• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jim is an average New Yorker living a peaceful life with a well paying job and a loving family. When the economy crashes, Jim suddenly loses everything. Filled with anger and rage, Jim snaps and goes to extreme lengths to seek revenge for the life taken from him.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    May 8, 2013
    40
    An hour of these repetitive, predictable disasters should wear down all but the most bailout-hating viewers.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Macfarlane
    May 8, 2013
    38
    Uwe Boll's insistence on plugging genre tropes into his imagined idea of populism returns us to the same cynical place as Postal, except with none of the sizzle.
  3. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    May 9, 2013
    20
    It's not the worst idea for a revenge fantasy, but Jim's payback is so lacking in logic and reality, not to mention tension, that it proves more laughable than cathartic.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    May 9, 2013
    16
    What’s obnoxious is that it’s never in doubt where Assault On Wall Street is headed, and it seems to believe there’s a certain poetry to taking its time turning Baxford into a non-verbal Travis Bickle.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    excellent movie, hit on all points of the wall street mafia criminals who suck-up wealth from the entire American population. confiscation of Americans wealth thru printing of paper money-inflation-graduated tax system-- ensure the u.s. private central bank (federal 'reserve) get more and more of American's earnings. the terrorists live on wall street and in the fed bank and quietly kill many American's thru confiscation and theft of American's wealth. but that is ok...they usually do not use guns in your face but use computer systems and political spin. no blood on the street, so, no crime, eh?
    great, great movie....material that mainstream-production studios, tied to the white house, know better than to touch, as do 'a' list movie stars. all actors-actresses had guts being in this movie...THEY are patriots. the wall streeters are terrorists and traitors against America. they will burn it all down. this movie points the way and yes, you too, are in for it. just wait. in 10 years kids, your dollars will buy little to nothing.
    we knew, we knew, we knew, main street critics would hate hate hate this movie!!! knew it. it exposes the white asses of their masters, the wall street boys and the fed bank boys. look for more 'independent' movies like this AND expect the same reviews by main stream critics....the main stream critics must slam movies like these....their masters order them and pay them well to slam it. hey critic boys, you and your masters will lose. we will bring you down.
    Expand
  2. May 13, 2013
    9
    This film is a nice movie, have a contemporary approach to social problems, have in mind the low budget too, you cant expect the lord of the rings with a budget like this. may sound dangerous but is a cathartic experience. A must see for reflexion Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    At first: I hate Uwe Boll for what he usually does and creates with a passion. BUT this movie was actually pretty interesting and decent. Believable characters, interesting story, heck even the soundtrack had something! Especially John Heard, Erin Karpluk and Dominic Purcell sold me on their characters. I have to agree that the ending is a bit "I don't think it would be this way", but hey the rest was as I said pretty decent. So as much as it hurts me, I have to give this movie a 8, because I wasn't bored a second while watching it while the ending being the only little downside of it. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2014
    6
    Assault on Wall Street is a good movie, not a great movie or a movie you'll want to watch again anytime soon, but it's a good movie. It's a revenge themed movie that works well for what it is. The set up involving a armored car security guard and his sick wife dealing with compounding medical bills that force them into a debt spiral they can't get out of touchs real life in America these days. The first half of the movie does a good job of setting up what makes Jim seek revenge. We're able to sympathize with Jim during these moments and see how he could come to this conclusion. The way it's acted though is another story, some of the actors in this film are a little surprising. Veteran actor Keith David has a role as an NYPD officer who's been in the vice grip of debt before, we also have Edward Furlong playing Jim's best friend and co-worker. Both of these actors do well in their roles and it's nice to see Edward trying to rebuild his acting career. The main character though, Jim, played by Dominc Purcell comes off as just above wooden. He seems like a great guy, but he would come off in real life as creepy, someone you would keep your guard up around. He delivers a fair performance, but I think someone else could of played the part just a little better. The second half of the movie is where it begins to hit the fan as Jim loses it and takes out his frustration and anger against those on Wall Street and for the most part these scenes are done quite well. The action is good and Uwe Boll doesn't shy away from showing some blood and gore. The ending is somewhat of a mixed bag for me, as I kinda agree with it, yet think it shouldn't have happened another way. Assault on Wall Street won't become a action classic, but it 's worth a watch, especially if you hate the **** on Wall Street. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2014
    5
    Its an ok movie. Guy finds out he has lost money because he was cheated by this bank who lied about his investment and as a result looses his job, his wife and goes on a revenge spree against corrupt bankers. Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    Assault On Wall Street is nothing like you expect it to be, at least not until the last 15 minutes. Jim Baxford (Dominic Purcell) is a normal, hard working, family man, until his wife gets sick. Through a series of hardships Jim and his family go bankrupt, leading to an unspeakable act, that causes Jim to lose control. This film had all the makings of a terrific action movie, but that's not what we got. For over an hour, we watch the story of Jim's life slowly pass us by. What should have taken 25 minutes, takes up almost the entirety of the film, it was absolutely ridiculous! We meet Jim and his family, see what the issues are, and then, nothing for quite a while. Prison Break's Dominic Purcell stars in this thing and he is one of the best young action stars they could have gotten to star in this movie. It just really drives me crazy to see how obtuse the writers of these films can be. The lead character was cast, almost to perfection, while at the same time, you have a relatively good story to build upon, yet the film goes nowhere! By the time anything actually happened here, I was already fed up and disinterested. Assault On Wall Street looked like it was going to be a can't miss action/thriller. Instead, bad directing and perfectionist writers just completely destroy everything they have going for them and deliver a film that eventually becomes unwatchable. Collapse
  7. Oct 20, 2014
    0
    This is without doubt one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Bad cardboard acting, cliche characters, awful soundtrack, lame 80's cinematography and a ridiculous and morally bankrupt premise. This film is absolutely atrocious. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers