Attack the Block

Attack the Block Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Attack the Block is a fast, funny, frightening action adventure movie that pits a teen gang against an invasion of savage alien monsters. It turns a London housing estate into a sci-fi playground. A tower block into a fortress under siege. And teenage street kids into heroes. It’s inner cityAttack the Block is a fast, funny, frightening action adventure movie that pits a teen gang against an invasion of savage alien monsters. It turns a London housing estate into a sci-fi playground. A tower block into a fortress under siege. And teenage street kids into heroes. It’s inner city versus outer space. (Optimum Releasing) Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 26, 2011
    100
    Starring a tough-minded band of scrappy teens who actually do some solving, it's the movie "Super 8" wanted to be - or should have been.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Jul 26, 2011
    90
    The smartest, funniest cheap monster-movie import this side of June's "Trollhunter," Attack the Block is a near-perfectly balanced seasonal trifle: Anchored in social realism yet determinedly goofy, it's neither too eager for laughs nor overtly preachy.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 28, 2011
    88
    It's hot, fierce, funny, vicious and ready to bite, baby.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Jul 24, 2011
    80
    There's a vaguely Spielbergian quality to Cornish's skill at balancing the sense of shared adventure with genuine danger.
  5. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 1, 2011
    75
    The movie is more interested in making viewers consider its disenfranchised protagonists from a fresh perspective. The fact that the film accomplishes this without a trace of gooey sentimentality is a small miracle.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 28, 2011
    75
    The picture's finale isn't as smart as it ought to be. Cornish tries to make a damning social statement, but the only thing you take away from the movie is how cool it is to kick alien ass.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 28, 2011
    0
    Attack the Block is the other alien-invasion movie opening today, the lousy one, the one from Britain. In Britain, it's probably just a regular bad movie, but here - with accents that are barely comprehensible and in-jokes about council flats, not to mention a swerving handheld camera and some of the cheapest effects since "Night of the Lepus" - it's surprising this thing ever got released.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Every now and then a movie comes along which just gets everything right. Attack The Block has humour, good visuals, a great cast that managesEvery now and then a movie comes along which just gets everything right. Attack The Block has humour, good visuals, a great cast that manages to steal every frame they're in, a fitting musical score and camerawork that just draws you in. The accents are marvelously well done. I'm not a native English speaker but it was no problem for me to keep up with what was being said. (Admittingly, I did view the movie with English subtitles). Absolute recommendation for fans of science-fiction and British comedy. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    One of the best films to get to the cinema in years. Absolutely refreshing change to the tired old Hollywood clichés. CapturesOne of the best films to get to the cinema in years. Absolutely refreshing change to the tired old Hollywood clichés. Captures youth culture and class inequality perfectly. A clever film with enough humour and atmosphere to keep you enthralled from start to finish. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of the better movies I have seen recently. Its nice to see a summer movie that doesn't just focus on huge amounts of action andDefinitely one of the better movies I have seen recently. Its nice to see a summer movie that doesn't just focus on huge amounts of action and massive explosions with boring characters and very little character development. It's a mix of action, horror and comedy with an interesting plot and setting, a good script, some great acting. A great directorial debut from Joe Cornish and hope to see more from him and the cast of actors in the future. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    If we have seen one alien invasion movie then we have seen them all right? Wrong. Attack the Block brings a new wave of energy to the sci-fiIf we have seen one alien invasion movie then we have seen them all right? Wrong. Attack the Block brings a new wave of energy to the sci-fi genre. Director/writer Joe Cornish shows his respect for the genre but isnâ Expand
  5. Doz
    Dec 6, 2011
    7
    Enjoyed this way more than I should of and I really don't know why.... poor acting, bad story with crappy effects but that's what the makesEnjoyed this way more than I should of and I really don't know why.... poor acting, bad story with crappy effects but that's what the makes this movie quite good - it never bothers to justify itself. I love films where the producers just decide to go for it most for a laugh Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    The alien movies will never be the same.
  7. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    This movie teases you initially with extraterrestrial comeuppance being visited on thuggish criminals and deftly defies your expectations byThis movie teases you initially with extraterrestrial comeuppance being visited on thuggish criminals and deftly defies your expectations by centring the plot firmly on them and their triumphs. Unfortunately at that point you're left with zero empathy for the protagonists and the film settles into a waiting game whereby time passes while you continuously hope they meet unfortunate ends. The humour present in the film doesn't counterbalance this deep central flaw. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Directorial Debuts Since 1990

    Ranked: Best and Worst Directorial Debuts Since 1990 Image
    Published: August 4, 2011
    A pair of new films from first-time directors, "Attack the Block" and "Bellflower," are receiving strong reviews. Where do they rank among the best and worst directorial debuts in recent years? Find out inside.