Focus Features | Release Date: June 5, 2009
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
13
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ChrisHJun 5, 2009
This movie was engaging from the get go. Just a small, well made, charming film filled with great performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LJun 13, 2010
This movie is underappreciated. A poignant story about the choices we all have to make about how and where you want to live your life. Loved the cast, score and gorgeous cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArthurFOct 24, 2009
Really wonderful touching sweet and profound.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LEOct 29, 2009
Absolutely adorable movie! Even my husband referred to it as excellent. Definitely quirky comedy, filled with terrific acting and dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyR.Oct 3, 2009
I thought it was a terrific film. Negative reviews on the film as far as i can tell are usually from people who either felt insulted or who dont want to acknowledge how lost we all should and do feel sometimes. Krazinski and Rudolph give I thought it was a terrific film. Negative reviews on the film as far as i can tell are usually from people who either felt insulted or who dont want to acknowledge how lost we all should and do feel sometimes. Krazinski and Rudolph give masterful performances. If you watch it with an open mind and heart you will truly enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexS\Oct 6, 2009
Cannot believe that there are so many negative reviews, because there is absolutely negative about this movie at all! I personally loved it. So kind, true and simply wonderful. Surely it is not a blockbuster, but a very intimate picture. And Cannot believe that there are so many negative reviews, because there is absolutely negative about this movie at all! I personally loved it. So kind, true and simply wonderful. Surely it is not a blockbuster, but a very intimate picture. And the ending is so magically beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulAJun 22, 2009
hilarious and touching. as the parent of two young kids, it seems like there are very few healthy examples of parenting which means you're on your own. This movie takes that idea to the extreme and gets big laughs from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
carriesJun 6, 2009
2 hours of sweet, true fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jazminaOct 4, 2009
We really enjoyed this movie. It's a bit slow to begin but you end up loving the journey. It's quirky for sure and has some very funny moments. Well worth 2 hours of your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
christianpJun 14, 2009
Thoroughly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaneJun 22, 2009
After seeing Land of the Lost the day before, (one of the worst movies I've ever seen), this one gave me hope for movies again. It was quirky and sweet with heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcCJul 2, 2009
Krasinski and Rudolph are the heroes, and everything and everyone else is so tilted that is made clear. But with the exception of Maggie G and her family, all the other characters are not as one-dimensional as might appear on first viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KiraLJun 21, 2009
You don't see these types of characters very often in film. Sam Mendes does a fine job with a perfectly cast ensemble.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickGJun 25, 2009
It's not great, but it's not bad. It's just good. Maya Rudolph does a fantastic job, while Jon Krasinski definitely doesn't disappoint. The vignettes with the other couples are funny (mostly because they're true) and It's not great, but it's not bad. It's just good. Maya Rudolph does a fantastic job, while Jon Krasinski definitely doesn't disappoint. The vignettes with the other couples are funny (mostly because they're true) and sad (again, mostly because they're true). If you're a fan of somber comedies like Garden State or Last Kiss, then you'll enjoy this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinCJun 29, 2009
Great movie!! Simple and full of heart. Great comedic moments intertwined with serious moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Sep 23, 2009
A wonderful film, with rich and well developed characters. It combines warmth and humor extremely well. Excellent writing and direction. The performances are fantastic, especially the two leads.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinstonLNov 12, 2009
Krasinski and Rudolph are on my Oscar-watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
wiggipopMar 27, 2011
I really love this film. It manages to be really funny, really poignant and really sweet. I was completely in love with the two leads, who are both excellent and fit together perfectly. And what a delight to see some of my favourite actorsI really love this film. It manages to be really funny, really poignant and really sweet. I was completely in love with the two leads, who are both excellent and fit together perfectly. And what a delight to see some of my favourite actors pop up in the most wonderfully zany roles: Allison Janney as a wild and wildly inappropriate mother, Maggie Gyllenhaal as a nutso hippie, and the excellent Melanie Lynskey as an adoptive mother filled with a heartbreaking sorrow. This film took me by surprise. I think, ultimately, it's a tiny bit too shmaltzy by the end but mostly it's just wonderful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
I don't know why I liked this movie so much. It was maybe a little self-important but I think that John Krasinski (who is hilarious on The Office) and Maya Rudolph took control of the movie with their performances
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews