Metascore
7

Overwhelming dislike - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sometimes in order to move forward, you have to go back. And in this raunchy comedy, Jim Owens does just that when he heads home for his high school reunion. In an attempt to relive the glory days with his boys and explore an old romance, he nearly destroys his hometown and friendships.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 5 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Jan 14, 2014
    30
    It's good for a couple of fart jokes and otherwise utterly forgettable.
  2. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Jan 17, 2014
    25
    The film is shot in a pretty stock manner, with jokes falling flat (when one does land, it feels like a miracle) and musical cues guiding us toward appropriate emotional responses.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 16, 2014
    20
    It’s a film that feels like it’s simply going through the motions—not to mention one whose ultimate critique of trying to relive the past is, in light of its mass of clichés, more than a tad disingenuous.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 16, 2014
    0
    There are a lot of odious movies yet to come in 2014, no doubt, but they’ll have to work to beat Back in the Day for awfulness.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jan 16, 2014
    0
    Cloying and smug when it's not being unfunny and crass, the high school reunion comedy Back in the Day hits lows with a frequency that suggests a world-class sharp shooter or free-throw king.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    I know a movie is good when the critics have negative reviews. This movie is hilarious and worth seeing. I tend to lean toward general public reviews rather than the "critics". Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This movie is AWESOME!! It is filled with laughs, love, and true friendship. I recommend everyone and anyone to watch it. It is HILARIOUS! It was written, directed, and starred by an amazingly talented guy, Michael Rosenbaum. He chose the perfect cast for this movie. There is some nudity, but very little of it. I honestly think EVERYONE should watch this movie, even if it is just once. This movie is worth watching, trust me when I say, watch it once and you will love it. I know I love it! Back in The Day is an amazing directorial debut of an amazingly talented man, Michael Rosenbaum. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    This movie is a disaster. It is a compilation of badly made jokes intended for mentally-unstable humans. It is most definitely not a 'must watch', and shouldn't even be made for the public eye. Collapse
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    0
    The two reviews from mailman24 and Eannsu have to be from people involved with this film. It stinks beyond stink. I managed to download it for free, and I still didn't watch it to its conclusion. I understand now why any self respecting movie theater wouldn't carry it. Thank God I only wasted 45 minutes of my life on this. Watch this bomb at your own peril. Expand

Trailers