User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2560 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    I legitimately have no idea how this film has been getting so many positive reviews. Someone once said great films were a combination of technical innovation and artistic achievement. While Avatar certainly nails the technical side, it's artistic half leaves a lot to be desired.

    A by-the-numbers cookie-cutter plot with poor writing and awful dialogue.
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    3
    While a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of the worst movie stereotypes. We have the badass soldier chick, the angry army commander, the hero who just wants to do the right thing, and the industry crazed maniac.

    It took James Cameron 2h 40m to tell a story that Disney managed to tell in half the time.
    Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Despite "Avatar"'s heavy plot, Blockbuster king James Cameron impresses us with fantastic visuals and CGI of the Na'vi and human battle scenes in (Le Gasp!) 3D.
  4. Jun 19, 2011
    3
    If Pocahontas was a 3D live action film starring blue people, this would be the result.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    Avatar is no doubt my least favorite film of all time for one simple reason: it is everything wrong with Hollywood. Over-budgeted production cost, the lure of 3D to draw viewers, manipulative characters and political messages, and the complete lack of depth in the characters and story plague this beautiful looking film. To say that this film is bad would be a lie, but I despise this film so much due to it's one-dimensional characters and predictable and unoriginal story. James Cameron has done some great work in his career (The Terminator films, Aliens, [and even] Titanic), but Avatar is not among that prestigious list. Avatar only goes to prove that visual effects and action scenes do not guarantee a good film. For example, 12 Angry Men is one of the greatest films ever and it contains no action, CGI, and lacks multiple locations; the entire appeal of the film lies in its strong characters, dialogue, premise, and confrontations. Avatar lacks all these quintessential elements, and therefore suffers. Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2010
    5
    James Cameron has returned from the deep abyss that was Titanic to create something truely remarkable. Avatar is a film shot in digital 3D. However it far suceeds, in terms of techincality, recent films such as Beowulf and UP. It really is a marvel of architecture. The expressions on the faces of the characters are scaringly un-canny, and the same goes for the environment in which they live in. However all that said, there are some downfalls of this film. For example, the story is extremely thin. It is very easy to get caught up in the beauty of this film, and forget about the cliche full narative, that frankly, if you noticed how bad it was, leaves you feeling like a bit of a sucker. It follows an ex marine called Sam, and is set in the decade of 2050. It starts on board a space ship, that is approaching a fictional planet named 'Pandora'. We later learn that it contains a very valuable substance, and thus why the Americans decide to invade. Sam is chosen, and this is where the 'Avatar' comes in. It is basically a suit that he wears during the time he is in the simulation pod (that allows him to travel to Pandora) it disguises him as one of the 'Na'vi' (the big blue aliens). His goal is to persaude the Na'vi to move away. However in typical fashion he falls in love with one of the indeginous, and we have a classic story. A sort of good cop bad cop scenerio. The good guy being Sam who decides to betray the US and save the Na'vi. The bad guy being an Army General that wants to invade, however he did resemble a character from Toy Soldiers. Without giving away too much, we end up with a happy ending, that like I said earlier, fails to satisfy. However, if you mangage to ignore the story, and just marvel at the CGI, you will be pleased, this is one you have to see on the big screen though, and if you can, see it in 3D. In short it's the cherry without the cake, glamorous but with the essential bits missing. Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    My favourite film; of ALL time so far. Perfect effects, and I can honestly say, it was the first film I ever saw at the cinema with which I didn't want to pause and walk out for a couple of hours. The ONLY film. Greatly looking forward to the sequel. There really isnt much I can say about this film apart from, it ticks every box. Just next time, Cameron, jazz the plot up slightly? This film was nominated for an unbelievable 128 awards, which includes 4 Golden Globes. If that isn't enough to convince you to watch it (if you're one of those rare people who hasn't seen it already) then just take (At the time of writing) 1,309 positive Metacritic reviews. Completely epic, and only 40% live action, with the other 60% being made up of the greatest technologically advanced CGE. The highest-grossing film ever made, by a large margin. ( 0.8 Billion US Dollars more than its closest competition, another of James Cameron's films, Titanic. In total, Avatar has so far made $2.6 Billion.) So in-depth was the making, a 1,000 word language for the Na'vi was created. No wonder it took 16 years to make.
    10/10. Why? Because it's a masterpiece.
    Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    Sure, the visuals are distinctive enough but that doesn't excuse the lazy cut-and-paste job done with the script. We've seen this exact story done before numerous times before and done better. A lot of people seem to think that the visuals make up for it but in the end this film is nothing more than a tech demo at best.
    A real shame.
  9. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the most overrated piece of politically correct, anti-American garbage I've ever seen. This movie is about a man who betrays his own country! How is that "heroic" or worthy of admiration???So, it has cool special effects. Whoopty-f***ing-do! I can't believe this piece of crap movie was so beloved by everyone. Apparently, pretty colors and cool explosions are all the typical modern consumer cares about. How sad. Expand
  10. Aug 11, 2010
    4
    Looks good but painfully cliched. I for one would recommend a rent just to see lovely it does really look, but it doesn't take long to find how shallow the charachters truly are
  11. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    I had heard a lot about "Avatar" before seeing it, and the general complaint from most was the movie's lack of originality. Having seen the movie, I would agree that the premise is nowhere near unique, but to me originality shouldn't be the basis for judging the quality of a film. More than anything a truly great movie should be striking, and Avatar is precisely that. James Cameron used his budget ($237m) to create one of the most engrossing environments to ever grace the screen, and pushed the 3D technology (which I don't even like) to the limit. The result is pure spectacle; behind me in the movie theater there was a family with three children and throughout the 2 1/2 hours there were constant exclamations of "Wow!" and "Oohh!" I would have been slightly annoyed had I not realized I wanted to say the same things, and for a movie to revert a hardened critic like me to a world of pure escapist wonder, I have to give the film credit. Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2010
    3
    Nowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be able to get around based on special effects alone and Avatar is a prime example of this. It made a lot of money because it was visually great despite how bad it was a movie. I'm very happy that this crap didn't pick up a Best Picture Oscar, it didn't deserve it. Expand
  13. Aug 13, 2011
    3
    Avatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, the film fails miserably. Every single character in this film is not only uninteresting but undeveloped. Think about it... what do you REALLY know about Jake or Nyteri? The dialogue is also horrendous. At times my jaw dropped at how uninspired the lines were. "I see you" in particular feels cheesy and overused. Then there is the awful love story. It is without a doubt one of the worst development of a couple I have ever seen in a film. We go from Nyteri HATING Jake to them occasionally nudging each other and laughing to...well them doing under the tree of souls or whatever it's called. I know months have passed in the story, but only 45 minutes have passed to us, and nothing in the film explained or showed how their feelings grew for each other. Giving someone a meaningful look once doesn't count as developing a couple. To top it off, this movie is excruciatingly long. By the time you see it for the second or third time you will be constantly checking your watch. It just won't end! The film could have easily cut 20-30 minutes. While there are a lot of pretty images, the plot and characters are pretty ugly. Expand
  14. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Most critics have just praised it for its just stunning visual effects and 3D effects, but I find its story to be incredibly powerful and moving with just enough emotional depth added in there. I give this film 93%.
  15. Jan 24, 2012
    2
    Visually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting is terrible, the plot not only sucks but is a complete rip off of Dances With Wolves, and its incredibly boring (I was only entertained in 3 very short parts in the entire film). Sorry but the visuals can only get you so far in my book and this film just doesnt cut it imo. Expand
  16. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    My only wish is that they would have made the movie an hour longer. You don't want to leave Pandora. What a truly amazing creation of a world and culture.
  17. Sep 2, 2010
    7
    First time watching this your not going to have any negative points, as it will win you over with graphical wizardry. And boy, are the graphics good. With very highly realistic environments, seeing it in 3D on the big screen is something magical. Assessing the film afterwards reveals a highly weak and wooden story that is just holding the film together with the visuals. Though the storyline is utter guff, the 'wow' moments might just make this a great film. Just. Expand
  18. Dec 29, 2010
    9
    When I first watched this movie I was blown away. It is probably my favourite movie of all-time but then I seen it a second time and I kind of got a bit more bored than the last time I watched it. It's still a great movie though.
  19. Mar 18, 2011
    1
    Absolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, but thats not enough to salvage the terrible acting and dreadful script. the entire story is borrowed from other hollywood movies. it disgusts me how much people love this movie. to me this shows just how simple and shallow movie goers are. the aliens were just friggen annoying to listen to and to look at. Ive never fallen asleep in the theater, but this got me pretty close. just a boring, eye candy laced, piece of **** movie. Expand
  20. Apr 9, 2011
    0
    this movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overall unnecessary, it could have got by without it. as for story... could be wrapped up in an hour rather then three hours. the action only showed up at the "big battle" at the end other then that it was useless filler. overall: not worth the money or time



    (on a side note why did it look like all the aircraft look like it was ripped out of Halo?)
    Expand
  21. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    Despite almost being a spin off of Dances With Wolves, the ridiculously beautiful visuals, believable and likable characters, and successful good Vs. evil theme makes this movie one of 2009's best
  22. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Ok listen for all you bad reviewers: If your not looking for an action movie, go watch a freakin romantic comedy. Thats not this movie. The effects are amazing and stop bring the stupid, childish Pocahontas or whatever into this film. They're nothing alike. This movie was rated better then Titanic and has awesome plot and idea and characters that are realistic.
  23. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    Most overrated movie in history. The only good thing about Avatar is the visuals. The world is pretty to look at but.. well, there's nothing there. The story is horrible, the characters annoying, and the scenarios they find themselves in absolutely ridiculous
  24. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This is what you call A Great Movie. It will live on as that for a while and perhaps forever. Avatar is spectacular, goofy, and most of all cool. Hopfully Avatar will be remembered for a while, before any other movie takes its place
  25. Aug 18, 2010
    0
    the only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in the marines, and i have a friend in training right now, i do take offense to that. this movie also rips off so many different movies such as dances with wolves. unfortunatly my brother bought this movie on blu ray instead of hurt locker which was a much better movie. to all you obsessors, dont get mad at me, because the critics agree with me!!!!! hell yea!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  26. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    another good film from james camron . not as great as id hoped and some people have said but its still worth seeing . the main problems i have with this film is its presented in its trailors as this HUGE action film . when in reality there really isnt much action till the last 20 min . considering how long it is think they coulda packed abit more in . the story is entertaining although very predictable . the visuals are just out standing pandora really comes to life . the acting is ok i didnt really feel impressed by any one . its a entertaining film that most of the family can sit down and wach and have a fun time . Expand
  27. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    james cameron, stop trying to shoving life lessons down my throat and wow me with visual effects, make a good movie without sam worthington your boyfriend.
  28. Aug 20, 2010
    3
    When I sit down to watch a movie, I'd appreciate not being beaten over the head with political agenda bull. Storyline was not only thin and shallow but also extremely distasteful, and purely immature. To me it felt like liberals vs. war-mongering conservatives; childish name calling and finger pointing. Again: when I watch a movie, I find it insulting when it's attempting to brainwash me with political agenda whether it be extreme right or left. On to the next point. The distasteful bits would be the fact that we're supposed to cheer for the aliens---While they slaughter human beings. Now this could have worked if say a large portion of the marines rallied together (representing the audience) to protect Pandora, and the bloodthirsty Corporal (and why is he so bloodthirsty? Any reason?) could have his group of evil followers. And at the end, the humans find negotiation with Pandora and 'wisen' up to their ways (because we violent humans are utterly stupid according to the story. Yes, that means you). No, the movie didn't even do that. It gave no room for redemption, and practically insults you on a personal level. Next Point: If the evil business man was really after wealth, he would've stopped the operation to gather ore. He would've gone after the wealth of medical, biological, and sociological knowledge which would have made him insanely more rich than mining would. And finally, there is the point that many people have brought up: It's a total rip-off. Pocahontas, Dances with Wolves, Fern Gully, Aliens, and Storm Troopers have all been brought up which means the storyline is over used. Movie was highly overrated, critics either don't know their sh*t, are politically biased, or are too gutless to truly critique the film. A great big middle finger to the message of the film, and much love to the artists who made such a beautiful world. Shame on those who shallowly rated the film based upon appearances. Expand
  29. Jan 4, 2011
    0
    If I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for this gigantic waste of my time that makes me squirm. OK the effects were decent. But I DO NOT watch movies for their effects. The story was adolescent and the "camera work" was marginal at best. Try watching cinema and not a 3d cartoon, you might find your artistic integrity improved. Expand
  30. Aug 26, 2010
    4
    The special effects, CG, and sound were awesome. Beyond the eye candy there is simply nothing here. As other reviewers have stated the story is cliched, and the director was trying to make an obvious political statement. I thought this detracted from the overall story. My wife was predicting plot lines and actor lines, and she never does that. The only part of the story that was not predictable were the huge plot holes throughout the movie. Expand
  31. Sep 8, 2010
    1
    Man when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film was the cgi and i dont care for 3d the story was **** the acting was **** the writing was **** the screenplay was **** everything was **** and sadly to say the directing was **** i love james cameron growing up but he has lost his touch Expand
  32. Nov 6, 2010
    4
    This movie gets a few points in my book for amazing special effects, attempting (ironically) an environmental/anti-corporate message, and a handful of exciting scenes. It is otherwise a trite and pointless exercise in box-office money making. Not only is it a pastiche of many other (better) films, but it is dumbed-down and toothless. The black and white morality, hokey 'spiritualism', and PG romance set to horrible adult contemporary music, screams "Disney!".
    On a purely technical note, some of the 'camera' work is suspect, especially those 'quick-zooms' or whatever they call them.
    I do not recommend this film to anyone above the age of ten.
    Expand
  33. Nov 11, 2010
    4
    8 is for the graphics
    0 is for the absolute lack of story originality

    It's a all visual and no story.
    Would not recommend this movie, and am glad I got it for free.
  34. Nov 13, 2010
    6
    Avatar is a great movie, but just how great is it? While I thought it was pretty cool that they based all the air and space craft on ones from the Halo series, the story was a bit of a disappointment. I was never really into Pocahontas or Ferngully when a was younger, and I was never into old movies like Dancing with Wolves, so the story of Avatar did not really stick out to me. Visually the film was quite enticing with it's colourful scenery, it was not all that interesting because of the story. Avatar had much potential, but I am not so sure it lived up to its potential.â Expand
  35. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Words cannot describe the elements in this fabulous motion picture. The director, James Cameron, has set a new standard for CGI (computer-generated imagery) films. With elements such as Sci-Fi, Action, Romance, and Drama, EVERYONE must see this movie. I have seen 400+ films in my life, and never have I seen a film that was so well produced, a film that you couldn't resist cheering at the end, because you didn't want it to end. This film has the best special effects. No other film has used this type of CGI. This movie has broken a new barrier in the American film industry, just as visiting the moon for the first time. Well done Cameron, well done. Expand
  36. Aug 26, 2011
    4
    Congratulations to the special effects and the graphics and the 3D! But, the movie itself is so ridiculous and cheesy. It's terrible. James Cameron can't write a good script. This could have been done a lot better. And, honestly, I'm not interested in watching sequels.
  37. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    Along with the graphics in this movie i personally think this was a near perfect movie!! The storyline was similar to any like it with the enemy becoming friend but there was more to it i think. Showing the love of earth and others though money is there. Understanding others before destroying them is more important.
  38. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AVATAR (or, as some seem to enjoy calling it, "The Blue People Movie", which really should be THE SMURFS, not this) is an adventurous, intense movie, and the best movie you can think of to be the highest-grossing film, both worldwide and in America. Very few parts of this actually truly ticked me off, but there were a few to name: such as near the ending, when it began to get boring (a habit many creative sci-fi films such as even INCEPTION get into); and when Grace (Sigourney Weaver) died. Expand
  39. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    Easily the most overrated film of all time. Visually it loses its impressiveness rather quickly into the film and while it may look great in 3D, In 2D is rathers boring. Not to mention the film's plot is a rip off of Dances With Wolves (Seriously check that out). Also the acting is rather disapointing and sometimes terrible. Overall its visually impressive in 3D but thats it.
  40. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    This film reaches a new level when it comes to both technology and creativity. It´s a really good created alter/reality that will hold your attention with ease during the entire ride. Visuals and atmosphere give this this movie an absolute a-status. The created world is absorbing your brain so bad that the average story won't bother you even 1 second. This one shines in utter greatness!
  41. May 18, 2013
    9
    Great visual effects, film and mounted with a spectacular photography and a magnificent art direction and stunning views, but their enrendo is not the best yet it is still a great movie.
  42. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Avatar is definitely the best film of the year, and one of my favourite films ever.
    Yes, the dialogue can be cheesy at times, but this film isn't about that: it's about visuals and about actions. And yes, a good film can be about those things, too. It definitely has some good ideas behind it (environmentalism, tradition, old ways of living vs modernisation) and those are definitely present
    in the film. The films biggest strength, though, is definitely its visual power. It is so moving and just makes you want to plant a tree, haha. It is just amazing. I'd highly recommend it to everyone. Expand
  43. Oct 16, 2010
    7
    Avatar delievers with the 3D effects and it really did feel like you were in another world from my point of view but the storyline really dissapointed me, I found it generic and very,very obvious. I guess, mostly the film is really about the out-of-this-world effects and the 3D and the storyline will suffer a bit, but,at points, Twilight was more original. I may be sounding a bit harsh but I just expected a bit more. It was good,but not excellent and not a 10/10. Expand
  44. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Forget about plot development and storytelling; it's all about the visuals here. I mean sure, the story is somewhat interesting and the characters have redeemable qualities, but this about blowing your eyeballs out of their sockets by using either dazzling beauty or monstrous explosions. If you let it be what it is, "Avatar" is a ton of fun, maybe the best film of 2009.
  45. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Visually speaking Avatar is the greatest creation ever made in cinema history.It has beautifully put together and has the best visual effects ever made. Avatar is a revolution for the genre and is basically the Star Wars of the next generation. This is Cameron's true masterpiece,and is the greatest 3-D film of all time. Many naysayers say the dialouge does not sound real and is just terribly written,but to me the conversations sounded more realistic than some films. Personally I found the dialouge intresting and very lifelike. The acting is good on the most part,with a few exceptions. The audio is also exceptionally good. The background score is good and backs up exactly what is happening,and thats not all.Explosions sound like explosions,the wind sounds like it is blowing,and embers sound like their burning. All in all this is the most entertaing sci-fi film i have ever seen.It is a must see. Expand
  46. Aug 29, 2010
    0
    It looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - no wonder it was completely overlooked at the awards nights
  47. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best movie have ever saw.
    It is cool and grate and fascinating.
    How ever give this movie a lover review than 8 is stupid and he don't know nothing about movies.
    If i am a criticizer I would give Avatar 110%.
    But i give it 10%.
    And i can"t wait no longer for the second and the third from the trilogy.
    Expand
  48. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    A complete waste of good earned money and time. I would have rather watched a racoon cross the street for 3 hours . FINAL: a deliberate piss of trash
  49. Feb 13, 2011
    4
    Save yourself some money. Blow the dust off of your old Pocahontas V.H.S, plug that baby in and TADA! Without all the glamour its the exact same thing, whithout even spending a dime! Don't be fooled people.
  50. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    Awfully clichedyl, horribly acted and scripted and stupidly over-hyped. Also lead to about two weeks of non-stop mindless gibberish from stupid 12 year-olds who seem to think that making a ridiculously high budget immediately makes a film brilliant.
  51. Feb 5, 2011
    2
    Everything about this movie is cliched and boring other than the half-decent CGI. I actually hated it. I highly advise you never to rent or even skim through this movie on television...it's a pile of ****
  52. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Avatar may not impress all audiences on a narrative level, however, its breathtaking visuals, lavishing colors, and groundbreaking special effects certainly proves James Cameron's knack for filmmaking.
  53. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    Dances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. At least the Colonel is honest and does exactly what he says he's going to do, and isn't a double talking snake in the grass like Jake Sully. This movie does a horrible injustice to fans of James Cameron, serious movie goers and manages to fall short of all the hype and positive reviews that proceeded me seeing it. So badly does it fail at being the cinematic masterpiece that so many people seem to hail it as, that I would consider it to be the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. This isn't a cinematic masterpiece, it's cinematic dreck. Expand
  54. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Film making technology so much ahead of its time. Now I know how people felt when they watched "King Kong" some 70 years ago. Best movie of all time.
  55. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    This is the epitome of pure genius! James Cameron brought to the screen one of the greatest and most ground-breaking movies of all time! Literally, words cannot describe the energy that made this film such a wonder and I would recommend this movie to anyone!
  56. May 1, 2011
    6
    A strange mixture of Dances With Wolves and Aliens makes for a an equally bizarre but visually stunning screen epic that unfortunately falls flat on its face when it comes to plot and characters. A crippled soldier is sent undercover disguised as a blue smurf to convince the natives to move out of their hometown so that the government can obtain a rare and valuable substance known jokingly as "unobtainium". Directed by James Cameron, the same man who swept the world with the 1997 epic Titanic. A movie best experienced in 3-D. All in all, good entertainment. Expand
  57. May 25, 2012
    6
    The visual effects are fantastic but there are certain points in the film that the characters are a little over-the-top. The story is original but a little bit boring. The acting is sometimes good and sometimes weird. This is certainly not James Cameron's best, but a solid one though
  58. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    Overrated. Storyline is predictable, I mean the trailer itself showed what is going to happen already. I don't care if its the highest grossing film ever. I am not going to judge the film a high rating because of that..
  59. Jul 18, 2011
    1
    Good visual and sound effects, however Avatar has a weak screenplay, which seems to be a mix of Dance with Wolves, Pochahontas and Alien. James Cameron was giving so much attention to the visual and sound that he did totally forget about the artistic part, mainly the script. Received 3 Oscars: Cinematography, Art Direction and Visual Effects, but in Avatar, the Art Direction and the Cinematography are Visual Effects. So it received 3 Oscars for the same thing: Visual Effects. Expand
  60. Oct 23, 2013
    5
    hurr hurr hurr look at me i use words like mediocre performance and other intelligent sounding words when the only thing i dont like about the movie is that its made the most money ever. Im a rebel i go aqainst what everyone else says just so i can be different from the crowd even though i secretly love this movie hurr hurr hurr
  61. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    God i hated this movie. it was stupid, boring and stupid. it didnt make sence in so many areas. its only endearing quality was when we left it running at home with the sound down. it makes a pretty screensaver!
  62. Mar 19, 2012
    2
    This score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will never watch this movie again.
  63. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    To simply put it Avatar is the most beautiful movie i have ever seen. the visuals are stunning and the story is good enough. Avatar will not be matched in the techinal world of movies for a very long time. a truly stunning spectacle
  64. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    Simply Amazing!
    In The Top 3 Movies Of 2009!
  65. May 31, 2012
    7
    My first and only time going to see a movie in 3D... it wasn't bad and didn't feel too gimmicky but it just wasn't necessary. As for the movie itself, I liked it for a lot of reasons but it wasn't the ground breaking experience it was made out to be from all the hype. My only real gripes are with the story. If the characters were at least somewhat memorable I could have given it a better score but... I don't know what it is but the vast majority of the characters just seem like actors on a set rather than real people. I've seen better character development in videogames from the 90s. The plot I thought was good but can't deny how similar it is to a number of other movies I've seen. Those things aside though I could find a lot of reasons to defend it too. I remember there was a lot of racial controversy surrounding the movie and I can't help but scratch my head at that. >_> Also the art direction is some of the best I've seen in a movie, I just wish all the cool bells and whistles were backed up by a better plot. I will say that it was probably among the most intriguing movies I saw in 2009. Expand
  66. Aug 1, 2012
    5
    Going to see this in the cinema was the biggest disappointment I ever had with a movie. Lots of amazing graphics they said, they were right, a unique experience they said, they were right. Hey guys, ever wondered what the most **** up hero of all time looked like? The main character of avatar is your answer. Big commando man asks him to politely get the "navi" to move down the road just so the earth can have some more oil. Seems fair. So they turn him into a Navi, great, now he just needs to earn their trust and lead them both to a political understanding. But no, this wanker **** their leaders daughter, attacks humans, starts a **** war, kills all the humans and is presented as some kind of role model. **** **** Something like $7billion spent on this film. Probably spent on tipping of critics so they give it a good score. A **** predictable story with HD slapped on its huge ass. Waste of space. Expand
  67. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT HASN'T BEEN LOBOTAMISED?
    Technically good but other than that it was a cowboys vs Indians movie and you know it, I'm just desperately thankful James Cameron's only working on doco's (which I won't have to care about), or unfortunately the sequal to this....
  68. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    Yes. The visuals were amazing... but that's about it. I seriously don't understand how people can call it the greatest movie of all time, the plot is weak.
    It's like a cardboard cut-out of a chocolate cake.
  69. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    It's the first movie that I saw, who made it perfect with the 3D part. But that's all. Story is boring as hell. I watched Avatar now for the 5th time, the first 3 times I just fall asleep. Sorry, I don't get it!? Why is that movie so great? Story is nothing new, but the effects are ... Yeah, I'll go and watch the visual demo of my Nvidia, it's the same ...
  70. Ndi
    Aug 18, 2013
    5
    You know how some movies and series are all story and no special effects, and they are still awesome, like Dr Who, and Red Dwarf, and animation. Well, Avatar is the exact opposite. A tech demo of what budget can do in this day and age, but that is it.

    Lame recycled story, copied scenes, it's like someone cut some scenes from other movies and re-animated them on a PC with blue people.


    The only redeeming quality of the story, frankly, is the fact that the humans are somewhat accurately portrayed. Villains, but not idiotic unexplained villainy, but a nice blend of excusable and inexcusable.

    This is a movie that is seen, not understood. Eye candy, and not a very good one at that. The people are blends of 2 Earth animals, the animals are blends of 2 Earth animals, basically, it's just a jungle people story with cream on top.

    Under no circumstances is this movie a high scorer. Tech demo, 10. Movie, 5 because of the experience. Seriously, if seeing a movie on a small 2D screen makes it sucky, then it was sucky to begin with.
    Expand
  71. Aug 10, 2013
    0
    This is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest and most glaring plot hole was the ending, when the spirit of the plant life or something brought in all the wild animals to attack the humans, even when the entirety of the preceding movie explicitly said on numerous occasions that this does NOT happen ever, for any reason. The second being 'Unobtainium', the stupidest sounding plot device ever and a large deposit just happens to be under a tree that the natives live in. Despite the numerous sub-surface mining techniques available, the CEO or whoever decided to just attack the natives for no reason, just to show the contrast between the 'perfect' natives and the 'evil' humans (white people). This movie is anti-colonialism, clearly, but it's so one-sided it's not even funny.

    Really, this is just James Cameron's attempt to create his own Fursona. The single most expensive piece of self-insert Mary-sue furry fanfiction ever created, and people treat it like it's some sort of iconic movie.

    People think this is good because it's pretty, but once you look past the glamour and see this from an objective perspective, you can see that this is bad. A rip off of Pocahontas. 3-D is a stupid gimmick anyway, they should knock that off.

    0/10
    For reasons so blatantly obvious most people miss it.
    Expand
  72. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Visually, this film dazzles and amazes. Story- this film is an overly preachy and overly long and an overblown film. I really didn't like it at all. My opinion. There you go. Oh and the 3D, made me sick.
  73. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Best movie of all time, since i have to have 150 characters, here is a long yeah. yyyyyeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
  74. Sep 27, 2013
    6
    A bland, cliched story with average acting and although the special effects are superb, it doesn't stop the film from being a mediocre bore-fest that you'll forget in a couple weeks time.
  75. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    I absolutely hated this movie because there was no plot too much romance and the CGI was a little over the top, probably the WORST MOVIE OF THE DECADE
  76. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    An absolute revolution in film making. James Cameron and his team have crafted the most detailed, involving world in movie history. Yes, the plot is a little recycled and thin, but it still proves to be timely and moving. Fascinating and completely mesmerizing. Overrated? Absolutely not.
  77. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Not quite as ambitious as I had hoped it would be when I first heard of it, but still an excellent movie. It's a great film less for the story itself than for the way it celebrates all the things people love about the space-western genre.
  78. Aug 18, 2010
    7
    Good film by action standards, but the plot had me sleeping until the action heated up. Very impressive action visuals -- obviously, but the rest of the film might leave you feeling bored.
  79. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Obviously one of the best ever movie seen in my life.Cameron is a genious who proved he can make a movie with extreme CGI.Cameron's talent is just as big as his dreams
  80. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    extraordinary film of james cameron, this film was imposible, but now, we see that we are wrong
    i don't more things for this incredible film
    very very very advisable
  81. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    Good movie but not the best i have ever seen. The plot was ok but the graphics were the thing i watched for. james cameron kudos on this one pal. not as good as titanic
  82. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    This would have been one of my favorite movies of all time if it weren't enough for more awards, more 3D special effects and a greater depth in the story, this movie would have been more epic. The music overall was one step down from Titanic.
  83. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This movie was great, and even better in 3D. James Cameron has worked really hard on this film. This is 1 of the future-set films you would want to see.
  84. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    A nice and entertaining movie that however sets its priorities on visuals rather than characters and storyline.

    I remember pre-release talk about Avatar. People already called it a colossal failure. The idea of "blue-cat people" and a $200 million budget was probably convincing. But James Cameron delivers yet again.

    Avatar is visually the most beautiful film ever made. Every piece of
    background is striking. The forests and mountains are created to give a unique and enchanting atmosphere rather than something earthly. The various beasts that roam are given such detail and life-like movement that even the scariest are a beauty on the outlook. Even the labs feel bright. The technology displayed leaves one in awe. It is so amazing that the idea of avatars becomes immediately delightful. And 3D? Avatar was built to look that way. Realistic fiction at its height.

    The soundtrack sounds tribal and classical with the drum pounds and the orchestra pieces. And it adds to the breathtaking experience visualized in Avatar.

    The storyline is pretty basic, which is a gift and a curse. It's a gift because there are no complex details to focus on. It's a curse because it is cliched. But the real reason the story falls a bit is because of a lack of full character development. Cameron unfortunately has not given enough time for the characters to grow instead he shows off the dazzling visuals. Jake Sully's transformation of character feels flawed and incomplete. At the end, it did not quite feel as though he had grown into the avatar. And the military is shown more as sadistic and greedy, something very anti-American. Sigourney Weaver's character is at first harsh and then suddenly sympathetic towards the Na'vi. That change isn't calculated well enough.

    James Cameron's previous blockbuster, Titanic, was similarly criticized before and eventually acclaimed. Whereas Titanic had good story and developed characters and stunning visuals, Avatar succeeds because of the visuals solely. However, it is still a worthy movie to watch.
    Expand
  85. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    This movie is a slighty overrated but it's still very entertaining. This isn't the kind of movie you could really watch at home though and be very entertained. This is very much a theater movie to watch in 3D if you could IMAX 3D but at home it would seem kind of boring.
  86. Oct 1, 2010
    9
    Re-watching Avatar on Blu-Ray (minus the 3D) proved to me that it can stand on it's own story. While the CG is breath-taking and far more advanced than ANYTHING that's come before in cinema history, the story itself is interesting (it's copied, but adds a spin or two) enough and the characters and acting just deep enough to hold the film up.

    It's recommended if just so you can say you've
    seen it, but it is a great movie anyway. Expand
  87. Aug 17, 2010
    6
    Truly I disliked this movie.... A lot. I'm giving it a six for special effects which were amazing. But as for the actual story it really wasn't very original. John Smith goes to the "New World" and saves the girl he loves. Doesn't this sound like Avatar? I think it was too close to Pocahontas, but some of you may think otherwise. Still, this movie was entertaining but I don't like movies with the "earth god" thing or fantasy.... It's worth seeing though, rent it for sure. Expand
  88. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    Mining Corporation after deposits on alien planet, team are sent down to inhibit the planet in native form via Avatar program, things go wrong, man befriends tribe, learns their ways, fights the evil corporate machine.
    Competent yet cliched sci-fi action fest which has plenty of thrills & spills over its 2 and a half hours.
    The CGI is very well done, as are the action sequences with the
    big fight at the end the standout.
    Where it does fall down is the awful dialogue, the ridiculous stereotypical militia & the story isn't exactly a new concept & pretty predictable.
    Expand
  89. May 5, 2011
    8
    a perfect screenplay with emotions tragedy some edge of seat scenes and a touching climax. the cast performance is good. but what makes this movie a blockbuster!! the main reasons include the perfect background score during the scenes that motivate the viewers. the picture perfect cinematography and the most visual effects ever seen. editing is also cool and does not drag. i was not bored anywhere. it was a perfect movie and one of my best action movies. Expand
  90. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    The visual effects are breathtaking and the directing is incredible. The only negative thing about it would be the plot, which is simple and common, but all the rest, visuals, sound, directing, actors, are very, very good.
  91. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    You have to see this film in 3-d to apprecciate it. That being said, Best movie I have ever seen. The visuals make you feel as if you are in that world. The storylines having some political meaning about todays wars. The story of love between two completely different beings. Yeah its pretty mind blowing.
  92. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    Alright this is an enjoyable movie, more so than most other blockbusters available. But that's just it, it's a block buster, the story is basically pochahontas with smurfs (just ask trey parker and matt stone) but nonetheless you will find yourself sucked in by the very pretty world of pandora. If you are an independent film maker or stuck up critic you will hate this movie with a passion, fortunately though most people can't be classified as such and can accept a movie for what it is, a bit of entertainment. Either way this is certainly worth seeing, more so than some higher brow films. Expand
  93. Oct 23, 2012
    9
    Now Avatar is one of those movies you see at the movies and love it more than anything else after seeing it. However when you watch it again you realise it was because you were so overwhelmed with the small things in the film and focused on the fantastic parts instead of anything else. I thought that way after seeing it but Avatar will never live up to the likes of Star Wars, Blade Runner, E.T. or Inception as examples of sci-fi films that will never have equals.

    This movie is still entertaining but it is not fantastic storytelling. It's a good set up for climactic action scenes at best. Jake Sully was a likeable character but he was the nobody-becoming-hero kind of character. The characters are as familiar as cookies. They're made of the exact same recipe that's been used over and over making it lose its speciality. However Avatar can't be denied of its ambition in trying to deliver an epic scale cinematic experience.

    I thought this was one of the top movies of 2009 and thought it as a favourite movie of mine, but my opinion of it has diminished somewhat, but I still love it in my own way, not like my love for Star Wars or Lord of the Rings.

    You need to see the movie in 3D to be able to fully appreciate how well made it is. All the negative reviews probably saw the 2D one instead of the authentic version. Now they've FINALLY released the movie on 3D Blu-Ray we can all purchase the version we loved in the cinema and watch it at home any time we want to.

    As a storytelling movie it isn't all that impressive. As an experience it is amazing especially when you're watching the 3D version of it. I think people never cared for the experience or exploration of Pandora; they just wanted to make fun of the guy who made Titanic, the movie that was once the top-grosser of all time that was defeated by Avatar.

    Avatar is a good time at the movies but beware the trolls of this movie. Don't listen to them. Watch this movie and see for yourself and it's okay if you love it or hate it or anything else in between. It's not the best movie ever made; there are better films, but Avatar is great escapism for those looking for a sci-fi fantasy movie to help escape their own boring lives.
    Expand
  94. Oct 28, 2010
    7
    Not totally blown away, but i was thoroughly entertained by it. But the film's strongest point is definitely the visuals. Pandora is beautiful and looks realistic. The story, though unoriginal, is still effective for this film. The dialogue, is bad sometimes, and decent in others. Definitely not a strong point. But if this film needs people to root for, its easy to tell who. If you want 3 hours of great visuals and nothing else, this is your movie. Expand
  95. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    In my top 5 movies of all time. I'll start with the obvious. Visually stunning. I have never felt so submerged into the movies environment. I literally felt like I was flying with Jake and Neytiri on my own Banshee. I didn't even care that the story was unoriginal. The Lion King wasn't an original story but its still fantastic. Everything James Cameron touches turns to gold. The only reason people don't like this movie is because of it's anti war message and because they think it makes the USMC look bad. Get over it, its a movie. Shouldn't have lost the Best Picture Oscar to The Hurt Locker. Expand
  96. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    If you see this in 3D you will constantly be amazed the fantastic visuals and 3D effects. Avatar is an amazing looking film that will impress everyone, However, if you are looking for amazing characters and story it is not in this film. The story and characters are unoriginal being recycled and two-dimensional. So a lot of whether or not you will enjoy this movie will depend on how much those to aspects matter. If you just want to see amazing visuals you’ll have a great time being blown away by this movie and forgetting for most/all of the movie how unoriginal the characters and story are. However, if characters and story matter a lot to you, you will be disappointed in this film as they are recycled from countless other films. For me I really enjoyed the visuals and they kept my interest throughout the film. The eh characters and story only took me out sometimes. So overall I enjoyed Avatar although I don’t think its great. However, the amazing 3D make this one worth a watch. Expand
  97. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    I never understood the hype behind this movie. It had great special effects and plot (related to nature) and cast a shadow on how humans are diverging from this sync to nature. Although everything was great the hype for it was overrated. The movie was nothing more special than any other movie. It was 4hrs long but I wouldn't say it got boring - it did lag at times though. As always it did have alien sexuality if thats what turns you on - maybe thats what got it hype. Expand
  98. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Awsome, Alien, Star Wars, Heavy Metal, and Jurassic Park all wrapped into one spectacular sci-fi thriller!
    The battle scenes alone should satisfy any sci-fi nut!
  99. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    While I don't think it's the masterpiece everybody's talking about, I still liked it, despite Neytiri being annoying and Sam Wothington's mediocre acting. In fact, I actually saw it in 2d, not 3d!
  100. Jun 18, 2011
    4
    The good thing about the film is the technical side of it, good acting and they even got Sigourney Weaver involved. Thats about it really, the bad side is the story. Its obvious what is going to happen, to be fairly honest its Pochahontas that has been altered, and is set in the future
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt
    100
    It's been twelve years since "Titanic," but the King of the World has returned with a flawed but fantastic tour de force that, taken on its merits as a film, especially in two dimensions, warrants four stars. However, if you can wrap a pair of 3D glasses round your peepers, this becomes a transcendent, full-on five-star experience that's the closest we'll ever come to setting foot on a strange new world. Just don't leave it so long next time, eh, Jim?
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Avatar is all-enveloping and transporting, with Cameron & Co.'s years of R&D paying off with a film that, as his work has done before, raises the technical bar and throws down a challenge for the many other filmmakers toiling in the sci-fi/fantasy realm.