Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3083 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,206
Mixed:
456
Negative:
421
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
mrdr4gonDec 15, 2017
Absolutely dire. The effects are not particularly that special, even for 2009 (though it does look pretty) and the story is a horribly executed retreat of a million other films that moves along at a snails pace. The dialogue is awful, theAbsolutely dire. The effects are not particularly that special, even for 2009 (though it does look pretty) and the story is a horribly executed retreat of a million other films that moves along at a snails pace. The dialogue is awful, the characters aren't memorable at all. A tremendous misfire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
etrius460Oct 29, 2017
Excellent movie, but sadly, this movie has stolen the score. How, you might ask. Well, King Salman of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia discovered that the score of this movie has been stolen from one of his cities(which is why Avatar 2 is beingExcellent movie, but sadly, this movie has stolen the score. How, you might ask. Well, King Salman of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia discovered that the score of this movie has been stolen from one of his cities(which is why Avatar 2 is being delayed that much, as King Salman is preventing it from being made as a punishment for the crime James Cameron has committed). And the proof for this is when I entered Khobar, Saudi Arabia I suddenly heard this music, so it belongs to King Salman and he is the one who should be nominated for the Oscar of best original score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BroyaxApr 5, 2017
Quand je pense que James Cameron, c'était Aliens, Abyss, les 2 Terminator... et puis le naufrage a commencé avec Titanic (chiant comme la pluie et convenu) et cette farce avec Avatarte... plus tarte, plus niais, tu meurs ! Qui a produit ceQuand je pense que James Cameron, c'était Aliens, Abyss, les 2 Terminator... et puis le naufrage a commencé avec Titanic (chiant comme la pluie et convenu) et cette farce avec Avatarte... plus tarte, plus niais, tu meurs ! Qui a produit ce film ? Disney ?!... c'est dégoulinant comme la petite maison dans la prairie, les pauvres **** indigènes bleus neuneus, oh la la je vais écraser une larme... Et c'est long comme une sieste de 3 plombes et même les effets spéciaux sont à la ramasse : on a toujours cette impression de se taper un mauvais dessin animé... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Movielover2400Nov 6, 2016
It was not very good. I wouldn't even watch it if i was paid too. The only cool thing about it is the live action vs actual people concept in the story. Its very bad though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
reviewer2015lolApr 30, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. UHHH. The movie is like a ejaculation of cgi with no story or interessting characters. **** it. James Cameron is eating all the praise and money and we reviewers have to tell the casual audience that this movie is completely soulless and bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
marc5477Sep 7, 2015
This movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for longThis movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for long once you are accustomed to it and if you take that out of the movie, you are really left with bad sci-fi flick about "duality." "Human duality" is probably the 2nd most boring subject of a movie behind all the "coming of age" stories. The military and science are once again the bad guys while the aliens are innocent and good. I really dont mind movies that portray humans as bungholes (because frankly, as a society, we are), but its getting old and this movie did not even try to be original. There were no cliffhangers, no interesting characters, dialog was mundane and the plot was predictable. The entire movie could have been done in 15 minutes. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
HoldenKauslerOct 5, 2014
This is the worst movie i have ever seen. if there was a lower review then 0 then i would have put that. if i got a copy of this movie i would set it on fire and dance on its ashes
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
sinadoomDec 26, 2013
3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics but no real substance behind all the nice coat of paint. Avatar has some good action scenes and looks great as an advert for a HD TV, but as a movie it is a fail. Not only is it the most predictable movie I have ever seen, it's also the most disappointing. It seems like it was made to appeal to people that have no standards and will literally watch anything regardless of its story. If I want nice graphics, I buy a gaming PC and experience them first hand. If I watch a movie, I want to be entertained or engaged in a passive experience. There is no comedy, no moral, no philosophy, no story. The entire plot can be summarised in about 2 sentences. It portrays humans as the bad guys to appeal to people's emotions, but ignores reality. It's completely crap designed for people with low intelligence. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
someguy8896Oct 13, 2013
I have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthlessI have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthless directors out there next to Michael Bay. all this movie is is a bunch of pretty colors with a story ripped from the likes of Ferngully and Pochahontas. now that may enough for some people but not me. if not for the special effects I would give it 1 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Saggarwal20Sep 6, 2013
I absolutely hated this movie because there was no plot too much romance and the CGI was a little over the top, probably the WORST MOVIE OF THE DECADE
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
OplindenfepAug 10, 2013
This is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest andThis is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest and most glaring plot hole was the ending, when the spirit of the plant life or something brought in all the wild animals to attack the humans, even when the entirety of the preceding movie explicitly said on numerous occasions that this does NOT happen ever, for any reason. The second being 'Unobtainium', the stupidest sounding plot device ever and a large deposit just happens to be under a tree that the natives live in. Despite the numerous sub-surface mining techniques available, the CEO or whoever decided to just attack the natives for no reason, just to show the contrast between the 'perfect' natives and the 'evil' humans (white people). This movie is anti-colonialism, clearly, but it's so one-sided it's not even funny.

Really, this is just James Cameron's attempt to create his own Fursona. The single most expensive piece of self-insert Mary-sue furry fanfiction ever created, and people treat it like it's some sort of iconic movie.

People think this is good because it's pretty, but once you look past the glamour and see this from an objective perspective, you can see that this is bad. A rip off of Pocahontas. 3-D is a stupid gimmick anyway, they should knock that off.

0/10
For reasons so blatantly obvious most people miss it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
Visually, this film dazzles and amazes. Story- this film is an overly preachy and overly long and an overblown film. I really didn't like it at all. My opinion. There you go. Oh and the 3D, made me sick.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
ascoltami86May 27, 2013
Everything is horrible. This alien, antagonist, helicopters, both protagonist and antagonist's weapons, arrow, spear, robot, giant knife, story. What a waste of money. What's worst is there will be a sequel.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
GeorgusApr 11, 2013
I dont know but I prefer science fiction without all tha eco themes like Rendezvous with Rama form A. C. Clarke http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rendezvous_with_Rama.
Yes it is in 3D but thats about it, characters are shallow, story one sided,
I dont know but I prefer science fiction without all tha eco themes like Rendezvous with Rama form A. C. Clarke http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rendezvous_with_Rama.
Yes it is in 3D but thats about it, characters are shallow, story one sided, logic flawed and ultimate point of movie wrong.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MarkMusicMar 18, 2013
This is the number one movie of all time????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Why? Because of the flashy special effects? Cause that was the only memorable thing from this movie other then the long 3This is the number one movie of all time????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Why? Because of the flashy special effects? Cause that was the only memorable thing from this movie other then the long 3 hour experience first time watching it in a theater I feel asleep 1hr and 20 mins in. Next time watched it at home stopped at an hour, next week picked back up then stopped, then again I took me 4 times to watch the entire movie at home over a month long time period. Nothing special and certainly original. Save your money and watch a bootlegged version online or the real thing online. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LaGuertaMar 8, 2013
Avatar is the poster child for 3D cinema yet its other qualities are distinctly one dimensional, apparently 200 million dollars can't buy you a good story. Anyone who watches this is in for a headache-inducing three hours that they will neverAvatar is the poster child for 3D cinema yet its other qualities are distinctly one dimensional, apparently 200 million dollars can't buy you a good story. Anyone who watches this is in for a headache-inducing three hours that they will never get back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
AlessandroCaliMar 1, 2013
What has Avatar to offer? Graphics and... and nothing else. Only good graphics. The movie is definitely overrated, with a poor story, ridiculous characters and nothing new to offer to the genre. I'm sorry, but I really didn't like it at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SeaweedWrap002Feb 9, 2013
An unoriginal movie that did not recieve even one oscar that it recieved. Also, that only happened because James Franco directed Titanic. Not worth owning, a movie that's easily forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SummersausageJan 5, 2013
This movie was a conglomeration of story lines that were boring the first time I saw them in Pocahontas and Titanic. It is a go- green movie that thrives due to its special effects but falls flat on every other aspect. This movie has risen toThis movie was a conglomeration of story lines that were boring the first time I saw them in Pocahontas and Titanic. It is a go- green movie that thrives due to its special effects but falls flat on every other aspect. This movie has risen to its predecessors of Push and Transformers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Patrick94Jan 4, 2013
Most overrated movie in history. The only good thing about Avatar is the visuals. The world is pretty to look at but.. well, there's nothing there. The story is horrible, the characters annoying, and the scenarios they find themselves inMost overrated movie in history. The only good thing about Avatar is the visuals. The world is pretty to look at but.. well, there's nothing there. The story is horrible, the characters annoying, and the scenarios they find themselves in absolutely ridiculous Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
0
TheZapperJul 3, 2012
AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT HASN'T BEEN LOBOTAMISED?
Technically good but other than that it was a cowboys vs Indians movie and you know it, I'm just desperately thankful James Cameron's only working on doco's (which I won't have to care about),
AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT HASN'T BEEN LOBOTAMISED?
Technically good but other than that it was a cowboys vs Indians movie and you know it, I'm just desperately thankful James Cameron's only working on doco's (which I won't have to care about), or unfortunately the sequal to this....
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
RiokaMay 9, 2012
This was not the worst film I have ever seen. It wasn't good, though. As many people have pointed out, the story was predictable and dull, and the script was poor. I could have forgiven it for not having a very original or insightful message,This was not the worst film I have ever seen. It wasn't good, though. As many people have pointed out, the story was predictable and dull, and the script was poor. I could have forgiven it for not having a very original or insightful message, you don't really expect that in a blockbuster, but it insisted on shoving it's completely unoriginal message down my throat for so long that I got pretty sick of it. Overall, I'm at a loss as to why so many people rate this film so highly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Josh_47raMar 19, 2012
This score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will neverThis score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will never watch this movie again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
Visually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting isVisually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting is terrible, the plot not only sucks but is a complete rip off of Dances With Wolves, and its incredibly boring (I was only entertained in 3 very short parts in the entire film). Sorry but the visuals can only get you so far in my book and this film just doesnt cut it imo. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
2
islandJan 21, 2012
Ultimately overrated. Great effects and visuals but the story sucks. The story line is like Pocahontas's and has nothing to say. The characters are rather ridiculous with the hipster navies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
HyperboleJan 17, 2012
This film is like a very subtle spoof written by an enemy of James Cameron. His ego and lack of imagination and cliched goo ooze through this awful God awful film. This is seriously made by the same guy who did Terminator 2? Only reasonThis film is like a very subtle spoof written by an enemy of James Cameron. His ego and lack of imagination and cliched goo ooze through this awful God awful film. This is seriously made by the same guy who did Terminator 2? Only reason this is even getting a 1 is because some of the non cartoony looking stuff is neat visually once and a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EssenceOfSugarDec 28, 2011
This could have been a good movie if it wasn't such a junk food feast of special effects and lacking of plot. This movie could have been great, but it wasn't, as James Cameron is much more interested in plagarising from good plots andThis could have been a good movie if it wasn't such a junk food feast of special effects and lacking of plot. This movie could have been great, but it wasn't, as James Cameron is much more interested in plagarising from good plots and sticking a bunch of blue creatures and glittery fairy nonsense in it to make it look pretty. It's a shame the critics were either too confident in that this was going to go somewhere, or too scared to pipe up that it didn't. There are better movies out there that don't particularly seem to be popular with the critics. I am more than confident that this was not even worth the production it deserved, or the paper the tickets were printed on. There were aspects of the movie that I would have enjoyed, there were things I could of happily watched, but sadly it was blindingly obvious to me that the CGI and special effects were just part of the after effects I suffered when I came out of the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
charredrelikDec 14, 2011
God i hated this movie. it was stupid, boring and stupid. it didnt make sence in so many areas. its only endearing quality was when we left it running at home with the sound down. it makes a pretty screensaver!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
spadenxDec 8, 2011
Easily the most overrated film of all time. Visually it loses its impressiveness rather quickly into the film and while it may look great in 3D, In 2D is rathers boring. Not to mention the film's plot is a rip off of Dances With WolvesEasily the most overrated film of all time. Visually it loses its impressiveness rather quickly into the film and while it may look great in 3D, In 2D is rathers boring. Not to mention the film's plot is a rip off of Dances With Wolves (Seriously check that out). Also the acting is rather disapointing and sometimes terrible. Overall its visually impressive in 3D but thats it. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Those who love Avatar love it for its effects and visual design, and blame the others for not concentrating on that element like theyre supposed to. Those who hate Avatar hate it for its recycled story, lame characters, and laughableThose who love Avatar love it for its effects and visual design, and blame the others for not concentrating on that element like theyre supposed to. Those who hate Avatar hate it for its recycled story, lame characters, and laughable dialogue, and blame the others for not focusing on the elements that truly matter in any film. Well, both of those sides are right, and both of them can be validly argued. But, the latter side has a better point: Story and characters are what makes great cinema, not great looking effects. And, rather than using effects and images to tell a story (Blade Runner) or stir up interesting ideas (2001), Avatar is only interested in looking good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MitchC9Aug 15, 2011
It's unfortunate James Cameron is such a delusional hippie. The premise (and funding) of the movie are remarkable; they could have done a lot with it. Instead we are lended to quite possibly the most non-believable plot of the decade. TheIt's unfortunate James Cameron is such a delusional hippie. The premise (and funding) of the movie are remarkable; they could have done a lot with it. Instead we are lended to quite possibly the most non-believable plot of the decade. The acting is overdone, and they seemingly spent tens of millions of dollars on scenes where we are watching a bunch of blue idiots pray to a tree instead of using this money/time to further the plot and make it believable. Literally 1/4 of this movie is watching blue people do stupid, tribal crap in a forest. Come on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
IswearimsmartAug 13, 2011
Avatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, theAvatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, the film fails miserably. Every single character in this film is not only uninteresting but undeveloped. Think about it... what do you REALLY know about Jake or Nyteri? The dialogue is also horrendous. At times my jaw dropped at how uninspired the lines were. "I see you" in particular feels cheesy and overused. Then there is the awful love story. It is without a doubt one of the worst development of a couple I have ever seen in a film. We go from Nyteri HATING Jake to them occasionally nudging each other and laughing to...well them doing under the tree of souls or whatever it's called. I know months have passed in the story, but only 45 minutes have passed to us, and nothing in the film explained or showed how their feelings grew for each other. Giving someone a meaningful look once doesn't count as developing a couple. To top it off, this movie is excruciatingly long. By the time you see it for the second or third time you will be constantly checking your watch. It just won't end! The film could have easily cut 20-30 minutes. While there are a lot of pretty images, the plot and characters are pretty ugly. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
2
CRLJul 26, 2011
This is the most overrated piece of cinema I've ever seen. All flash, no fire, Avatar combines the special effects of Transformers with a story ripped from Pocahontas and recycled a million time over. The only difference is that, instead ofThis is the most overrated piece of cinema I've ever seen. All flash, no fire, Avatar combines the special effects of Transformers with a story ripped from Pocahontas and recycled a million time over. The only difference is that, instead of Native Americans, they're giant blue people with tails. Sure, Pandora is a pretty cool place, but that and a bunch of 3D-inflated box office records are all this movie has going for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JAM123Jul 19, 2011
I thought that this movie was really bad. It was incredibly long and barely kept my attention. The special effects were cool but that doesn't change the fact that all James Cameron did was make a futuristic remake of Dances With wolves. NOTI thought that this movie was really bad. It was incredibly long and barely kept my attention. The special effects were cool but that doesn't change the fact that all James Cameron did was make a futuristic remake of Dances With wolves. NOT a good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ParadosiJul 1, 2011
Pocahontas, BLUE KITTY VERSION. Honestly, there's not much else too say. The visuals are good, but since when does something shiny make everything else unneeded? Gotta love the fervent anti-human nature of the film as well. Let's all hate ourPocahontas, BLUE KITTY VERSION. Honestly, there's not much else too say. The visuals are good, but since when does something shiny make everything else unneeded? Gotta love the fervent anti-human nature of the film as well. Let's all hate our evil greedy selves, right? Blue kitties totally superior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
thomasnoJun 19, 2011
If Pocahontas was a 3D live action film starring blue people, this would be the result.
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
1
Alexander_NJun 15, 2011
Before the film was even released, I knew exactly how weak the storyline would be regardless of the profound hype surrounding it. There really isn't much to say, other than 3D is barely as impressive as others make it out to be and that wasBefore the film was even released, I knew exactly how weak the storyline would be regardless of the profound hype surrounding it. There really isn't much to say, other than 3D is barely as impressive as others make it out to be and that was supposedly the 'saving grace' of the film. The storyline simply borrowed from a platter of other films and even still managed to fail. I also won't bother going into what I expect to be scientific inconsistencies.

Overall, the film is simply shallow. I don't suggest seeing it unless there is an irritating family member who makes you sit down and endure it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
spacecaptainJun 11, 2011
Cameron continues his time honored method of creating films. Swipe the high concepts from a half dozen groundbreaking original works, glue them together with a lowest common denominator script, add money, a lot of money, an extraordinaryCameron continues his time honored method of creating films. Swipe the high concepts from a half dozen groundbreaking original works, glue them together with a lowest common denominator script, add money, a lot of money, an extraordinary amount of money, hype thoroughly, make more $$ back, and take credit for everything. Hail to the King. Avatar looks incredible, yadda, but to say the story is derivative would imply the origins of its ideas got their due. They never have in film, and now they won't because Cameron robbed the cradle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RocketcrossingMay 10, 2011
James Cameron has made some of the biggest movies to ever hit the big screen, from Aliens to Titanic, and he's notorious for breaking box office records every time he releases a movie. Avatar is no exception. Here's the important questionJames Cameron has made some of the biggest movies to ever hit the big screen, from Aliens to Titanic, and he's notorious for breaking box office records every time he releases a movie. Avatar is no exception. Here's the important question though: Are his movies any good? In some cases, yes - Terminator 2 is still one of my favorite actions movies, and Aliens was a more-than-worthy successor to Ridley Scott's infamous Alien. But in other cases, as with Avatar, he needs to sit down and really consider if he has any purpose on this earth, or if he should just kill himself so we can remember him as a good director with a few blemishes. Needless to say, I didn't like Avatar. I can't imagine why anyone would; not one thing about the story is original or even clever. I understand that it's pretty and the stupid pink plants stick out in 3-D, but aside from good effects, this movie has absolutely nothing going for it. It has a horribly un-original story, terrible pacing, poor character development, and is just all around a huge waste of time. An example of what I'm talking about would be Trudy Chacon, remember her? No? Neither did I; I had to look her up just now to make sure I got the name right. She's the pilot that is supposedly a primary character. Well, she dies during the battle, and there are a few things wrong with this segment. One, why the **** is her helicopter painted with war paint - let alone the fact that she's wearing it, too, for no reason - but you're going to tell me that they all banded together after their most sacred tree was destroyed to paint this chicks helicopter? Two, why am I supposed to care that a character with absolutely no development dies? Not only could I not remember her name, but I couldn't tell you if she even had any dialogue aside from her tragically terrible final words. I could pick this movie apart scene by scene, but I don't want to implode from anger, and I don't want to bore you, so I'll end it here. Read the rest of the review on my film review site, rocketcrossing.com, and check out our facebook page at facebook.com/rocketcrossing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
dmaarApr 30, 2011
The huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send aThe huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send a message. The acting was garbage, and the world had no depth. Everyone I went to see it with was very excited about it....but half fell asleep in the theater and the rest of us were laughing the whole time at how stupid it was. If the money that it took to make this movie was spent on something productive, we'd be on freaking Mars right now. Sit.kip Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
MrsoandsoApr 9, 2011
this movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overallthis movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overall unnecessary, it could have got by without it. as for story... could be wrapped up in an hour rather then three hours. the action only showed up at the "big battle" at the end other then that it was useless filler. overall: not worth the money or time

(on a side note why did it look like all the aircraft look like it was ripped out of Halo?)
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
TheWhiteMambaMar 18, 2011
Absolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, butAbsolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, but thats not enough to salvage the terrible acting and dreadful script. the entire story is borrowed from other hollywood movies. it disgusts me how much people love this movie. to me this shows just how simple and shallow movie goers are. the aliens were just friggen annoying to listen to and to look at. Ive never fallen asleep in the theater, but this got me pretty close. just a boring, eye candy laced, piece of **** movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
MagicSquidMar 5, 2011
Dances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for theDances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. At least the Colonel is honest and does exactly what he says he's going to do, and isn't a double talking snake in the grass like Jake Sully. This movie does a horrible injustice to fans of James Cameron, serious movie goers and manages to fall short of all the hype and positive reviews that proceeded me seeing it. So badly does it fail at being the cinematic masterpiece that so many people seem to hail it as, that I would consider it to be the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. This isn't a cinematic masterpiece, it's cinematic dreck. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
scbrotherFeb 26, 2011
james cameron, stop trying to shoving life lessons down my throat and wow me with visual effects, make a good movie without sam worthington your boyfriend.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
GamerinHarmonyFeb 5, 2011
Everything about this movie is cliched and boring other than the half-decent CGI. I actually hated it. I highly advise you never to rent or even skim through this movie on television...it's a pile of ****
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
SuperTakashiiFeb 5, 2011
Awfully clichedyl, horribly acted and scripted and stupidly over-hyped. Also lead to about two weeks of non-stop mindless gibberish from stupid 12 year-olds who seem to think that making a ridiculously high budget immediately makes a film brilliant.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
NomaicJan 31, 2011
A shamelessly bloated sci-fi "epic" built around a story that manages to slip into a deficit of surprises, characters so cliche you could almost quote them during your first viewing, an alien culture that's as deep as any Native AmericanA shamelessly bloated sci-fi "epic" built around a story that manages to slip into a deficit of surprises, characters so cliche you could almost quote them during your first viewing, an alien culture that's as deep as any Native American stereotype, and an environmental message delivered like a sledgehammer to the skull.

The effects are great, but it's nowhere near enough to salvage this mudslide of a film. I'm appalled this was nominated for Best Picture in 2009.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
OneWhoKnowsJan 4, 2011
If I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for thisIf I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for this gigantic waste of my time that makes me squirm. OK the effects were decent. But I DO NOT watch movies for their effects. The story was adolescent and the "camera work" was marginal at best. Try watching cinema and not a 3d cartoon, you might find your artistic integrity improved. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
GarethCriticDec 19, 2010
Nowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be ableNowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be able to get around based on special effects alone and Avatar is a prime example of this. It made a lot of money because it was visually great despite how bad it was a movie. I'm very happy that this crap didn't pick up a Best Picture Oscar, it didn't deserve it. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
RicochetDec 11, 2010
One point for phenomenal visual effects and a visual imagination that runs amok. As for the rest, the story line, and more importantly, the message it conveys, it is downright painful. The message being that of an all-powerfulOne point for phenomenal visual effects and a visual imagination that runs amok. As for the rest, the story line, and more importantly, the message it conveys, it is downright painful. The message being that of an all-powerful imperialistic, capitalistic and militaristic power being defeated by bows and arrows in a completely silly, unbelievable battle. Which in this day and age reminds one too much about the American empire projected into the future to the nth degree of violence and sheer stupidity, with all its arrogance and capitalistic values. A great message to the rest of the non American, non Western world . . . The irony is, it is made by a Canadian who comes from a country that is the opposite of imperialistic. If I didn't think that Cameron takes himself too seriously to do otherwise, I would think that he mocks America by using every cliché there is in American cinematography and serving it up to them as if to say: here, as ugly as that country's culture and values come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
XLR8TERDec 10, 2010
The writing behind James Cameron's AVATAR is so god aweful that half way through the movie the only motavation I had to stay and watch is so that I could compile a list of reasons why I hate this movie. Every character in this movie is aThe writing behind James Cameron's AVATAR is so god aweful that half way through the movie the only motavation I had to stay and watch is so that I could compile a list of reasons why I hate this movie. Every character in this movie is a cliche' or a stereotype such as The Austrailian-American Mariene, The Scientist, The War Hardened Badass, The Egotystical Buisinessman, and many more! And what little of a story AVATAR has is covered up by the horendous CGI. The technology behind the CGI is impressive but it is hardly artful often lacking patern and flow, or anything else visually appealing. Instead they overuse CGI in what can only be described as a head-ache indusing high contrast orgy. The movie is way too long as well. It would be nice if it served as a 10 minute tech demo, but the 3 hour embarassment to all things filmlovers truely value is less than nessary. In conclusion If you want to remain brain dead for 3 hours of your life and leave the theatere with no questions, need for thought, or questioning morality, watch avatar. If you truely value films, please skip this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AI88Nov 27, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the most overrated piece of politically correct, anti-American garbage I've ever seen. This movie is about a man who betrays his own country! How is that "heroic" or worthy of admiration???So, it has cool special effects. Whoopty-f***ing-do! I can't believe this piece of crap movie was so beloved by everyone. Apparently, pretty colors and cool explosions are all the typical modern consumer cares about. How sad. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
MarcelloMNov 11, 2010
A complete waste of good earned money and time. I would have rather watched a racoon cross the street for 3 hours . FINAL: a deliberate piss of trash
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
KastianOct 17, 2010
While a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of theWhile a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of the worst movie stereotypes. We have the badass soldier chick, the angry army commander, the hero who just wants to do the right thing, and the industry crazed maniac.

It took James Cameron 2h 40m to tell a story that Disney managed to tell in half the time.
Expand
12 of 23 users found this helpful1211
All this user's reviews
3
LostOverThereSep 14, 2010
I legitimately have no idea how this film has been getting so many positive reviews. Someone once said great films were a combination of technical innovation and artistic achievement. While Avatar certainly nails the technical side, it'sI legitimately have no idea how this film has been getting so many positive reviews. Someone once said great films were a combination of technical innovation and artistic achievement. While Avatar certainly nails the technical side, it's artistic half leaves a lot to be desired.

A by-the-numbers cookie-cutter plot with poor writing and awful dialogue.
Expand
23 of 39 users found this helpful2316
All this user's reviews
1
deltapatrickSep 8, 2010
Man when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film wasMan when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film was the cgi and i dont care for 3d the story was **** the acting was **** the writing was **** the screenplay was **** everything was **** and sadly to say the directing was **** i love james cameron growing up but he has lost his touch Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
CalexicanAug 29, 2010
It looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - noIt looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - no wonder it was completely overlooked at the awards nights Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
AmbrosineAug 20, 2010
When I sit down to watch a movie, I'd appreciate not being beaten over the head with political agenda bull. Storyline was not only thin and shallow but also extremely distasteful, and purely immature. To me it felt like liberals vs.When I sit down to watch a movie, I'd appreciate not being beaten over the head with political agenda bull. Storyline was not only thin and shallow but also extremely distasteful, and purely immature. To me it felt like liberals vs. war-mongering conservatives; childish name calling and finger pointing. Again: when I watch a movie, I find it insulting when it's attempting to brainwash me with political agenda whether it be extreme right or left. On to the next point. The distasteful bits would be the fact that we're supposed to cheer for the aliens---While they slaughter human beings. Now this could have worked if say a large portion of the marines rallied together (representing the audience) to protect Pandora, and the bloodthirsty Corporal (and why is he so bloodthirsty? Any reason?) could have his group of evil followers. And at the end, the humans find negotiation with Pandora and 'wisen' up to their ways (because we violent humans are utterly stupid according to the story. Yes, that means you). No, the movie didn't even do that. It gave no room for redemption, and practically insults you on a personal level. Next Point: If the evil business man was really after wealth, he would've stopped the operation to gather ore. He would've gone after the wealth of medical, biological, and sociological knowledge which would have made him insanely more rich than mining would. And finally, there is the point that many people have brought up: It's a total rip-off. Pocahontas, Dances with Wolves, Fern Gully, Aliens, and Storm Troopers have all been brought up which means the storyline is over used. Movie was highly overrated, critics either don't know their sh*t, are politically biased, or are too gutless to truly critique the film. A great big middle finger to the message of the film, and much love to the artists who made such a beautiful world. Shame on those who shallowly rated the film based upon appearances. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
PeterAug 18, 2010
the only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched thethe only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in the marines, and i have a friend in training right now, i do take offense to that. this movie also rips off so many different movies such as dances with wolves. unfortunatly my brother bought this movie on blu ray instead of hurt locker which was a much better movie. to all you obsessors, dont get mad at me, because the critics agree with me!!!!! hell yea!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
2
NunoV.Jun 19, 2010
Absurdely overrated. cgi masturbation with a lackluster plot and ridiculous neo-hippie fairy-tale.
23 of 32 users found this helpful
2
DerekSJun 17, 2010
Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing unexpected through the entire plot. I found myself predicting lines and events before they occurred, a feat which never leads to a good feeling about a movie. The special effects were phenomenal, but everything else seemed less important. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
0
brandonsJun 15, 2010
Very poor story line up,copied action sequences and early buzz that " director took 4 golden years to make so called visually epic and eventually a very very high budget film", its just a shame that a very well known director had to do all Very poor story line up,copied action sequences and early buzz that " director took 4 golden years to make so called visually epic and eventually a very very high budget film", its just a shame that a very well known director had to do all above things to gain the #1 spot once again in highest gross all time. I would rather choose to watch the dark knight once again. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
3
DaltonOJun 14, 2010
Eh, yeah its all 3D, yeah its got allot of special effects and costs allot, yeah its got blue alien boobs, but other than that there is nothing here. Terrible cliche, hole-filled plot leaves you bored. Its kind of amazing how you can have Eh, yeah its all 3D, yeah its got allot of special effects and costs allot, yeah its got blue alien boobs, but other than that there is nothing here. Terrible cliche, hole-filled plot leaves you bored. Its kind of amazing how you can have such a crappy plot and waste 4 hours on it. After you watch it you think its good at first, but that is just an effect from the CGI and 3D. Soon you will realize how lame it is. "the Eywa sees you!" ugg soooo cheesy. Expand
30 of 45 users found this helpful
0
SeamusJun 11, 2010
Pieac of crap, vidja games have been doing better worlds for years and they don't cost a trillion dollars. Cameron's worst movie to date, totally predictable.
5 of 9 users found this helpful
2
PeteGJun 11, 2010
I didn't see Avatar at the cinema - something about it just said to me it would be all style no substance. So I waited until it was released on DVD and bought it a couple of days after it was released, and it sat on the shelf for I didn't see Avatar at the cinema - something about it just said to me it would be all style no substance. So I waited until it was released on DVD and bought it a couple of days after it was released, and it sat on the shelf for several weeks until one quiet evening when there was nothing on TV worth watching. Well, it was exactly as I feared: a visual spectacle with absolutely no substance to back it up. The plot is puerile, derivative and overladen with the kind of crass, heavy-handed environmental messages you'd expect if an eight year old had written the script. Characterisation was paper thin and the actors mostly seemed on auto-pilot, either hamming it up or as wooden as the Na'vi's beloved trees. I'm all for no-brainer entertainment, but frankly I felt insulted. Mr Cameron, spend some of your frankly ridiculous budget on a decent script next time please. The score of 2 is for the admittedly great visuals and entertaining final reel battle only - the rest of the film scores a big fat zero. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful
3
StevenMJun 6, 2010
It was fun to watch, but I hated how recycled it is. Great visuals, but James Cameron could have done so much more with the plot line, characters, and general movie. I was disappointed to say the least.
11 of 18 users found this helpful
0
AmandaG.Jun 2, 2010
This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're supposed to believe that this far in the future, they are still using crappy wheelchairs that look the same from the ones in the 70's? Being a person who is not at all impressed by just special effects, I was extremely disappointed in this film and James Cameron. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful
1
JonathanSMay 29, 2010
This movie has terrible dialogue, poor acting, and a plot an 8 year old could write. Go watch Pocahontas if you want to see this movie; same story, better everything.
10 of 17 users found this helpful
1
LarrySMay 26, 2010
A typical piece of American shoot up em sensless piece of trash. Cameron has stolen ideas from a range of films and merged them into a silly unbelievably juvenile plot. Lots of violence and a story with nothing to say. Writing and dialogue A typical piece of American shoot up em sensless piece of trash. Cameron has stolen ideas from a range of films and merged them into a silly unbelievably juvenile plot. Lots of violence and a story with nothing to say. Writing and dialogue are amateurish with characters that seem to be taken from comic books. The only thing that makes this film remotely watchable are the special effects. Movie making at it's worst. Shame on the critics who didn't have the courage to pan this gross waste of money. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful
3
MattN.May 23, 2010
Great visuals and effects, but thats simply all that Avatar has to offer. No story, viciously bad overacting and dialogue older than Sigourney Weaver herself. Very boring and far too long.
28 of 39 users found this helpful
3
AnnieW.May 22, 2010
The best movie ever made.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
JoshuaB.May 16, 2010
The visuals were amazing, but who cares? The story went nowhere. This movie is quite simply nothing more than heavy-handed environmentalism under the guise of a lackluster alien romance. The acting was atrocious, the characters were dull, The visuals were amazing, but who cares? The story went nowhere. This movie is quite simply nothing more than heavy-handed environmentalism under the guise of a lackluster alien romance. The acting was atrocious, the characters were dull, and the middle three fourths of the movie could have been removed and no plot development would have been lost. These things are the calling cards of terrible movies. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful
1
JasonWMay 15, 2010
Cool visuals, but awful acting and a horrendous plot. I couldn't even make it through the entire movie. I walked out of the theater because I was so bored and could predict the entire movie after the first 10 minutes.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
0
philMay 15, 2010
This movie was a piece of crap. A predictable storyline that plays on some of the most racist character archetypes I've ever seen in a modern film. People say, OMG, the film looks so realistic, who cares about the plot? Yea, so did This movie was a piece of crap. A predictable storyline that plays on some of the most racist character archetypes I've ever seen in a modern film. People say, OMG, the film looks so realistic, who cares about the plot? Yea, so did Jurassic Park, and that film came out 17 years ago, but still managed to have a unique story, with great characters, and a good Aesop. Industries give consumers what we demand. If we are complacent with the tripe they give us, that's all we will get. If all we ask is a film look really good, and nothing else, that's all we will get. A film that looks good, and nothing else. I enjoy seeing films with good stories, and if we don't continue to demand such films, we won't get them. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
Marc.DApr 25, 2010
Aren't these reader reviews for the DVD/Blu Ray release of the show? I'm surprised that they had the audacity to release this movie with NO features. For that...I give this piece of crap nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
brandrApr 25, 2010
worst film of 2009, quite honestly the shallowest rip off film i've ever seen. do yourself a favor and check out pocahontas or dances with wolves if you want to see this idea done well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JustinNApr 24, 2010
I was shocked at the level of anti-American sentiment and the naked vitriolic hatred that this movie showed for the American military. How could someone who was a Marine who betrayed his country be the hero? How could a general's death I was shocked at the level of anti-American sentiment and the naked vitriolic hatred that this movie showed for the American military. How could someone who was a Marine who betrayed his country be the hero? How could a general's death be portrayed in such a positive light? Granted, I was expecting this film to be the typical Hollywood drivel that America is bad, the military is evil, and corporations are the spawn of satan stuff, but this a frightening new low. That said, the special effects are cool. If only Cameron used decent scripts instead of using special effects as a crutch, my rating would be higher. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
hersheldApr 15, 2010
Technically amazing but thats the only positive thing about Avatar. The storytelling is terrible, the characterization is terrible, the dialogue is PAINFULLY BAD. For gods sakes, the point of the plot is to 'obtain' an element Technically amazing but thats the only positive thing about Avatar. The storytelling is terrible, the characterization is terrible, the dialogue is PAINFULLY BAD. For gods sakes, the point of the plot is to 'obtain' an element called "unobtainium". seriously mr. cameron, could you be less imaginative? a monkey in front of a typewriter could have punched something smarter out in an hour. It seems that the storytelling was put on the backburner compared to the special effects and 3d technology that nobody but the people in the center of the movie theatre can fully experience. It is a waste of money to pay for the 3d romp, and is even less of a value to see it in 2d. I seems that avatar failed to give justice to the 11 year old script treatment, which i found to be on the level of lord of the rings book series compared to the abomination that was made of the final script. This was one of the two the instances that mr. cameron's vision could not be fufilled in the movie next to the abomination that was True Lies. My closing thoughts are that i hope that the sequel could be given more priority on story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArielYApr 13, 2010
This movie had nice animation, but what a waste: the story line felt used. It reminded me of Pocahontas or Fern Gully or something. Also, the characters didn't have enough depth to them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnJApr 11, 2010
Sigh. I expected a decent film that was over-hyped when i went in. What i got was a pretty terrible film with good effects. Yes the effects were good, but in my honest oppinion, the 3D was pretty little and way too spreadout and other films Sigh. I expected a decent film that was over-hyped when i went in. What i got was a pretty terrible film with good effects. Yes the effects were good, but in my honest oppinion, the 3D was pretty little and way too spreadout and other films had effects that aren't noticeably worse. As far as story and acting... well... there was none. Throughout the whole film i couldn't help but feel that if this were true, the humans would have done something completely different... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AaronJApr 4, 2010
I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original plot in an episode of Teletubbies than this. It was way too long, way to gimiky, with an overused and cheesy "save the rainforest" interspieces love crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, and the movie just kept going. I did not care about the giant lemers (Navi) at all. The war was unrealistic. It was just a drag that I hated going along with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrisCMar 19, 2010
This is a poor remake of dances with wolves with abit of the matrix (protoganist moving between 2 realities) and aliens (moronic incompetent military and nasty nasty corporations)movies bolted on. Visually it looked animated and false, at no This is a poor remake of dances with wolves with abit of the matrix (protoganist moving between 2 realities) and aliens (moronic incompetent military and nasty nasty corporations)movies bolted on. Visually it looked animated and false, at no point was i suckered into feeling it was real. CGI when its done right is seemless and un-noticedable Unfortunately Avatar just drowns you in it, never giving your mind a chance to accept it as real. Riddled with movie cliches (I actually found myself shouting at sigourney weaver as she calmly proclaims that a bullet in her stomach will ruin her day) poor characters and a story thats been done far better (dances with wolves) this film just left me feeling like I'd wasted 3hrs watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JaceN.Mar 12, 2010
James Camerons's "James Cameron's Avatar"...by James Cameron...is a shining example of why try to do anything properly when you can print money pandering to the lowest common denominator. He smooshed together Surrogates with James Camerons's "James Cameron's Avatar"...by James Cameron...is a shining example of why try to do anything properly when you can print money pandering to the lowest common denominator. He smooshed together Surrogates with Pocohontas, dressed it up with some blue-you paint, snagged the attention of mid 40's dweeb dads who've never seen visual effects before and made the most infuriating film ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NoeCMar 10, 2010
It is a mediocre movie at best. I got bored and couldn't believe any of the characters. Frankly, the special effects weren't all that much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CarlosSMar 7, 2010
Predictable, Anti-American, boring. Good special effects, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EddieMMar 7, 2010
It earned its single star by terminating. A pandering, cliche-ridden, overblown bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BennyG.Mar 7, 2010
There was only 1 movie I found even more boring - The Lord of the Rings. Wasted time and wasted money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
craigsMar 6, 2010
What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a half dozen other films that tell the same story much better. Pocahontas, FernTree Gully, Last of the Mohicans, The Last Samurai, BraveHeart. I won't bother explaining the plot because if you've seen any of the above mentioned films, then you've seen Avatar. And they didn't require flashy CGI to get their story across. Speaking of which, the CGI is by far the highlight of the movie, but even that was eclipsed by Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. And that movie is 10 years old now. The characters are one dimentional, the acting is fairly poor and the dialogue would surely make Lucas himself cringe. At least he can sleep peacefully in the knowledge that he didn't create the word "unobtainium". How the hell the actors managed to say that with a straight face I'm buggered if I know. Also, the movie makes such a blunt statement about our environmental woes and war in Iraq (we will fight terror with terror) that it is, quite frankly, an insult to the audiences intelligence. If I want to hear people make political and environmental statements I'll watch the news thanks very much. I go to the movies to escape real world issues, not to be beaten over the head with them. Cameron also stole a couple of sound effects from the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park. Can you pick them? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrunopMar 4, 2010
This could be the worst movie of all times. If you laugh when you see a poo on the street, you will love and this would be your new god.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StephenM.Mar 4, 2010
Seriously people, this was garbage, spectacular garbage but garbage nonetheless. It was pocahontas with dances with wolves with last of the mohicans mixed with the smurfs in space with a terrible script. If this wins best film at the Oscars, Seriously people, this was garbage, spectacular garbage but garbage nonetheless. It was pocahontas with dances with wolves with last of the mohicans mixed with the smurfs in space with a terrible script. If this wins best film at the Oscars, it will finally nail the integrity of the oscars into the pigs muck where this film lives. I enjoyed the spectacle first time around, second time it was a comedy. Oh my God. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RossMar 3, 2010
This movie was rubbish. How can people rate it 8 while admitting the story was terrible? The visuals are overrated, even if you didn't buy the hype. The characters are terrible. Any movie as predictable as this cannot break a 6, even if This movie was rubbish. How can people rate it 8 while admitting the story was terrible? The visuals are overrated, even if you didn't buy the hype. The characters are terrible. Any movie as predictable as this cannot break a 6, even if it looked good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GiulioF.Feb 28, 2010
VIsually speaking, this movie is great, one of the best experiences for my eyes, the best special effects i had ever seen... but visual is the least important thing in a movie. I'm sorry but this movie lacks of storyline, it's the VIsually speaking, this movie is great, one of the best experiences for my eyes, the best special effects i had ever seen... but visual is the least important thing in a movie. I'm sorry but this movie lacks of storyline, it's the same thing we saw in pochaontas, dance with wolves etc, nothing new, nothing fascinating, noting interesting, all boring. Giving it a high mark is like giving an A to an essay because of the writer's handwriting. Visual and sounds: 3/3 Acting and directing: 0/3 Plot: 0/3 Other: 0/1 Total: 3/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
aasFeb 26, 2010
HUGE waste of time. although pretty and innovative, i found myself laughing more than intrigued. if anything Avatar had provided my friends and i w/many inside jokes and some new dance moves. please don't buy into the hype that is this HUGE waste of time. although pretty and innovative, i found myself laughing more than intrigued. if anything Avatar had provided my friends and i w/many inside jokes and some new dance moves. please don't buy into the hype that is this holy grail of giant, blue, chernobyl lizards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LeeS.Feb 21, 2010
Wow, what utter garbage. The massive budget for this film should have gone into something that would actually benefit humanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarioPFeb 21, 2010
Unoriginal movie, visuals are not the only thing to weight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RyanjFeb 19, 2010
Avatar's plot is basically the American Indian's struggle with European colonists. The reviews from magazines and such praise the 'stunning beauty' of it's CG, but have they ever heard of a movie called Final Fantasy Avatar's plot is basically the American Indian's struggle with European colonists. The reviews from magazines and such praise the 'stunning beauty' of it's CG, but have they ever heard of a movie called Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CEFeb 18, 2010
Horribly derivative, poorly acted. Visually amazing, but if I want to be wowed by visuals I'll buy one of those Magic Eye books. I saw FernGully: The Last Rainforest, and it told the same exact story but with 100% more rapping bats and Horribly derivative, poorly acted. Visually amazing, but if I want to be wowed by visuals I'll buy one of those Magic Eye books. I saw FernGully: The Last Rainforest, and it told the same exact story but with 100% more rapping bats and lizards. I did not enjoy this at all, but now I have a sweet pair of 3-D glasses. Great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ZachS.Feb 16, 2010
This movie made Beowulf look like Brown Bunny and Last Tango in Paris combined with Flatliners.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NithinMFeb 15, 2010
Liked the movie only for its visual effects. Otherwise, I did not find it engaging or entertaining. The storyline is weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful