Rialto Pictures | Release Date: April 28, 2006
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 85 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
14
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
J.RsoenbergMay 27, 2006
Riveting blockbuster that drew me in so persuasivly that afterward I felt I was still on the run from German soldiers in Paris in 1944.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinL.Jul 30, 2007
I was surprised to find that this film was made in 1969. It has aged v well. Coldly realistic, scary, moving, thought-provoking. A truly brilliant film. I didn't know the director before yesterday. I will look up his other films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClayCSep 15, 2009
A truly great film. Your users that have given ARMY OF SHADOWS poor reviews seem not just ignorant of cinema, but, especially, ignorant of history. (They actually seem to be just plain ignorant, and very full of themselves.)
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.May 29, 2006
Better late than never. Melville's great 1969 film enjoys its first U.S. release this year. As such, it's the best film of 2006.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoachimG.Jun 13, 2006
Simply a masterpiece!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JulianT.May 8, 2009
If you like cinema just as much as I do, you can do nothing but admit that this is probably one of the greatest movie ever... I don't get annoyed by those saying that this was too "slow" or so on... they don't have a clue about If you like cinema just as much as I do, you can do nothing but admit that this is probably one of the greatest movie ever... I don't get annoyed by those saying that this was too "slow" or so on... they don't have a clue about what "Cinema" really is. Thank you so much mister Melville. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LarryR.Dec 26, 2006
Certainly the best movie I've seen in 2006; one of the best in the past 5 years. From the opening shot to the haunting ending, I couldn't get the movie out of my mind for weeks.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.May 17, 2006
Powerful, moving, hypnotic, and eerily modern.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FlemmingK.Jun 15, 2006
Melville at his very best! Stunning!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TedP.Jul 1, 2006
Difficult to imagine that one can strip a series of perilous encounters down to their existential terror any better than Melville.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
J.WeeksNov 29, 2007
I fell in love with Melville's work when I first saw Le Samourai a year or two ago. He was the master of showing you rather than telling you and this film is no exception. It is true that this film may seem a little slow but there is so I fell in love with Melville's work when I first saw Le Samourai a year or two ago. He was the master of showing you rather than telling you and this film is no exception. It is true that this film may seem a little slow but there is so much under the surface that no one should be bored. I particularly loved the unspoken way that regular French people recognized the members of the resistance and helped them without a word. I loved that these were regular people, a mathematician, a civil engineer...they were not elite special forces. This story takes the glamor out of the resistance and that, to me, makes it all the more heroic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichelF.Jul 26, 2006
Stunning, moving film by a true master. Those who complain about the slow pace have seen too many Hollywood crap or MTV garbage.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewG.Dec 5, 2007
This film punched me in the chest and woke me up from my "modern cinema" induced coma. A masterpiece that captures humanity at it's best and worst.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherD.Jun 12, 2007
This is a well crafted, great collaboration. This movie is shot with more than just craft and the story line is unobtrusive as it takes you deep into a group of French resistors. The film does not take too much time showing how evil the This is a well crafted, great collaboration. This movie is shot with more than just craft and the story line is unobtrusive as it takes you deep into a group of French resistors. The film does not take too much time showing how evil the Nazi's are but treats it as a fact of life no matter how unbearable it might have been. It does not dwell on the many French who helped support the Nazi regime. Instead without being overly emotional we are still drawn into the emotions of the characters and threat they constantly faced. This is one of the greatest stories about courage I have ever seen. Worth your time and money and demands repeated viewings. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeanN.Apr 22, 2008
Simply the best film I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Christopher_G2Jul 11, 2012
This is simply an amazing thriller/drama about the French resistance movement during world war 2. There are some scenes so tense they are hard to watch, and other scenes that are brilliantly poignant, and all of it is incredibly well acted.This is simply an amazing thriller/drama about the French resistance movement during world war 2. There are some scenes so tense they are hard to watch, and other scenes that are brilliantly poignant, and all of it is incredibly well acted. Melville at his top form. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
This film is one of the darkest, uncompromising and unsettling movie products of the 1960s - a war movie with no bars and a moral prerogative as gray as the walls of the many prison cells we find the characters in.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
JustinS.Jun 30, 2006
An excellent, gritty movie that never loses sight of the fact that the members of the Resistance were above all human, not action movie stars. It does seem rather dreary and depressing and lacks emotion other than fear and exhaustion and it An excellent, gritty movie that never loses sight of the fact that the members of the Resistance were above all human, not action movie stars. It does seem rather dreary and depressing and lacks emotion other than fear and exhaustion and it doesn't give much sense of what the characters are thinking or feeling, but a terrific film nonetheless. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
brjorge2002Aug 20, 2010
The 99 metascore is a bit high, but the 8.1 user score is a bit low. This whole movie is very good, but there is one scene in particular (the attempt to break out a beaten associate) that really lives a strong feeling in the pit of your stomach.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMar 17, 2016
Army of Shadows is finally lovable and something almost godlike. If critics love this one, I bet users are going to have a great time watching this more than the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DQS.Jan 3, 2007
When I saw Army of Shadows 3 months ago I was underwhelmed. As a fan of director Jean-Pierre Melville, I had heard of this film for 20 years and was so excited to finally see this rare gem. On the way to the theater my head was filled with When I saw Army of Shadows 3 months ago I was underwhelmed. As a fan of director Jean-Pierre Melville, I had heard of this film for 20 years and was so excited to finally see this rare gem. On the way to the theater my head was filled with scenes from all of the great films of Melville and I was trying to imagine what sort of post-noir tough guy treat I'd be enjoying soon. What I got was not what I had expected. Where were the fetishized shots of raked hats, chorme plated 45's and the steel-faced men who sport them? This was something more akin to a 70's docu-drama meets Charles Bronson. Cold, straight, and natural lighting (no long shadows) - no Noir at all. I left very unsatisfied, not the film's fault, but completely due to expectations. This was something new and I was looking for tthe familiar. - - - It's been months and the Army of Shadows has kept popping back into my head. I think I see the film better now than when I was in the theater. The army of the title are not "in the shadows" they are the shadows themselves - walking "dead men" who no longer live "real" lives. In public they are spectral citizens unnoticed by the occupation. They must act by stoic rules that are at polar opposite of fantasy. Now, I appriecate the slow pasing, repressed humanity and absence of Noir trappings. This is a truthful look at fighters who cannot afford the luxury of fetish and passion. They are only shadows. Three months ago I would have given it 6 out of 10, today it's 8, next year after a few more viewings - maybe 9 or 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseS.Aug 25, 2008
This is a very good film, and quite well filmed, but its a little slow and perhaps too long. The 99 avg from critics is way too high, but its still very good for its time and marks Melville as a major director; I want to see more of his.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimD.Oct 26, 2006
Stark, compelling, austere, engrossing, beautifully acted and directed. And, for me, about twenty minutes too long. If the running time had been more like two hours instead of 2:20, I would have given it a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GuyE.Mar 28, 2007
It wasn't until 30 minutes into the film that I realized what I was watching; it wasn't what Graham Greene would call an 'entertainment.' This required the audience to participate, to fill in the blanks. When Lino has It wasn't until 30 minutes into the film that I realized what I was watching; it wasn't what Graham Greene would call an 'entertainment.' This required the audience to participate, to fill in the blanks. When Lino has just escaped from the Nazis and ducks into a barber shop to have his moustache shaved, and the still camera waits through the process to a soundless background, we have to reflect as Lino does. And wait as he does. And plan as he does. Army of Shadows, then, is more novel than *movie.* You try it on, walk around in it, wear it, see how it feels. It's remarkable, and yes, slow, and remarkable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnC.Jul 9, 2006
Dak, literally, and surprisingly detached. Not the "must see" its rating would indicate.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PhiloR.Jun 19, 2006
i read all the reviews and was so excited when i finally had the opportunity to see this movie. after being out for a couple of months the theater was packed on a friday afternoon! i was pretty dissappointed. How could a metacritic 10 be i read all the reviews and was so excited when i finally had the opportunity to see this movie. after being out for a couple of months the theater was packed on a friday afternoon! i was pretty dissappointed. How could a metacritic 10 be just a pretty good movie. not great, just ok my .02 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful