As Cool as I Am

Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    Familiar faces in supporting roles don't do much for the commercial prospects of this modest film, which feels like a made-for-TV version of the prototypical Sundance-aspiring quest for identity.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    Simplistic plotting, pedestrian visuals and poorly-handled melodrama do lend the project a cheap, made-for-TV feel, which is underscored by the fact that Danes and Marsden don’t seem obliged to turn in their best work.
  3. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Jun 5, 2013
    40
    Director Max Mayer doesn’t find a way to make the ritual traumas of adolescence feel new again.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jun 6, 2013
    30
    Just when its parts should come together, As Cool as I Am crumbles to bits.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 6, 2013
    25
    Though darker elements loom in the shadows, nothing in this painfully sincere film is remotely affecting; just think of it as “My So-Called Strife.”
  6. Reviewed by: Tina Hassannia
    Jun 6, 2013
    25
    The film is the cinematic equivalent of a teenager, making everything more melodramatic than it needs to be, and impatient with the subtle details of life.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 1, 2016
    6
    A Cool kind, but suddenly feeling the real life pressure!

    Another teen comedy-drama, precisely to say a coming-of-age theme based on the
    A Cool kind, but suddenly feeling the real life pressure!

    Another teen comedy-drama, precisely to say a coming-of-age theme based on the novel of the same name. It is not from the big production house, but the well known faces make it a worth a watch and their performances were too not bad. The tale of a teen tomboy girl Lucy, whose father visits home often who works in Canada and her mother is an easy going type. It's about a time for her sexual exploration and the first choice is her best buddy Kenny. But quickly the things around changes which forces her to opt the life she wants and what follows is how it all shapes up before bringing a curtain to the narration.

    I felt like wanting to give it a better rating, at least it deserves a decent respect, but narration had lots of up and down. That does not matter, even for how a tale begins, but the ending should have been a better one where I slightly disappointed with it. Sarah Bolger looked solid, totally one man show you could say. Maybe that is how the story was designed, but that did not stand a chance to impress me, because I thought it leaned excessively on her alone leaving other characters less developed. Anyway, it could also be said like this that it was her story which lacked the good support.

    It is not just a coming-of-age film, but when you look at how the story ends, that's kind of self-discovery. Maybe the girl was caught between the teenhood and adulthood, especially in the climax it leaped forward too long. The hardest part is the R rating for a teen film, though there were none nudes, even in the sex scenes, but the film topic itself highly influenced by those like experiencing and moving-on in the life. So the film is not worth going after for a watching by someone's recommendation, only when you get an opportunity without much options you could try it.

    5.5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    4
    "As Cool As I Am" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: The cast was solid and did a good job with what they had to work with. Sarah
    "As Cool As I Am" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

    The Good: The cast was solid and did a good job with what they had to work with. Sarah Bolger was absolutely fantastic. I have seen very little of her, but if she turns in performances like this one, then I look forward to seeing more of her. The story is a decent one and the first half is extremely interesting and thought provoking.

    The Bad: It falls apart in the second act and goes from pretty good to bad. Parts of the story stop making sense and several characters suddenly become downright unlikeable. The ending was poorly done and abrupt. A lot of buildup with no pay off.
    Full Review »