Dimension Films | Release Date: November 26, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 337 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
303
Mixed:
13
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
Funny. Really funny and sweet. Several words can be used to describe Bad Santa, but only "Good" actually stands out. Because it was good. Good enough for me to hope for a sequel.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
DerekG.Jun 25, 2004
Horrible, horrible, horrible...comparing this to "South Park" is wrong because SP is witty. "Bad Santa," however, is not.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KevinR.Nov 26, 2003
Falling down funny...because it doesn't succumb to Hollywood conventions of what comedy should be but takes its own sort of risks and truly makes you laugh.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DudleyR.Dec 6, 2003
There are no words to tell you how funny and insane this movie truly is. Go see it and enjoy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamalJ.Jan 15, 2004
Jamal liked Bad Santa. It was cool. Right on.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Lambo442Feb 20, 2014
Easily one of the best comedies ever made. It's not just the hilarious script and premise that make it stand out, but it has a lot of heart too. For me it's a feel good film and every time I watch it I come away slightly choked up, in a goodEasily one of the best comedies ever made. It's not just the hilarious script and premise that make it stand out, but it has a lot of heart too. For me it's a feel good film and every time I watch it I come away slightly choked up, in a good way. Amazing performances all around, just pure perfection really. I wish Zwigoff would hurry up and make a new film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MikeM.Nov 30, 2003
Raw, rauncy, outrageous and daresay, nearly perfectly criminal when it comes down to it. To hear everything coming out of Billy Bob's mouth will become increasingly harder as the movie goes on (from lauging out loud). There is Raw, rauncy, outrageous and daresay, nearly perfectly criminal when it comes down to it. To hear everything coming out of Billy Bob's mouth will become increasingly harder as the movie goes on (from lauging out loud). There is symbolizism with Bernie Mac and the cigerettes and oranges that gives depth to his character. Great performances all around especially the late John Ritter and Tony Cox. There's also a few great scenes with Cloris Leachman. The Coen Brothers wrote a masterpiece here that could go down as a cult favorite a few years from now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SonicSep 6, 2004
It seems like whoever wrote and directed this movie wasnt even going for a comedy. The whole idea was to make it as disguisting as possible. every scene was a dull moment designed to make the viewer uncomfortable. the movie mostly just It seems like whoever wrote and directed this movie wasnt even going for a comedy. The whole idea was to make it as disguisting as possible. every scene was a dull moment designed to make the viewer uncomfortable. the movie mostly just depressed me and my companion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnB.Jun 19, 2006
I'd heard this was a really pretty good dark comedy and I like Billy Bob, so I gambled on the rental and the time involved to take a look. Whoever said it was pretty good (some critics actually thought it was really good!) should have I'd heard this was a really pretty good dark comedy and I like Billy Bob, so I gambled on the rental and the time involved to take a look. Whoever said it was pretty good (some critics actually thought it was really good!) should have their critic license revolked ,or at least suspended. This thing is mean spirited (I Iknow, that's the point) but in a very unfunny, pointless way that delivers absolutely nothing but swearing and depressing characters that no one could possibly care about, much less like. There is not one funny line in the entire film. Even the sex scenes are vile. (Like BBT's character could actually have sex with anyone) The worst-bad on so many levels its impossible to describe. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EarlJ.Jul 7, 2004
That guy down there said bernie mac isnt funny. some people!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertN.Feb 25, 2004
So bad, its good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LoddeJul 5, 2004
I am a very perverse, obscene person. I usually enjoy a movie that is completely indecent, so when I heard about Bad Santa, I was expecting a laugh out loud experience. But this was a complete disappointment, there was absolutely no I am a very perverse, obscene person. I usually enjoy a movie that is completely indecent, so when I heard about Bad Santa, I was expecting a laugh out loud experience. But this was a complete disappointment, there was absolutely no cleverness to this comedy. I think I laughed twice the whole movie. I literally think this is one of the poorest comedies I have ever scene. The critics have no idea what they're talking about, I guess they're so surprised to hear bad language interactions between adults and children. But it's the same words repeatedly spewed by the characters, with no creativity whatsoever (besides some of the statements by the black elf). My suggestion: do not waste your time or money on this film. Perhaps if you had zero expectations, you might be pleasantly surprised. Otherwise, go watch paint dry and yell out loud every curse word you have ever heard while children are present. The experience is equivalent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckM.Jul 9, 2004
Perfect. I put off renting this one for quite a while because the trailers made it look lame. I figured Terry Zwigoff finally sold out but I was wrong. This is as funny as any of his other films. I don't understand the half-wits who Perfect. I put off renting this one for quite a while because the trailers made it look lame. I figured Terry Zwigoff finally sold out but I was wrong. This is as funny as any of his other films. I don't understand the half-wits who didn't think the movie was funny but, hey, it takes all kinds (I guess)... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpriggangirlDec 3, 2003
Bad santa,Good film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 3, 2003
What a great movie! Funny and sad at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LaffertyY.Dec 4, 2003
NO. NOT a good movie. Its worth about 5 good laughs, and thats it. It honestly lacks deeply in cleverness. It is long, and there are so many jokes, but precious few are actually funny. I think the guys thought "Heres a good idea! This will NO. NOT a good movie. Its worth about 5 good laughs, and thats it. It honestly lacks deeply in cleverness. It is long, and there are so many jokes, but precious few are actually funny. I think the guys thought "Heres a good idea! This will write itself!" and then gave no real effort, hence a poor movie. 2 points for the handful of laughs and Billy Bob doing his best on a bad movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WAKOJAKODec 8, 2003
This film is getting better reviews than it deserves. I enjoyed it about as much as getting my teeth cleaned--dull and sometimes piercingly REPULSIVE. That a beautiful woman like Lauren Graham's character might want to have sex with a This film is getting better reviews than it deserves. I enjoyed it about as much as getting my teeth cleaned--dull and sometimes piercingly REPULSIVE. That a beautiful woman like Lauren Graham's character might want to have sex with a disgusting loser like the one played by BB Thornton is not only absurd but thoroughly unwatchable. I'd rather see Jack and Diane get it on in their forthcoming flick, which promises more laughs than this indigestible, putrid turd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
parmssNov 6, 2004
This movie is class. So enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeroyT.Jan 18, 2004
Billy Bob rocks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WaltH.Mar 5, 2004
It made a Billy Bob Thornton fan out of me. I went to "Slingblade next... He's great ! !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerC.Jun 26, 2004
This movie was just too funny for words. Anyone who appreciates the whole alcoholic/santa mystique will find this witty. I laughed too many times to count. This was a rarity in movies made in this era. This was no stupid "Old School" movie. This movie was just too funny for words. Anyone who appreciates the whole alcoholic/santa mystique will find this witty. I laughed too many times to count. This was a rarity in movies made in this era. This was no stupid "Old School" movie. This actually had a lot of talent in the chamber. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CosmicStarGoatJul 22, 2004
Thorton was perfect in this hilarious comedy. Buy the DVD uncut version!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Jul 7, 2004
Hilarious! I really can't begin to describe how funny this movie is. Billy Bob delivers an awesome performance as one of the best anti-heroes of all time. If you're easily offended, this is not the movie for you. However, if Hilarious! I really can't begin to describe how funny this movie is. Billy Bob delivers an awesome performance as one of the best anti-heroes of all time. If you're easily offended, this is not the movie for you. However, if you're ready for a great laugh, leave your morals at the door and pop this one in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatC.Aug 9, 2004
Unbalanced. An obnoxious antisocial Santa is a good idea for a skit, but doesn't hold this full-length feature together. And who is the target audience? Unsuitable for children, and too juvenile for adults. Thornton should go back to Unbalanced. An obnoxious antisocial Santa is a good idea for a skit, but doesn't hold this full-length feature together. And who is the target audience? Unsuitable for children, and too juvenile for adults. Thornton should go back to roles he does best, providing an occasional zinger. He is a rare talent who here thoroughly demonstrates the low end of his acting spectrum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianG.Nov 29, 2003
This was the best anti-commericalized christmas movie of all time... A lot of people in the theatre were laughing ... If you don't care for holiday cheer and want to tell everyone what you really think about this stressful time of This was the best anti-commericalized christmas movie of all time... A lot of people in the theatre were laughing ... If you don't care for holiday cheer and want to tell everyone what you really think about this stressful time of year... see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CedricB.Dec 14, 2003
I really didn't think this movie was funny...but it wasn't exactly unfunny either. After seeing multiple trailers of this flick, I thought it was going to be nothing more than badly timed jokes centered around a holiday theme. I I really didn't think this movie was funny...but it wasn't exactly unfunny either. After seeing multiple trailers of this flick, I thought it was going to be nothing more than badly timed jokes centered around a holiday theme. I didn't laugh much, but more importantly, I didn't cringe, and I enjoyed the subtlety which was not at all apparent in the trailer. It was interesting to see the same jokes which fell flat in the trailer work so well in context to the film. The acting and timing is actually good. So, basically I'd recommend the film with only slight reservations. There really aren't many belly laughs, but the comedy aspect is pretty painless to sit through, and it's much more interesting and rewarding to watch the more subtle themes about life and our sense of worth play out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NormanZ.Dec 2, 2003
I loved Billy Bob's sarcasm.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BryanK.Dec 22, 2003
Not my type of humor. But if you are into drunken, obnoxious, and swearing this may be the movie for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottE.Dec 20, 2003
This movie quite possibly ranks as the most crude, vulgar, cynical take on the nation's obsession with Christmas cheer. And for that distinction alone, it is destined to become an instant "Scrooge" classic. Billy Bob Thornton's This movie quite possibly ranks as the most crude, vulgar, cynical take on the nation's obsession with Christmas cheer. And for that distinction alone, it is destined to become an instant "Scrooge" classic. Billy Bob Thornton's nasty, drunken Mall-Santa sloughs through his day in such a foul, putred existence that we can't help but feel empathy for his fatalistic persona. Most moviegoers who aren't too thin-skinned to appreciate this movie's subversive dark humor will laugh hysterically at some of the hijinks that Thornton and his "elf," played by Tony Cox, manage to pull off. John Ritter portrays the spineless mall manager appropriately, while Bernie Mac appears as the mall's security chief who's gotten wise to Santa's scheme. Along the way, we're introduced to an 8-year-old who pries his way into Thornton's heart by topping his own self-loathing. The ending might seem too predictable, but it seems to fit this dysfunctional tale. Even though the humor ranks even darker than "Heathers," I still left the theater feeling like I'd watched this generation's version of "Christmas Story." I'm still chuckling at the some of the clever banter offered up from this script by the Coen brothers (Thornton: "What is it with you and sandwiches?!?"). While I acknowledge that this isn't a break-through performance by Thornton, I can still appreciate his character's existentialist quest for something (anything) that is larger than himself. One final caveat to prospective viewers: Do NOT bring your children to see this film! The humor is vulgar and explicit (way past "South Park" humor), and it just isn't appropriate for young, impressionable kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Dec 4, 2003
Went to see it on word of mouth. This is a dark, dark black comedy spoofing life and especially the Xmas season. Billy Bob Thorton as a down and out loser is superb. He stays in character throughout the movie which translates to silver Went to see it on word of mouth. This is a dark, dark black comedy spoofing life and especially the Xmas season. Billy Bob Thorton as a down and out loser is superb. He stays in character throughout the movie which translates to silver screen very well. He is one bad dude, and despite all of his flaws and total disregard for humanity, you are drawn to him like a bee to honey. There are some fall off of a chair, pee in your pants bathroom humor; but despite that, one can only hope that Billy Bob can find himself that indeed life has a purpose. In doing so, although you laugh, you also feel his pain. In other words despite being a comedy it will evoke your emotions as you leave the theater having some emotion. Definitely a sleeper hit, but I caution it is not for children. Lots of bad language and sexual implications. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryH.Dec 4, 2003
Absolutely freaking hilarious laugh out loud black comedy. Not for children and destined to become a Holiday classic. Billy Bob Thorton is marvelous and the supporting cast surrounds him to perfection. Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaW.Dec 5, 2003
Bad Movie my eye! This is destined to reach cult status as did Animal House. It is the Anti-Xmas movie and thank God for that. It pokes fun at all of us for the way we have become so commercialized at this time of year. Billy Bob is simply Bad Movie my eye! This is destined to reach cult status as did Animal House. It is the Anti-Xmas movie and thank God for that. It pokes fun at all of us for the way we have become so commercialized at this time of year. Billy Bob is simply outstanding and his supporting cast is hilarious in the way they play up to him. Without doubt the best movie out but a word of caution that you should not bring your children or adults not possessing a grand sense of bathroom humor. Not 30 seconds go by without Billy Bob shouting another obscenity at someone (kids included.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WarrenT.Dec 5, 2003
Drop dead funny that has you rolling in the aisle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CharlesH.Dec 8, 2003
If you like watching children use the F-word this is the movie for you!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DenzelN.Jan 15, 2004
Too funny for words. And speaking of words, not two sentences go by before Billy Bob utters another curse word. Just hilarious and bound to become a cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregA.Dec 19, 2004
When a friend of mine said I had to go and see this movie I usually don't expect to find it as good as they say. However, Bad Santa was a gem of a movie, it was funny from start to finish and actually had a story that contained the When a friend of mine said I had to go and see this movie I usually don't expect to find it as good as they say. However, Bad Santa was a gem of a movie, it was funny from start to finish and actually had a story that contained the essence of what Christmas is all about despite the constant swearing and crudeness!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcH.Oct 24, 2004
Very enjoyable. Yes it was offensive, but you just can't help liking old billy-bob. the late john ritter was very amusing too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WaltD.Jan 24, 2004
Without a doubt one of the funniest movies I have seen in some time. It's hilarious and will surely become a cult classic in time. Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RussellL-HJan 5, 2004
I was surprised (and a bit ashamed) at how much I laughed. This will be one of those movies that people rent year after year as the perfect antedote for the holiday season. I still find myself repeating some of the crudest lines to my I was surprised (and a bit ashamed) at how much I laughed. This will be one of those movies that people rent year after year as the perfect antedote for the holiday season. I still find myself repeating some of the crudest lines to my friends. The worse the Santa - the better the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BubbaFreshJan 7, 2004
Holds nothing back with regards to political correctness. That is why this movie is so great. Extremely funny if you despise annoying snot faced kids and love drinking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChineseBoyMar 29, 2004
Oh boy, there were parts where i couldn't stop laughing. The movie could have done without Bernie Mac, he just isn't funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RicoJun 23, 2004
Has exactly 0 laughs. This is a "comedy" strictly for those who think South Park is funny. I think it has the power to depress rather than to lift the spirits. It actually would have made an interesting and unnerving drama...and it would Has exactly 0 laughs. This is a "comedy" strictly for those who think South Park is funny. I think it has the power to depress rather than to lift the spirits. It actually would have made an interesting and unnerving drama...and it would have been funnier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RachelW.Jun 24, 2004
If possible i would have given this film a negative number as a rating. it's no coincidenct that Bad Santa's initials are "BS" - it is absolute drivel that the gullible public has been conned into thinking is funny because If possible i would have given this film a negative number as a rating. it's no coincidenct that Bad Santa's initials are "BS" - it is absolute drivel that the gullible public has been conned into thinking is funny because it's 'politically incorrect'. wake up and smell the dogs**t people. this is one of the worst movies i've ever seen (and i've seen hundreds). anyone who thinks alcoholics are amusing should go to their local bar. billy b wouldn't get the girl, he'd get tossed face first to the curb by the nearest bouncer. oh and drinking and driving, that's a real laugh riot? if you want an antidote for christmas, watch national lampoon's christmas vacation instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimS.Jun 26, 2004
This is a super funny movie. If your a prude please don't watch this movie, It's not made for everyone. I wonder what the people that gave this movie a low score actually think funny is? Just step away from the movie before you get This is a super funny movie. If your a prude please don't watch this movie, It's not made for everyone. I wonder what the people that gave this movie a low score actually think funny is? Just step away from the movie before you get your feelings hurt. Gaa-gaa goo goo, baby wants thier bottle back? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DennisP.Jul 12, 2004
The most offensive thing about Bad Santa was it's complete lack of humor or wit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianH.Jul 16, 2004
Truly funny and compleatly unexpected. not for everybody, but if you like relentless dark, gritty comedy, don't let the wimps out there talk you out of seeing this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomW.Aug 25, 2004
Let me just say this is the worst movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DebAug 7, 2004
Offensive, boring, and without an engaging character, this movie makes my list of all-time stinkers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerD.Aug 5, 2005
Genius. Total genius. Billy Bob Thorton shines in this movie. With Bad Santa, you get a laugh a minute. Brett Kelly is awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Nov 26, 2003
The best thing about this movie is that its being funny is such a surprise. Thornton says the F word about 100 times but somehow the context makes each rendition hilarious. Atop every obsenity being funny, which is already most of the movie, The best thing about this movie is that its being funny is such a surprise. Thornton says the F word about 100 times but somehow the context makes each rendition hilarious. Atop every obsenity being funny, which is already most of the movie, the mood is funny as well. So even the rare moments without obscene humor feel fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Nov 27, 2003
Santa's self-loathing and misanthropy can be interpeted as deadpan comedy, or the real deal. However, you'll have a better time if you find Billy Bob Thorton funny. His dubious mentoring of the chubby, little kid is hysterical Santa's self-loathing and misanthropy can be interpeted as deadpan comedy, or the real deal. However, you'll have a better time if you find Billy Bob Thorton funny. His dubious mentoring of the chubby, little kid is hysterical instead of cruel because his obnoxiousness and vacousness makes him unsympathetic. I think he's channeling Cindy Brady. Even though "Bad Santa" resorts to a car chase, Santa has a goal, which gives this automatic pilot device some kick. The funniest thing about this movie is that it's in wide release. What's not funny, unfortunately, are the scenes between the late John Ritter and Bernie Mac. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErinK.Nov 27, 2003
This movie had a lot of laughs. The only problem I had with it was the tying up of loose ends in the last few minutes that was just a little too precious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyA.Nov 27, 2003
Laughed out loud at lot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnnyBlazeNov 29, 2003
Just a straight-up funny movie. To it's core, it's a classic "in you face" laugh-out-loud riot. It takes all the annoying aspects of the holidays and exploits them on screen in a raw and funny fashion. Billy Bob's performance Just a straight-up funny movie. To it's core, it's a classic "in you face" laugh-out-loud riot. It takes all the annoying aspects of the holidays and exploits them on screen in a raw and funny fashion. Billy Bob's performance was dead-on and shared great chemistry with Tony Cox, playing his sidekick elf... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobB.Nov 29, 2003
This movie is f..kin hilarious! Definitely on my top 10 list of all time! Not one minute without a profanity. There's gonna be a lot of pissed parents that brought little Johnny thinking it was the perfect family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeI.Nov 29, 2003
Hilarious. My eyes watered and my nose ran all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaD.Dec 13, 2003
Hilarious good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CedrickS.Dec 16, 2003
Bad Santa is brilliantly well written, like watching the archetypical American male's id given human form and set loose in all his ugly splendour. Yes, he drinks himself into a stupor, likes nasty loving with large women, and has a foul Bad Santa is brilliantly well written, like watching the archetypical American male's id given human form and set loose in all his ugly splendour. Yes, he drinks himself into a stupor, likes nasty loving with large women, and has a foul mouth. It's way over the top, but anything less wouldn't be as funny, and more importantly wouldn't do justice to the concept. This is a crude movie, but people who say it lacks depth are just missing the point. Bad Santa's theme is about finding a purpose in life, and finding peace with yourself. It's a subtle play on the typical Christmas movie message of redemption. At the end, BB Thornton's character is still a loathsome scumbag, but he goes through some introspection and finds a purpose to it all. If nasty language offends you, stay away. Otherwise, this movie will not disappoint. I dare even say, my friends and I'll probably be giving this yearly viewings before Christmas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeytonW.Dec 6, 2003
Extremely good comedy. Crude humor, but funny crude humor. I was laughing throughout the movie, and there was essentially never a dull moment. A great Christmas film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlphaMaleDec 9, 2003
This movie is seriously funny. If you share the directors cynical worldview and you are slightly depressed by the X-mas holilday which is grossly over- commercialized, this foul mouthed diabolical film will give you a nice release.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnD.Dec 11, 2004
This is definately the best comedy i've seen in 15 years or so. I had tears in my eyes laughing a couple of times and last time I had that was watching "the moneypit". You can feel the hands of the Coen brothers in this movie and if you This is definately the best comedy i've seen in 15 years or so. I had tears in my eyes laughing a couple of times and last time I had that was watching "the moneypit". You can feel the hands of the Coen brothers in this movie and if you like any of their work this is a must see !!. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MitchM.Dec 7, 2004
I was so ready to love a movie about a naughty santa, scrooge that I've become. But my ardor sagged noticably and steadily as the movie dragged on. It's a one-note symphony of bad behaviour and foul mouth eruptions. But then they I was so ready to love a movie about a naughty santa, scrooge that I've become. But my ardor sagged noticably and steadily as the movie dragged on. It's a one-note symphony of bad behaviour and foul mouth eruptions. But then they even committed the unpardonable sin of making santa vaguely likable by the story's end: the ultimate sell out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraC.Jun 24, 2004
Billy Bob plays this character superbly. The swearing is what makes it funny, so you have to have an open mind about the language. I laughed my head off!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErwinK.Dec 19, 2005
Very funny film and policitally incorrect film. What is so surreal about it is that the film ends with a sense of good will, without it being a tacky happy ending. It's hard to describe, but at the end of this offensive movie, i felt Very funny film and policitally incorrect film. What is so surreal about it is that the film ends with a sense of good will, without it being a tacky happy ending. It's hard to describe, but at the end of this offensive movie, i felt strangely uplifted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GerrickC.Nov 6, 2006
Billy Bob Thorton is absolutely hilarious and serves up a Christmas festival with vular language and an uproarious Black midget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BuzzD.Nov 27, 2003
It's Miracle on 34th Street meets Jackass, with a little Pink Flamingos mixed in. Being a heathen who dreads the "Holidays." I welcome this anti-Santa romp. An anagram of Santa is "Satan." HOOhah-!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Nov 28, 2003
Absolutely freakin' hilarious! Best casting of a kid since Engleberg in "Bad News Bears". Billy Bob's nuanced performance is on the money. Even Mac, Ritter, and Graham are phenomenal in their supporting roles. An absolute must-see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobB.Nov 29, 2003
This movie is f..kin hilarious! Definitely on my top 10 list of all time! Not one minute without a profanity. There's gonna be a lot of pissed parents that brought little Johnny thinking it was the perfect family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArkadiyO.Nov 29, 2003
As soon as I saw the names of the Coen brothers in the credits, i knew that this is gonna be great. A very clever way of saying $$$$ you to all the anal parents who can't wait to spend all their savings on "spreading Christmas cheer". As soon as I saw the names of the Coen brothers in the credits, i knew that this is gonna be great. A very clever way of saying $$$$ you to all the anal parents who can't wait to spend all their savings on "spreading Christmas cheer". This was especially fun after seeing "The Elf" a day before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryDec 14, 2003
Wako, no wonder you have no teeth. This movie was more funny than the novacaine you were on when you watched it. Bad Santa rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
greasefireNov 16, 2005
This movie is awesome!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
While it may not be interesting to some people, Bad Santa is a funny comedy that will keep you laughing from start to finish. It can be rather vulger at times but hey, Its still hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
Ah classic! Just the movie I need when the super crazy commercial nature of Chrismas starts driving me up a wall. When I just can't stand to year an 800 horrifyingly awful version of Frosty the snowman, this is where I turn for relief.Ah classic! Just the movie I need when the super crazy commercial nature of Chrismas starts driving me up a wall. When I just can't stand to year an 800 horrifyingly awful version of Frosty the snowman, this is where I turn for relief. Hysterical, and yet meaningful cause in the end it points out how Christmas should be rather than how it is often treated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
We get it. Billy Bob Thorton is a foul-mouthed, drunken criminal- but wait- this kid thinks he's the real Santa Claus. It's been done before- and the joke gets old fast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JustChillDec 14, 2012
Dark but hilarious. Billy Bob at his finest. And please don't even get me started on Thurman Murman! They are one of my favorite comedy duos of the century.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticJul 10, 2014
This film had me spitting out my drink. The timing of the actors was so on cue I'm amazed this movie gets so few awards. Billy Bob Thornton and Tony Cox are both the funniest and ridiculous duo that I can name off the top of my head. The kidThis film had me spitting out my drink. The timing of the actors was so on cue I'm amazed this movie gets so few awards. Billy Bob Thornton and Tony Cox are both the funniest and ridiculous duo that I can name off the top of my head. The kid and the bartender had me in stitches. Bernie Mac and John Ritter also gave funny performances. So sad to see them both go, so young. 'Bad Santa' maybe too vulgar for some, but dark comedies are an art form; to take a serious topic, and generate laughs from it takes skill and quality. It shows itself here, if you can get past the language and hedonism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysJan 25, 2014
Bad Santa is a holiday treat. With all the feel-good sentimental flicks out there, this movie is a refreshing counterpart to those movies, with its foul-mouthed, alcoholic protagonist and his also foul-mouthed, temperamental little elf. TheBad Santa is a holiday treat. With all the feel-good sentimental flicks out there, this movie is a refreshing counterpart to those movies, with its foul-mouthed, alcoholic protagonist and his also foul-mouthed, temperamental little elf. The movie is better than you think, and laugh out loud funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisAug 25, 2016
Billy Bob plays this character superbly. The swearing is what makes it funny, so you have to have an open mind about the language. I laughed my head off!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviescriticnetDec 15, 2015
Along with Home Alone that's my favorite Christmas movie. But beware cause this an utterly politically incorrect black comedy.
Billy Bob Thornton is absolutely brilliant as Bad Santa and even got a Golden Globe Nomination for his
Along with Home Alone that's my favorite Christmas movie. But beware cause this an utterly politically incorrect black comedy.
Billy Bob Thornton is absolutely brilliant as Bad Santa and even got a Golden Globe Nomination for his performance. Even winning an Oscar wouldn't have been a surprise. The story goes as follows: "A miserable conman and his dwarf partner pose as Santa and his Little Helper to rob department stores on Christmas Eve. But they run into problems when the conman befriends a troubled kid." Wtf, even the fat blond kid plays perfectly! The movie manages to succesfully combine drama, comedy and crime and is hilarious without being ridiculous. At the same it's serious without being depressive. Nevertheless it isn't suggested for little kids and for those who can't stomach a sometimes rude and offensive black comedy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
A treatment of comedy treated like it actually works. Everyone's subjected to their own opinions, but I can't handle these 0's here. They belong somewhere else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DyliebarMar 2, 2016
Another one of my favorite comedies of all time! It's hilarious, smart, and quite exciting! If you love comedy, you will surely love Bad Santa! It's a huge recommend!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews