User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    7
    I'll be honest: I expected a second-rate Bridesmaids copycat. What we get is a much different take on wedding mayhem... and I loved every minute of it.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie. Many have complained about how unlikeable these characters were. Well in real life not everybody is likable. these characters were realistic, nasty and funny. I thought the movie was hilarious, and not the normal type of comedy. Great movie, underrated
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    this is a wonderfully snarky film. kirsten dunst, lizzy caplan and isla fisher are all wonderful as a group of hot who hate everybody. in the end the film wimps out with an overly sweet ending, but it has some surprisingly touching moments which redeem it.
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    2
    Bachelorette is a comedy that tries to have "an edge" meaning sex, drugs and saying lot of dirty words. Eddie Murphy said in the past humor is not about saying list of obscenities and wishing everyone good night. The movie attempts to amuse audience with exactly this while failing awkwardly.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    4
    Bachelorette was just not a good movie at all. There was very little humor involved, which was surprising considering that I thought Rebel Wilson had a large role and she's typically hilarious but that was not the case at all. Honestly, the only two reasons this movie was worth watching was Kirsten Dunst's character was actually pretty amusing, mainly because of the chaos that surroundedBachelorette was just not a good movie at all. There was very little humor involved, which was surprising considering that I thought Rebel Wilson had a large role and she's typically hilarious but that was not the case at all. Honestly, the only two reasons this movie was worth watching was Kirsten Dunst's character was actually pretty amusing, mainly because of the chaos that surrounded her. The main reason I was able to sit through this film was Lizzy Caplan though. Obviously I'm a huge fan of hers and she and Isla Fisher were the only reasons I even bothered watching it but Lizzy's character was great. She had one of the only funny roles and there's just something about her that is just awesome. She's got a type of darker hotness that is appealing and makes her different from most other actresses. If you're a Lizzy Caplan fan then watch this movie but I don't think most people would enjoy it at all. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    3
    This was not a good movie. It wasn't really funny in any way, you are forced to dislike the characters because they are all quite terrible people or just not believable as human beings. In the end everything works out for them, but it's not what you'll want because none of them seem to deserve it. If you are expecting Bridesmaids, STAY AWAY! There's not heart in this one at all, and you'llThis was not a good movie. It wasn't really funny in any way, you are forced to dislike the characters because they are all quite terrible people or just not believable as human beings. In the end everything works out for them, but it's not what you'll want because none of them seem to deserve it. If you are expecting Bridesmaids, STAY AWAY! There's not heart in this one at all, and you'll come out completely unsatisfied. Collapse
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    7
    I thought this film was really funny in an audacious sort of way.
    It's based on Headland's play of the same name.
    I found another interesting take on it here:
    http://4thdimensionfilms.wordpress.com/
  8. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    This was over-the-top smart and funny. Excellent story and very well acted. The three girls were fantastic, and Rebel Wilson is going to be a star. Perhaps a cult classic is in our midst?
  9. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. I laughed from beginning to end. Can't really ask more out of a comedy. Sure, the girls aren't likable, but they were very compelling characters, and I actually ended up caring for them. Isla Fisher gives one of the best comic performances I've seen in a long time.
  10. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    First things first. This movie is not Bridesmaids. If anything, it's closer to The Hangover. And although it is not as comically successful as either of the two, it still works as a kinky combination. Headland's ability to juxtapose raunchy foul humor with insight and self-reconciliation makes the film watchable, and Dunst's and Caplan's performances are incredible. Despite some jokesFirst things first. This movie is not Bridesmaids. If anything, it's closer to The Hangover. And although it is not as comically successful as either of the two, it still works as a kinky combination. Headland's ability to juxtapose raunchy foul humor with insight and self-reconciliation makes the film watchable, and Dunst's and Caplan's performances are incredible. Despite some jokes being either too flat, one dimensional, or too sadistic to arouse a serious laugh, most of the humor in this film works. You'll definitely laugh a lot as you watch it. As the film progresses, it loses it's comedic quality and, once raw emotion and pity are forced onto the characters, degrades into something like oil and water. In the end, though, Bachelorette proves to be a fun and digestible film with a resolute although spastic storyline and interesting and well acted characters. Expect more from Headland as she fine tunes her skills to make a meaningful comedy. Expand
  11. Sep 7, 2012
    0
    This is one of the worst movies I've seen in forever. Perhaps going into it with high hopes was a mistake but my friend and I were watching with mouths agape at our mutual failure to laugh more than a handful of times during the course of the film. The acting, story, chemistry, motives, etc. are all muddled. Avoid, and someone get me my $11 back...ick. And are people seriously sayingThis is one of the worst movies I've seen in forever. Perhaps going into it with high hopes was a mistake but my friend and I were watching with mouths agape at our mutual failure to laugh more than a handful of times during the course of the film. The acting, story, chemistry, motives, etc. are all muddled. Avoid, and someone get me my $11 back...ick. And are people seriously saying this is better than Bridesmaids? Hugs, not drugs. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Sep 22, 2014
    60
    Headland has comic smarts enough to venture both filthily revisionist readings of My So-Called Life and riffs on the Potsdam conference, while refusing her audience any comforting safety nets.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Aug 15, 2013
    60
    There’s nothing soft and romcom-cuddly here, but a brutal dissection of competitive friendship dynamics, eating disorders and selfish misery.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 27, 2012
    67
    Bachelorette – at least in its first half – is a dangerously funny movie about four old college friends on the eve of one member's nuptials.