Paramount Vantage | Release Date: October 27, 2006
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 787 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
490
Mixed:
98
Negative:
199
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
LlilianaD.Mar 3, 2007
I hate it. Topical, slow, obvious. I wanted to leave the theater before the end. The worst I have seen lately
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MagdalenaT.Mar 3, 2007
Excellent Movie. I know some people didnt like it, that is mainly because they didn't want to think. This movie will require you to concentrate to what is happening. Excellent movie. Very well made and required a lot of work. MUST SEE Excellent Movie. I know some people didnt like it, that is mainly because they didn't want to think. This movie will require you to concentrate to what is happening. Excellent movie. Very well made and required a lot of work. MUST SEE for anyone. Educational for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DonQ.Mar 4, 2007
Not a 10, it had some flaws. Not a 3 or a 0 either, it wasn't that bad. I admit I'm in a small minority, but I was predicting AND hoping that this would win best picture. Beautifully directed, well-acted, and original (as opposed Not a 10, it had some flaws. Not a 3 or a 0 either, it wasn't that bad. I admit I'm in a small minority, but I was predicting AND hoping that this would win best picture. Beautifully directed, well-acted, and original (as opposed to a movie based on a 2002 Hong Kong thriller). Yeah, so it didn't come together in a nice resolution in the end. Real life doesn't always have a nice resolution. Also, anyone notice this: 2005 winner Crash's Metacritic score: 69 2006 nominee Babel's Metacritic score: 69. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillK.Mar 4, 2007
Quite Possibly the dumbest movie ever made. I think that I would rather watch "Dude Where's My Car." In fact I believe that Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett should pay US to watch the movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TrevaR.Mar 8, 2007
Why did I waste my time on this film, I am still asking myself that question? I find the movie's leaping around between stories frustratingly annoying with little thread or reason between them until the end which was too late in the Why did I waste my time on this film, I am still asking myself that question? I find the movie's leaping around between stories frustratingly annoying with little thread or reason between them until the end which was too late in the game for me to care why there was a connection. The filming of the Asian girl exposing herself to the boys was totally unnecessary. Hitchcock never needed to show someone's head being blown off, and we didn't need to see her naked body to understand her pain. SKIP THIS ONE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
anonimousApr 11, 2007
This movie is not stupid, it's dumb. I wonder how much the writer of this movie knows about Morocco, Japan and Mexico...?
it's a pity for people who don't know much about these cultures to watch this garbage and think that
This movie is not stupid, it's dumb. I wonder how much the writer of this movie knows about Morocco, Japan and Mexico...?
it's a pity for people who don't know much about these cultures to watch this garbage and think that this is how things are.
I wonder if it is illegal immigration, pauvrety, ignorance or simply, greatness of america in the whole world that this movie is trying to show here???
it has beautiful pictures though of all these 3 countries, that's why I give it 1.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnO.Apr 18, 2007
Its beautifully shot and the performances are first class but as many have said there isn't really anything of great substance to connect the various storylines convincingly. Inarrito is undoubtedly extremely talented but I'd hoped Its beautifully shot and the performances are first class but as many have said there isn't really anything of great substance to connect the various storylines convincingly. Inarrito is undoubtedly extremely talented but I'd hoped for more. Just one story with a fully developed plot perhaps. Pleeease!!? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ghostlyApr 24, 2007
when i saw this film i was in laos in a tourist trap town where all the blonds and europeens and privileged israeli went for vacation..to do tubbing...
anyways..they were all sitting in this restaurant watching this movie...of Moroccan
when i saw this film i was in laos in a tourist trap town where all the blonds and europeens and privileged israeli went for vacation..to do tubbing...
anyways..they were all sitting in this restaurant watching this movie...of Moroccan berbers eating couscous at a table...and looking so boring and primitive in the eyes of the camera. Truly this movie was made by an american who only knows america...now the filmakers name is hispanic but how much of Morocco does he know? He just showed them like aloof people with no intelleigence..i mean shit..i was in morocco and tought video to the adolescents and they had very fine minds...
America is so scared of herself...and being unloved...that she projects her fears on everyone.
IT is a shame that we never hear the voice of the Moroccan people. They are just fucking scenery for the glorification of Mr armpit and Mme aerian race blondy herself...
America the WHTIE
although u made a film about internation...it was once again about self importance of the whites colonnizers.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarlosG.Apr 24, 2007
Possibly, the worst of it all i that everything happens to one single white American family!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Js.Apr 28, 2007
What are you all waiting for exactly? Why must everything be cleverly and intricately linked together to deserve acclaim? So many of you that knock this film complain about the frailty of the connections between characters. So what? The What are you all waiting for exactly? Why must everything be cleverly and intricately linked together to deserve acclaim? So many of you that knock this film complain about the frailty of the connections between characters. So what? The world is not a cleverly orchestrated screenplay. Commonly, trivial events lead to catastrophic results. Worlds collide in uncommon and sometimes very strange ways. Everything doesn't (and shouldn't) magically come together like the cliche's you are used to and obviously can't live without. Many people of our society are sexually repressed, and many live in paralyzing fear over things that may seem inconsequential to you. If at the very least you cannot wrap your pedantic, hair-splitting brain around the simplicity of the storyline, show some sensitivity to the genuine FEELING that this film has. Cate's performance alone should earn this film at least three points. Giving it a zero is just plain stupid and makes me wonder if some of you are capable of compassion or empathy at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisB.Apr 5, 2007
This movie is not very good. It is amazing how much everyone seems to hate each other over their opinions about movies. Our lives have very little to do with anything that happened in this movie and our opinions of this film are an equally This movie is not very good. It is amazing how much everyone seems to hate each other over their opinions about movies. Our lives have very little to do with anything that happened in this movie and our opinions of this film are an equally small insight into our intellectual value in the world. I suggest not watching this movie though. It is boring and unimporportant. There are a few memorable scenes, but they have virtually nothing to do with reality yet the movie seems to suggest that they are supposed to. I was mad about my lost two hours after it was over. Watch that Volkswagon commercial. Its thirty seconds and conveys the same point...only it is less boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KateOApr 6, 2007
Ugh. Extremely pompous movie about unlikeable characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JackW.Apr 8, 2007
Bar good performances and cinematography this film just tried to hard. The way the stories linked was pathetic as were the plot of most of the stories themselves. I can think of so many flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrfeoMay 11, 2007
Four months after I saw this, I'm still drawn to it. Not because of the plot details, or any deep philosophical message, but simply because it felt like a genuine cinematic experience. It made me FEEL things. Sometimes it was charming, Four months after I saw this, I'm still drawn to it. Not because of the plot details, or any deep philosophical message, but simply because it felt like a genuine cinematic experience. It made me FEEL things. Sometimes it was charming, and sometimes it was trying to tear my heart out. I don't know that it took me to any particular destination - and that's probably what some people dislike about it - but throughout the entire film I felt like the journey itself was worth experiencing and was never dull. I've seen much shorter movies that seemed to take a lot longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalmanHabibMay 18, 2007
I think Carl f summed it up for me....only people who are claiming it to be unrealistic and boring are those who havent out of their cosy lillte neighbourhood....rest alone america....i have been to many countries and this movie depicted theI think Carl f summed it up for me....only people who are claiming it to be unrealistic and boring are those who havent out of their cosy lillte neighbourhood....rest alone america....i have been to many countries and this movie depicted the intrinsic complexities of different cultures brilliantly and authentically....the fact that was evident in the whole movie which many american beleive as well is that their blood is somehow more important than that of others....that they are more important than the rest of the world....but somehow they dont want to accept it....oh wait yeah....they dont want to be called racist anymore.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaraG.May 8, 2007
I was very impressed with the whole thing, I love that it shows how our world is so connected, yet completely divided. It definitely puts you in someone else's shoes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RussellL.Jun 15, 2007
Jason, you're an idiot! The reason she could take the call was because it happened before she even went to Mexico. Weren't you paying attention? This was the link between the different threads in the movie, but the time frames were Jason, you're an idiot! The reason she could take the call was because it happened before she even went to Mexico. Weren't you paying attention? This was the link between the different threads in the movie, but the time frames were different, that's all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PhilG.Jun 18, 2007
The movie tries hard to be like some European movies and just fails badly. The director has not mastered the art of creating a movie without a plot and yet captivating the audience. He has a lot to learn from the Italian, French and Spanish masters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
danwilsonJun 18, 2007
this movie was the shittest thing i have ever watched...things which i have gazed upon so far in my life which have succsessfully satisfied me more than this so called film include... paint drying, snails crawling and big brother livethis movie was the shittest thing i have ever watched...things which i have gazed upon so far in my life which have succsessfully satisfied me more than this so called film include... paint drying, snails crawling and big brother live nominations... as far as im concerned you owe me one hundred and forty two minutes of my life back.... as for it being a so called suspense slash thriller... if u tried to make the most boringest randomest crappest movie ever, this would beat u. yours sincerely dan wilson... better luck next time Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu has become a director so emotionally depleting that when one leaves the theater after seeing one of his films, they are left naked and vulnerable to the world
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KostasA.Jul 10, 2007
It was quite a good film. But, I don't think that without the Japan part it would be worse. In some way it just didn't fit in the story. The acting was excellent and mostly as far as the children are concerned. Brand Pit did at It was quite a good film. But, I don't think that without the Japan part it would be worse. In some way it just didn't fit in the story. The acting was excellent and mostly as far as the children are concerned. Brand Pit did at least something not heroic in his career and wasn't the one who saves the world. The direction was worth the award. Lastly, I have one question, what was the meaning of the scene in which the boy masturbated? I can't understand what it was to show us. If somebody does, please mail me, I'm really curious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnZJul 15, 2007
This movie tore up my guts. Great acting. I've never seen reviews of a movie that had so many either loving it or hating it, 10 all the way to 0. As effecting as it was to me, I can't understand how someone could not be involved This movie tore up my guts. Great acting. I've never seen reviews of a movie that had so many either loving it or hating it, 10 all the way to 0. As effecting as it was to me, I can't understand how someone could not be involved with it, but I just figure that's their loss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RobB.Jul 21, 2007
Looks fantastic. Terrible Story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DOAug 21, 2007
This had to be the worst movie my husband and I have ever seen. We kept waiting for something to really make sense. BIG WASTE of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Sunn-RaSep 25, 2007
Moving, awakening, igniting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LiefS.Sep 5, 2007
This could have been a really good tv episode if it were half an hour long. instead u have an over extended bleeding heart, left wing propoganda flick with tons of long un-needed scenes (like the little boy masterbating while protecting goats?)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanS.Dec 6, 2008
Well, I enjoyed it a lot, what can I say? Certainly I could say that parts were a bit slow -- for me it was totally engrossing, but it so happened that I watched it split over two evenings. But II thought it was a pretty amazing movie, withWell, I enjoyed it a lot, what can I say? Certainly I could say that parts were a bit slow -- for me it was totally engrossing, but it so happened that I watched it split over two evenings. But II thought it was a pretty amazing movie, with a raw realism that makes me feel like I really tapped into these connected slices of life. I found the acting compelling all around and the cinematography and locations amazing.

The feel is almost documentary-like, and we are jumped from character to character such that we aren't deeply invested in any one. There are emotional events, but they are presented rather starkly with little comment. Rather like watching a nature video where animals struggle and some die, but we don't really know those animals, so we are left to our own devices as to the interpretation.

I think there is a lot to think about afterwards about the the various connections and character contrasts that didn't necessarily jump out while I was watching the film. (There's more to it than just a gun.) This movie is not the best movie ever but it is quite special, if you are properly receptive to it. It requires a certain contemplativeness and willingness to look beyond the surface. You are not going to want to watch this with some buddies over beers.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ClairekohlJan 6, 2008
This was the worst movie I've seen in 35 years. Basically it's liberal emoting subliminally with the theme: Western Culture (Japan which copies America) is to blame for all the ills in the world. Big bad border guards, big badThis was the worst movie I've seen in 35 years. Basically it's liberal emoting subliminally with the theme: Western Culture (Japan which copies America) is to blame for all the ills in the world. Big bad border guards, big bad Americans don't understand illegal immigrant struggle or arab family dynamics. It sucks worse than anything you can imagine....don't waste your money renting this piece of crap of a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RidleyJFeb 24, 2008
I love art house human drama movies , so I was looking forward to this, but I found it to be really vapid. There's no depth to any of the roles here, and to be honest I got bored during the movie. It has only one moving scene in theI love art house human drama movies , so I was looking forward to this, but I found it to be really vapid. There's no depth to any of the roles here, and to be honest I got bored during the movie. It has only one moving scene in the whole movie, and although that was pewtty powerful, it just wasn't enough. Crash I will remember forever. Babel I will quickly forget. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CronosA.Apr 20, 2008
A love it or hate it film. You can prove that by seeing all the ratings here: 10 or 0 in most cases. Mine is ten, but why? Simply because this film may be pretentious, but in a good way, or because the job of the actors (Barraza an Kikuchi A love it or hate it film. You can prove that by seeing all the ratings here: 10 or 0 in most cases. Mine is ten, but why? Simply because this film may be pretentious, but in a good way, or because the job of the actors (Barraza an Kikuchi are outstanding). For those who didn't understand the film, they should pay more atention to the time frames. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredEJan 22, 2009
Was this a short story written by a high school drop out that was turned into more than a two hour production? This was the longest piece of crap I have ever seen with the most minimal amount of acting possible. I could literally feel my Was this a short story written by a high school drop out that was turned into more than a two hour production? This was the longest piece of crap I have ever seen with the most minimal amount of acting possible. I could literally feel my life being sucked from me while viewing it. You know it is bad when you can have casual conversation or a bathroom break at any point in the film and not lose anything from the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NavinJApr 4, 2009
My wife bought this film since she wanted to see it. After the first ten minutes she fell asleep and I turned it off. Trite, contrived, ignorant and a big waste of time. Almost seemed like the scriptwriter hadn't even been to the places My wife bought this film since she wanted to see it. After the first ten minutes she fell asleep and I turned it off. Trite, contrived, ignorant and a big waste of time. Almost seemed like the scriptwriter hadn't even been to the places he was writing about. Probably not as bad as Crash, but worse that Syriana. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnLazarJul 17, 2009
amazing movie. gut-wrenching, captivating and incredible. the directing is amazing, and brad pitt, cate blanchett and adriana barraza are amazing. along with the entire cast. the writing is true, and shows the consequences of our thoughtlessamazing movie. gut-wrenching, captivating and incredible. the directing is amazing, and brad pitt, cate blanchett and adriana barraza are amazing. along with the entire cast. the writing is true, and shows the consequences of our thoughtless actions. ONLY FOR INTELLIGENT PEOPLE!! OTHERS WON'T GET IT OR APPRECIATE IT AND BE "BORED" WHEN THEY'RE TOO LAZY TO UNDERSTAND. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NancyH.Nov 11, 2006
Heart wrenching and tragic. Makes you want to take out emergency evacuation insurance when traveling. Rinko Kikuchi was astounding--she had a lot to communicate. The plight of everone was human and painful. The movie is long, so if you have Heart wrenching and tragic. Makes you want to take out emergency evacuation insurance when traveling. Rinko Kikuchi was astounding--she had a lot to communicate. The plight of everone was human and painful. The movie is long, so if you have bad knees, watch out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gabec.Nov 11, 2006
If you have seen the director's previous two movies, you are quite accustomed to the format. And this one is just as powerful and emotional draining, but ultimately wonderfully revealing what it means to be a human being, whether in joy If you have seen the director's previous two movies, you are quite accustomed to the format. And this one is just as powerful and emotional draining, but ultimately wonderfully revealing what it means to be a human being, whether in joy or in distress; whether in Morocco or in Japan. The mistakes the characters made are all driven by the circumstances that anyone of us could have made. The stories being connected or not is not the point. It does what a movie is meant to do: let us feel and see the world differently than when we walked in the theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WilliamBNov 12, 2006
This is a trite and offensive story of the commonplace: how blacks and browns screw up and get screwed. Critics seem bamboozled by wrapping the story in a pretentious package of excellent cinematography with psuedo-intellectual overtones.This is a trite and offensive story of the commonplace: how blacks and browns screw up and get screwed. Critics seem bamboozled by wrapping the story in a pretentious package of excellent cinematography with psuedo-intellectual overtones. The film contrasts the misfortunes of a dedicated brown nanny with the travails and eventual good fortune of absentee very white parents. It contrasts angelic very white children with foolish brown children and emotionally disturbed asian children. Imagine a little white girl who has never seen a chicken with feathers beating rural mexican chilren at a common game. The Japanese segment is little more than an excuse to show a pubescent girl naked. As for the acting: Pitt doesn't; Blanchet's high point is exclaiming that she pee'd her pants. Indeed the good acting is turned in by the brown actors who must portary making foolish choices. My advice - don't wste your time and money on this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NPNov 12, 2006
After enduring the "roller coaster" sick feeling for around 90 minutes we left the theater. Sure, there were some "lessons to be learned" but some 'shots" did NOT have to be in this painfully SLOW film. This was a complete waste of our After enduring the "roller coaster" sick feeling for around 90 minutes we left the theater. Sure, there were some "lessons to be learned" but some 'shots" did NOT have to be in this painfully SLOW film. This was a complete waste of our money and time. I would encourage EVERYONE to NOT SEE THIS FILM! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JosephNov 12, 2006
A pretentious, obvious, and, most damagingly, utterly inept film. Supposedly about miscommunication, it's really about a series of really stupid decisions, by characters who aren't behaving in any way that resembles actual human A pretentious, obvious, and, most damagingly, utterly inept film. Supposedly about miscommunication, it's really about a series of really stupid decisions, by characters who aren't behaving in any way that resembles actual human interaction. A hopelessly self-important mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraH.Nov 13, 2006
There is not one single moment this film isn't riveting or fascinating for one reason or another - the acting, the sound (or lack of), the visual sweep. For those who didn't like it, I predict your mind will change itself down the There is not one single moment this film isn't riveting or fascinating for one reason or another - the acting, the sound (or lack of), the visual sweep. For those who didn't like it, I predict your mind will change itself down the line - because there are images that will stick with you a week from now, a month, a year - and more. That kind of unforgettable quality is rare. You'll see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
robrNov 13, 2006
A harrowing interpretative tale of lone one gun that mixes the filmmakers refreshing and artistic vision within the sprawl of a star powered motion picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RebeccaV.Nov 15, 2006
The title "Babel" just doesn't fit. I like to call it "A bad day for the PItt family."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Nov 17, 2006
Not worth viewing. A contrived and weak story with typical sexism and stereotypes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidAndersonNov 18, 2006
This is the worst movie I have ever seen in 22 years being on this earth. [You can stop reading and go see Casino Royale now]. You must have some serious issues if you think this was good, as a lot of people do, and trust me, it's notThis is the worst movie I have ever seen in 22 years being on this earth. [You can stop reading and go see Casino Royale now]. You must have some serious issues if you think this was good, as a lot of people do, and trust me, it's not me. I left the theatre after 2 hours since there was no plot, nothing was happening, half the movie or more has subtitles, and there are SO many long, drawn out periods of NOTHING. OMG. It's absolute garbage and I regret the fact that I wasted 2 hours of my life on this crap. Brad Pitt's wife gets shot by some random Middle Eastern boys who masturbate behind rocks [oh, and while thinking of their sister their sister too], some random deaf-mute Japanese girl tries to get laid with various people she comes across, takes drugs and goes to a club, and a Mexican nanny who is taking care of Brad Pitt's kids takes them across the US/Mexico border for a wedding, gets driven back by a drunk guy, border hops past customs, and they end up carless in a random field at night. Then I went home. So sad that I paid for this patheticism. DO NOT SEE IT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelPerriniNov 18, 2006
This movie was amateurish, at best. If the filmmakers ever bother to read comments from paying customers--which based on their self-indulgent "artiste" attitude that was quite evident in the film, I strongly doubt--let me explain somethingThis movie was amateurish, at best. If the filmmakers ever bother to read comments from paying customers--which based on their self-indulgent "artiste" attitude that was quite evident in the film, I strongly doubt--let me explain something to you. Good stories are rooted in the characters behaving in realistic ways based on solidly built motivation. Two little boys raised in a strict Muslim household don't suddenly decide to shoot a rifle at a tourist bus. Shy, deaf teenage girls don't suddenly decide to take off their panties and shoot beavers at the boys who made fun of them in the school cafeteria. A Mexican who has been living a good life illegally in the USA for the past 16 years doesn't suddenly decide to go back to Mexico with no earthly idea how she'll return. Police detectives don't suddenly decide to hang around in the middle of the night with the naked jail bait daughter of a powerful businessman, in that businessman's apartment, when said powerful businessman might come home at any moment.

Come on, guys! We're not fools. You can't make your characters do whatever you want them to do because it will make a "cool" scene--you have to set up believable motivations. This is Fiction Writing 101 stuff. You ought to know better.

Furthermore, we are supposed to believe that the Bratt Pitt character his the worst luck of anyone born since Job. Not only is he the one whose wife gets randomly shot while they are on vacation in Morocco, but he's also the one whose children are kidnapped and taken out of the USA by his trusted nanny...and all of this happens, wonder of wonders, at the same time! I can only conclude that you have deluded yourself into thinking this is all somehow believable. What planet do you live on? It is definitely not Earth.

If all that wasn't bad enough, this movie consisted of three separate stories all cut and pasted into one, with little relation to each other. The third story about the oversexed Japanese schoolgirl just plain didn't fit. In fact, it seems pretty obvious to me that the main reason it was put into the film was because somebody making the movie gets off on watching oversexed Japanese schoolgirls in their cute little uniforms. Hey, whatever turns you on is none of my business...but it's no reason to put that stuff into this particular film.

The only reason I gave the movie a 3, and not a 0, because of the visuals. The director of photography seems to be the only one who knows his craft.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MariaWNov 19, 2006
Moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouR.Nov 19, 2006
Though I wondered through about half of this film where it was going, it was worth the wait. The three subplots kept me shoving the popcorn in my mouth as each of the scenes completely sucked me into the its intense emotion as if I was Though I wondered through about half of this film where it was going, it was worth the wait. The three subplots kept me shoving the popcorn in my mouth as each of the scenes completely sucked me into the its intense emotion as if I was experiencing it myself. I haven't walked out af a theater so satisfied in a long time...and I see alot of movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
sandyNov 20, 2006
What a load of dog poop!! A complete waste of $10. I wanted to see the latest Brad Pitt movie but 15 minutes into it was begging to leave. I ended up suffering through the entire movie, but hated every second of it. When Cate What a load of dog poop!! A complete waste of $10. I wanted to see the latest Brad Pitt movie but 15 minutes into it was begging to leave. I ended up suffering through the entire movie, but hated every second of it. When Cate Blanchett's character was shot I prayed real hard she would die so the movie would end quickly. While I applaud the effort that went into making the movie, it just didn't work. The chopping and changing of scenery, country and subject was annoying. The characters all ended up being whiny, annoying and spoiled to varying levels. The kids were about the only "real" characters. They did what all kids would have typically done in their situation, played, cried or slept. Not much to work on there. I would love to see Brad Pitt in more pithy and less sex god roles, I would hate to see him in anything else like this garbage again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TakK.Nov 23, 2006
Unclear or at least weak connections between 3 stories of movies in terms of the theme of the whole.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AJC.Nov 24, 2006
This movie is far from brilliant. Sure the cinematography is top-notch, and the script is fine. The problem is the story. Aside from the Japanese storyline, the plot is an almost unbelievable heap of misery. Are we supposed to believe that This movie is far from brilliant. Sure the cinematography is top-notch, and the script is fine. The problem is the story. Aside from the Japanese storyline, the plot is an almost unbelievable heap of misery. Are we supposed to believe that the only thing that binds us together as humans are extreme tribulations -- for goodness sake, 4 children almost killed in the movie! The Japan story was subtle and moving, and it redeemed the rest of the movie, which was simply outrageous and unnerving. It's grim without being insightful, and it only feigns hope in the end. The message: the world is a dreadful place, let's all band together on that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebC.Nov 25, 2006
One of the Best Films I've ever seen. Right up there with American Beauty, Crash and Magnolia.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanM.Nov 25, 2006
I loved it. We are living truly in Babel, we cant understand what the other want, even if they say it in our own language. Makes you get involved the whole time you watch it and react to various events. After the movie I still felt attached I loved it. We are living truly in Babel, we cant understand what the other want, even if they say it in our own language. Makes you get involved the whole time you watch it and react to various events. After the movie I still felt attached to the story. Great Movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimH.Nov 26, 2006
Most overrated film of the year. Heavyhanded and punishingly brutal, the message of the film is obvious and viewers feel like they're beaten over the head with a hammer. We get it already - we have problems communicating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MariaNov 27, 2006
Boring. Arbitrary. Irrelevant. Characters were so shallow that I felt absolutely no sympathy for any of them. The director did not succeed to awake any emotion in me except utter boredom. Some Ok scenes - Tokyo nightclub for eg - but the Boring. Arbitrary. Irrelevant. Characters were so shallow that I felt absolutely no sympathy for any of them. The director did not succeed to awake any emotion in me except utter boredom. Some Ok scenes - Tokyo nightclub for eg - but the stories were so random and their connections to each other were pointless. Any of the stories could have been taken away without losing anything. It would have been indeed advisable to take away something - instead of stuffing into 2,5 hours (although inarguable one of the longest 2,5 hours of my life) every theme possible; illegal immigration, disablities, racial hatred, awakening sexuality, Americans & the rest of the world, parents & children just to mention a few. Any of these stories containing plenty of issues for one movie. More is not better - it just makes everything arbitrary and shallow. In the end I felt absolutely nothing for any of the characters, they were all equally boring. My friend - whom I went to see the movie with - works for children's rights, and was actually quite relieved to see one of the arab boys killed as that meant that that particular story line would be closed. That should say something about the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CuculizaONov 29, 2006
Gonzalez Inarritu is a great, talented director, but his ambition to make an emotional "epic" bombs. Its way too long and the characters are poorly developed, by the middle of the film I couldn't have cared if all of them died. The Gonzalez Inarritu is a great, talented director, but his ambition to make an emotional "epic" bombs. Its way too long and the characters are poorly developed, by the middle of the film I couldn't have cared if all of them died. The Mexican part almost felt like a joke, the Morrocan one was ok but felt flat. Still, the Japan part was masterly done. And by the way, enough is enough with interlocking stories in a movie. We've seen it all already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TJNov 5, 2006
I had heard really bad things about this movie, but for the first hour I really enjoyed it. It's beautiful looking and well edited and the characters have a palpable humanity and we get a great feel for the settings. Then Inarritu way I had heard really bad things about this movie, but for the first hour I really enjoyed it. It's beautiful looking and well edited and the characters have a palpable humanity and we get a great feel for the settings. Then Inarritu way overplays his hand and connects every dot and then some. Why does everything literally have to connect in this guy's movies? With a little restaint he could have left some of the story up to the viewer's imagination rather than creating an absurd web. He needs to watch a great film like Antonioni's "The Passenger" to see the power of leaving some things unsaid and unexplained. It's a shame because this guy does have a lot of talent and Prieto's cinematography is first rate. The politics of the film are puzzling to say the least. A mess of a movie, but still worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BilB.Dec 10, 2006
Very powerful, artfully shot, excellently acted, genuine, and tragic. I LOVED IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Oct 21, 2006
'Babel' is the finest film of 2006. Stunning, powerful and emotinally gripping: this final part of a trilogy fashioned by director Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu is unforgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LouisW.Dec 15, 2006
Overproduced, manipulative and pointless movie about stupid, unsympathetic people making horrible choices. Outside of Beverly Hills, no one could possibly care about these characters or sit through this endless sham of a spectacle without Overproduced, manipulative and pointless movie about stupid, unsympathetic people making horrible choices. Outside of Beverly Hills, no one could possibly care about these characters or sit through this endless sham of a spectacle without falling asleep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillGDec 20, 2006
A phenomenal intriguing film with amazing depth. Acting all around is first rate with Brad Pitt giving an and very credible performance. A film you have to see twice to truly appreciate it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethL.Oct 22, 2006
I haven't been this moved by a motion picture in years. Brad Pitt is unlike I've ever seen him before - absolutely riveting. There are two outstanding female performances in this movie that should definitely make it into the best I haven't been this moved by a motion picture in years. Brad Pitt is unlike I've ever seen him before - absolutely riveting. There are two outstanding female performances in this movie that should definitely make it into the best supporting actress race: Adriana Barrazza who is just beyond brilliant and Rinko Kikuchi who is the best new face to hit the screen in years. Everything - from the direction to the cinematography to the editing and a heart-tingling score still is in my mind from seeing the film. I was blown away!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CandyG.Oct 22, 2006
Saw this in Chicago at the Festival and haven't been able to get it out of my heart and mind. Babel is a stunning, masterful work that brings to the screen one of the best ensemble casts on screen in years. Not only does this movie Saw this in Chicago at the Festival and haven't been able to get it out of my heart and mind. Babel is a stunning, masterful work that brings to the screen one of the best ensemble casts on screen in years. Not only does this movie deserve an Oscar, but the Nobel Peace Prize for bringing together an international cast and crew that speaks to the humanity of all people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyA.Dec 27, 2006
Great depth and acting. Moving. Great performance from Kikuchi as Chieko
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LindaL.Dec 31, 2006
From the "wrenching complexity" school of filmmaking, and don't forget that this director got a more incredible performance from Sean Penn in "21 Grams" than his highly praised turn in "Mystic River." This movie does not hang together From the "wrenching complexity" school of filmmaking, and don't forget that this director got a more incredible performance from Sean Penn in "21 Grams" than his highly praised turn in "Mystic River." This movie does not hang together as well, but the performances are engrossing -- the one by the Mexican actress most of all, I would say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WHoCaresOct 24, 2006
Oh shut up. This film is far from a 10. First off, there is very little acting, and when there is, spare the Japanese story, it's average at best. This film was by far his most dependent on music and beautiful cinematography, whihc wasOh shut up. This film is far from a 10. First off, there is very little acting, and when there is, spare the Japanese story, it's average at best. This film was by far his most dependent on music and beautiful cinematography, whihc was existent. Yet Babel needs words, its titled Babel and there's very little character development to tell us a story about these chracters, who they are and where they came from. Storytelling it is even worse, for this is the 3rd time around from Perros and 21 Grams, and the story is desperate, tedious and even less coherant. It's far from uplifting, and its length and lack of dialogue and character development make it less powerful. It is far from the finest film of 2006- maybe one of the best shot movies, but this is a step down from 21 grams, as 21 grams was a step down from Perros. THis movie doesn't deserve an Oscar or a Nobel Fucking Peace Prize, because Innaritu fails at the very thing he was going for if he was serious about titeling it Babel. And by far the best story was the Japanese one, which was so poorly tied together with the film. GO watch some real movies before you spew out 10's on a film that isn't even as close to as good as his other two. Yeah its not bad, and yeah, its very pretty. But this is nothing new from his others, and its even less special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseROct 24, 2006
Oh my gosh!, what a fantastic film, it really is, it's great. Adriana Barrazza and Rinko Kikuchi gave the best performance I've seen in years. Gael rocks! Just magnificent, when of the best films I have EVER seen. So emotional, Oh my gosh!, what a fantastic film, it really is, it's great. Adriana Barrazza and Rinko Kikuchi gave the best performance I've seen in years. Gael rocks! Just magnificent, when of the best films I have EVER seen. So emotional, but not MEDIOCRE, like others...mmm...Crash... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JSYOct 25, 2006
Brilliant and beautiful and heartbreaking!! Cate is spectacular with Brad amazing too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CateOOct 26, 2006
My vote of nine acknowledges that the film does have some flaws - but overall - what an experience - a beautiful film - great acting from all - powerful, very emotional A true must see
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradWOct 26, 2006
This film sticks with you long after leaving the theater. Take a date and discuss into the night - it'll be your best date ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaB.Oct 27, 2006
What can I say...A MASTERPIECE. It's brilliant, maybe a little too long but Barraza & Kikuchi were so amazing. Also Pitt deserves the Oscar win. This film will be huge, the music is so great, I don't get the mixed reviews here, butWhat can I say...A MASTERPIECE. It's brilliant, maybe a little too long but Barraza & Kikuchi were so amazing. Also Pitt deserves the Oscar win. This film will be huge, the music is so great, I don't get the mixed reviews here, but this has to be the best film of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ElliotZ.Oct 28, 2006
The year's biggest disappointment thus far. It's pretentious, boring, incoherent, and ultimately tries to say something in a muddled manner. The acting is Oscar-worthy and the cinematography is brilliant, but the film itself is The year's biggest disappointment thus far. It's pretentious, boring, incoherent, and ultimately tries to say something in a muddled manner. The acting is Oscar-worthy and the cinematography is brilliant, but the film itself is annoying, ponderous, and ultimately disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MallinaC.Dec 9, 2006
This was one of the best movies I've ever seen, maybe even THE best. It portrays how different yet the same every nation and everone in the world is; everyone deals with suffering and intense happiness. I also liked how a gun was what This was one of the best movies I've ever seen, maybe even THE best. It portrays how different yet the same every nation and everone in the world is; everyone deals with suffering and intense happiness. I also liked how a gun was what made everyone's lives so chaotic and unhappy. This movie just portrays people worldwide very honestly, something that should be done more often. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TracyB.Dec 9, 2006
Beautiful film- of all of his work I would rate this the lowest, yet it is still heads above most director's work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DougJan 14, 2007
Manipulative and without substance. A waste of effort for all involved - including the viewer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveJan 15, 2007
Alejandro's weakest of the trilogy, but still a joy to watch great actors in an international drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottS.Jan 18, 2007
Borebel. Pretentious and ultimately meaningless.Time for Inarritu to move on to a new concept. That said, Barraza and Kikuchi are terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveS.Jan 21, 2007
A movie that lingers in the heart long after it has ended, but which ultimately gives impression of being far too coincidentally dazzling. There's a growing sense of "But wait: There's more" as the movie rushes towards its A movie that lingers in the heart long after it has ended, but which ultimately gives impression of being far too coincidentally dazzling. There's a growing sense of "But wait: There's more" as the movie rushes towards its seemingly drawn out conclusions. I would have rated it higher if at least one of the American kids had died in the desert, just as one of the Moroccan kids had. The stupidity of the nanny voluntarily putting the 2 kids and herself in the car driven by her clearly intoxicated nephew led me to lose all sympathy for her later plight. The message of the film seems to be that, while Americans suffer when they venture away from their homeland, its non-Americans who truly pay the price. Thank God, I suppose, that the naked Japanse girl never gave ghouls the satisfaction of jumping off the balcony. Somebody needs to help this young girl get her hugs and cuddles without needing to take off her panties! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelF.Dec 17, 2007
Probably the most boring and overextended film ever made. It drowns in its own pretentiousness and despite it's attempts to be surprising and thought-provoking it ends up predictable and dry. The bravest critics are the ones who Probably the most boring and overextended film ever made. It drowns in its own pretentiousness and despite it's attempts to be surprising and thought-provoking it ends up predictable and dry. The bravest critics are the ones who aren't afraid to cut through the art-house buzz and call this movie what it really is: a complete waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AdamR.Jan 22, 2007
Why did I see this movie? did I learn something about the fact that some discarded inanimate object from my life at some point then entered the life of another... and we became one? I would have preferred more interesting paralells be drawn Why did I see this movie? did I learn something about the fact that some discarded inanimate object from my life at some point then entered the life of another... and we became one? I would have preferred more interesting paralells be drawn between the characters and their connections to each other, rather than the seemingly..."How far out of our way can we go to just to prove that we can pull one thread thru an entire 2 and a half hour movie?" (i'd say go see 'The Constant Gardener' for more genuine emotions based on plausible interactions with complex world.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MigueG.Jan 23, 2007
C'est la vie ... Brillant and realistic portrayal of some human misunderstandings and injustices. Is it Fate? And sad, it left me quite saddened.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveCJan 23, 2007
Why don't I film myself brushing my teeth for 2.5 hours. Seeing how many awards this pointless crap won. Damn, I should win em all!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
I struggled with this film because conceptually, it is a very good idea, and it contains moments of pure brilliance. Unfortunately, it is about an hour too long and could seriously have benefited from a substantial edit. It ended up on this I struggled with this film because conceptually, it is a very good idea, and it contains moments of pure brilliance. Unfortunately, it is about an hour too long and could seriously have benefited from a substantial edit. It ended up on this list because months later, there are scenes about which I can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RuthS.Jan 27, 2007
This film was atrocious. I felt like i had wasted 3 hours of my life. All i ask is what's 'put it away' in sign language?! What was the significance of her nudeness? The scence of the 8yr old child mastubating was unearhtily This film was atrocious. I felt like i had wasted 3 hours of my life. All i ask is what's 'put it away' in sign language?! What was the significance of her nudeness? The scence of the 8yr old child mastubating was unearhtily disturbing and totally unrelated. Who thinks of these things? And to think it's up for 7 awards?! Who's paying these critcs to sit around churning out pompus reviews?! Honestly i could do a better job. Did they even watch the film? mildly entertining to tlk about afterwards but i think we'd all sleep easier tonight if we hadn't seen the hairy monster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BarbaraC.Jan 28, 2007
I left the movie theater feeling as if I wasted my money; And that there was a much to do about it as a whole. Although the acting was good in general I don't believe that we got a chance to see each character in full because the scenes I left the movie theater feeling as if I wasted my money; And that there was a much to do about it as a whole. Although the acting was good in general I don't believe that we got a chance to see each character in full because the scenes were so fractionalized. There were several scenes that could have been omitted and still told the story..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CharlieC.Jan 29, 2007
This has got to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. In fact I could not force myself to watch it all as it was so bad and had to leave the theatre. The individuals who put this together were trying to be too clever and all the end This has got to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. In fact I could not force myself to watch it all as it was so bad and had to leave the theatre. The individuals who put this together were trying to be too clever and all the end up with is a load of BS. I believe all the rave reviewers are simply trying to jump on the band wagon and sounds very much like the Emperor having no clothes with no one wanting to admit that they are artistically not sophisticated enough to appreciate fine art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NancyK.Jan 31, 2007
Dreadful! I could not wait for this movie to end. Not only does it hammer the audience with its preachy ideals of global village, but, it attempts to tie in a couple of completely unnecessary subplots. It was ridiculous to try to cover all Dreadful! I could not wait for this movie to end. Not only does it hammer the audience with its preachy ideals of global village, but, it attempts to tie in a couple of completely unnecessary subplots. It was ridiculous to try to cover all the most current events in one movie -- illegal immigration, muslim sensitivity, children and firearms, teen angst... Pity they left out Fidel Castro's emminent demise and a remedy for global warming. World Book's definition for babel: a place of noise and confusion. They did that right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickN.Feb 15, 2007
You may wonder why some people gave it 0 and some 10, I honestly expect it was because bias individuals who have something to gain by rating this movie highly rated it 10. This is without a doubt the worst movie I have watched in over a You may wonder why some people gave it 0 and some 10, I honestly expect it was because bias individuals who have something to gain by rating this movie highly rated it 10. This is without a doubt the worst movie I have watched in over a year, and I was almost tempted to switch it off halfway through, which I NEVER do. Boring, uninspiring and generaly dull, it is a genuine pitty Brad Pitt decided to star in it as I have enjoyed the majority of his recent films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCFeb 16, 2007
It's a sad day when such a highly rated movie contains a young handicapped girl strolling around nude (fully nude) throughout the movie in an attempt to get attention. Nor did I need to see an 8 year old boy whacking off. The movie hadIt's a sad day when such a highly rated movie contains a young handicapped girl strolling around nude (fully nude) throughout the movie in an attempt to get attention. Nor did I need to see an 8 year old boy whacking off. The movie had no point and no plot. The only reason it was even noticed was because Brad Pitt starred. And to say he starred in the film is a gross OVERstatement. He appears far less frequently than most stars. I lost 2 1/2 hours I cannot get back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanFeb 19, 2007
What a movie. Brilliant in every way. Complex and greatly crafted story, great acting all round, thought provoking and beutifully shot. give this one the Oscar
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueP.Feb 21, 2007
Here's the story: We are all connected in the world. One way or another. So maybe the decisions are extremely coincidental in some situtations. Be it! That's reality in this world we live in. Everything we put our hands on has been Here's the story: We are all connected in the world. One way or another. So maybe the decisions are extremely coincidental in some situtations. Be it! That's reality in this world we live in. Everything we put our hands on has been created, brought from concept and distributed by someone, somewhere at some point. We have to be thankful for those people that even ourselves do not know who they are, but we're smart enough to understand they exist (and their feeings too.) Great direction, great actors (known and unknown until now) great movie ! 10+ Inarritu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveK.Feb 21, 2007
There are some very rich themes here about the things that divide us - cultural differences, language, fear, and mistrust. The movie explores them through the context of one event and four different sets of people who are all loosely There are some very rich themes here about the things that divide us - cultural differences, language, fear, and mistrust. The movie explores them through the context of one event and four different sets of people who are all loosely connected to the event. The connection between the different stories is incredibly weak and serves little purpose in meaning or even plot development. All of the tragedies and misunderstandings feel a bit contrived as everything inevitably goes wrong, and the events feel even more contrived as they resolve. This is not light movie fare. I applaud the movie makers for trying to say something important, but in the end, it's all a bit dreary and forced. There are some great performances throughout, but the plot moves at a snail's pace and in the end, the movie says much less than what it tries to and it forgets to be entertaining along the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanC.Feb 21, 2007
I really hated this and moreover, I think it objectively deserves to be hated. It's a pretentious, tedious, wretched view of the human condition that's painful to sit through. No wonder the professional critics loved it! When set I really hated this and moreover, I think it objectively deserves to be hated. It's a pretentious, tedious, wretched view of the human condition that's painful to sit through. No wonder the professional critics loved it! When set aside truly great movies (think, anything by Kubrick ), this is pale, forgettable, unfortunate dreck. Avoid it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnonymousMCFeb 22, 2007
Flat out ridiculous. With so many amazing and important films coming from spanish and hispanic film makers (Children of Men, Pan's Labyrinth, Volver) I was unbelievably disapointed by this laughable mess. I'll admit, the story inFlat out ridiculous. With so many amazing and important films coming from spanish and hispanic film makers (Children of Men, Pan's Labyrinth, Volver) I was unbelievably disapointed by this laughable mess. I'll admit, the story in Morocco got me interested (the kids were a little unreal, but whatever), but you never stay there. You're taken to a sexually confused Japanese girl (who's deaf, in a lame attempt to make her character "suffer") and an exploitive storyline about problems with the Mexican border (clearly Oscar bait). It tries so hard to be risky and groundbreaking, but it trips over its own feet over and over again. Just all around terrible story telling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
W.ChristopherHuffFeb 23, 2007
Hey wow, I liked this movie the first two times when it was called "Traffic" and then "Syriana"! Actually, it's kind of like combining those two films except for there is neither drug trafficking or terrorism, but there is SUSPECTED Hey wow, I liked this movie the first two times when it was called "Traffic" and then "Syriana"! Actually, it's kind of like combining those two films except for there is neither drug trafficking or terrorism, but there is SUSPECTED drug trafficking and terrorism. This film's alright, but it's hardly original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
elizabethFeb 24, 2007
i think it is absolutely disgusting to have a young boy in the movie masterbating. what is wrong with the movie business? i was so disgusted i told everyone i know not to watch or buy this movie. im surprised brad pitt would be in a moviei think it is absolutely disgusting to have a young boy in the movie masterbating. what is wrong with the movie business? i was so disgusted i told everyone i know not to watch or buy this movie. im surprised brad pitt would be in a movie like this. i think less of him now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BritT.Feb 25, 2007
This movie is suppose to portray the objectives of our stereotypical behavior. Each of the stories represent our behavior towards others to perfection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertK.Mar 11, 2007
Expected it to be overwhelming. Found it boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TrueG.Mar 17, 2007
The lack of plot and no decent characters makes this film absolute garbage. It represents a poor example of emulating screenplays with interwoven stories. Dialogue gets a minus two. Whereas a film like Lost in Translation uses a slow pace to The lack of plot and no decent characters makes this film absolute garbage. It represents a poor example of emulating screenplays with interwoven stories. Dialogue gets a minus two. Whereas a film like Lost in Translation uses a slow pace to allow the viewer to contemplate the situations and emotions presented to them, this piece of junk forces your mind to flatline for over two hours. Don't seriously consider watching it unless you require a substitute for chemical sedatives following a brain transplant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SeanM.Apr 15, 2007
An absolute waste of the time I spent watching the film. I can't believe that Brad Pitt would be involved in such a piece of garbage. The way the stories were intertwined was weak at best and not in the least entertaining. I was left An absolute waste of the time I spent watching the film. I can't believe that Brad Pitt would be involved in such a piece of garbage. The way the stories were intertwined was weak at best and not in the least entertaining. I was left waiting for everything to come together, credits rolled and I was still waiting. Truly one of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. It's right up there with Pooty Tang and Jeepers Creepers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NatalieO.Apr 25, 2007
It was well acted, and visually stunning (especially the Japanese story), but there was no punch to it. Besides the music, it is quite forgettable
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexS.Apr 25, 2007
Powerful and beautifully shot. Not your usual Hollywood movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful