Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After leaving their company Christmas Party together, David Hargrove and Emily Brandt's impromptu first date takes an unexpected turn when their coworker, Corey, asks them to make a late-night stop at an ATM. What should be a routine transaction turns into a desperate struggle for survival when an unknown man appears outside the vestibule. With the wintry temperatures dipping below freezing, and the morning sunrise still hours away, they have no choice but to play the man's deadly game of cat-and-mouse. (IFC Midnight) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Mr. Brooks capitalizes on antiseptic, fluorescent interiors, while the score, by David Buckley, nicely accents stress points.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Apr 3, 2012
    50
    After memorably sealing Ryan Reynolds in a coffin in "Buried," screenwriter Chris Sparling's attempts to make a two-ATM vestibule equally claustrophobic are less inspired.
  3. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Apr 5, 2012
    40
    Even by the most lenient of genre standards, the behavior of the characters in David Brooks's ATM is ludicrous enough to make anyone grind his or her teeth in frustration.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 5, 2012
    40
    While ATM does offer a few jolts, we're paired with bland characters and an underrealized premise.
  5. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Apr 11, 2012
    40
    Seems assembled from autopilot thriller material, with most of the dull dialogue devoted to plugging potential plot holes rather than anything resembling logic.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 29, 2012
    38
    If both good and evil characters don't behave in ways that make sense vis-à-vis their circumstances, any sense of terror quickly dissipates.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 4, 2012
    25
    No, the indie horror movie ATM is not about a psychotic automated teller that charges the steepest of convenience fees - your life! - but it isn't much smarter than that premise, either.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    For all of the negative reviews, let me just say that this is a very entertaining thriller, and it was interesting to see Josh Peck in a thriller, and the part he played was different, but he did well. The movie is somewhat scary because many people can relate to that type of situation, ATMs are scary places at night. I'm not gonna spoil anything but I will say that the reason it didn't get a 10 from me is the ending. It wasn't the best ending I have seen, but not the worst either. If you are looking for an entertains movie as a time waster, then this is the perfect movie for you,but if you are looking for a very logical movie with a big twist, then watch something else. I enjoyed it though, and I would probably enjoy a sequel. Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    ATM is very reminiscent of classic horror movies such as The Shining, Halloween, and Misery and seems to draw from modern successes such as The Strangers and The Collector. The film is simple, which clearly works to it's advantage. There is, thankfully, no nudity or vast amounts of unneeded gore or profanity either. It is clear and to the point, three victims trapped in extreme conditions by a mysterious killer.

    Honestly, my wife and I loved this film despite the extremely low and negative reviews it has been given. Furthermore, I'd probably place ATM as one of my top 15 favorite horror films. It's all here, good acting, tense scenarios, suspense, action, horror, and intrigue. The film doesn't draw anything out and flows extremely well from beginning to end. We even found ourselves actually liking the characters!

    If you like movies with extreme conditions, survival, horror elements, scarcity of unneeded gore and profanity, and a straightforward plot, look no further. ATM satisfies its purpose. A highly engaging and entertaining film.
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    This movie is boring in the beginning. Images don't really explain much, just made me confused. Takes too long to get to the main plot. Some predictable parts. Many loose ends. Ending suggests sequel maybe?? Bland characters, just explains that they are co-workers. Despite all that criticism.. I would highly recommend this movie to others. Good late night movie. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    ATM, cool idea, but bad development. The idea is good (but some strange), the beginnig is good, after we have some great and scare moments, but finally is like a boring movie. The cast is really good, but have some terrible moments. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    ATM, a horror/suspense film with average performances and above acceptable suspense has an ending that will make you wish their were a sequel. Full Review coming soon. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2012
    3
    A concept with promise that falls apart in the end. The main flaw in "ATM" is that it's really about the villain, yet focuses the entire time on the heroes. Our main characters are boring cutouts, who only bring good acting to the table after a bland setup (helped along immensely by an implausibly ill-equipped friend), and after a stop in an ATM find themselves trapped by a mysterious man outside. The thought processes and decisions made early on come off as smart and reasonable enough, but the loosely-written conclusion is where any well-developed plot deflates. The implication in the ending is that the villain set everything up to frame this man, and this is something he does habitually, but how could he pull that off? There are so many loose ends left that, from the standpoint of law enforcement, would seem rather big question marks as to the certainty of our main character being the "guilty" one. How would they explain the busted-up door in the back, or the man he burned who was sitting in a lawn chair, or the sequence of events and murders, or the friggin' CAR driven into the ATM? And if this is something he does habitually, wouldn't the police catch on? Would they really believe that a string of very unusual ATM multiple murders would be a result of random individual psychopaths and not perhaps something simpler and more obvious? It just doesn't work - ATM is a cool idea written ultimately into the ground. Collapse
  7. Mar 4, 2013
    2
    Terrible movie, not realistic and extremely stupid. Is more a parody than a movie. Remind me about Frozen.
    I really don't suggest it to no
    one.
    Is the only ATM placed nowhere, with no alarm, they don't have mobiles and as usual no one is passing there. Omg is really a parody of an horror movie.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers