of creativity and didn't know how to end it. Why
The "acting" is cringe worthy.

The usually wise charactered Fisbourne plays a total fool and dillon is super annoying.

The plot is ridicolous and seems half way through they ran out of creativity and didn't know how to end it.
Why didn't they just give Still it's easy to watch and isn't too boring so acheives something to pass the time.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
NathanBDec 5, 2009
+1 Point for good choice in actors. +1 Point for the cool armored car chase. -8 for this being a terrible movie. Don't waste your money. I would rather puke my way through twilight than see this movie for free.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffH.Dec 4, 2009
This movie is slow moving, witless, badly written trash. How far have Dillon and Fishbourne fallen to take this bad script,they must have needed the money. Also appropriate is that the directors name is Nimrod as his direction fits that perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessicaGDec 6, 2009
After seeing the movie I was very impressed. I thought the movie was intense and kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The choice of actors was amazing. The main character was the type that you were drawn to and just wanted to see After seeing the movie I was very impressed. I thought the movie was intense and kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. The choice of actors was amazing. The main character was the type that you were drawn to and just wanted to see him win. After reading the other reviews I really don't understand what movie some of them were watching if they were giving it a 2 like honestly what movie were you watcing. I admit it's not the all time best movie i've ever seen, hence why I gave it an 8, but to give it a 2 is pretty harsh. Sorry but you guys need a lesson in good movies. Expecially when people give a movie like this a 2 and they'll give movies that stink in my opinion really good reviews. Guess it's just my opinion but to me you guys are wrong and this movie was awesome. Definatley worth a trip to the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrettCDec 7, 2009
Not the worst movie that I have seen this year (that award goes to Paranormal Activity; I am not a fan of the 'found footage' genre), but there was little to no suspense and the action was limited to two 'chases' Not the worst movie that I have seen this year (that award goes to Paranormal Activity; I am not a fan of the 'found footage' genre), but there was little to no suspense and the action was limited to two 'chases' involving the armored cars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Dec 4, 2009
In order for the heist to work, the filmmaker takes care of a potential plot loophole during the morning briefing scene, where the Eagle Shield Security boss(Fred Ward) announces to his employees that all armored trucks will be furbished In order for the heist to work, the filmmaker takes care of a potential plot loophole during the morning briefing scene, where the Eagle Shield Security boss(Fred Ward) announces to his employees that all armored trucks will be furbished with GPS units in the near-future. Since the heist entails that the vehicle be driven off its ordained route and into an abandoned warehouse, the moviegoer can be rest assured that the job is plausible, within reason. Nobody knows where the men are; the men with the bank's fourty-two-million-dollars, in what may be the most underwhelming caper ever captured on celluloid. Problem solved, sure, but contrivance rears its ugly head, and the story doesn't hold up to this very fact: With so much money at stake, wouldn't a bank insist that its armored truck service be up-to-date with all the latest technological advancements, like a GPS unit? Of course, they would. Of mild interest, the heist isn't told in chronological order: the second phase preceeds the first phase, in which the latter is disguised as a hazing ritual that the veteran men perform on Ty(Columbus Short), the rookie, the stock honest man-type character who goes crooked when society seemingly forces him to. As a result, "Armored" has no real payoff. The truck disappears inside the warehouse and never comes out. The narrative is mostly limited to this single setting, an approach to filmmaking that didn't mar "Kontroll"(a subway system), or "Vacancy"(a motel), but does here, as claustrophobia quickly sets in for the moviegoer. While calamity after calamity piles up in the immediate hour after Mike(Matt Dillon) checks in with homebase, you never get a sense of real time, or palpable urgency, before he has to check in again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobSDec 5, 2009
Amazing simple as that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
This movie felt very short, fast-paced, quick, and good in an odd mix. The writing was lacking a bit, because nothing seemed to be happening while the movie still managed to be a rather good one, moving forward constantly.

The characters
This movie felt very short, fast-paced, quick, and good in an odd mix. The writing was lacking a bit, because nothing seemed to be happening while the movie still managed to be a rather good one, moving forward constantly.

The characters had very little introduction, but the cast was good. I watched this movie to see Milo Ventimiglia in it, but Jean Reno, Amaury Nolasco, Skeet Ulrich and Laurence Fishburne didn't hurt either. All in all the performances were good, surprisingly so.

There was some serious stumbling in character development, though; where in the beginning Mike (Matt Dillon) swore that he was going to take care of Ty and his brother Jimmy, who had been recently orphaned and are struggling to keep their home, the genuine will to help turned to lust for money at some point - for the whole crew. The change happened so fast I wasn't sure where it came from, because when a man who is first giving you advice and being your best buddy tries to run over you by the end of the day... well, you get the point.

All in all I was rather pleased with this movie, and can imagine watching it again. It isn't a strong story, but a good portrayal of a crime gone very wrong when things start to go downhill despite the good planning beforehand.

And this much must be said about Milo's performance as Eckehart: creepily, embarrassingly real! Because I can imagine a grown man will look and sound like that when they are shot, no matter how tough they are. Brilliant.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews