Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 29, 2014
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 150 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
46
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
FleshWorldSep 7, 2014
Not bad at all for a found footage film. It only lost me slightly around the halfway mark when the literal happenings gave way to the fantastical. I do think the cast was pretty fun to watch.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
yoyomascelloSep 9, 2014
If you think hating on this movie is worth while, then you're wasting your time. This movie isn't some groundbreaking piece of found footage horror. It's important to go into a movie like this open minded, not intent on finding any andIf you think hating on this movie is worth while, then you're wasting your time. This movie isn't some groundbreaking piece of found footage horror. It's important to go into a movie like this open minded, not intent on finding any and every fault you can possible pick out of it. If you do that, go home. That being said, this movie is awesome. It gives a very serious, tense look at the research and exploring leading up to a dive into frightening caverns lined with human bones. It gives us back story and as much characterization as it needs to make it scary. You know the leading lady is determined to respect her father's life's work and she's surrounded by reluctant, loyal, or knowledgeable companions. Seriously, they're going into bone-tunnels to hell. It's obvious. Don't take this movie for more than what it is. Once they get down there and the scares start coming, there's no need for any of it, and no need to nit pick. From hooded figures to a crazed lost friend to things being upside down and carved into the rock, this movie delivers the scares perfectly, though they are measured. You have to be a little patient.
All in all, this movie goes from an intense opening, to an information-heavy first act, to a fast paced, frightening middle act and leaves any horror lover satisfied at the end. This movie won't change your life, but it's a found footage film with good scares. What else could you be asking for?
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
OrthoSticeSep 7, 2014
If you like horror movies you'll like this movie. If you don't like horror movies you probably won't like it. The plot becomes a little nonsensical at the end but if you can suspend disbelief it's a lot of fun and creepy and suspenseful throughout.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
FrankTCastleJan 8, 2015
The movie has some very good idea's but they are not very well presented and do really feel like a good fit for a found footage movie. The cast do an excellent job for the most part with only a couple of slightly awkward and poorly acted scenes.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
FipperJan 18, 2015
I don't understand why all the negative reviews. This movie was a hell of a ride!! It was fun and very well shot for the low-budget that it is. I was surprised that i was into it from the start despite knowing what I was in for. The scriptI don't understand why all the negative reviews. This movie was a hell of a ride!! It was fun and very well shot for the low-budget that it is. I was surprised that i was into it from the start despite knowing what I was in for. The script gets more interesting as the movie goes further down (wink! wink!) As long as you're not expecting academy award quality, you will have a great time. I will definitely be on the look out for future works from the director. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
moviemikey98Aug 30, 2014
I went into this with 0 expectations and a fear of this being just another run of the mill generic Descent rip off with found footage. The director of this however directed my favorite found footage film of all time which is "The PoughkeepsieI went into this with 0 expectations and a fear of this being just another run of the mill generic Descent rip off with found footage. The director of this however directed my favorite found footage film of all time which is "The Poughkeepsie Tapes". I walked out actually having enjoyed and I was also a little shaken up. This movie starts out really slow and really not all that interesting but once the crew of characters enter the catacombs this movie really picked up. It had some genuinely creep scares as well as some very unsettling sounds and imagery. This is another rare case of good acting in horror movie. This movie had all the way up until the end. The end was a cheap anti-climactic abrupt end with nothing even remotely explaining what the hell we just watched. No Clues! Nothing! Even Under the Skin (one of my favorites of this year) a nearly silent film left subtle visual hints at what was going on. This has nothing! Slow beginning, bad end but great middle with some seriously chilling scares and an outstanding visit visit from an old friend (The Grim Reaper). If you are a die hard fan of Horror movies you will most likely enjoy this.

Score: 7.2 out of 10
Legendary Pictures, 89 min. Rated R
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ItsMuchMoreMar 8, 2015
I absolutely love this movie, its allot better than I expected, I don’t understand why it didn’t do well critically. I would best describe this movie as a mix of GRAVE ENCOUNTERS and NATIONAL TREASURE. It’s probably one of the most originalI absolutely love this movie, its allot better than I expected, I don’t understand why it didn’t do well critically. I would best describe this movie as a mix of GRAVE ENCOUNTERS and NATIONAL TREASURE. It’s probably one of the most original horror movies I’ve seen in recent times. It mixes perfectly elements of Historical-Mystery- Adventure and Horror in one.

The only criticism I would have is that it’s a found footage kind of movie filmed with a hand held camera. I don’t mind these kind of movies especially if there done well and thankfully this was done well, but it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea.

What this movie does really well in is atmosphere. For me, having a dark, creepy atmosphere is far more important to success in this genre than getting people to leap out of their seats. I would definitely recommend this movie for horror fans, you will never have seen anything like this before, it’s so difficult to find truly original horror movies and this is definitely one of them.

“Miles of twisting catacombs lie beneath the streets of Paris, the eternal home to countless souls. When a team of explorers ventures into the uncharted maze of bones, they uncover the dark secret that lies within this city of the dead. A journey into madness and terror, As Above, So Below reaches deep into the human psyche to reveal the personal demons that come back to haunt us all. Written by John Erick Dowdle and Drew Dowdle (Quarantine, Devil) and directed by John Erick Dowdle, the psychological thriller is produced by Thomas Tull, Jon Jashni, Drew Dowdle and Patrick Aiello. Alex Hedlund serves as the executive producer.”

Full Review @ItsMuchMore
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueDec 18, 2014
It succeeds enough to be entertaining with what it has; which is something one should expect with this kind of horror film, but would have been more satisfying if we didn't have to deal with nauseating camera movements and prolonged scenes ofIt succeeds enough to be entertaining with what it has; which is something one should expect with this kind of horror film, but would have been more satisfying if we didn't have to deal with nauseating camera movements and prolonged scenes of footage faced at the wall. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
diogomendesDec 18, 2014
Featuring some good performances from its main cast and a creepy atmosphere, "As Above, So Below", unfortunately, is weighed down by a cliché-ridden narrative and a weak premise.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
marc5477Sep 19, 2016
A tablet written in Aramaic happens to rhyme in English when translated... yea, not a lot of brains went into this movie but for a lost footage horror film it is still one of the better ones which does say much since I have yet to see oneA tablet written in Aramaic happens to rhyme in English when translated... yea, not a lot of brains went into this movie but for a lost footage horror film it is still one of the better ones which does say much since I have yet to see one that I like. The acting was terrible, and the banter was uninteresting and mostly distracting, but some of the horror ideas were not too bad. Sure they implemented a few jump scares and other cliches but once the movie gets going you cant help but cheer for the cave to kill everyone... not I am not kidding. You actually want them all to die because they are beyond stupid but the upside is you start to think of the cave as being alive in its own right. That is what makes it interesting. Most haunted house type movies do a pathetic job of making ghosts or monsters come alive but this one does it inadvertently.

Overall an ok horror movie and by far the best found footage movie I have seen. Still dont expect something mind blowing but a good hour and a half of entertainment.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Dec 11, 2014
I enjoyed As Above, So Below far more than a six. I was entertained throughout the whole movie. I was very interested in the travel while in the underground caves. Visually it is so interesting. There are a few real good scares as well and II enjoyed As Above, So Below far more than a six. I was entertained throughout the whole movie. I was very interested in the travel while in the underground caves. Visually it is so interesting. There are a few real good scares as well and I also enjoyed the cast. However, there are a lot of holes in the plot. There are a lot of questions left unanswered. The movie just has plot twist every few minutes without any warning or reason and in the ending there is still no explanation. I did really enjoy the movie but its hard to give it a better grade than six considering there are so many questions that remain unanswered. I may have to watch this movie again just to see if I can pick up more from it. There are people who will love this movie but there will also be many who will hate it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SushiStonerDec 19, 2014
I hate to admit it but this found footage film was a success, with an stimulating plot, believable character's to an extent especially on the protagonist's part, the film gripped me with heavy tension and psychological suspense for theI hate to admit it but this found footage film was a success, with an stimulating plot, believable character's to an extent especially on the protagonist's part, the film gripped me with heavy tension and psychological suspense for the majority of the runtime thanks to the eerie atmosphere and jump scares that actually worked As above so below had me on the edge of my seat. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Austenn_ByassDec 19, 2014
If you like horror movies you best look elsewhere this movie was both disappointing and a waste of money. The movie took too long to get to the climax, when it started to get there there wasn't much time left for there to be any climax, thenIf you like horror movies you best look elsewhere this movie was both disappointing and a waste of money. The movie took too long to get to the climax, when it started to get there there wasn't much time left for there to be any climax, then when there was I was very disappointed with the following scenes as there was very little horror. Also the trailer gives most of the jump scared away. Don't waste your time or money on this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleSep 3, 2014
Much better than I imagined it would be. I enjoyed the intro sequence in the Iranian tunnel system, and the lead actress is an excellent casting choice. Further, the guy from Mad Men brings some acting skill to the proceedings. It's a niceMuch better than I imagined it would be. I enjoyed the intro sequence in the Iranian tunnel system, and the lead actress is an excellent casting choice. Further, the guy from Mad Men brings some acting skill to the proceedings. It's a nice set-up, and an interesting final minute, but the final third as a whole gets fairly pedestrian for the genre. I'd still recommend this to people, like me, who have been in the Parisian Catacombs and may have been a little freaked out by them. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
come2whereiamSep 1, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As Above, So Below has the premise to be a great horror film on paper but sadly on the screen just signals the death of a genre made popular by ‘The Blair Witch Project’ some 15 years ago. Do you want to make a film but can’t be arsed? Then make a shaky-cam film as there is little or no skill required to produce an hour and a half of headache inducing wobbly action. Starting in Iran before moving to the catacombs of Paris the camera work is so frenetic that I couldn’t make out what the hell I was looking at most of the time it certainly didn’t deliver on the promise of the great setting as this could have been any old cave by the time they finally get round to going there, and that’s the films main problem it’s just dull and drawn out. I’ve been to the catacombs (one of the reasons I went to see this film) and it is a quite scary place, the person I was with had a panic attack and yet none of this comes across in the film and this is before it spirals down into a mess of supernatural mumbo jumbo which just makes the last portion of the movie laughable. Plucky brit Lara wannabe Scarlett leads her team in to the caves like a poor man’s Descent, two of her party are clearly only there to be killed off and may as well of worn a red Star Trek top each from the outset. Once inside they quest for a magic stone that has the ability to heal you if you get hurt therefore removing any suspense that might have been left in this vacuous borefest. All it took to make this film is any old cave, a group of models and a handful of Go-Pros and a way of reducing the majesty and history of the Paris catacombs into nothing more than a gimmicky footnote to get people in to the cinema. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
bmaster4616Sep 1, 2014
This pretty good premise had promise until the **** ending. The movie was good until it tried too hard to be unique. The movie is actually one of the better unofficial "found footage" genre movies, sadly. The beginning has it's flaws, but theThis pretty good premise had promise until the **** ending. The movie was good until it tried too hard to be unique. The movie is actually one of the better unofficial "found footage" genre movies, sadly. The beginning has it's flaws, but the pace and story of the stone is actually pretty well done. There's this stone called "Philosophers Stone" (KIND of a copy of Harry Potter) that is suppose to basically heal and give the owner internal life....basically harry potter. Scarlet finds out that the stone is in Paris and they go after it. Well this is where things are actually pretty good. Creepy things happen in the Catacombs. The good thing about this movie is the one fact that plague a lot of found footage movies "why are you still filming". They move the camera onto a head light, like a go camera. So "still filming" doesn't go through the audience's minds...well that's a small good thing about the movie. After half way through the movie, the story of the stone is quite stupid and turns into a backwards and confusing premise....that's really awkwardly pretentious. Its nothing to watch in theaters....just watch it on Netflix when it arrive there in the future...just don't stay for the ending. Overall I didn't thing it was god awful, but the movie is too confusing and pretentious for its own good. 5.8 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
PixelblastSep 2, 2014
I believe that by many people, this film has been unfairly reviewed. I went to to see it on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had a very good story which kept you on edge until the end. It had plenty of jump scares which I expect from aI believe that by many people, this film has been unfairly reviewed. I went to to see it on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had a very good story which kept you on edge until the end. It had plenty of jump scares which I expect from a horror film and the actresses and actors were chosen perfectly for their roles. If anyone has been put off by negative reviews, I would suggest going to see the movie for yourself and making your own judgement. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
JohnMasterLNov 3, 2014
¿En serio? una película de terror en una cueva donde a lo unico que le temen son a sus traumas? ¿de donde viene eso? la película es una tontería, no se explica, la trama es super sencilla, un grupo de personas va a explorar una cueva en busca¿En serio? una película de terror en una cueva donde a lo unico que le temen son a sus traumas? ¿de donde viene eso? la película es una tontería, no se explica, la trama es super sencilla, un grupo de personas va a explorar una cueva en busca de tesoros (la piedra filosofal) y resulta que esta maldita, ¿razones? ni idea, las muertes, los efectos, las actuaciones, el maquillaje, la fotografía... TODO PÉSIMO, no se entiende, aburre, los screamers son tontos, sin chiste, no asustan ni dan miedo, la claustrofobia que me tendría que dar no surge.
un fracaso TOTAL!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerrySep 11, 2014
A young team ventures deep in the catacombs under Paris in quest of secret treasure. The first hour sets up a mildly interesting mystery/adventure, but when the "horror" finally arrives, the film deteriorates into scream scares and creepyA young team ventures deep in the catacombs under Paris in quest of secret treasure. The first hour sets up a mildly interesting mystery/adventure, but when the "horror" finally arrives, the film deteriorates into scream scares and creepy stuff that's dumb and obscure. The filmmaker also uses the found footage approach (a la "Blair Witch Project" & "Paranormal Activity"), which I find a challenging but cheesy way to tell a story. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
ihateregisterinSep 6, 2014
I would rather be eaten by goats than be forced to subject myself to this film again. Basically, a magic pseudo-superwoman named Scarlett who, somehow, has 2 PhDs and a Master's Degree by the time she's roughly 30 and can solve any riddle inI would rather be eaten by goats than be forced to subject myself to this film again. Basically, a magic pseudo-superwoman named Scarlett who, somehow, has 2 PhDs and a Master's Degree by the time she's roughly 30 and can solve any riddle in a matter of 30 seconds, tries to unearth the mythical Philosopher's Stone. Of course, she also has the capability to solve any problem the plot may throw at her, from lock-picking to whatever else the writer cared to dream up. The story is non-existent, the repetitive jump scares are thoroughly boring, and the over-acting is hilariously bad in parts. Avoid this film as if it were the Black Death, as it's arguably even worse than that. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
yamahachk528Sep 13, 2014
Don't waste the $9. Awful Blair Witch-type shake cam footage leaves it nearly impossible to watch, let alone figure out what is happening. I'm unsure as to how anyone on metacritic could give this a good review, maybe they are all the actorsDon't waste the $9. Awful Blair Witch-type shake cam footage leaves it nearly impossible to watch, let alone figure out what is happening. I'm unsure as to how anyone on metacritic could give this a good review, maybe they are all the actors and crew? Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
Phoenix_Wright_Sep 12, 2014
The same horror movie tricks every F*****g movie for the last 20 years! they need to lay off the indistry for a few years and come up with a GOOD idea AND story.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
thedjentman408Sep 3, 2014
I liked how everything you thought it would be about completely flew away. All the assumptions of Zombies or spirits that I had for this film were pretty far off. It turned into something much more along the lines of Mythical. Acting wasI liked how everything you thought it would be about completely flew away. All the assumptions of Zombies or spirits that I had for this film were pretty far off. It turned into something much more along the lines of Mythical. Acting was decent, visuals were stunning, the pace of the film kept you in it the whole time. There were some honestly terrifying instances; and I'm not even talking about the jump scares. As Above, So Below has been written off as "just another found footage film" but the problem with that is most found-footage films needn't be so. It actually makes sense for these people to have cameras on their heads because they're searching for something completely unimaginable. Overall it's a solid film with great dynamics and some great scares that are none too cheap. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
PocahontasOct 9, 2014
Gripping, scary movie, photogenic leads with great chemistry, fascinating settings - what's not to like? Saw this movie twice and would see it again. Weirdly scared me more on second viewing. Underrated in my view. See it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Fb29Feb 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very good movie. The lead female character is great. The supporting cast is very strong, particularly the French crew.

I thought it was really scary.

The only reason I only gave it 8/10 is because [MINOR SPOILER] there's a part where they translate an ancient bit of text, and all the verses rhyme in English. That made zero sense and I couldn't concentrate on the movie for a while after that happened. Then they repeat that bit a lot which just reminds me how little sense it makes for a dead language to translate into rhyming English. If not for that, this would be 10/10.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Mar 8, 2015
A truly engrossing Uncharted-meets-Indiana-Jones-esque setup is completely subverted by laughably bungled horror scenes and a series of plot developments that ultimately leave more questions about the narrative than answers.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
moviemitch96Sep 4, 2014
There's really not much to say on this one. Overall, it's just another cliché-riddled found footage film, which is disappointing, considering how much I was anticipating it, as well as its intriguing premise. Granted, there were a few intenseThere's really not much to say on this one. Overall, it's just another cliché-riddled found footage film, which is disappointing, considering how much I was anticipating it, as well as its intriguing premise. Granted, there were a few intense moments here and there, but for the most part it felt kinda clumsy. Just rent it once if you're planning on watching it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Sebe2012Feb 27, 2015
Another moronic so-called found footage film . Hideous storyline and bad acting . Don't even go that below as the film is horrid. Stay away and watch something else.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
AxeTMay 13, 2015
This trend of the handheld "found footage" sub genre has got to end! What was highly innovative and very influential starting with "The Blair Witch Project" has become a way for the studios to put out severely substandard fare and market andThis trend of the handheld "found footage" sub genre has got to end! What was highly innovative and very influential starting with "The Blair Witch Project" has become a way for the studios to put out severely substandard fare and market and sell it as if it were on the level of real motion pictures as we've always known them, when in fact the product is not only not worth the price of admission but not even worthy of being in theaters at all.
This unwatchable junk has the worst camera work (intentional or not), dumb inexplicable story, and is cast with non-actors. That's not a real movie! Too bad, because the premise set in Paris was a good idea unfortunately totally wasted here by going so low budget.
This amateur crap can play on the festival circuit or internet but sure as hell cannot be passed off as actual cinema.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
NinjaPowerAug 31, 2014
As Above So Below is a decent incarnation of the book it was based off of, Legion of Dwellers. The key difference between As Above So Below and Legion of Dwellers, is that the book was written toward a young adult audience, and it probablyAs Above So Below is a decent incarnation of the book it was based off of, Legion of Dwellers. The key difference between As Above So Below and Legion of Dwellers, is that the book was written toward a young adult audience, and it probably won't disappoint you in the end. Go here to view the similarities. theplaintivepoet.blogspot (As Above So Below verse Legion of Dwellers) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
TheNyanLegendJan 14, 2015
This movie was so bad , the visuals were actually decent but the acting was horrid the story was terrible its the same trick for every horror movie for the last 20 years " oh its safe * turn around every corner* " boo" it was as scary as theThis movie was so bad , the visuals were actually decent but the acting was horrid the story was terrible its the same trick for every horror movie for the last 20 years " oh its safe * turn around every corner* " boo" it was as scary as the telly tubbies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LXQUICKJUSTICEDec 26, 2014
Stupid horror movies are boring; this one isn't stupid. It tries to establish its own mythology and sticks to it. Though the mythos isn't the best thing since sliced bread, I did appreciate the filmmakers giving it their best shot. This filmStupid horror movies are boring; this one isn't stupid. It tries to establish its own mythology and sticks to it. Though the mythos isn't the best thing since sliced bread, I did appreciate the filmmakers giving it their best shot. This film is like a terrifying version of the abyss shot with headcams. They just keep going deeper and deeper into the depths of the underworld and it's a wild ride. It's worth watching once. I watched "sinister" last night, and in contrast, this flick was worlds better. The monsters were actually scary instead of some idiot wearing a tuxedo. Don't listen to people giving as above so below 0 scores because they obviously aren't bright enough to recognize what a real scary movie should be like. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
notaworryAug 29, 2014
I liked it. Not the best movie ever but still entertaining.

It reminds me of those video games where you walk down hallways alone and weird things happen. Like the games that Pewdiepie plays on youtube. If you like scary/thriller
I liked it. Not the best movie ever but still entertaining.

It reminds me of those video games where you walk down hallways alone and weird things happen. Like the games that Pewdiepie plays on youtube.

If you like scary/thriller movies, this should entertain you.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
leaveitSep 23, 2014
Found footage. Claustrophobia/cave. Gregorian. The main character, a wealthy white woman doctoral student who says she has a black belt in Krav Maga (i.e. Lara Croft but as a horror protagonist) survives. That's all you need to know; you canFound footage. Claustrophobia/cave. Gregorian. The main character, a wealthy white woman doctoral student who says she has a black belt in Krav Maga (i.e. Lara Croft but as a horror protagonist) survives. That's all you need to know; you can fill in the blanks now. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
eeykSep 6, 2014
So i was reading some of the users reviews and thought to myself. Let just try the movie.

The movie is good you can't really see that it's a low budget film.
The story is good not the best but it's ok.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
wtom62Nov 24, 2014
this is the most boring and non-scary low budget movie I have ever seen..... So glad I didn't have to pay to go see this movie in the theater If you like horror movies you'll probably won't like it. The plot is nonsensical
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
bernardrossouwJan 14, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Had very tense and gripping moments.

One of the better horror movies with an interesting story that keeps you thinking! The metascore is a joke
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Aug 31, 2014
This is one of the scariest and most entertaining found footage movies (other than [REC]). It has an overall sense of dread from the very beginning. The story and how they are hoping to get out of the catacombs is also interesting, and theThis is one of the scariest and most entertaining found footage movies (other than [REC]). It has an overall sense of dread from the very beginning. The story and how they are hoping to get out of the catacombs is also interesting, and the ending is probably the coolest part. There is stuff that has been seen before in found footage movies, but there's enough new material to keep it interesting and fresh. If you're a found footage fan, I definitely recommend it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJan 2, 2015
With characters on the hunt for a legendary historical artifact and solving ancient puzzles by deciphering dead languages and using their historical knowledge, it makes for a better Indiana Jones type film than it does a horror film. Even theWith characters on the hunt for a legendary historical artifact and solving ancient puzzles by deciphering dead languages and using their historical knowledge, it makes for a better Indiana Jones type film than it does a horror film. Even the lead actress Perdita Weeks makes for a compelling Lara Croft type given here characters knowledge, determination, and accent. It's these elements that make the film compelling, but the horror elements give it the extra something weird to make it unique.

However that's also where the majority of the flaws are present. The found footage style has been done to death by now. It kind of makes sense that these characters would be filming their excursion under ground given the nature of it, but there's nothing new done with this technique to make it exciting. It would've worked without it.

However the real issue is that there just isn't any scares. The same predictable jump tactics are present. Still, while the horror elements fail to evoke any fear they do lead to some memorable moments as the weird things that go on mess with the characters heads. There's a sense of unpredictability that you rarely see in horror movies nowadays.

It's an entertaining movie. One that merges two genres together to create something unique and satisfying. There are some issues that get in the way like the lack of scares and the flat characters (only the main two have anything fleshed out about them), but overall it's still good enough to be worth a watch. My total score for the movie is a 7.5/10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
StevesitzDec 9, 2014
A horror that starts out decent and had great character development but leaves you with an ending that will have you scratching your head and questioning the rest of what you just watched. Don't get me wrong; the movie was fun to watch atA horror that starts out decent and had great character development but leaves you with an ending that will have you scratching your head and questioning the rest of what you just watched. Don't get me wrong; the movie was fun to watch at the start, and the scares you really great, but once reaches the climax you aren't left or given much of an explanation and will have any fans of 'Bill and Teds Bogus Journey' convinced that this movie completely ripped off their interpretation of Death. It really did fell like the writers just didn't know how to end, what was up until then, a decent horror flick. A good watch for those that just like to be scared and don't care much for story, but any horror fan will be throwing their popcorn at the screen once the credits start to roll. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MattBrady99Mar 13, 2015
To the people who said they are stick and tried of found footage movies, well your not alone.

The story is about a group of people exploring this vast city of the dead uncover something far more sinister and find the greatest threat may
To the people who said they are stick and tried of found footage movies, well your not alone.

The story is about a group of people exploring this vast city of the dead uncover something far more sinister and find the greatest threat may come from within their own haunted past.

Okay am not going to lie about this but when this movie started I was thinking to myself "This is dreadful" and am not kidding you. The movie began so awful and so slow paste I was already checked out. But as the film went along it started to be okay, but then the ending happened and that's where it got good. If you hate Jump scares in horror films then good luck trying to get through this movie, because Jump scares happen a lot in this movie. The characters are just they to die or to explain stuff that just happened to them. The acting is not that bad, yeah the acting was actually not terrible as thought it was going to be because found footage horror flicks have some horrible acting, but in this movie nope. The director of this movie (John Erick Dowdle) who did such movies like: Devil and the american remake of Quarantine. Well in this movie the directing is alright, nothing special. Overall As Above So Below is not great movie but it's not like "Oh my god this is the worst" no this is in the middle of alright and mediocre.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ryanloveslanaMay 10, 2015
To me, it was not that overwhelmingly bad, I like the location it takes place in and the scares were on-fleek. It would've helped if the movie had more scares.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
stakoOct 9, 2014
This movie came out of nowhere. All of a sudden, a lot of people started talking about it. As per usual, the opinions varied between the two sides of the spectrum - the eternal love/hate attitude towards found footage horror (FFH) movies wasThis movie came out of nowhere. All of a sudden, a lot of people started talking about it. As per usual, the opinions varied between the two sides of the spectrum - the eternal love/hate attitude towards found footage horror (FFH) movies was present and strong with this one. Which meant I had to see it.
It's no secret that I am a sucker for FFH movies, even weak ones. I always find them fun to watch, thus I have seen almost every single one I could get my hands on. This movie, however, managed to elude me for quite the long time. For a moment I thought I was going to miss out on it, however last night, in a flash of instant uprising adrenaline, I found out that it was still screening and I went to see it.
All that was in my head, after I came out of the cinema, was: What an awesome movie!
I can see where the love/hate attitude originates toward this movie, however I can't understand it completely. I can't find any one good reason for myself to dislike this movie if I like FFH, or Horror in general.
John Erick Dowdle, previously famous for "Quarantine" and "Devil" (showcasing his personal ups and downs, in my opinion), directed and worked on the script of this movie. I strongly believe that this movie is his masterpiece (until this point in time). The movie does a great job of introducing the audience into it's philosophy, it's rules which it deems valid throughout it's lenght. Some claim this is a "slow start", but I disagree. It eases in the viewer very nicely, and what many claim to be "build up" I simply see as interesting plot. In fact, this movie is more of a adventurous FF with horror elements, rather than a pure FFH. The plot is nicely intertwined with interesting facts, the whole chain of events leading the characters through it is very intriguing; entangled well enough, yet easy to follow and understand. The one strong downside I found was *SPOILERS* a moment of translation from a dead language, which in english rhymed perfectly. But I forgive the movie for this.
All of the actors do a good job - nothing too notable, but nothing to complain about either. The sound in this movie creates a very spooky atmosphere, as per part. As typical for the works of John Erick Dowdle, there are no overuse of special effects, the movie heavily relies on symbolism and the quiet, deadly ticking of silent premonitions, if you can catch them. It's quite pleasant for a keen mind to comprehend it.
And that about sums up everything one can say about this movie without ruining the plot.
This movie is a mixed bag, but it's a mixed bag of goodies. As previously stated, this is the best I've seen from John Erick Dowdle. "As Above, So Below" is one of the better movies I've seen this season; it's one of the better movies I've seen this year even. I recommend it - it will be worth your watch, because it is refreshing to see a FFH driven by a good narrative, while not loosing any of it's style. Sadly, the DVD/Blu-Ray will not come out since January, so if it is still showing at your local cinema - know that it is a great pick for this season.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscNov 28, 2014
i am a big fan of horror but i never seen any horror masterpiece like as above so below. this movie was boring at first but then it get interesting very interesting! but it is a disaster full of idiots in a horror as always but omfg thisi am a big fan of horror but i never seen any horror masterpiece like as above so below. this movie was boring at first but then it get interesting very interesting! but it is a disaster full of idiots in a horror as always but omfg this movie has jump thrills and scares also i never knew that this was actually one of the best scary things i have ever seen on the big screen also it's one of the best of the year's horror films. Did i mention that it is one better then Paranormal Activity movies. Shaky cam thats what that i hate about horror documentary's but is writers John Erick Dowdle and Drew Dowdle trying to make this movie like their previous horror suspense , toxic pool " Quarantine" ? yes the shaky cam indeed the story much different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
WJSJun 5, 2015
Despite the valiant attempts of a fairly talented cast of good looking but unknown actors, the only thing this movie proves to be is a mind numbing decent into claustrophobia.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
UrbanlistenerNov 22, 2015
Lot of potential there, some pretty good moments here and there, but mostly they waste a great concept on cheap jumpscares and loud sounds like most of the horror films these days...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grantsabaMay 14, 2015
This movie is genuinely scary. Yes, the myology needs to be cleaned up a bit but many times this movie stunned and left me holding my breath multiple times. The movie doesn't rely on cheap jump scares, it also will leave you feeling creepedThis movie is genuinely scary. Yes, the myology needs to be cleaned up a bit but many times this movie stunned and left me holding my breath multiple times. The movie doesn't rely on cheap jump scares, it also will leave you feeling creeped out. What I like most about this movie though is that its not just some stupid horror movie, it requires you to think. Believe me, go and see it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SHNHorrorNetOct 6, 2015
This movie is awesome! It is really interesting that they shot this in the actual catacombs and not like the 2009 movie.
The Story is interesting and keeps you hooked. Scarlett reminds me of Lara Croft.
It has some really good scares and
This movie is awesome! It is really interesting that they shot this in the actual catacombs and not like the 2009 movie.
The Story is interesting and keeps you hooked. Scarlett reminds me of Lara Croft.
It has some really good scares and the atmosphere is creepy and claustrophobic during the whole movie.
Well done Universal now please Part 2 would be really welcomed
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Isaac_POct 16, 2015
Horror movies these days are often few well done and the rest are all cliched pieces of crap. This film is not one of those, its one of its own genre and that genre is called: AMAZING. This had amazing acting, scares, and superb storytelling.Horror movies these days are often few well done and the rest are all cliched pieces of crap. This film is not one of those, its one of its own genre and that genre is called: AMAZING. This had amazing acting, scares, and superb storytelling.
10/10 Masterpiece
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gigiharris17Nov 11, 2015
Sporadically scary and emotionally engaging.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2a068d-As-Above-So-Below-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
calebowensmallJan 23, 2016
This was a really great movie. I'm a fan of the director, and I've loved all his films. This is a disturbing scary movie, and everyone should really watch it. Don't pay attention to the critics score, watch the film. It's really good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EvasivePickleFeb 16, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OK, i rated this before. But i did not do it justly. It didnt deserve an 8 score or 7 and barely a six. Actually, it doesnt even deserve a six either. More like a 3 or 4. It goes so slow in the beginning I'm suprised i didn't die of old age. the back stories of all of the characters are cheesy (get it? Cuz' they're from france? Heh? HahahaHAHAHAH where's my cyanide!?) and the scaryness of it all? not there, kinda almost creepy-ish is the closest it comes, and most characters were bland and boring (save papillion and souxie) and as sone as they die, so does the movie. They were the dim almost kindling light that kept the deep catacombs slightly entertaining and creepy. It was a terrible goody goody happy ending and all of the wrong characters died and survived. the only reason im giving it a 6 and not a 3 is because i have a strange affection to it. despite its many many many (x Infinity) flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AginagalaNov 7, 2017
For horror fans, a great, fun, and enjoyable film. For people with common sense... not so much. The brains behind this film wasn't exactly thought out as mythologically, terms were not accurate, translations just happened to be in perfectFor horror fans, a great, fun, and enjoyable film. For people with common sense... not so much. The brains behind this film wasn't exactly thought out as mythologically, terms were not accurate, translations just happened to be in perfect English. However if you're simply looking for a good sit down movie with a girlfriend/boyfriend, a group of friends who are looking for a good scare, this definitely kept me on my toes as I felt tense through most of the film. Disturbing visuals and decent CGI, a good horror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BryceHarperFeb 23, 2018
Far shorter than my original thought. I did enjoy 'Devil', which was directed by Dowdle, so I expected it would be fascinating, but you know, things aren't turning out to be what you've anticipated it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews