Away We Go

Away We Go Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Longtime (and now thirtysomething) couple Burt and Verona are going to have a baby. The pregnancy progresses smoothly, but six months in, the pair is put off and put out by the cavalierly delivered news from Burt’s parents Jerry and Gloria that the eccentric elder Farlanders are moving outLongtime (and now thirtysomething) couple Burt and Verona are going to have a baby. The pregnancy progresses smoothly, but six months in, the pair is put off and put out by the cavalierly delivered news from Burt’s parents Jerry and Gloria that the eccentric elder Farlanders are moving out of Colorado – thereby eliminating the expectant couple’s main reason for living there. So, where, and among whom of those closest to them, might Burt and Verona best put down roots to raise their impending bundle of joy? The couple embarks on an ambitious itinerary to visit friends and family, and to evaluate cities. (Focus Features) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. 100
    Like "Juno" or "Little Miss Sunshine," Away We Go is a small film, the kind of gem that's easy to crush with hype or overpraise. But, the fact is that few movies deal with feelings this profound with as much restraint as Mendes and his crew display here.
  2. 83
    Though Away We Go lacks the screwball unpredictability of something like "Flirting With Disaster," it compensates with a unexpected depth of feeling, a novelist’s (or memoirist’s) sense of detail, and a panoramic view of what home means.
  3. 75
    Away We Go is not as dramatically wrenching as "Revolutionary Road," but it's unquestionably more enjoyable.
  4. Glib and charming in roughly equal measure.
  5. Though it's nice to see Mendes take a looser, not quite so studied approach to his filmmaking, some stops along the way -- like a detour to visit Burt's suddenly single brother (Paul Schneider) -- feel dramatically off-course.
  6. See it for the performances – they are delights from the leads on down to the characters in the episodic vignettes. But the film’s vision of Gen-Y nesting is liable to leave you up a tree.
  7. 30
    It's in these vignettes that Away We Go begins to feel less like an authentic exploration of identity than a condemnation of the very community the couple pretends to crave. No one, it turns out, is good enough for Burt and Verona.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31
  1. WinstonL
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Krasinski and Rudolph are on my Oscar-watch.
  2. carries
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    2 hours of sweet, true fun.
  3. jazmina
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    We really enjoyed this movie. It's a bit slow to begin but you end up loving the journey. It's quirky for sure and has some very We really enjoyed this movie. It's a bit slow to begin but you end up loving the journey. It's quirky for sure and has some very funny moments. Well worth 2 hours of your life. Expand
  4. PaulA
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    hilarious and touching. as the parent of two young kids, it seems like there are very few healthy examples of parenting which means hilarious and touching. as the parent of two young kids, it seems like there are very few healthy examples of parenting which means you're on your own. This movie takes that idea to the extreme and gets big laughs from me. Expand
  5. PatrickG
    Jun 25, 2009
    7
    It's not great, but it's not bad. It's just good. Maya Rudolph does a fantastic job, while Jon Krasinski definitely It's not great, but it's not bad. It's just good. Maya Rudolph does a fantastic job, while Jon Krasinski definitely doesn't disappoint. The vignettes with the other couples are funny (mostly because they're true) and sad (again, mostly because they're true). If you're a fan of somber comedies like Garden State or Last Kiss, then you'll enjoy this. Expand
  6. AndrewE
    Dec 30, 2009
    3
    Flat uninspired writing made worse by desperate acoustic soundtrack. Eggers makes an entire generation look even more repugnant than they Flat uninspired writing made worse by desperate acoustic soundtrack. Eggers makes an entire generation look even more repugnant than they already are. The movie also has an expiration date of mid-2008, pretending that a freelance medical illustrator and fake insurance salesman are economically stable. If real, this couple would currently be found in the aisles of their local food pantry. Beyond a comeuppance for the Boomers, the recession is cosmic retribution for Gen Y's entitled, precious self-regard. But hey, that kid will get her Huck Finn-ey childhood fishing for her supper when there's no money! How authentic! Expand
  7. RichR.
    Jun 28, 2009
    0
    A truly nauseating waste of time. The characters are all jerks, esp the wife. People keep telling her she is beautiful, but there's no A truly nauseating waste of time. The characters are all jerks, esp the wife. People keep telling her she is beautiful, but there's no way. I left the theatre after an hour. Pure bilge. Collapse

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Comeback: Artists With Decade-Long Gaps Between Albums

    The Comeback: Artists With Decade-Long Gaps Between Albums Image
    Published: April 12, 2011
    In the next few weeks, both The Feelies and The Cars will release albums for the first time in over 20 years. We survey over 50 recent comeback albums to see if it is ever possible to succeed after such a long time away from the studio.
  2. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.