Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 8 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    75
    Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem is a B movie that truly earns its B.
  2. It may not be classic sci-fi like the original “Alien,” which it has in its DNA, but it’s a perfectly respectable next step in the series.
  3. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    50
    Chopped down to 40 minutes, this could be a wickedly cool short; as is, it’s a passable slasher that’s still nowhere near the interspecies smackdown we geeks have long imagined.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Rosenblatt
    30
    An orgy of mindless violence, a random collection of bloody bodies, alien misanthropy, and slobbering carnage designed to bore straight into the pleasure centers of 13-year-old boys and leave the rest of us wondering when the movies got so damn loud.
  5. 25
    --- Ho, ho, ho - the joke's on anyone who pays to see this.
  6. Reviewed by: Jason Anderson
    25
    It's unclear whether any of the actors here have promising political careers since their only purposes are to serve as prey, adversaries and involuntary incubators to their guests.
  7. 0
    A tasteless, witless, mindlessly perfunctory bloodbath that has the discourtesy to take itself seriously. Pitting aliens against predators may be the height of frivolity, but God forbid anyone have fun with it.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 158
  2. Negative: 67 out of 158
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Alright, we all know that this new series we all know as "AVP" hasn't been that hot. But what we should take into consideration is that this new series isn't supposed to be a remake of "Alien" or "Predator." Simply put out, judge it by the new storyline they have in place rather than trying to put the old one back in to place. It's a good movie on its own terms, yes it's a little bit cheaply made, but that's because of the budget they had access to. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2012
    5
    A reasonable film, with some good scenes, but most are extremely confusing and some are quite general, the acting also is not very good, but the story is incredible and could be better utilized. Ethical issues, such as killing thousands of people save millions and stop extraterrestrials and also whether or not humanity is ready for the new technology are positive points in the film. In general, a film considerably more or less. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    5
    As a fan of the first Alien vs Predator movie, and the Alien's and Predator's individual movies, I found this to be a disappointment. My biggest complaint with this movie is that the first half of the movie doesn't focus on the conflict of Aliens vs Predator, but rather it spends almost an hour giving us the backstory of the human characters and only gives us the occasional glimpse of an Alien or Predator. It's disappointing and boring because these characters are just stereotypes that have been done before in tons of other movies. But when the Aliens and Predator are finally set free on a rampage the movie gets enjoyable, but by that point half of the movie has rolled by so you only get about 45 minutes of the awesome fights. Part of the reason that is so upsetting to me is because I wanted the whole movie to focus on the fight between the two species, with some dumb humans getting caught in the middle to be little more than a tasty snack. But alas we get to focus on the humans this time, which is truly sad. Another issue I have with this film is that it seems some things that were put into this movie, like watching a child chest burst open or pregnant women in labor getting killed and having their unborn infants getting destroyed, seem to be put into this movie to shock or offend, but instead just come across as extremely bad taste. The writers should truly be ashamed. So enjoyed the second half of the movie (that's when the fight begins!) but hated the first half, and because of this the movie gets a half score. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    3
    Too dark, this one has the opposite problem of the first one, loads of action, violence and aliens but no plot. Plus the writer must have forgot that aliens are actually really strong and smart because this movie makes them look stupid and weak. Almost enough to not call them dangerous. It's a shame, was hoping for something better than that garbage. You're better off sticking with the games and comics until some bright spark realises that maybe they should just stop insulting both franchises and stop making these films. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2013
    2
    Supremely stupid. This is so distasteful The entire concept is disgusting on every level. The entire cast and crew must have been desperate to have participated in this garbage. Expand
  6. May 25, 2012
    1
    It is simply not passable for multiple reasons. There is no story, the acting is ass, zero character development, bad lighting, and it overall just looks really cheap and just plain boring. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    0
    The first AvP was verry, verry bad. But this one makes a real performance, by being most bad. Nothing to say, just don't watch it. It's boring, not entertaining... Hollywood style. Expand

See all 158 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos Image
    Published: July 25, 2012
    This week, directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris return with a follow-up to indie hit "Little Miss Sunshine." As we see inside, director pairings are increasingly common, though some (like Dayton and Faris) turn out better work than others.
  2. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.
  3. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."