User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 103
  2. Negative: 41 out of 103
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    The storyline didn't work well for me, the girl was pretty annoying and overall the movie is really average, but there are some thing that seemed positive. The first one is very thick atmosphere of a poor, crowded and collapsing world of the future. The second one is Vin Diesel's performance, he is badass as always!
  2. HugeVinVinD.Fan
    Sep 2, 2008
    6
    I love Vin, but this one made no sense! The movie leaves you with more unanswered questions.. like is there a book? Vin is the eye candy that's the only reason to watch, there are some interesting technologies, but poorly developed story lines leave you with questions... unfortunately, disappointing. Will be waiting for the dvd, hopefully there are some extended scenes, that explain I love Vin, but this one made no sense! The movie leaves you with more unanswered questions.. like is there a book? Vin is the eye candy that's the only reason to watch, there are some interesting technologies, but poorly developed story lines leave you with questions... unfortunately, disappointing. Will be waiting for the dvd, hopefully there are some extended scenes, that explain something! Expand
  3. BelindaT.
    Sep 2, 2008
    4
    This was no worse than your usual futuristic sci-fi claptrap that we're fed these days. The critics made it sound worse than Gigli! Vin's lucky I fell soooo in love with him in Saving Private Ryan. He;s sorely testing his fans' patience. The only thing (well, not only) that would have helped is more exposition and an actual intimate relationship with Aurora. Thank goodness This was no worse than your usual futuristic sci-fi claptrap that we're fed these days. The critics made it sound worse than Gigli! Vin's lucky I fell soooo in love with him in Saving Private Ryan. He;s sorely testing his fans' patience. The only thing (well, not only) that would have helped is more exposition and an actual intimate relationship with Aurora. Thank goodness she wasn't your typical vapid, whiny sci-fi disposa- chick. Cross Blade Runner with The Children of Men and add a dollop of The Fifth Element and you've got this movie. Which just goes to show how difficult it is to make fresh sci-fi. Catch the matinee, then you won't be so angry. Expand
  4. DanaM.
    Aug 30, 2008
    4
    If you're going to a Vin Diesel movie you have to expect that your not going to see Oscar material. But this movie was not well written and was very fragmented with unconnected segments. Not sure why the writers and directors vision of futuristic Russia is of total chaos. What can I say. It was entertaining in a liimited sense but frustrating in that it was so poorly written. Worth If you're going to a Vin Diesel movie you have to expect that your not going to see Oscar material. But this movie was not well written and was very fragmented with unconnected segments. Not sure why the writers and directors vision of futuristic Russia is of total chaos. What can I say. It was entertaining in a liimited sense but frustrating in that it was so poorly written. Worth renting but not worth the ten bucks to see it on the big screen. Expand
  5. JayH.
    Jan 2, 2009
    5
    Cold and meandering, decently acted but the story just isn't always involving. It lacks excitement, the action scenes aren't very effective. It is visually good though, with some fine cinematography.
  6. ChadS.
    Aug 30, 2008
    6
    There's more than one way to skin a cat, except when you skin a cat for the expressed intention of processing the cat as meat, which in that case, there is actually only one way to skin a cat: with a sharp knife. Nobody knocks anymore in post-apocalyptical Eastern Europe, knocking is for p******. Toorop(Vin Diesel) never finishes his cat and glass of red wine; the home invasion took There's more than one way to skin a cat, except when you skin a cat for the expressed intention of processing the cat as meat, which in that case, there is actually only one way to skin a cat: with a sharp knife. Nobody knocks anymore in post-apocalyptical Eastern Europe, knocking is for p******. Toorop(Vin Diesel) never finishes his cat and glass of red wine; the home invasion took care of that. "Babylon A.D." asks the question, "Guess who's coming to dinner?" "Children of Men", that's who. Two nuns accompany the mercenary to America, non-Judeo Christian nuns, who could topple the dominant religion should Aurora's secret package fall in the hands of the High Preistess(Charlotte Rampling). "Babylon A.D.", intentional or not, endorses the ruiling theology by using film and its bane, product placement, as an analogy. Product placement, to some, is an affront to cinema, whose true believers attest to the celluloidal image as having a religiosity, albeit a secularized one. The filmmaker not-so-subtly expresses his disdain for the Coca-Cola brand name plastered on an airliner, by having his star walk past two dead polar bears(remember the commercial in which the white Arctic mammals stare at the aurora borealis?). Both product placement and Aurora(Melanie Thierry) have an intertextuality that threatens each respective belief systems. Aurora's condition blasphemizes the Old Testament, which is why she has to go out the same ways as the bears. Expand
  7. JohnD.
    Sep 9, 2008
    4
    This lackluster movie fell far short of its attempt to create an action packed futuristic film. Vin Diesel
  8. RobertTT
    Jan 11, 2009
    5
    The story is just too difficult to follow to be enjoyable. The action sequences, are OK, but certainly not good, and there are many better movies with just as much action and a plot that is at least understandable. The aesthetic of the film is quite good actually, but its not enough to make the film worth watching.
  9. RobbieB
    Feb 2, 2009
    4
    Poor Vin, he works up this film for all it's worth. But it's not nothing to watch. It wasn't bad, not good either. Vin Diesel was good, Michelle was also. But it was bland in a way that I felt the movie was running a bit long, and we've seen all the stunts before. The effects weren't to bad, neither were the preformances. But it's still nothing to waste money Poor Vin, he works up this film for all it's worth. But it's not nothing to watch. It wasn't bad, not good either. Vin Diesel was good, Michelle was also. But it was bland in a way that I felt the movie was running a bit long, and we've seen all the stunts before. The effects weren't to bad, neither were the preformances. But it's still nothing to waste money on...... Just wait for it to come on HBO or Starz! Or, if all else fails, wait for the price to go down and pay $4 for it. Expand
  10. DanielD.
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    Confusing, ending without proper explanation, are words i would use to describe this movie. I'm sure if i was to read the book from which it came, it would of made more sense. I feel that their budget was low or in production ran out of money.
  11. JoeS.
    Sep 26, 2008
    5
    Certainly not a masterpiece, but not nearly as bad as the critics made it out to be and I see no reason for it to have been disowned by its director. This movie is your pretty typical sci-fi shoot 'em up, blow 'em up, beat 'em up just with a few moments of "Huh?" thrown in every now and then. I've definitely seen worse. I see no real reason why this movie draws Certainly not a masterpiece, but not nearly as bad as the critics made it out to be and I see no reason for it to have been disowned by its director. This movie is your pretty typical sci-fi shoot 'em up, blow 'em up, beat 'em up just with a few moments of "Huh?" thrown in every now and then. I've definitely seen worse. I see no real reason why this movie draws comparison to "Children of Men." Aside from the fact that the plot is vaguely similar, that's about where the similarities end. Not worth seeing for $12, but you wouldn't be regretting your choice if you rented it from Netflix. Expand
  12. R.Lopez
    Feb 21, 2009
    5
    Based on Maurice G. Dantec's dytopian sci-fi novel Babylon Babies, Mathieu Kassovitz's dystopian sci-fi/action film, which was released without critics' screenings, is rich with atmosphere but too similar to films ranging from CHILDREN OF MEN (2006) to DOOMSDAY (2008) to carve out its own distinctive niche. Former mercenary Toorup (Vin Diesel) just wants to be left alone inBased on Maurice G. Dantec's dytopian sci-fi novel Babylon Babies, Mathieu Kassovitz's dystopian sci-fi/action film, which was released without critics' screenings, is rich with atmosphere but too similar to films ranging from CHILDREN OF MEN (2006) to DOOMSDAY (2008) to carve out its own distinctive niche. Former mercenary Toorup (Vin Diesel) just wants to be left alone in the dog-eat-dog hell that is post-Soviet Russia, but his past keeps coming back to haunt him. Sleazy gangster Gorsky (Gerard Depardieu) recruits Tooruo to deliver a "package" Expand
  13. eRonin
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    Requires heavy suspension of disbelief. Scenes are set up well. FX are interesting. Actors are good. The script... the story... unfortunately isn't there.
  14. JaredC.
    Aug 25, 2008
    6
    At first glance, it didn't look too bad. But at the special screening, the movie was expected, or so, not that bad. It's just, if they replaced Vin Diesel with some other actor, then Babylon A.D. would be a little better. I didn't worship it, I thought it was okay, yet it did have a cool setting and some intense scenes, but it's definitely not one to worship. XXX fans At first glance, it didn't look too bad. But at the special screening, the movie was expected, or so, not that bad. It's just, if they replaced Vin Diesel with some other actor, then Babylon A.D. would be a little better. I didn't worship it, I thought it was okay, yet it did have a cool setting and some intense scenes, but it's definitely not one to worship. XXX fans will love it though. Expand
  15. JessilaC
    Jan 12, 2009
    5
    WAS a good movie until it came out on dvd. HALF the scenes that were in the movie played in the theatre were deleted when put onto disk. The Hummer scene that I watched In the theatre was no longer a part of the movie when i watched it at home. Same goes for when he arrives in the US and he has to walk through the detector, that scene was no longer that and Neither was the very last scene WAS a good movie until it came out on dvd. HALF the scenes that were in the movie played in the theatre were deleted when put onto disk. The Hummer scene that I watched In the theatre was no longer a part of the movie when i watched it at home. Same goes for when he arrives in the US and he has to walk through the detector, that scene was no longer that and Neither was the very last scene at the end where it shows BOTH children, one white and one of different race and deisel. that scene to was cut out so WHO makes a movie one way for theatres only to CHANGE it for disk? Now the movie sucks. Expand
  16. Dec 24, 2014
    6
    It's one of those movies where a lone-wolf, hardcore mercenary gets hired to deliver a "package" that turns out to be a girl who is very important. It takes the expected turns these types of movies do. The only difference is that it has a sci-fi setting and a non-sensical plot. At least the action scenes are entertaining. The inclusion of Diesel makes it feel like an interestingIt's one of those movies where a lone-wolf, hardcore mercenary gets hired to deliver a "package" that turns out to be a girl who is very important. It takes the expected turns these types of movies do. The only difference is that it has a sci-fi setting and a non-sensical plot. At least the action scenes are entertaining. The inclusion of Diesel makes it feel like an interesting combination of Riddick with some elements of the Fast & Furious series.

    The plot is really the biggest issue here. It literally makes no sense at all because it offers no explanation for any questions you will have. The girl "Aurora" (Melanie Thierry) is where all of the confusion stems from. Apparently she has some special powers, might be carrying a virus, and is asexual. You are going to ask yourself how any of that is possible. The film offers no answers of any kind. Why? Apparently whoever wrote this didn't finish it. The movie feels incomplete.

    You can tell that the movie is trying hard to use those elements to say something deep. however it never actually does that. There's a missing final act that should have been used to answer all the questions and conclude things on a satisfying note. It's not there and the movie just sort of ends. It's a shame too, because the thought of finally getting answers at some point kept me interested in the movie.

    There is still some entertainment to be found here. The action is pretty good and the world is compelling. It's just a shame the story never gives us any explanation as to why any of things here are happening. Not even so much as a simple answer as to how the world got to the state it's in. Because of that it's hard to recommend.

    Any sci-fi fan expects at least some explanation and action movie fans might be put off by the slower pace. Still there is something mildly entertaining here. However it all goes to crap the moment you realize you are't going to get any answers and that the pretentious tone never leads to the film saying anything at all. Up to that point it's kind of fun and maybe worth a rental. Just don't expect a satisfying and revealing conclusion. Despite myself my total score for the movie is a 6.5/10.
    Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2012
    4
    Let's put it this way. If you see it you will love the action scenes and the traveling. The real problem is a story that doesn't make sense in the least.
  18. Dec 18, 2012
    5
    Again, the actors are not the only resource in a movie, they require good scripts and good direction, from my point of view the actors in this movie are not properly used and the story even tough it's interesting it doesn't get you hooked to it. The characters are a bit cliche. But it does have good special effects and action scenes.
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    40
    A noisier, costlier version of "Children of Men," yet lacking that film's social-political significance and jaw-dropping direction.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    40
    Brawny but brainless techno-twaddle.
  3. The plot makes absolutely no sense.