User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 96
  2. Negative: 20 out of 96

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2014
    6
    Not bad at all for a found footage film. It only lost me slightly around the halfway mark when the literal happenings gave way to the fantastical. I do think the cast was pretty fun to watch.
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    6
    If you think hating on this movie is worth while, then you're wasting your time. This movie isn't some groundbreaking piece of found footage horror. It's important to go into a movie like this open minded, not intent on finding any and every fault you can possible pick out of it. If you do that, go home. That being said, this movie is awesome. It gives a very serious, tense look atIf you think hating on this movie is worth while, then you're wasting your time. This movie isn't some groundbreaking piece of found footage horror. It's important to go into a movie like this open minded, not intent on finding any and every fault you can possible pick out of it. If you do that, go home. That being said, this movie is awesome. It gives a very serious, tense look at the research and exploring leading up to a dive into frightening caverns lined with human bones. It gives us back story and as much characterization as it needs to make it scary. You know the leading lady is determined to respect her father's life's work and she's surrounded by reluctant, loyal, or knowledgeable companions. Seriously, they're going into bone-tunnels to hell. It's obvious. Don't take this movie for more than what it is. Once they get down there and the scares start coming, there's no need for any of it, and no need to nit pick. From hooded figures to a crazed lost friend to things being upside down and carved into the rock, this movie delivers the scares perfectly, though they are measured. You have to be a little patient.
    All in all, this movie goes from an intense opening, to an information-heavy first act, to a fast paced, frightening middle act and leaves any horror lover satisfied at the end. This movie won't change your life, but it's a found footage film with good scares. What else could you be asking for?
    Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    If you like horror movies you'll like this movie. If you don't like horror movies you probably won't like it. The plot becomes a little nonsensical at the end but if you can suspend disbelief it's a lot of fun and creepy and suspenseful throughout.
  4. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    Stupid horror movies are boring; this one isn't stupid. It tries to establish its own mythology and sticks to it. Though the mythos isn't the best thing since sliced bread, I did appreciate the filmmakers giving it their best shot. This film is like a terrifying version of the abyss shot with headcams. They just keep going deeper and deeper into the depths of the underworld and it's a wildStupid horror movies are boring; this one isn't stupid. It tries to establish its own mythology and sticks to it. Though the mythos isn't the best thing since sliced bread, I did appreciate the filmmakers giving it their best shot. This film is like a terrifying version of the abyss shot with headcams. They just keep going deeper and deeper into the depths of the underworld and it's a wild ride. It's worth watching once. I watched "sinister" last night, and in contrast, this flick was worlds better. The monsters were actually scary instead of some idiot wearing a tuxedo. Don't listen to people giving as above so below 0 scores because they obviously aren't bright enough to recognize what a real scary movie should be like. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2014
    5
    This pretty good premise had promise until the **** ending. The movie was good until it tried too hard to be unique. The movie is actually one of the better unofficial "found footage" genre movies, sadly. The beginning has it's flaws, but the pace and story of the stone is actually pretty well done. There's this stone called "Philosophers Stone" (KIND of a copy of Harry Potter) that isThis pretty good premise had promise until the **** ending. The movie was good until it tried too hard to be unique. The movie is actually one of the better unofficial "found footage" genre movies, sadly. The beginning has it's flaws, but the pace and story of the stone is actually pretty well done. There's this stone called "Philosophers Stone" (KIND of a copy of Harry Potter) that is suppose to basically heal and give the owner internal life....basically harry potter. Scarlet finds out that the stone is in Paris and they go after it. Well this is where things are actually pretty good. Creepy things happen in the Catacombs. The good thing about this movie is the one fact that plague a lot of found footage movies "why are you still filming". They move the camera onto a head light, like a go camera. So "still filming" doesn't go through the audience's minds...well that's a small good thing about the movie. After half way through the movie, the story of the stone is quite stupid and turns into a backwards and confusing premise....that's really awkwardly pretentious. Its nothing to watch in theaters....just watch it on Netflix when it arrive there in the future...just don't stay for the ending. Overall I didn't thing it was god awful, but the movie is too confusing and pretentious for its own good. 5.8 Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2014
    8
    I liked how everything you thought it would be about completely flew away. All the assumptions of Zombies or spirits that I had for this film were pretty far off. It turned into something much more along the lines of Mythical. Acting was decent, visuals were stunning, the pace of the film kept you in it the whole time. There were some honestly terrifying instances; and I'm not even talkingI liked how everything you thought it would be about completely flew away. All the assumptions of Zombies or spirits that I had for this film were pretty far off. It turned into something much more along the lines of Mythical. Acting was decent, visuals were stunning, the pace of the film kept you in it the whole time. There were some honestly terrifying instances; and I'm not even talking about the jump scares. As Above, So Below has been written off as "just another found footage film" but the problem with that is most found-footage films needn't be so. It actually makes sense for these people to have cameras on their heads because they're searching for something completely unimaginable. Overall it's a solid film with great dynamics and some great scares that are none too cheap. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2014
    7
    I went into this with 0 expectations and a fear of this being just another run of the mill generic Descent rip off with found footage. The director of this however directed my favorite found footage film of all time which is "The Poughkeepsie Tapes". I walked out actually having enjoyed and I was also a little shaken up. This movie starts out really slow and really not all that interestingI went into this with 0 expectations and a fear of this being just another run of the mill generic Descent rip off with found footage. The director of this however directed my favorite found footage film of all time which is "The Poughkeepsie Tapes". I walked out actually having enjoyed and I was also a little shaken up. This movie starts out really slow and really not all that interesting but once the crew of characters enter the catacombs this movie really picked up. It had some genuinely creep scares as well as some very unsettling sounds and imagery. This is another rare case of good acting in horror movie. This movie had all the way up until the end. The end was a cheap anti-climactic abrupt end with nothing even remotely explaining what the hell we just watched. No Clues! Nothing! Even Under the Skin (one of my favorites of this year) a nearly silent film left subtle visual hints at what was going on. This has nothing! Slow beginning, bad end but great middle with some seriously chilling scares and an outstanding visit visit from an old friend (The Grim Reaper). If you are a die hard fan of Horror movies you will most likely enjoy this.

    Score: 7.2 out of 10
    Legendary Pictures, 89 min. Rated R
    Expand
  8. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    It succeeds enough to be entertaining with what it has; which is something one should expect with this kind of horror film, but would have been more satisfying if we didn't have to deal with nauseating camera movements and prolonged scenes of footage faced at the wall.
  9. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    I hate to admit it but this found footage film was a success, with an stimulating plot, believable character's to an extent especially on the protagonist's part, the film gripped me with heavy tension and psychological suspense for the majority of the runtime thanks to the eerie atmosphere and jump scares that actually worked As above so below had me on the edge of my seat.
  10. Jan 14, 2015
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Had very tense and gripping moments.

    One of the better horror movies with an interesting story that keeps you thinking! The metascore is a joke
  11. Sep 3, 2014
    5
    Much better than I imagined it would be. I enjoyed the intro sequence in the Iranian tunnel system, and the lead actress is an excellent casting choice. Further, the guy from Mad Men brings some acting skill to the proceedings. It's a nice set-up, and an interesting final minute, but the final third as a whole gets fairly pedestrian for the genre. I'd still recommend this to people,Much better than I imagined it would be. I enjoyed the intro sequence in the Iranian tunnel system, and the lead actress is an excellent casting choice. Further, the guy from Mad Men brings some acting skill to the proceedings. It's a nice set-up, and an interesting final minute, but the final third as a whole gets fairly pedestrian for the genre. I'd still recommend this to people, like me, who have been in the Parisian Catacombs and may have been a little freaked out by them. Expand
  12. Sep 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As Above, So Below has the premise to be a great horror film on paper but sadly on the screen just signals the death of a genre made popular by ‘The Blair Witch Project’ some 15 years ago. Do you want to make a film but can’t be arsed? Then make a shaky-cam film as there is little or no skill required to produce an hour and a half of headache inducing wobbly action. Starting in Iran before moving to the catacombs of Paris the camera work is so frenetic that I couldn’t make out what the hell I was looking at most of the time it certainly didn’t deliver on the promise of the great setting as this could have been any old cave by the time they finally get round to going there, and that’s the films main problem it’s just dull and drawn out. I’ve been to the catacombs (one of the reasons I went to see this film) and it is a quite scary place, the person I was with had a panic attack and yet none of this comes across in the film and this is before it spirals down into a mess of supernatural mumbo jumbo which just makes the last portion of the movie laughable. Plucky brit Lara wannabe Scarlett leads her team in to the caves like a poor man’s Descent, two of her party are clearly only there to be killed off and may as well of worn a red Star Trek top each from the outset. Once inside they quest for a magic stone that has the ability to heal you if you get hurt therefore removing any suspense that might have been left in this vacuous borefest. All it took to make this film is any old cave, a group of models and a handful of Go-Pros and a way of reducing the majesty and history of the Paris catacombs into nothing more than a gimmicky footnote to get people in to the cinema. Expand
  13. Sep 2, 2014
    8
    I believe that by many people, this film has been unfairly reviewed. I went to to see it on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had a very good story which kept you on edge until the end. It had plenty of jump scares which I expect from a horror film and the actresses and actors were chosen perfectly for their roles. If anyone has been put off by negative reviews, I would suggest goingI believe that by many people, this film has been unfairly reviewed. I went to to see it on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had a very good story which kept you on edge until the end. It had plenty of jump scares which I expect from a horror film and the actresses and actors were chosen perfectly for their roles. If anyone has been put off by negative reviews, I would suggest going to see the movie for yourself and making your own judgement. Expand
  14. Sep 6, 2014
    0
    I would rather be eaten by goats than be forced to subject myself to this film again. Basically, a magic pseudo-superwoman named Scarlett who, somehow, has 2 PhDs and a Master's Degree by the time she's roughly 30 and can solve any riddle in a matter of 30 seconds, tries to unearth the mythical Philosopher's Stone. Of course, she also has the capability to solve any problem the plot mayI would rather be eaten by goats than be forced to subject myself to this film again. Basically, a magic pseudo-superwoman named Scarlett who, somehow, has 2 PhDs and a Master's Degree by the time she's roughly 30 and can solve any riddle in a matter of 30 seconds, tries to unearth the mythical Philosopher's Stone. Of course, she also has the capability to solve any problem the plot may throw at her, from lock-picking to whatever else the writer cared to dream up. The story is non-existent, the repetitive jump scares are thoroughly boring, and the over-acting is hilariously bad in parts. Avoid this film as if it were the Black Death, as it's arguably even worse than that. Expand
  15. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Don't waste the $9. Awful Blair Witch-type shake cam footage leaves it nearly impossible to watch, let alone figure out what is happening. I'm unsure as to how anyone on metacritic could give this a good review, maybe they are all the actors and crew?
  16. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    Gripping, scary movie, photogenic leads with great chemistry, fascinating settings - what's not to like? Saw this movie twice and would see it again. Weirdly scared me more on second viewing. Underrated in my view. See it.
  17. Sep 4, 2014
    5
    There's really not much to say on this one. Overall, it's just another cliché-riddled found footage film, which is disappointing, considering how much I was anticipating it, as well as its intriguing premise. Granted, there were a few intense moments here and there, but for the most part it felt kinda clumsy. Just rent it once if you're planning on watching it.
  18. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    As Above So Below is a decent incarnation of the book it was based off of, Legion of Dwellers. The key difference between As Above So Below and Legion of Dwellers, is that the book was written toward a young adult audience, and it probably won't disappoint you in the end. Go here to view the similarities. theplaintivepoet.blogspot (As Above So Below verse Legion of Dwellers)
  19. Nov 3, 2014
    0
    ¿En serio? una película de terror en una cueva donde a lo unico que le temen son a sus traumas? ¿de donde viene eso? la película es una tontería, no se explica, la trama es super sencilla, un grupo de personas va a explorar una cueva en busca de tesoros (la piedra filosofal) y resulta que esta maldita, ¿razones? ni idea, las muertes, los efectos, las actuaciones, el maquillaje, la¿En serio? una película de terror en una cueva donde a lo unico que le temen son a sus traumas? ¿de donde viene eso? la película es una tontería, no se explica, la trama es super sencilla, un grupo de personas va a explorar una cueva en busca de tesoros (la piedra filosofal) y resulta que esta maldita, ¿razones? ni idea, las muertes, los efectos, las actuaciones, el maquillaje, la fotografía... TODO PÉSIMO, no se entiende, aburre, los screamers son tontos, sin chiste, no asustan ni dan miedo, la claustrofobia que me tendría que dar no surge.
    un fracaso TOTAL!
    Expand
  20. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    I liked it. Not the best movie ever but still entertaining.

    It reminds me of those video games where you walk down hallways alone and weird things happen. Like the games that Pewdiepie plays on youtube.

    If you like scary/thriller movies, this should entertain you.
  21. Sep 11, 2014
    4
    A young team ventures deep in the catacombs under Paris in quest of secret treasure. The first hour sets up a mildly interesting mystery/adventure, but when the "horror" finally arrives, the film deteriorates into scream scares and creepy stuff that's dumb and obscure. The filmmaker also uses the found footage approach (a la "Blair Witch Project" & "Paranormal Activity"), which I find aA young team ventures deep in the catacombs under Paris in quest of secret treasure. The first hour sets up a mildly interesting mystery/adventure, but when the "horror" finally arrives, the film deteriorates into scream scares and creepy stuff that's dumb and obscure. The filmmaker also uses the found footage approach (a la "Blair Witch Project" & "Paranormal Activity"), which I find a challenging but cheesy way to tell a story. Expand
  22. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    So i was reading some of the users reviews and thought to myself. Let just try the movie.

    The movie is good you can't really see that it's a low budget film.
    The story is good not the best but it's ok.
  23. Sep 12, 2014
    3
    The same horror movie tricks every F*****g movie for the last 20 years! they need to lay off the indistry for a few years and come up with a GOOD idea AND story.
  24. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    This is one of the scariest and most entertaining found footage movies (other than [REC]). It has an overall sense of dread from the very beginning. The story and how they are hoping to get out of the catacombs is also interesting, and the ending is probably the coolest part. There is stuff that has been seen before in found footage movies, but there's enough new material to keep itThis is one of the scariest and most entertaining found footage movies (other than [REC]). It has an overall sense of dread from the very beginning. The story and how they are hoping to get out of the catacombs is also interesting, and the ending is probably the coolest part. There is stuff that has been seen before in found footage movies, but there's enough new material to keep it interesting and fresh. If you're a found footage fan, I definitely recommend it. Expand
  25. Sep 23, 2014
    1
    Found footage. Claustrophobia/cave. Gregorian. The main character, a wealthy white woman doctoral student who says she has a black belt in Krav Maga (i.e. Lara Croft but as a horror protagonist) survives. That's all you need to know; you can fill in the blanks now.
  26. Nov 24, 2014
    0
    this is the most boring and non-scary low budget movie I have ever seen..... So glad I didn't have to pay to go see this movie in the theater If you like horror movies you'll probably won't like it. The plot is nonsensical
  27. Dec 9, 2014
    3
    A horror that starts out decent and had great character development but leaves you with an ending that will have you scratching your head and questioning the rest of what you just watched. Don't get me wrong; the movie was fun to watch at the start, and the scares you really great, but once reaches the climax you aren't left or given much of an explanation and will have any fans of 'BillA horror that starts out decent and had great character development but leaves you with an ending that will have you scratching your head and questioning the rest of what you just watched. Don't get me wrong; the movie was fun to watch at the start, and the scares you really great, but once reaches the climax you aren't left or given much of an explanation and will have any fans of 'Bill and Teds Bogus Journey' convinced that this movie completely ripped off their interpretation of Death. It really did fell like the writers just didn't know how to end, what was up until then, a decent horror flick. A good watch for those that just like to be scared and don't care much for story, but any horror fan will be throwing their popcorn at the screen once the credits start to roll. Expand
  28. Jan 2, 2015
    7
    With characters on the hunt for a legendary historical artifact and solving ancient puzzles by deciphering dead languages and using their historical knowledge, it makes for a better Indiana Jones type film than it does a horror film. Even the lead actress Perdita Weeks makes for a compelling Lara Croft type given here characters knowledge, determination, and accent. It's these elementsWith characters on the hunt for a legendary historical artifact and solving ancient puzzles by deciphering dead languages and using their historical knowledge, it makes for a better Indiana Jones type film than it does a horror film. Even the lead actress Perdita Weeks makes for a compelling Lara Croft type given here characters knowledge, determination, and accent. It's these elements that make the film compelling, but the horror elements give it the extra something weird to make it unique.

    However that's also where the majority of the flaws are present. The found footage style has been done to death by now. It kind of makes sense that these characters would be filming their excursion under ground given the nature of it, but there's nothing new done with this technique to make it exciting. It would've worked without it.

    However the real issue is that there just isn't any scares. The same predictable jump tactics are present. Still, while the horror elements fail to evoke any fear they do lead to some memorable moments as the weird things that go on mess with the characters heads. There's a sense of unpredictability that you rarely see in horror movies nowadays.

    It's an entertaining movie. One that merges two genres together to create something unique and satisfying. There are some issues that get in the way like the lack of scares and the flat characters (only the main two have anything fleshed out about them), but overall it's still good enough to be worth a watch. My total score for the movie is a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  29. Feb 5, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very good movie. The lead female character is great. The supporting cast is very strong, particularly the French crew.

    I thought it was really scary.

    The only reason I only gave it 8/10 is because [MINOR SPOILER] there's a part where they translate an ancient bit of text, and all the verses rhyme in English. That made zero sense and I couldn't concentrate on the movie for a while after that happened. Then they repeat that bit a lot which just reminds me how little sense it makes for a dead language to translate into rhyming English. If not for that, this would be 10/10.
    Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2015
    4
    A truly engrossing Uncharted-meets-Indiana-Jones-esque setup is completely subverted by laughably bungled horror scenes and a series of plot developments that ultimately leave more questions about the narrative than answers.
  31. Jan 8, 2015
    5
    The movie has some very good idea's but they are not very well presented and do really feel like a good fit for a found footage movie. The cast do an excellent job for the most part with only a couple of slightly awkward and poorly acted scenes.
  32. Mar 8, 2015
    7
    I absolutely love this movie, its allot better than I expected, I don’t understand why it didn’t do well critically. I would best describe this movie as a mix of GRAVE ENCOUNTERS and NATIONAL TREASURE. It’s probably one of the most original horror movies I’ve seen in recent times. It mixes perfectly elements of Historical-Mystery- Adventure and Horror in one.

    The only criticism I would
    I absolutely love this movie, its allot better than I expected, I don’t understand why it didn’t do well critically. I would best describe this movie as a mix of GRAVE ENCOUNTERS and NATIONAL TREASURE. It’s probably one of the most original horror movies I’ve seen in recent times. It mixes perfectly elements of Historical-Mystery- Adventure and Horror in one.

    The only criticism I would have is that it’s a found footage kind of movie filmed with a hand held camera. I don’t mind these kind of movies especially if there done well and thankfully this was done well, but it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea.

    What this movie does really well in is atmosphere. For me, having a dark, creepy atmosphere is far more important to success in this genre than getting people to leap out of their seats. I would definitely recommend this movie for horror fans, you will never have seen anything like this before, it’s so difficult to find truly original horror movies and this is definitely one of them.

    “Miles of twisting catacombs lie beneath the streets of Paris, the eternal home to countless souls. When a team of explorers ventures into the uncharted maze of bones, they uncover the dark secret that lies within this city of the dead. A journey into madness and terror, As Above, So Below reaches deep into the human psyche to reveal the personal demons that come back to haunt us all. Written by John Erick Dowdle and Drew Dowdle (Quarantine, Devil) and directed by John Erick Dowdle, the psychological thriller is produced by Thomas Tull, Jon Jashni, Drew Dowdle and Patrick Aiello. Alex Hedlund serves as the executive producer.”

    Full Review @ItsMuchMore
    Expand
  33. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    This movie came out of nowhere. All of a sudden, a lot of people started talking about it. As per usual, the opinions varied between the two sides of the spectrum - the eternal love/hate attitude towards found footage horror (FFH) movies was present and strong with this one. Which meant I had to see it.
    It's no secret that I am a sucker for FFH movies, even weak ones. I always find them
    This movie came out of nowhere. All of a sudden, a lot of people started talking about it. As per usual, the opinions varied between the two sides of the spectrum - the eternal love/hate attitude towards found footage horror (FFH) movies was present and strong with this one. Which meant I had to see it.
    It's no secret that I am a sucker for FFH movies, even weak ones. I always find them fun to watch, thus I have seen almost every single one I could get my hands on. This movie, however, managed to elude me for quite the long time. For a moment I thought I was going to miss out on it, however last night, in a flash of instant uprising adrenaline, I found out that it was still screening and I went to see it.
    All that was in my head, after I came out of the cinema, was: What an awesome movie!
    I can see where the love/hate attitude originates toward this movie, however I can't understand it completely. I can't find any one good reason for myself to dislike this movie if I like FFH, or Horror in general.
    John Erick Dowdle, previously famous for "Quarantine" and "Devil" (showcasing his personal ups and downs, in my opinion), directed and worked on the script of this movie. I strongly believe that this movie is his masterpiece (until this point in time). The movie does a great job of introducing the audience into it's philosophy, it's rules which it deems valid throughout it's lenght. Some claim this is a "slow start", but I disagree. It eases in the viewer very nicely, and what many claim to be "build up" I simply see as interesting plot. In fact, this movie is more of a adventurous FF with horror elements, rather than a pure FFH. The plot is nicely intertwined with interesting facts, the whole chain of events leading the characters through it is very intriguing; entangled well enough, yet easy to follow and understand. The one strong downside I found was *SPOILERS* a moment of translation from a dead language, which in english rhymed perfectly. But I forgive the movie for this.
    All of the actors do a good job - nothing too notable, but nothing to complain about either. The sound in this movie creates a very spooky atmosphere, as per part. As typical for the works of John Erick Dowdle, there are no overuse of special effects, the movie heavily relies on symbolism and the quiet, deadly ticking of silent premonitions, if you can catch them. It's quite pleasant for a keen mind to comprehend it.
    And that about sums up everything one can say about this movie without ruining the plot.
    This movie is a mixed bag, but it's a mixed bag of goodies. As previously stated, this is the best I've seen from John Erick Dowdle. "As Above, So Below" is one of the better movies I've seen this season; it's one of the better movies I've seen this year even. I recommend it - it will be worth your watch, because it is refreshing to see a FFH driven by a good narrative, while not loosing any of it's style. Sadly, the DVD/Blu-Ray will not come out since January, so if it is still showing at your local cinema - know that it is a great pick for this season.
    Expand
  34. Nov 28, 2014
    10
    i am a big fan of horror but i never seen any horror masterpiece like as above so below. this movie was boring at first but then it get interesting very interesting! but it is a disaster full of idiots in a horror as always but omfg this movie has jump thrills and scares also i never knew that this was actually one of the best scary things i have ever seen on the big screen also it's onei am a big fan of horror but i never seen any horror masterpiece like as above so below. this movie was boring at first but then it get interesting very interesting! but it is a disaster full of idiots in a horror as always but omfg this movie has jump thrills and scares also i never knew that this was actually one of the best scary things i have ever seen on the big screen also it's one of the best of the year's horror films. Did i mention that it is one better then Paranormal Activity movies. Shaky cam thats what that i hate about horror documentary's but is writers John Erick Dowdle and Drew Dowdle trying to make this movie like their previous horror suspense , toxic pool " Quarantine" ? yes the shaky cam indeed the story much different. Expand
  35. Dec 18, 2014
    4
    Featuring some good performances from its main cast and a creepy atmosphere, "As Above, So Below", unfortunately, is weighed down by a cliché-ridden narrative and a weak premise.
  36. Dec 11, 2014
    6
    I enjoyed As Above, So Below far more than a six. I was entertained throughout the whole movie. I was very interested in the travel while in the underground caves. Visually it is so interesting. There are a few real good scares as well and I also enjoyed the cast. However, there are a lot of holes in the plot. There are a lot of questions left unanswered. The movie just has plot twistI enjoyed As Above, So Below far more than a six. I was entertained throughout the whole movie. I was very interested in the travel while in the underground caves. Visually it is so interesting. There are a few real good scares as well and I also enjoyed the cast. However, there are a lot of holes in the plot. There are a lot of questions left unanswered. The movie just has plot twist every few minutes without any warning or reason and in the ending there is still no explanation. I did really enjoy the movie but its hard to give it a better grade than six considering there are so many questions that remain unanswered. I may have to watch this movie again just to see if I can pick up more from it. There are people who will love this movie but there will also be many who will hate it. Expand
  37. Feb 27, 2015
    0
    Another moronic so-called found footage film . Hideous storyline and bad acting . Don't even go that below as the film is horrid. Stay away and watch something else.
  38. Dec 19, 2014
    0
    If you like horror movies you best look elsewhere this movie was both disappointing and a waste of money. The movie took too long to get to the climax, when it started to get there there wasn't much time left for there to be any climax, then when there was I was very disappointed with the following scenes as there was very little horror. Also the trailer gives most of the jump scared away.If you like horror movies you best look elsewhere this movie was both disappointing and a waste of money. The movie took too long to get to the climax, when it started to get there there wasn't much time left for there to be any climax, then when there was I was very disappointed with the following scenes as there was very little horror. Also the trailer gives most of the jump scared away. Don't waste your time or money on this movie. Expand
  39. Jan 14, 2015
    2
    This movie was so bad , the visuals were actually decent but the acting was horrid the story was terrible its the same trick for every horror movie for the last 20 years " oh its safe * turn around every corner* " boo" it was as scary as the telly tubbies.
  40. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    I don't understand why all the negative reviews. This movie was a hell of a ride!! It was fun and very well shot for the low-budget that it is. I was surprised that i was into it from the start despite knowing what I was in for. The script gets more interesting as the movie goes further down (wink! wink!) As long as you're not expecting academy award quality, you will have a great time. II don't understand why all the negative reviews. This movie was a hell of a ride!! It was fun and very well shot for the low-budget that it is. I was surprised that i was into it from the start despite knowing what I was in for. The script gets more interesting as the movie goes further down (wink! wink!) As long as you're not expecting academy award quality, you will have a great time. I will definitely be on the look out for future works from the director. Expand
  41. Mar 13, 2015
    4
    To the people who said they are stick and tried of found footage movies, well your not alone.

    The story is about a group of people exploring this vast city of the dead uncover something far more sinister and find the greatest threat may come from within their own haunted past. Okay am not going to lie about this but when this movie started I was thinking to myself "This is dreadful"
    To the people who said they are stick and tried of found footage movies, well your not alone.

    The story is about a group of people exploring this vast city of the dead uncover something far more sinister and find the greatest threat may come from within their own haunted past.

    Okay am not going to lie about this but when this movie started I was thinking to myself "This is dreadful" and am not kidding you. The movie began so awful and so slow paste I was already checked out. But as the film went along it started to be okay, but then the ending happened and that's where it got good. If you hate Jump scares in horror films then good luck trying to get through this movie, because Jump scares happen a lot in this movie. The characters are just they to die or to explain stuff that just happened to them. The acting is not that bad, yeah the acting was actually not terrible as thought it was going to be because found footage horror flicks have some horrible acting, but in this movie nope. The director of this movie (John Erick Dowdle) who did such movies like: Devil and the american remake of Quarantine. Well in this movie the directing is alright, nothing special. Overall As Above So Below is not great movie but it's not like "Oh my god this is the worst" no this is in the middle of alright and mediocre.
    Expand
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 4, 2014
    25
    As forewarned, so avoid.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Sep 4, 2014
    63
    Novel enough to be worth the price of admission, but you'll think twice before getting back in line for a second visit.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Sep 3, 2014
    40
    While its characters attempt to go deeper, As Above/So Below’s stabs at scares and sentiment only seem that much shallower.