Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3010 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,154
Mixed:
443
Negative:
413
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DJJan 2, 2010
Literally the best movie I have ever seen. I was completely and totally blown away. This is the first movie in my entire life where I didn't want it to end.
18 of 47 users found this helpful
7
ChiyenMay 21, 2017
Avatar!! A game? No. When people hear the word avatar, most would think of a game character but in this case, it brings a new meaning to the word avatar, literally. James Cameron not only the writer but also the director of the movie “Avatar”Avatar!! A game? No. When people hear the word avatar, most would think of a game character but in this case, it brings a new meaning to the word avatar, literally. James Cameron not only the writer but also the director of the movie “Avatar” (2009) has brought everyone’s dreams into reality by utilising the modern art of visual cinematography and 3-D imaging to blur the lines of virtual reality, making it more realistic. Cameron has also utilised certain star actors such as Sigourney Weaver and Sam Worthington who have won multiple awards in the past to play crucial roles in his film.

The movie being in the category of fantasy/science fiction, it begins in the future or more precise, year 2154 and one the many themes of the movie is protecting the environment.
Involving the military, they set off on a mission to collect, colonise and learn from the new planet, Pandora. Their main task for this operation is to collect a rich mineral that Earth desperately needs more of and they recently found that there was an abundant amount under their village.

Unobtanium, the mineral, they need to save their energy crisis or to put it bluntly, to survive and is what keeps the project running. Those who went had to be in cyrosleep as Pandora, the new planet is 4.4 light-years away from Earth. The movie is both a show and tell with its incredible graphics of a new world, its nature and of course the natives, the Na’vi, blue people who stand at 10 feet tall and its story plot of the mission to collect the resources and a turn of events after the main protagonist learns about what was going to happen if the mission proceeds.

I like how the actors played their parts well, and not just with their words but with actions as well. Some actors in movies struggle and get nervous and would cause themselves to not sound or seem natural. Zoe Saldana who played Neytiri, the Na’vi princess, was perfect for playing the role in this film as she could not only play the part but was actually able to get into character for this film. For example, she manages to accept a different accent to mimic being a native Na’vi.

The computer-generated imagery also known as CGI, can only capture the movement and facial expressions in animated forms, but it is the actors job to give life to their characters. The director, not only did he capture the motion, but also the intent of the actors to make his characters even more realistic.

There are of course strengths and faults in this movie just like any other. One of the biggest faults in this movie is that the transitions from one angle to another is a little off but hard to notice. For example, a different hand positioning from a camera angle to another and mild nudity of the natives as another fault. The strength of this film is that it follows its theme and executes it as the film goes towards the end, they of course follow up and was able to save the environment from the destruction.

Overall, I think the movie ”Avatar” is a great film. It being rated as PG-13 is at minimal as the faults of those who are younger would have to watch the violence and mild nudity. I personally enjoyed the film and it left me in amazed and if you haven’t seen it yet, then I suggest you go see it now. It would not only leave you at the edge of your seats but also keep your blood pumping . 7½ out of 10
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
zombiehampsterOct 29, 2010
There's a certain something to be said about the power of a visually strong movie like Avatar. It's kinda like a sleazy, but charismatic sales person. You like the person while your in his office, cause he just reeks of charm (or cigarettes)There's a certain something to be said about the power of a visually strong movie like Avatar. It's kinda like a sleazy, but charismatic sales person. You like the person while your in his office, cause he just reeks of charm (or cigarettes) and you buy in to his pitch, cause he's good at what he does, but when you leave the store, you find that you really didn't like the product that much after all. That's kinda how I feel about Avatar. The movie's visuals are amazing and I would say that nothing will be defeating it anytime soon as far as that goes. But when you brush away all that, what you're left with isn't necessarily a bad movie, but an average to ok one. I say this because most of the time I spent watching it was marveling at the amazing visuals that Cameron's team presented us. That part I can't heap enough praise on, but other than that, the story of the movie pretty much comes across as a straight up black and white morality play. I can understand the "it's just a movie" that people may say to that kind of suggestion, but where it doesn't hold up is when you try to pass the movie off as a political/social statement about our society. Nothing in reality is ever black and white, and to do so discredits a lot of what makes us a very complicated, arrogant, and interesting species. Aside from it's horrid attempts to justify why our material world is wrong, the story presents the humans as evil, greedy, and violent; but the Na'vi are peaceful, harmonious, and coexist with nature. Of course the main character ends up going native, finds he likes the tribe more, and then sides with them in the upcoming inevitable bloodbath, and the usual sequence of most big budget movies plays out with no originality whatsoever. Still the movie does entertain, even though it provides a mixed message, and there are some very interesting moments. The real credit to Avatar is the level of thought put into the actual world itself, and here the production/design team did a remarkable job in making Pandora a reality. To me it's a shame that they went for a more simplified story of good and evil as opposed to something more complex and real, but I guess that was never their intention in the first place. It probably wouldn't have been as successful in the theatres if it was. A simple message doesn't mean a bad one, but in this case it was more of a typical one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
Despite "Avatar"'s heavy plot, Blockbuster king James Cameron impresses us with fantastic visuals and CGI of the Na'vi and human battle scenes in (Le Gasp!) 3D.
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelHJan 21, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by Avatar. I am usually a pretty good judge of movies from their trailers but the trailer for Avatar is filled with some of the more cliched elements. The CGI effects are marvelous and the realization of the world I was pleasantly surprised by Avatar. I am usually a pretty good judge of movies from their trailers but the trailer for Avatar is filled with some of the more cliched elements. The CGI effects are marvelous and the realization of the world of Pandora is very detailed and persuasive. Having read cynical accounts of the plot as "Dances with Smurfs" I was also surprised by the story which was not exactly the strength of the movie but also didn't detract too much from the movie going experience. I feel a little sorry for people who become deeply attached to this movie and wrapped up in its reality...but on the other hand, I might even consider going to the movie again in the IMAX version. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful
8
P.M.Jan 24, 2010
There's more to a movie than a good plot, and I can't think of any movie that demonstrates this better than Avatar. If everything about a movie was amazing except for the story, I feel you can honestly call it a good movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
MichaelDDec 29, 2010
When I first watched this movie I was blown away. It is probably my favourite movie of all-time but then I seen it a second time and I kind of got a bit more bored than the last time I watched it. It's still a great movie though.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009May 18, 2013
Great visual effects, film and mounted with a spectacular photography and a magnificent art direction and stunning views, but their enrendo is not the best yet it is still a great movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
I had heard a lot about "Avatar" before seeing it, and the general complaint from most was the movie's lack of originality. Having seen the movie, I would agree that the premise is nowhere near unique, but to me originality shouldn't be theI had heard a lot about "Avatar" before seeing it, and the general complaint from most was the movie's lack of originality. Having seen the movie, I would agree that the premise is nowhere near unique, but to me originality shouldn't be the basis for judging the quality of a film. More than anything a truly great movie should be striking, and Avatar is precisely that. James Cameron used his budget ($237m) to create one of the most engrossing environments to ever grace the screen, and pushed the 3D technology (which I don't even like) to the limit. The result is pure spectacle; behind me in the movie theater there was a family with three children and throughout the 2 1/2 hours there were constant exclamations of "Wow!" and "Oohh!" I would have been slightly annoyed had I not realized I wanted to say the same things, and for a movie to revert a hardened critic like me to a world of pure escapist wonder, I have to give the film credit. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
BrendanWJan 2, 2010
I wanted to be entertained and I was. The story could use some work though.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
Spielberg00Aug 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AVATAR (or, as some seem to enjoy calling it, "The Blue People Movie", which really should be THE SMURFS, not this) is an adventurous, intense movie, and the best movie you can think of to be the highest-grossing film, both worldwide and in America. Very few parts of this actually truly ticked me off, but there were a few to name: such as near the ending, when it began to get boring (a habit many creative sci-fi films such as even INCEPTION get into); and when Grace (Sigourney Weaver) died. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Isaac_adhdAug 3, 2012
This film reaches a new level when it comes to both technology and creativity. It´s a really good created alter/reality that will hold your attention with ease during the entire ride. Visuals and atmosphere give this this movie anThis film reaches a new level when it comes to both technology and creativity. It´s a really good created alter/reality that will hold your attention with ease during the entire ride. Visuals and atmosphere give this this movie an absolute a-status. The created world is absorbing your brain so bad that the average story won't bother you even 1 second. This one shines in utter greatness! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
My only wish is that they would have made the movie an hour longer. You don't want to leave Pandora. What a truly amazing creation of a world and culture.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
SusanoSep 2, 2010
First time watching this your not going to have any negative points, as it will win you over with graphical wizardry. And boy, are the graphics good. With very highly realistic environments, seeing it in 3D on the big screen is somethingFirst time watching this your not going to have any negative points, as it will win you over with graphical wizardry. And boy, are the graphics good. With very highly realistic environments, seeing it in 3D on the big screen is something magical. Assessing the film afterwards reveals a highly weak and wooden story that is just holding the film together with the visuals. Though the storyline is utter guff, the 'wow' moments might just make this a great film. Just. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
JawsPapi87Aug 10, 2011
Despite almost being a spin off of Dances With Wolves, the ridiculously beautiful visuals, believable and likable characters, and successful good Vs. evil theme makes this movie one of 2009's best
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
EvinC.Jan 2, 2010
Almost great film. the 3D was too overwhelming. I prefer the the original version of the film. Kudos to Worthington and Cameron.
8 of 14 users found this helpful
9
EshanWJun 10, 2010
If story was bit stronger than it would be also great as "The Terminator" However, its a Master Piece.
5 of 9 users found this helpful
9
MovieCriticNov 21, 2011
Ok listen for all you bad reviewers: If your not looking for an action movie, go watch a freakin romantic comedy. Thats not this movie. The effects are amazing and stop bring the stupid, childish Pocahontas or whatever into this film. They'reOk listen for all you bad reviewers: If your not looking for an action movie, go watch a freakin romantic comedy. Thats not this movie. The effects are amazing and stop bring the stupid, childish Pocahontas or whatever into this film. They're nothing alike. This movie was rated better then Titanic and has awesome plot and idea and characters that are realistic. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
RansackAug 12, 2010
This is what you call A Great Movie. It will live on as that for a while and perhaps forever. Avatar is spectacular, goofy, and most of all cool. Hopfully Avatar will be remembered for a while, before any other movie takes its place
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
another good film from james camron . not as great as id hoped and some people have said but its still worth seeing . the main problems i have with this film is its presented in its trailors as this HUGE action film . when in reality thereanother good film from james camron . not as great as id hoped and some people have said but its still worth seeing . the main problems i have with this film is its presented in its trailors as this HUGE action film . when in reality there really isnt much action till the last 20 min . considering how long it is think they coulda packed abit more in . the story is entertaining although very predictable . the visuals are just out standing pandora really comes to life . the acting is ok i didnt really feel impressed by any one . its a entertaining film that most of the family can sit down and wach and have a fun time . Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
benjaminavatarSep 2, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best movie have ever saw.
It is cool and grate and fascinating.
How ever give this movie a lover review than 8 is stupid and he don't know nothing about movies.
If i am a criticizer I would give Avatar 110%.
But i give it 10%.
And i can"t wait no longer for the second and the third from the trilogy.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Ruler101Dec 2, 2010
Along with the graphics in this movie i personally think this was a near perfect movie!! The storyline was similar to any like it with the enemy becoming friend but there was more to it i think. Showing the love of earth and others thoughAlong with the graphics in this movie i personally think this was a near perfect movie!! The storyline was similar to any like it with the enemy becoming friend but there was more to it i think. Showing the love of earth and others though money is there. Understanding others before destroying them is more important. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
EmericCJan 10, 2010
Avatar is probably the most beautiful film you'll ever see. The visual effects and the story... it's amazing! James Cameron has created a living world, a world that you'll never forget. The film really caught my heart!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
GlennH.Jan 1, 2010
Only thing missing was Mel Gibson and the English (Braveheart). Glad the bad guys were contractors (Blackwater types) and not active duty Marines.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JacobLJan 1, 2010
First off let me make one thing clear, I saw this movie in 2d. Having said that, I thought the movie was still pretty good. Visually the movie looks great and the world of Pandora is gorgeous. Unfortunately, since I wasn't watching it First off let me make one thing clear, I saw this movie in 2d. Having said that, I thought the movie was still pretty good. Visually the movie looks great and the world of Pandora is gorgeous. Unfortunately, since I wasn't watching it in 3d I wasn't as sucked into the world of Avatar as I would've otherwise. As far as plot goes the movie does a nice job. The characters and setting are great and the one guy having two identities keeps things interesting as he struggles to find out who he really is. Also, the story in Avatar Humans vs. Navi is different but at the same time very familiar, which I like. My one criticism is where the movie ends. (SPOILIERS ALERT) I really don't like how the Navi defeat the humans because it feels almost forced in there. A more appropriate ending would be when the Navi set off to fight the humans. As a result, of adding on the climactic battle, the movie was too long for my tastes and started to drag. Avatar is the one movie that everyone should see particulary in 3d. You will be amased at the amount of detail in Pandora and find the plot to be very interesting. If you are a parent, bring your kids because to some extent, Avatar will provide them the same joy that a Star Wars movie would. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJan 20, 2010
Amazing movie. I liked it even more the second time. It will revolutionize the way movies are made from now on.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoelLJan 20, 2010
I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest complaint, is there to pull you into this world and it does a pretty fine job. As for the length of the movie, you'll be too captivated to notice how long it is. Overall, I think you have to be pretty cynical not to fall in love with this world. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PascalR.Jan 30, 2010
Not someone who gets impressed by much but sat there afterwards thinking I had seen something groundbreaking in 3D and realistic computer graphics. Yeah there are better stories out there, but.......wow!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LouisSDec 25, 2009
Astounding movie. You have to like fantasy films. Also you have to like nature saving type films like Final Fantasy or Pocahantus. If you are into all that then definitely see it and see it in 3D!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
PaxsterOct 16, 2010
Avatar delievers with the 3D effects and it really did feel like you were in another world from my point of view but the storyline really dissapointed me, I found it generic and very,very obvious. I guess, mostly the film is really about theAvatar delievers with the 3D effects and it really did feel like you were in another world from my point of view but the storyline really dissapointed me, I found it generic and very,very obvious. I guess, mostly the film is really about the out-of-this-world effects and the 3D and the storyline will suffer a bit, but,at points, Twilight was more original. I may be sounding a bit harsh but I just expected a bit more. It was good,but not excellent and not a 10/10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RazvOct 11, 2010
The visual effects are breathtaking and the directing is incredible. The only negative thing about it would be the plot, which is simple and common, but all the rest, visuals, sound, directing, actors, are very, very good.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jeremyd99Aug 29, 2010
Visually speaking Avatar is the greatest creation ever made in cinema history.It has beautifully put together and has the best visual effects ever made. Avatar is a revolution for the genre and is basically the Star Wars of the nextVisually speaking Avatar is the greatest creation ever made in cinema history.It has beautifully put together and has the best visual effects ever made. Avatar is a revolution for the genre and is basically the Star Wars of the next generation. This is Cameron's true masterpiece,and is the greatest 3-D film of all time. Many naysayers say the dialouge does not sound real and is just terribly written,but to me the conversations sounded more realistic than some films. Personally I found the dialouge intresting and very lifelike. The acting is good on the most part,with a few exceptions. The audio is also exceptionally good. The background score is good and backs up exactly what is happening,and thats not all.Explosions sound like explosions,the wind sounds like it is blowing,and embers sound like their burning. All in all this is the most entertaing sci-fi film i have ever seen.It is a must see. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
KendylKlownfishMar 15, 2011
Avatar may not impress all audiences on a narrative level, however, its breathtaking visuals, lavishing colors, and groundbreaking special effects certainly proves James Cameron's knack for filmmaking.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NKcantHANDLEmeMar 14, 2011
Film making technology so much ahead of its time. Now I know how people felt when they watched "King Kong" some 70 years ago. Best movie of all time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
Simply Amazing!
In The Top 3 Movies Of 2009!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Subject98May 31, 2012
My first and only time going to see a movie in 3D... it wasn't bad and didn't feel too gimmicky but it just wasn't necessary. As for the movie itself, I liked it for a lot of reasons but it wasn't the ground breaking experience it was madeMy first and only time going to see a movie in 3D... it wasn't bad and didn't feel too gimmicky but it just wasn't necessary. As for the movie itself, I liked it for a lot of reasons but it wasn't the ground breaking experience it was made out to be from all the hype. My only real gripes are with the story. If the characters were at least somewhat memorable I could have given it a better score but... I don't know what it is but the vast majority of the characters just seem like actors on a set rather than real people. I've seen better character development in videogames from the 90s. The plot I thought was good but can't deny how similar it is to a number of other movies I've seen. Those things aside though I could find a lot of reasons to defend it too. I remember there was a lot of racial controversy surrounding the movie and I can't help but scratch my head at that. >_> Also the art direction is some of the best I've seen in a movie, I just wish all the cool bells and whistles were backed up by a better plot. I will say that it was probably among the most intriguing movies I saw in 2009. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MrGman2142Aug 17, 2013
Best movie of all time, since i have to have 150 characters, here is a long yeah. yyyyyeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AlexAug 25, 2010
My favourite film; of ALL time so far. Perfect effects, and I can honestly say, it was the first film I ever saw at the cinema with which I didn't want to pause and walk out for a couple of hours. The ONLY film. Greatly looking forward to theMy favourite film; of ALL time so far. Perfect effects, and I can honestly say, it was the first film I ever saw at the cinema with which I didn't want to pause and walk out for a couple of hours. The ONLY film. Greatly looking forward to the sequel. There really isnt much I can say about this film apart from, it ticks every box. Just next time, Cameron, jazz the plot up slightly? This film was nominated for an unbelievable 128 awards, which includes 4 Golden Globes. If that isn't enough to convince you to watch it (if you're one of those rare people who hasn't seen it already) then just take (At the time of writing) 1,309 positive Metacritic reviews. Completely epic, and only 40% live action, with the other 60% being made up of the greatest technologically advanced CGE. The highest-grossing film ever made, by a large margin. ( 0.8 Billion US Dollars more than its closest competition, another of James Cameron's films, Titanic. In total, Avatar has so far made $2.6 Billion.) So in-depth was the making, a 1,000 word language for the Na'vi was created. No wonder it took 16 years to make.
10/10. Why? Because it's a masterpiece.
Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 19, 2011
Most critics have just praised it for its just stunning visual effects and 3D effects, but I find its story to be incredibly powerful and moving with just enough emotional depth added in there. I give this film 93%.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
Words cannot describe the elements in this fabulous motion picture. The director, James Cameron, has set a new standard for CGI (computer-generated imagery) films. With elements such as Sci-Fi, Action, Romance, and Drama, EVERYONE must seeWords cannot describe the elements in this fabulous motion picture. The director, James Cameron, has set a new standard for CGI (computer-generated imagery) films. With elements such as Sci-Fi, Action, Romance, and Drama, EVERYONE must see this movie. I have seen 400+ films in my life, and never have I seen a film that was so well produced, a film that you couldn't resist cheering at the end, because you didn't want it to end. This film has the best special effects. No other film has used this type of CGI. This movie has broken a new barrier in the American film industry, just as visiting the moon for the first time. Well done Cameron, well done. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
DelvinWJun 9, 2010
Another James Cameron masterpiece, oh and the 2s and the 3s you guys are handing out are to the only movie to ever make 2 billion dollars at the box office.
5 of 13 users found this helpful
10
DionJ.Jan 7, 2010
This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid in appearance but not human as in "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" which makes it different in that fact. It's a instant classic! I have seen this movie six times in theaters. Five of which are in IMAX 3D. I notice details that I regularly see other directors miss. *spoiler alert* The part in the main battle scene when Jake and the other Na'vi are trying to bring down the shuttle loaded with bombs. Jake fly's in on his Great Leonopteryx and then jumps off on top of the shuttle at which point he kills some RDA troops manning some machines guns. The scene just before he jumps of his mount onto the ship you can see a Banshee (Flying creature) that got shot, on top of the ship twitching and as it cuts scenes on where Jake jumps off his mount and onto the shuttle you can still see the Banshee twitching and then as Jake jumps over the fortifications where the marines are defending the ship with machine guns and shoots them (marines) you can see the Banshee again still twitching on top of the shuttle. Now I have seen many more details like this in the movie and it excites me to see. You have a director that is willing to pay attention to every detail such as the one I mentioned and a detail that hardly no one if anyone will notice. When I see movies I like to look at these very details to see how much time the spent into making their film look as real as possible and James Cameron did not disappoint! I mean if you are paying attention to details that small then you know the huge details that the director want you to see is going to be even better! This movie delivered everything I expect to see from a movie and then some. James Cameron in an amazing derictor, producer and writer! This Movie is a 10 for sure! Expand
6 of 18 users found this helpful
10
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Avatar is definitely the best film of the year, and one of my favourite films ever.
Yes, the dialogue can be cheesy at times, but this film isn't about that: it's about visuals and about actions. And yes, a good film can be about those
Avatar is definitely the best film of the year, and one of my favourite films ever.
Yes, the dialogue can be cheesy at times, but this film isn't about that: it's about visuals and about actions. And yes, a good film can be about those things, too. It definitely has some good ideas behind it (environmentalism, tradition, old ways of living vs modernisation) and those are definitely present in the film. The films biggest strength, though, is definitely its visual power. It is so moving and just makes you want to plant a tree, haha. It is just amazing. I'd highly recommend it to everyone.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Forget about plot development and storytelling; it's all about the visuals here. I mean sure, the story is somewhat interesting and the characters have redeemable qualities, but this about blowing your eyeballs out of their sockets by usingForget about plot development and storytelling; it's all about the visuals here. I mean sure, the story is somewhat interesting and the characters have redeemable qualities, but this about blowing your eyeballs out of their sockets by using either dazzling beauty or monstrous explosions. If you let it be what it is, "Avatar" is a ton of fun, maybe the best film of 2009. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Ridz43Mar 21, 2011
This is the epitome of pure genius! James Cameron brought to the screen one of the greatest and most ground-breaking movies of all time! Literally, words cannot describe the energy that made this film such a wonder and I would recommend thisThis is the epitome of pure genius! James Cameron brought to the screen one of the greatest and most ground-breaking movies of all time! Literally, words cannot describe the energy that made this film such a wonder and I would recommend this movie to anyone! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
CivertsJul 18, 2011
Good visual and sound effects, however Avatar has a weak screenplay, which seems to be a mix of Dance with Wolves, Pochahontas and Alien. James Cameron was giving so much attention to the visual and sound that he did totally forget about theGood visual and sound effects, however Avatar has a weak screenplay, which seems to be a mix of Dance with Wolves, Pochahontas and Alien. James Cameron was giving so much attention to the visual and sound that he did totally forget about the artistic part, mainly the script. Received 3 Oscars: Cinematography, Art Direction and Visual Effects, but in Avatar, the Art Direction and the Cinematography are Visual Effects. So it received 3 Oscars for the same thing: Visual Effects. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 24, 2012
To simply put it Avatar is the most beautiful movie i have ever seen. the visuals are stunning and the story is good enough. Avatar will not be matched in the techinal world of movies for a very long time. a truly stunning spectacle
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 3, 2013
"Avatar", directed by James Cameron, is a magnificent intense sci-fi spectacle. The movie is well-shot, has beautiful landscapes and spectacular use of CGI. Anyone who watched "The Matrix" will find this movie somehow similar.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
10
ArekKJan 1, 2010
Great and Beautiful!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Jan 30, 2010
Simply Amazing!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WiseUpJan 3, 2010
The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of the plot are predictable, Avatar offers some powerful messages for our time once you scratch beneath the surface. For those who are not firmly entrenched in our mainstream culture�s cynicism and denial the movie, Avatar, is a powerful opportunity to sharply see and feel our current situation as a species that has lost its way. As we experience the lives of Pandora�s indigenous people our own predicament comes into contrast. We become visible as a species that has become trapped within its own culture and system of domination and control... cut off from what really enlivens us. It is surprising that a movie with some of the messages of Avatar could even come out of the corporate dominated �homeland�Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
pauloaJan 4, 2010
Simple the Best film and gorgeous i can�´t say to you how i feelt when seeing the movie, the movie has just one problem ....IT ENDSSSS
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kathrynwJan 4, 2010
An absolutely fantastic movie that wows and entertains. The only thing wrong with it was its rating. It should be rated NFIS, Not for Intellectual Snobs (with superiority complexes).
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EllisciaE.Jan 7, 2010
I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good reminder for all of us. We are all connected and all of life is sacred. I hope that this movie speaks to others as profoundly as it has me. I've seen it twice and shall go again. Thanks and enjoy!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeMJan 9, 2010
Wow! I'm still thinking about what I just saw... It's a testament to what we've become... A lot of Native American themes are involved in this film. What a wonderful disposition of how honor, love, integrity and commitment Wow! I'm still thinking about what I just saw... It's a testament to what we've become... A lot of Native American themes are involved in this film. What a wonderful disposition of how honor, love, integrity and commitment should be exhibited in our daily lives. I see so may truisms in this story... Well done! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PBWFeb 1, 2010
AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have never been motivated by a movie to make the effort to see it in IMAX. Avatar was my virgin voyage into IMAX .. and well ... you have to see it to understand that are really are no words!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KaylaHFeb 17, 2010
It's peculiarity is what makes it an unbelievable movie. The transformation of each individual character throughout the movie is brilliant. Not that the kind of story is so original but the details make it this unimaginable yet so It's peculiarity is what makes it an unbelievable movie. The transformation of each individual character throughout the movie is brilliant. Not that the kind of story is so original but the details make it this unimaginable yet so realistic scenario. From the 'halo' with their hair to Jake Sully being able to walk when he's in his Avatar, truly amazing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EggyGFeb 17, 2010
First the bad part, the story was kinda lame. Now the best part, beside the story all part was groundbreaking. Watch it in 3D really brought new level of immersion experience. The world design was mind boggling & eye popping. The action First the bad part, the story was kinda lame. Now the best part, beside the story all part was groundbreaking. Watch it in 3D really brought new level of immersion experience. The world design was mind boggling & eye popping. The action sequence was breathtaking. Even the music and sound was sublime. Another milestone movie from JC! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuanC.Feb 21, 2010
James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to end. After finishing watching Avatar, I thought to myself, this is not only the best movie of 2009 and the best in the decade, this is one of the best movies ever made. I have not seen one part of the movie that was boring or uninteresting to watch. I also like the fact that James keeps focus on every category of the movie: the story, the visuals the actors, every bit of detail is amazing. This is a must watch for everyone. I definitely got to say that it would take years for someone else to top this movie off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeB.Feb 4, 2010
Very well put together, the acting made it very believable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FabianBFeb 7, 2010
The Movie was still great. I really liked it to watch in 3D. Good Story and great Actors / Effects.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CaseyK.Mar 30, 2010
Highly imaginative, action-packed and with strong emotion from jake and neytiri's love. James Cameron has truly out done himself.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanMar 4, 2010
Tugs at you. Makes you feel. I'd like people to figure out how to keep the creatures and plants while we continue learning and implementing technology. Wise use of technology instead of irresponsible non holistic use is what is called Tugs at you. Makes you feel. I'd like people to figure out how to keep the creatures and plants while we continue learning and implementing technology. Wise use of technology instead of irresponsible non holistic use is what is called for. Keep life alive so we can populate the empty planets with life. Otherwise what point is there if we kill all that makes us feel alive? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DeeMMar 5, 2010
Pure genious!! A truly amazing film which can take your breath away. Has opened a whole new era for film making, setting such a high standard for others. Certainly, without any doubt whatsoever, deserves to (at least) win Best Picture, Pure genious!! A truly amazing film which can take your breath away. Has opened a whole new era for film making, setting such a high standard for others. Certainly, without any doubt whatsoever, deserves to (at least) win Best Picture, although should also take Best Director and more... 110% !!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SebAApr 10, 2010
Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is beautifully shot, no awful out of focus or shaky camera to hide bad action scenes. The story is emotional and makes the action that much more engaging. Easily one of the top 5 Blockbuster movies of the last 10 years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HeatherGMay 16, 2010
The character development was a little lack luster, but over all an awesome movie!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyderK-BJun 3, 2010
This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short of god like. Throughout the entire movie I was fully immersed in Pandora's environment, culture and wildlife and it made me want to be a Na'vi myself, as childish as it may seem, its 100% true! The CGI was just stunning and the 3D just layed the icing on the cake. To all these speds saying how Avatar is a rip from some crap called "pocahontas" and "dance with the wolf" or whatever, I suggest shutting the hell up and embracing the future of movies. If I wanted to watch some gay disney movie that was made during the dawn of man I would, but the thing is,i never will. Maybe you idiots should try enjoying the movie for what it is and actually try embracing the future. If you don't, that's fine by me as I will be happy to see idiots like you fade away into the past along with your retarded filth you call movies. If you were only going to see 1 movie in your lifetime, Avatar would have to be it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NacorC.Dec 19, 2009
Beautiful, astonishing, emotive... a perfect score hands down. Go watch it now!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickRDec 27, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Worth the money, time, and the standing in line in the cold. Sure could have used an intermission, though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JDDec 30, 2009
Skeptical going in, but completely liberated within minutes. A magical 2.5 hours that was also surprisingly moving. I'm not sure it was a great movie, but it was undoubtedly an awesome cinematic experience that will stay with me for a Skeptical going in, but completely liberated within minutes. A magical 2.5 hours that was also surprisingly moving. I'm not sure it was a great movie, but it was undoubtedly an awesome cinematic experience that will stay with me for a long time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JudyRJan 11, 2010
Wonderfully exciting, adventurous and a sweet love story. Outstanding special effects and the good guys won.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndresCJan 1, 2010
This movie will ave you glued to your seat!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
M.AJan 1, 2010
Best movie I've ever seen! Action, romance, EXCELLENT!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
gkJan 1, 2010
Great Story along with great presentation. Go see it in 3D if you can. I still cannot believe what they did here. As far as some who are critical of the plot, I am guessing that they do not like the negative commentary on Western Expansion Great Story along with great presentation. Go see it in 3D if you can. I still cannot believe what they did here. As far as some who are critical of the plot, I am guessing that they do not like the negative commentary on Western Expansion against indigenous communities. For me that was what will make this movie a classic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
danieljJan 14, 2010
I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad dialog were unfounded. Cameron's storytelling was flawless. So economical I didn't want it to end. There's a minimalism to some of the acting and script that I think balances out the sensory overload of the visuals. Perfect movie. Worth way more than the price of admission. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeS.Jan 1, 2010
It was just terrific, i loved it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Jan 17, 2010
Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I also love to go mountain climbing and jumping around on the rocks like a mad goat for fun. Those who approve of their country's habit of making war and killing people to take their resources (oil or unobtainium) may not like Avatar, maybe it makes them feel uncomfortable. But for the human beings among us, who value life, nature and people more than money, this is a great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DustinMJan 19, 2010
After watching the movie, i felt pity that the movie isn't real.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenJan 2, 2010
James Cameron has once again delivered a masterpiece. The trailers made me feel skeptical, as I just thought "this has all been done before". But I was wrong. It was far better than I expected, I'd even say that this is as good as my James Cameron has once again delivered a masterpiece. The trailers made me feel skeptical, as I just thought "this has all been done before". But I was wrong. It was far better than I expected, I'd even say that this is as good as my favourite James Cameron movie - Terminator 2. James Cameron sure does know how to tell a story, albeit quite a simple one. It has a lot of heart. The less I spoil the better. There wasn't a single boring moment in the movie. The best use of CG I've ever seen (I usually prefer things to be real rather than computer generated, but this is an exception). Also, the 3-D effects are breathtaking, really immerses you into the imaginative world he created. The action scenes thrilled me, one in particular actually made me quite emotional (and if any movie has such a powerful effect on you, you know it's good). I didn't want it to end, despite the long run-time. It's paced so well, with good plot twists and fascinating characters. This movie blew me away, and I might even call it the best movie this decade. It certainly gets in my top 5 favourites of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GloriaEJan 20, 2010
This movie is exceptional. The creative genius that went into this movie is awesome. Can't wait for Part 2.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ToddTJan 2, 2010
This movie will rank up there with 2001, A Space Odyssey as one of the most influential films of all time. Wonderful story and respect for god-in-nature. Along the way , a future General Custer and the imperialist invaders get what they deserve!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidJJan 2, 2010
Stunning and captivating in every way. I was completely enthralled by this film. This deserves to be seen in the finest cinema available to you. Truly, I have never seen anything like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chrisbJan 23, 2010
The fact that it has been out for weeks and still sells out is a testament to how great this movie is, It will hook you with the CGI but will win you over with the great story that everyone on earth can relate to.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleAJan 2, 2010
The new bar for animated films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArielRJan 2, 2010
"I pray in my heart that this dream never ends..." I've never felt so many emotions during a movie. I was happy, angry, I've cried... and I am not a sensitive person. This film is everything for me! I found there all my dreams "I pray in my heart that this dream never ends..." I've never felt so many emotions during a movie. I was happy, angry, I've cried... and I am not a sensitive person. This film is everything for me! I found there all my dreams comimg true. For the first time. I saw it 4 times and every time end credits are almost pain. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarryM.Jan 25, 2010
Absolutely brilliant in so many ways.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DetlefMJan 3, 2010
Great Fantastic Movie. One of my favorite !!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyRJan 3, 2010
I thought 3D was a gimmick before seeing this movie. I was wrong. Avatar left me totally immersed and I felt like I was on Pandora. By the end I was sad to leave. See this in IMAX, and use the restroom before you go because you won't I thought 3D was a gimmick before seeing this movie. I was wrong. Avatar left me totally immersed and I felt like I was on Pandora. By the end I was sad to leave. See this in IMAX, and use the restroom before you go because you won't want to miss a moment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaciejB.Jan 3, 2010
When 'Avatar' finished the only drawback that appeared to me was that it ended so soon. What you see on screen cannot be put into words. As for the story, it doesn't lack anything that would make it anything less than a When 'Avatar' finished the only drawback that appeared to me was that it ended so soon. What you see on screen cannot be put into words. As for the story, it doesn't lack anything that would make it anything less than a greatly composed plot and it fits perfectly into the world created by Cameron. A staggering movie, that for the money you pay for a ticket offersyou in return all that you could ever ask from a motion ficture. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
joeh.Jan 30, 2010
This movie is great even though I wacthed it at 10:00 it was worth the wait.Avatar has a lot of action it's a fun family movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxP.Jan 30, 2010
Amazing film , i cant forget it , but there are too much parodies to Matrix i think, anyway 10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillNJan 4, 2010
Fantastic. Special effects, characters and storyline make it a hit. It will go down as a classic!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SuzySJan 4, 2010
Absolutely phenomenal movie!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BradC.Jan 4, 2010
The best film I have seen in a while, and certainly the best 3D experience. Yes, it is preachy, I'll give you that. If you think that humans/corporations/military are never that bad guys, then this movie is not for you. I was moved by The best film I have seen in a while, and certainly the best 3D experience. Yes, it is preachy, I'll give you that. If you think that humans/corporations/military are never that bad guys, then this movie is not for you. I was moved by the story and awed by the effects. The CGI has come a long way and really looks believable. My sister told me the film was 50% Dances With Wolves, 25% Matrix, and 25% Aliens. Sounds right to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZachJan 4, 2010
Saw it in 3D and was amazed. I think everyone should see this movie in theaters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Jan 4, 2010
The best movie i have watched in my whole life! It's really gripping and kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through, and its special effects and graphics were indescribably awesome!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KenS.Jan 4, 2010
Simply one of the best movies I have ever seen. I have now seen it twice and it thrilled me as much the second time as it did the first. The six people I went and saw it with (between the two times) all loved it as well. I think almost Simply one of the best movies I have ever seen. I have now seen it twice and it thrilled me as much the second time as it did the first. The six people I went and saw it with (between the two times) all loved it as well. I think almost everyone will get something out of this movie. It is visually breathtaking in a way that few movies, if any, can match. The action was amazing and the plot was genuinely meaningful and gripping. I can already tell that this movie will be one of those classics that I return to over and over. Fantastic all around! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Jan 5, 2010
Has to be a 10. It is amazing. 3D at the IMAX is a must. Don't see it anything less. done amazingly well. Technically brilliant. Looks beautiful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariyaD.Jan 6, 2010
Avatar was the best and the most amazing movie I have ever seen. I am going to see it again on IMAX 3D. This is definitely the best movie of the year!!! Cameron deserves an Oscar for all his hard work! M.D. Boston, MA.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkSJan 6, 2010
It is interesting to read the comments re the disappointment of thhis resembling "Dances with wolves" meets Aliens. I will show my age and go one further and dredge up "A Man called Horse". All run a similar theme in that the white man goes It is interesting to read the comments re the disappointment of thhis resembling "Dances with wolves" meets Aliens. I will show my age and go one further and dredge up "A Man called Horse". All run a similar theme in that the white man goes native. So what? The story has been told before; so have many others. What is important here is how the story was told and in my humble opinion, it was nothing less than brilliant. The characters were believable and lifelike (Yes, it is pleasing to see a real actor that doesn't act woodenly) The CG was almost seamless and I had to look hard to find the defects. The 3d was an enhancement to the visuals rather than a gimick and the story compelling , even if a retelling of an old theme. The art is not just in the story, but how it is told. Give me an old story well told over a new story badly told any day. All I can say is release the Blu-Ray version in 3D, this is one of the few "keepers" going into my collection. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful