User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 234

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    Just when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something for everyone" box office appeal these days, my standards have become ridiculously low for comedies. This raised them right back up there,Just when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something for everyone" box office appeal these days, my standards have become ridiculously low for comedies. This raised them right back up there, kinda like the original Hangover did. Cameron Diaz's Teacher is as fun as Billy Bob's Santa was. Hollywood should embrace the antihero more and the superhero less. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2011
    5
    I'm surprised that this movie let me down at so many points. The characters were unlikeable and disappointing. I thought that Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake) was the funny nerd guy, but he wasn't. The plot is stupid (I mean come on, her goal his to win the bonus so she can get a breast surgery to please a guy). In my opinion, there were a lot of weird and awkward teachers in this movieI'm surprised that this movie let me down at so many points. The characters were unlikeable and disappointing. I thought that Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake) was the funny nerd guy, but he wasn't. The plot is stupid (I mean come on, her goal his to win the bonus so she can get a breast surgery to please a guy). In my opinion, there were a lot of weird and awkward teachers in this movie (something we can all relate to). Some parts were cliche, that I already saw in other '' school '' type of movies. Cameron Diaz was okay as Elizabeth Halsey. I had a few chuckles while watching this film. I'm not giving it a lower mark because I manage to get entertained a little bit. Still, this movie could have been better if the characters were more developed and that it took itself more seriously. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    Bad Teacher was just plain BAD. The entire movie was choppy and un-fulfilling - plot, humor and all. I usually love Cameron Diaz, Justin Timberlake and Jason Segel, but they just didn't pull it off in this one. My advice - if you want to waste two hours of your life, at least save your money and wait for it to come out on cable.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    0
    Bad Teacher. Bad movie.
    The woman was horrible til the very and I mean very end. Her rival through the movie, though annoying, got everything bad she didn't deserve happen to her! It's something I wish I hadn't waste my time on. I went to the bathroom during it just so I could leave the room for a while. Also, not enough Jason Segal...
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Cameron Diaz stretches believabilityâ
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    2
    I thought this would at least be one of the brainless summer comedy flicks, but I didn't even that for the price of the tickets. I'm not sure how a comedy with this cast can be so flat, but this film was pretty bad. Sure, I laughed more than a couple of times, but I was certainly ready for the movie to end after ~75% of the way through. I didn't really believe any of the characters (II thought this would at least be one of the brainless summer comedy flicks, but I didn't even that for the price of the tickets. I'm not sure how a comedy with this cast can be so flat, but this film was pretty bad. Sure, I laughed more than a couple of times, but I was certainly ready for the movie to end after ~75% of the way through. I didn't really believe any of the characters (I know, believability isn't often necessary for brainless comedies, but this one was particularly bad), and I was given no reason to CARE for any of the characters. Few were very likeable, and we weren't given enough character development to create any reason to pull for any particular character. At least some other comedies of the past 5 years have given me a reason to take interest in a character of plot line. Really, leave this for a DVD rental, at the maximum. If you decide to skip it, be happy knowing that you aren't missing anything much. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2011
    5
    What a letdown!

    I wouldn't say its bad, but its not at the top of its class either. It seems this movie gave me only mild chuckles and a couple moments where I laughed, but it just seemed to be basic and didn't try to make the grade on original jokes (in other words, the writers didn't seem to try). Cameron Diaz was not bad in this movie. In fact, she played her role pretty well, but she
    What a letdown!

    I wouldn't say its bad, but its not at the top of its class either. It seems this movie gave me only mild chuckles and a couple moments where I laughed, but it just seemed to be basic and didn't try to make the grade on original jokes (in other words, the writers didn't seem to try).

    Cameron Diaz was not bad in this movie. In fact, she played her role pretty well, but she seemed to be the only "good" performance in the film.

    Its that it seemed a little predictable because it was more like Spy vs. Spy between Diaz and Punch, harming one another, from Punch's snitching to Diaz's schemes, it seems very bland. Rent it! Its not worth your $12!
    Expand
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    I went into this movie excited for a good heartfelt comedy and left with four people who simultaneously said this sucked when the credits went up. This movie had one believable character of more than ten and is really disappointing in a cast that had three huge stars and what looked like a great supporting cast. Jason Segel was the only redeeming part of the film. Cameron Diaz wasn'tI went into this movie excited for a good heartfelt comedy and left with four people who simultaneously said this sucked when the credits went up. This movie had one believable character of more than ten and is really disappointing in a cast that had three huge stars and what looked like a great supporting cast. Jason Segel was the only redeeming part of the film. Cameron Diaz wasn't just a bad teacher but a terrible and unrealistic person. Justin Timberlake was supposed to be funny as a quirky character but had zero realistic qualities and was really unlikable. The same goes for the girl who played Amy Squirrel who was just awful to watch. The message of the whole movie is be as terrible as you want and life will work out but the teacher who tries ends up having her life ruined. Message aside there were a few cheap laughs but overall this no heart terrible message movie disappoints on a big level Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2011
    5
    While watching the movie I discovered that some of the language used was not only inappropriate but inexplicable unnecessary. The movie did have its humorous moments but that was only on occasion. I expected more from Justin, but Cameron was not surprising seeing how she acts as a host for other producers. I have lost most respect for her for the roles she agrees to act in. She should beWhile watching the movie I discovered that some of the language used was not only inappropriate but inexplicable unnecessary. The movie did have its humorous moments but that was only on occasion. I expected more from Justin, but Cameron was not surprising seeing how she acts as a host for other producers. I have lost most respect for her for the roles she agrees to act in. She should be more classy. All in all it would only be a one time movie to see for me. Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    Yes, "Bad Teacher" may have quite a few plot-holes and over-the top ridiculousness. I mean, who would believe that they would have asked her for a 2nd year in a row of "teaching." One's gotta wonder what kind of results the kids had the first year she taught them... Anyway, as I said, definitely inconsistent and full of plot issues. However, it is so damn funny!! Cameron Diaz's performanceYes, "Bad Teacher" may have quite a few plot-holes and over-the top ridiculousness. I mean, who would believe that they would have asked her for a 2nd year in a row of "teaching." One's gotta wonder what kind of results the kids had the first year she taught them... Anyway, as I said, definitely inconsistent and full of plot issues. However, it is so damn funny!! Cameron Diaz's performance is flawless (not Oscar-type, of course, it's flawless for the film's intent) and she pulls it off effortlessly. Just a rather entertaining film overall, with some very good laughs and some very nice looks from Diaz. Very sexy, very polished performance, which goes to prove that women in their 40es can still be extremely sexy. The ending was, sadly, oh-so-typical for rom-coms, but what could one expect? It was obvious from the first 30 minutes of the film so I had already made my peace with the ending an hour before it actually happened. As I said, overall pretty funny with some very good moments and good acting by Diaz. Expand
  11. Jul 17, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bad actress(person). Is she? In a spoofing worse than Heath Ledger impersonating Val Kilmer in "Lords of Dogtown", Anna Faris sends up Cameron Diaz in "Lost in Translation", playing the megastar as the ultimate ditz, because filmmaker Sofia Coppola apparently was angered by how Diaz would flirt with then-husband Spike Jonze on the set of "Being John Malkovich". In a pointed scene, Scarlett Johansson(standing in for Coppola) and Giovanni Ribisi(likewise, for Jonze) walk through the lobby of the five-star Tokyo hotel they're staying at, and run into Faris, who channels Diaz's trademark gregariousness that we're accustomed to seeing on her late-night talk shows. With John's wife standing only inches away, Kelly comes on to the photographer with the sort of entitlement that comes with being famous. "I'm staying as Evelyn Waugh," the actress tells John, her favorite shutterbug, confirming in Charlotte's mind as to the vacuousness of this horribly proprietary woman. Waugh is a man, Charlotte, a Yale graduate, points out, much to the annoyance of her husband, who thinks he married a snob and ends up defending the intellectually impaired actress. Bad singer. In "My Best Friend's Wedding", Diaz hits all the wrong notes on the Burt Bacharach/Hal David-penned "I Just Don't Know What to Do with Myself", a karaoke scene that Coppola references with a karaoke scene of her own(not the good one in which Bill Murray makes like a lobotomized Bryan Ferry on "More Than This"), where Kelly gives Kimmy a run for her money by slogging her way through "Nobody Does it Better", the theme song for the James Bond flick "The Spy Who Loved Me". The guy who loved Diaz at the time, Justin Timberlake, in a less-reported item, probably takes the form of Kelly's equally vacuous musician boyfriend, an inarticulate hip-hop artist whose superficiality inspires Charlotte to seek better company at another table. Coppola, as evidenced by this wholesale character assassination, makes Diaz out to be a home-wrecker, a promiscuous tramp who can't keep her hands off other women's husbands. In particular, hers. The look of trepidation that washes across Ribisi's visage says it all when he realizes that Kelly doesn't know the first thing about poker faces. Seven years has passed since "Lost in Translation" hit theaters. Finally, at long last, Evelyn(Cameron is also a unisex name) strikes back. In "Bad Teacher", Diaz does little to tone down the sex-kitten persona that Coppola helped cultivate. Playing a foul-mouthed, pot-smoking, perpetually hung-over middle-school educator named Elizabeth, "Bad Teacher" makes good on Coppola's paranoia, in which Diaz's character makes no qualms about stealing Scott(Timberlake, with an axe to grind of his own), the school's latest hire, away from the conspicuously-named Amy Squirrel, who could very well be the surrogate for Coppola, a Francophile(Aimee is a French name) of Italian descent. It can't be a coincidence that Scott is a musician just like the filmmaker's second husband(Thomas Mars of the French indie-rockers Phoenix), and as the Period 5 lead singer, the vaguely effeminate substitute performs a self-penned song that he dedicates to Amy called "Simpatico", an English word of Italian origin, which also acknowledges both the filmmaker's ethnicity, and the wedding in Bernalda(a southern Italian town). Made livid by Scott's growing interest in Lucy, the bad teacher rubs poison ivy on her rival's apple, giving the good teacher a bad case of the hives. No longer able to chaperon a field trip, Elizabeth fills in for the stricken woman, then sets her sights on seducing the stricken woman's beau, culminating in an odd set-piece that recalls the hardcore puppet sex scenes in "Team America: World Police". Technically, in the strictest sense of the word, no betrayal takes place, since Scott insists on the relatively chaste act of dry humping. Nothing happened. In the crudest way possible, that's what Diaz communicates to Coppola when Elizabeth sends Lucy the lurid, but harmless images via camera phone. While Diaz is made out to be a tramp, Coppola self-congratulatingly paints herself as a woman of virtue. At the lounge bar, Charlotte tells Bob, "I wish I could sleep," leaving out the "with you," because unlike her philandering husband, marriage means something to her, as it does for the American actor, who says, "Me, too." This time, it's Coppola who plays the fool, in which her proxy is sent to Malcolm X High School, a dig, perhaps, at the filmmaker's preference to work in a mostly white milieu. It's not the most satisfying of endings because the moviegoer doesn't get what it paid for, a really bad teacher. With all the sex scandals involving educators and their charges, Elizabeth's homage to Tawny Kitaen during the benefit car wash scene just doesn't cut it. David Straitham in Karen Moncrieff's "Blue Car". Now that's a bad teacher. Expand
  12. Oct 22, 2011
    7
    i thought it was a pretty funny film . the idea is pretty funny a teacher who hates teaching and just wants to find a rich man so she can mooch off him and live a easy life . camron diaz does a pretty good job and this and is pretty funny . the guy who plays the gym teacher (i cant think of his name) i felt should have had amuch bigger role. over all it has some pretty good moments thati thought it was a pretty funny film . the idea is pretty funny a teacher who hates teaching and just wants to find a rich man so she can mooch off him and live a easy life . camron diaz does a pretty good job and this and is pretty funny . the guy who plays the gym teacher (i cant think of his name) i felt should have had amuch bigger role. over all it has some pretty good moments that gave me a good laugh . it certainly isnt the best commedy your gona see but its a pretty decent one. Expand
  13. Jun 24, 2011
    6
    Ultimately, Bad Teacher doesn't end up as a good or bad movie. It's not destined to be a cult classic or a â
  14. Jun 29, 2011
    6
    This movie was just alright, it was nothing special. Cameron Diaz was pretty funny, but Jason Segel, Justin Timberlake and Lucy Punch were all hilarious. That didn't save this movie though, too cliched and predictable.
  15. Mar 19, 2012
    1
    There isn't much to say about this film other than, "What a shame." There isn't a lick of cinematic value here. The story, acting and reason for existing are nowhere to be found.
  16. Jun 30, 2011
    6
    The cast pushes this so-so flick into the green...slightly. It's impressive to see the generosity Cameron Diaz bestows on her co-stars. Lucy Punch runs away with all of her scenes in a dead-on parody of a Midwestern Nice teacher Ms. Squrrel. Beyond the cast, Bad Teacher flounders. C+
  17. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    That little F toy, Diaz, is really hot and her outlandish behavior are the best things about the movie. Not much else to care about this movie. Had some laughs but really only a one time rental.
  18. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Far funnier than I expected, and way better than the critics' reviews suggest. So many recycled rom-coms out there, nice to see something different. Timberlake makes a great nerd, and it doesn't hurt that Cameron Diaz is still smoking hot.
  19. Sep 3, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought I was going to laugh my ass off at this movie. And I actually did. Only I wasn't laughing for the reasons I thought I would. I was laughing at how ridiculously bad it was. How bad was the acting in this movie? I've seen most of the main actors in this film do some great and hilarious work in their previous films so how could they be this terrible? It made no sense at all. They seemed to be working up to something and then they completley stopped and decide to just end the movie with no reconciliation at all.

    Diaz's character ended the film the way she started it. The gym teacher could have been played by anyone moron with a sweatshirt. The film started all these different plot points with so many characters and didn't finish any of them. EVERY character and storyline was EXACTLY the same as they were when they started. There was no resolution to the film at all. Evidently Diaz's character realized that she didn't want to be a "bad teacher" or a shallow person anymore, but they don't give any reason why. She just "changed" and all of a sudden didn't like the clueless but wealthy teacher and started liking the gym teacher.

    Please don't waste even a rental on this idiocy.
    Expand
  20. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    This was just a really bad movie. I did not laugh a single time and in the end you feel that you would really like to see the main character go to jail then get her own way.
  21. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    This really that funny, is not the best movie, but entertaining it is. The entire cast gives very good performances, it is generally recommended and passed a good time laughing.
  22. Jun 26, 2011
    8
    This is a wonderfully funny movie. I missed some of the funny lines because I was laughing at the ones before. Cameron Diaz was splendid. I couldn't stand Justin Timberlake but I think that was because his character was so unlikable. I highly recommend this for a no stress good time.
  23. Jul 24, 2011
    3
    Went into this one expecting at least a couple of laughs, and yes there are a few funny moments, ultimately thought this movie is just poorly made. Cameron Diaz's character is meant to be a bad teacher, yes we get it, but does she also have to be an unlikable **** for 90% of the film? How is the audience meant to empathize/sympathize or identify with this character? It just gets to theWent into this one expecting at least a couple of laughs, and yes there are a few funny moments, ultimately thought this movie is just poorly made. Cameron Diaz's character is meant to be a bad teacher, yes we get it, but does she also have to be an unlikable **** for 90% of the film? How is the audience meant to empathize/sympathize or identify with this character? It just gets to the point where you don't care what happens next because the character is just so unlikable. Yes I understand that to some extent this is mean to be the point, that it is a "funny" story of redemption, but that redemption and arc comes way too late, by which you point you've already lost interest. I would've probably enjoyed this more if the character was a fraction more believable and little more likeable. Definitely save your time and your money - unless you like watching unlikeable characters that will piss you off and accomplish nothing but learn to be a "little" nicer by the end, wow, what a pathetic resolution. Expand
  24. Jul 9, 2011
    5
    Let me first say that it's not a terrible movie; it's just really not all that good. Cameron Diaz is certainly game, and she pushes the movie past mediocrity. The movie itself seems to let her down as it refuses to really push any boundaries. If she had only been REALLY bad, or if the movie didn't completely wimp out in the end, it could've been a whole lot more.
  25. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    This film was surprising in it's charm, humor and story line. I found it to be a unique take on school teacher comedy and it was nice to see a female f+ck up instead of the typical male oriented crap. Cameron Diaz, Jason Segal, and Phyllis Smith were fantastic. Justin Timberlake's character and acting seemed forced and uncomfortable [not intentional] but didn't tarnish the film too much.This film was surprising in it's charm, humor and story line. I found it to be a unique take on school teacher comedy and it was nice to see a female f+ck up instead of the typical male oriented crap. Cameron Diaz, Jason Segal, and Phyllis Smith were fantastic. Justin Timberlake's character and acting seemed forced and uncomfortable [not intentional] but didn't tarnish the film too much. Not the greatest comedy of all time, but there are a lot worse movies out there. Expand
  26. Aug 6, 2011
    5
    This Cameron Diaz's movie always serves only to spend time, it doesn't add absolutely nothing, the script is generally pretty weak, as well for the photography. But still thus, I could laugh onto some funny scenes and it's enjoyable to watch, though. It also could have been more elaborated.
  27. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    Bad Teacher is Bad Santa in a middle school instead of a mall. This is Cameron Diazâ
  28. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    This was an interesting and funny premise, but it's squandered by a weak script and cruel characters who all have no redeeming qualities. The cast gives it their all, and there are many funny moments, but the film is way too mean spirited for it's own good. Overall, the film doesn't work, and any humorous moments are quickly extinguished by cruelty. Don't get me wrong - the characters inThis was an interesting and funny premise, but it's squandered by a weak script and cruel characters who all have no redeeming qualities. The cast gives it their all, and there are many funny moments, but the film is way too mean spirited for it's own good. Overall, the film doesn't work, and any humorous moments are quickly extinguished by cruelty. Don't get me wrong - the characters in the Hangover had questionable morals and that's one of the funniest movies of all time, a solid 10. Bad Teacher isn't. Expand
  29. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    It's not a good film, but it's not a bad film. Very predictable, but worth it for a few cheap laughs. Jason Segel is rather enjoyable, but Justin Timberlake steels the show.
  30. Oct 19, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed this film. Albeit occasionally raunchy, politically incorrect, and hilariously wrong on so many levels, Diaz does a good job in this role. The entire film is really ridiculous, but that's what makes it fun. The cast is great with many of the current comic actors sprinkled in here and there. However, I am glad I trusted my reaction to the trailers and saved this one for a $1 rental!
  31. May 25, 2013
    5
    Watching Bad Teacher I couldn't help but feel things were played a little safe and are never quite as controversial the writers would want you to believe. Sure lead character Elizabeth (Diaz) smokes pot and swears but when compared to characters like Mr Gilbert in The Inbetweeners she is not really all that bad and unfortunately the movie suffers as a result.

    The plot itself is also
    Watching Bad Teacher I couldn't help but feel things were played a little safe and are never quite as controversial the writers would want you to believe. Sure lead character Elizabeth (Diaz) smokes pot and swears but when compared to characters like Mr Gilbert in The Inbetweeners she is not really all that bad and unfortunately the movie suffers as a result.

    The plot itself is also rather predictable but in amongst the lazy narrative there are some fairly amusing set-pieces. Diaz is fairly good in the lead role but is more often than not upstaged by the excellent Lucy Punch as the passive-aggressive Miss Squirrel. As for Justin Timberlake, well lets just say that he wasn't given much to work with playing one of the most one-note characters I've seen in a while.

    If you have an hour and a half to kill you could do a lot worse than Bad Teacher but its not really a movie worth watching more than once.
    Expand
  32. Vic
    Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Simply awesome movie! Great actors, lifelike screenplay, I love they kept mature language it makes this movie more realistic. Very lifelike comedy, unlike "The Other Guys" which is also an awesome comedy.
  33. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    This movie was truly horrendous. I didn't laugh a single time. Sure, I smiled during one scene, but that's it. I've seen some really awful comedies in my time, but most of them manage to get at least one laugh out of me. But not with Bad Teacher. Whatever you do, do not waste your hard earned money on this. There is nothing worth seeing here. I hated every single one of the characters,This movie was truly horrendous. I didn't laugh a single time. Sure, I smiled during one scene, but that's it. I've seen some really awful comedies in my time, but most of them manage to get at least one laugh out of me. But not with Bad Teacher. Whatever you do, do not waste your hard earned money on this. There is nothing worth seeing here. I hated every single one of the characters, especially Cameron Diaz (when was the last time she was in a good movie?). What, are we supposed to be charmed by her whorish, disgusting behavior? I wasn't. In fact, I found myself hating her more and more with each scene I saw her in, until I felt like beating her senseless at the end of the movie. Also, the premise is completely ridiculous: are you telling me the school was so blind that they hired this woman in the first place? And did none of the kids mention to their parents that their teacher was, you know, a legitimate prostitute? I can't count how many times I facepalmed during this movie. Thanks to Bad Teacher, I now have a permanent imprint of my hand on my forehead. Please, for the love of God, don't see this movie. You'd be better off sticking your ten bucks in a pipe and smoking it. Expand
  34. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    This movie was ok, thats the best i can give it, i thought it looked funny in the trailer but, honestly, about 90% of the funny scenes were in the trailer, and it was a pretty dumb story, and i knew from the very start how it was going to end, it was cliche, bad story, but i give it a 5 because Justin Timberlake was hilarious and I really thing he has found something in acting, he hasThis movie was ok, thats the best i can give it, i thought it looked funny in the trailer but, honestly, about 90% of the funny scenes were in the trailer, and it was a pretty dumb story, and i knew from the very start how it was going to end, it was cliche, bad story, but i give it a 5 because Justin Timberlake was hilarious and I really thing he has found something in acting, he has potential, and Cammeron Diaz was hot, and she was pretty funny at times, but her rude and bi**hy attitude got old about halfway through the movie, but its was and ok movie, i believe im being overly generous by giving it a 5/10 Expand
  35. Jul 2, 2011
    3
    I was really looking forward to seeing this movie (mainly because of Jason Segel) but was quickly disappointed. While a good amount of the movie was pretty funny, a film can't stand alone with jokes. There was no depth to the plot line whatsoever, the writing was horrible, and nothing made sense at all.
  36. Jun 27, 2011
    3
    It's been days since I saw this movie and I am still struggling with feelings of disappointment. I should have waited for the DVD. Yes, I chuckled......at the predictable storyline. Sex, drugs, alcohol and education. What a combination!
  37. Jul 3, 2011
    4
    A fairly boring film with many attempts and fails at humor. An easy to follow plot and an expected ending makes this film seem to somewhat drag on. Cameron Diaz plays the role of the nasty, mean teacher quite well but it was not enough to make this a good film. Granted, it starts to seem a little better during the falling action but doesn't get too much better. Now, don't get me wrong,A fairly boring film with many attempts and fails at humor. An easy to follow plot and an expected ending makes this film seem to somewhat drag on. Cameron Diaz plays the role of the nasty, mean teacher quite well but it was not enough to make this a good film. Granted, it starts to seem a little better during the falling action but doesn't get too much better. Now, don't get me wrong, this was not a complete waste of money seeing as how I believed a few parts to be rather funny. This film would probably appeal largely to adolescents but many other viewers will most likely find at least one funny bit in the film. Expand
  38. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    I actually quite liked the the movie for the first 20-30 minutes or so. Then the plot begin to be more and more contrived - there is also sudden jumps in plot progression where something happens just like that without some kind of smooth transition / build up. I laughed here and there. The main character played by Cameron Diaz is not very likeable; for one, she doesn't seem to have anyI actually quite liked the the movie for the first 20-30 minutes or so. Then the plot begin to be more and more contrived - there is also sudden jumps in plot progression where something happens just like that without some kind of smooth transition / build up. I laughed here and there. The main character played by Cameron Diaz is not very likeable; for one, she doesn't seem to have any redeeming quality except for the occasional quip or advice. I thought Lucy Punch did a great job portraying the over-the-top, overenthusiastic Squirrel, so did Justin Timberlake as the hot and clueless (arguably idealistic) math teacher. Jason Segel was alright, but his performance seemed lethargic but passable. I also liked Phyllis Smith's awkward character. Overall, a few laughs to be had here and there. The actors are competent, but the plot over-stretches believability without the articulation and brilliance to pull it through. Expand
  39. Jul 7, 2011
    2
    Bad Teacher emphasizes how Cameron Diaz is a Bad Teacher in a humourers way, unfortunately, she's just plain bad...bad. Bad Teacher starts out boring and pretty much keeps on going like that throughout the whole movie, with a few jokes here and their. The plot is downright terrible and never draws you in at all, that and it has no depth at all. Cameron isn't a terrible actor in this movie,Bad Teacher emphasizes how Cameron Diaz is a Bad Teacher in a humourers way, unfortunately, she's just plain bad...bad. Bad Teacher starts out boring and pretty much keeps on going like that throughout the whole movie, with a few jokes here and their. The plot is downright terrible and never draws you in at all, that and it has no depth at all. Cameron isn't a terrible actor in this movie, although the screenwriters are, all of her lines are a snoozefest and the other characters have no real emotional attachment to the plot at all. All of this comes together to become a very BAD movie.

    Final Notes: If you like sitting in a movie theatre to watch a movie trying to be funny, you'll love this.
    Expand
  40. Jul 8, 2011
    2
    With a couple of forced laughs, this movie is better off as a rental or waiting for it on cable. I wasn't expecting much and it delivered exactly what I expected -- not much.
  41. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    Elizabeth Halsey (Diaz) is the World's Worst Teacher. Her goal in life is to mooch off a rich husband and her latest target is new guy Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), a vanilla nerdy virgin who has a fondness for huge breasts. Diaz, down-on-her-luck, living with a roommate, makes it her life's mission to turn her A-cups in double-D's and will find the money at all costs. It's aElizabeth Halsey (Diaz) is the World's Worst Teacher. Her goal in life is to mooch off a rich husband and her latest target is new guy Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), a vanilla nerdy virgin who has a fondness for huge breasts. Diaz, down-on-her-luck, living with a roommate, makes it her life's mission to turn her A-cups in double-D's and will find the money at all costs. It's a silly premise, which the filmmakers make no bones about; they're only interest is mining the situation to the audience's delight.

    Elizabeth is textbook manipulative, and the script is balanced enough to enjoy her dishonesty every step of the way. She's a horrible teacher and person, but the few slaps on the wrist she gets for her behavior are more than enough. And when she's not getting a free pass, her character is tempered with just the right amount of ridicule. My memory may be fuzzy, but in Mary (as unsatisfying to me as Teacher was a pleasure), a type of comedy not dissimilar to her latest, I recall Diaz playing a more reactive role. It was essentially the boys Ben Stiller and Matt Dillon who drove the plot; she was more along for the ride with special gel in her hair to keep the wind from ruining it. Here, she's in the driver's seat. She is comfortable at the wheel and has her foot all the way down on the gas. In her element, she has never been better. She was born to the play this role. The trailer for Teacher set the curve for success high. And like the subsequent previews, the final result lives up to the promise. It's un-PC in all the right ways and doesn't pander to the audience. It has been a while since there has been a Hollywood comedy that has absolute respect for its audience and aware of exactly what it's doing. There aren't any shocking moments it builds to, there's just a heavy dose of acerbic wit consistent throughout the script cowritten by Gene Stupnitsky and Lee Eisenberg (producer/writers for the American version of The Office). There's no fat to be seen, as the venture is premium grade-A steak. Yet, it also has some of the shrewdest editing in a comedy I have seen in a long while. After the ironically homely credits, the story bursts out of the gate and remains full force until the end, and director Jake Kasdan (Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story) keeps things clipping along completely conscious of its absurdity. It has too many jokes to tell; there is no time to dilly-dally. There are a few brief random moments that even work despite themselves. The supporting cast is stellar; they all stand and deliver. Timberlake is fine as the dippy liberal who isn't as progressive as he thinks he is. But the standouts are TV actors from such sitcoms as The Class, How I Met Your Mother and The Office. Lucy Punch's comic chops first came to my attention in Annette Being's period Being Julia. She joined The Class shortly thereafter, but since its premature cancellation, she hasn't had much to chew on other than taking over a role for Nicole Kidman and standing out in the subpar You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger. Here, as over-achieving Amy Squirrel, she plays the foil to Diaz, just as Diaz did to Julia Roberts in Wedding. Besides batting all of her lines out of the park, she improvisationally employs weird facial gestures, conducts a simple, yet stealthy monologue about math with an accent and squeezes into a men's urinal while discussing matters of import. Jason Siegel is downright adorable and makes a great partner for Diaz. Not really a spoiler, they're obviously going to end up together from the get-go and their banter doesn't make it hard to accept. However, the crown for best supporting player has to go to Phyllis Smith as Lynn, Diaz' sidekick. I don't watch The Office and I haven't seen her anywhere else to my knowledge, but it appears she doesn't have the ability to not be funny, whether it's with a look or her uniquely meek voice. The woman is a comic secret weapon and her chemistry with Diaz is phenomenal. With the CBS and NBC networks represented in this movie, ABC isn't left out either, but the actor's presence is such a surprise and so unrecognizable at first, I'm not going to spoil anything. You'll just have to figure it out. Additionally, there's another surprise actor (her name is in the opening credits) who has a small, but delightful role. If you're a fan like I am, my bet is that you'll kick your legs in the air and "love it." Read the rest of the review by googling Cinesnatch Bad Teacher.
    Expand
  42. Oct 5, 2011
    0
    Unwatchably bad. Incredibly disrespectful to real teachers.

    I cringed repeatedly at the terrible use of cliches and ridiculously exaggerated and unrealistic characters.
  43. Jul 12, 2011
    3
    Decent movie, held interest. Unfortunately though not a single laugh-out-loud moment for my wife or I (couple in mid-30s). Since this is how I rate comedies (the LOL factor), I cannot score this highly.
  44. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    I had high hopes for this movie as the premise seemed promising. However, alot of the jokes fell flat and ultimately just didn't care too much about her character. There are some funny moments but the opportunity to make something really cool and hilarious was missed. I think if the characters would have been fleshed out more as opposed to focusing on gags it could have been something special.
  45. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    Despite what a lot of critics may say, I found this to be a thoroughly entertaining film. The only bad point being the casting of Justin Timberlake as Scottt DeLacorte. I normally like JT and I know this film, or any of this genre, aren't exactly in the "best actor" oscar nomination basket but he just didn't suit the part. If you go in with an open mind a lot of points in the film areDespite what a lot of critics may say, I found this to be a thoroughly entertaining film. The only bad point being the casting of Justin Timberlake as Scottt DeLacorte. I normally like JT and I know this film, or any of this genre, aren't exactly in the "best actor" oscar nomination basket but he just didn't suit the part. If you go in with an open mind a lot of points in the film are laugh-out-loud funny and as a whole it came together to to provide an really funny hour and a half. The humour ranges from stupidity to slapstick to gross to shocking and back. Who doesn't laugh at a well-timed fart gag? This is a genuinely funny film. If you want to laugh, go and watch it! Expand
  46. Aug 10, 2011
    3
    I honestly praise Diaz performance but the script is so bland and efortless...no miracles would save this. Not the worst comedy ever but easily one of the worst I've seen this year so far.
  47. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Bad Teacher is fun! Cameron Diaz has never been a favorite of mine, but she plays a selfish, ruthless **** with such ease that it makes one wonder...Anyway, I actually liked her in this. The supporting cast is wonderful and Jason Segal is charming and handsome.
  48. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    I'm kinda disappointed ! its not as good as i thought ! there's some black-comedy that made me laugh but the whole movie is dull and full of crap ! as for the acting Diaz was like she is , always charming . Lucy punch is a good actor her character is sunny and she made it funnier . as for the 2 lead actor Justin & Jason were not good at all ! After the social network i thought Justin wouldI'm kinda disappointed ! its not as good as i thought ! there's some black-comedy that made me laugh but the whole movie is dull and full of crap ! as for the acting Diaz was like she is , always charming . Lucy punch is a good actor her character is sunny and she made it funnier . as for the 2 lead actor Justin & Jason were not good at all ! After the social network i thought Justin would be good but he really wasn't and Jason really let me down ! as a Fan of sitcom "How i met your mother" i was expecting a lot from him ! while seeing i was like "what the hell is this ? why is he so nervous " . he was so good in FSM !
    Story : 1.4/2 (The teacher is really really bad)
    Directing :1.3/2 (Could do better)
    Acting : 1.1/2 (Lucy was good ,Diaz was normal but actors did so bad)
    Sound : 1.3/2 (not bad but not good at all)
    As a Comedy movie : .7/2 (not funny just some black comedy)
    OVERALL : 5.7 out of 10
    Expand
  49. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    so I looked at the trailer for bad teacher, I said oh my god this movie will be perfect, funny, I was crazy to watch. so I went to the movies to watch, sad to say But I know with that empty feeling the movie accomplishes nothing and does nothing, take Justin and the area it says cameroz as a drugged and nn was so nice to nonsense, couples with no chemistry teacher no''bad''failed in your field!
  50. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Bad Teacher is a hilarious film I've seen! Cameron Diaz plays a funny role so does Jason Segal. Pretty much everyone plays a funny role. Although it was 97 minutes long, it went by so fast. Bad Teacher reminded me a little bit of Bad Santa. This is not a bad film to watch. It's actually worth your time. So, yes I'd say recommend it.
    Funniest scene: When she showed the classroom the scream films.
  51. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    The only thing that kept me watching was a few memorable lines and the reoccurring hope of getting a glimpse of some bare Diaz (which, to my disappointment, didn't happen.)
  52. Sep 5, 2011
    6
    All in all, Bad Teacher will keep you entertained whether youâ
  53. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    Bad teacher is a movie that gave me motivation to be an actor and the actors, especially Cameron Diaz and Justin Timberlake, the scenery was good, but had some flaws, the mistakes of pucos was that the end was not surprised, I finally give 6
  54. Sep 25, 2011
    1
    Just lop off "Teacher" from the title This was awful! To be fair, I am not a Cameron Diaz fan, a Justin Timberlake fan, a Jason Segal fan, or a Lucy Punch fan, and I can say with certainty that they only strengthened my low opinion of them all. These "actors" were terrible, the script was a dog, and the directing was embarrassing. The ONLY reason I'm giving this comedy-bomb a "1" isJust lop off "Teacher" from the title This was awful! To be fair, I am not a Cameron Diaz fan, a Justin Timberlake fan, a Jason Segal fan, or a Lucy Punch fan, and I can say with certainty that they only strengthened my low opinion of them all. These "actors" were terrible, the script was a dog, and the directing was embarrassing. The ONLY reason I'm giving this comedy-bomb a "1" is because of a great cameo by Modern Family's Eric Stonestreet. It was nice to see him perform a completely different role, even if it was too brief. Kudos also to Phyllis Smith, from The Office, for a good supporting role performance. The theatre was more than half full, but you could almost hear crickets chirp for most of the film, except when Mr. Stonestreet and Ms. Smith appeared. Expand
  55. Oct 25, 2011
    5
    wow hmm.this movie was kinda good,but after watching it i wanted to kill cameron diaz.LOL.
    because the movie was pretty unfair.So it's a one time see movie only.
  56. Oct 29, 2011
    6
    Bad Teacher is a crude disrespectful movie that should not be viewed by children because of nudity, foul language, crude humor, and sexual content. But overall if youâ
  57. Nov 18, 2011
    2
    I didn't even watch the movie entirely. It seemed terrible already from the start, - and the main actor looks so annoying I wanted to punch that stupid blonde. Stupid movie. Not worth watching.
  58. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    If you really want to see a movie that isn't funny at all, has bad acting and is over the top, watch it! These were the most useless 2 hours 8've spent to a movie in a very long time!
  59. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    We started watching this film with our 13yr old kid but I have to say with the language and the sex talk that goes off there is no way it should be rated a 12+ ...............................we turned it off and watched when the kids were in bed but even then it was not a good film.............................................such a dissapointment ......................
  60. Dec 16, 2011
    4
    Unfortunately, like most Hollywood comedies, Bad Teacher is weighed down by all the heavy plot that stunts Cameron Diazâ
  61. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    Bad Teacher is a bad movie. Billed as the raunchiest film since Bad Santa, my expectations were high. As far as I'm concerned, the raunchier the better, but seldom is a film that calls itself raunchy, actually raunchy. Cameron Diaz was terrific, but the story was extremely weak. There is zero character development, I wanted to punch most of the supporting cast, and as far as being funny,Bad Teacher is a bad movie. Billed as the raunchiest film since Bad Santa, my expectations were high. As far as I'm concerned, the raunchier the better, but seldom is a film that calls itself raunchy, actually raunchy. Cameron Diaz was terrific, but the story was extremely weak. There is zero character development, I wanted to punch most of the supporting cast, and as far as being funny, it's only good for a snicker here and there. It's a predictable story about a gold digging whore seeking money to get her boobs done. Parts of it are painful and the rest of it is just stupid. Honestly, if it wasn't for the word this movie would be rated PG-13. Diaz is a fantastic actress and the story had so many possibilities, but they were all overlooked. The result, another mediocre, overrated comedy billing itself as raunchy. Expand
  62. Jan 25, 2012
    0
    This movie is vulgar, unfunny and a total waste of time. She doesn't gets what she deserves and its definitely not the teacher I would trust my kids with!
  63. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    One of the most interesting films ever, is not very funny, but the performance of Cameron Diaz is awesome, is good film. Bad Teacher is a good normal film. That's all.
  64. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    This movie gets more and more annoying every time it comes on. Which is every day. The only reason I turn to it for less than a minute is to see Justin Timberlake.
  65. Mar 17, 2012
    5
    It has it's moments, but not enough. Cameron Diaz is great in the lead role but that doesn't over shadow the fact that pretty much all of the characters are unlikeable and that its premise is really weak. The sad fact is that these problems maybe could have been forgiven if the film was just funnier.
  66. Sep 1, 2014
    3
    Cameron Diaz in another easy, typical Cameron Diaz role. Sure, I laughed, I smiled. But I wasn't left with very much more. With a premise such as this, the director and actors truly need to push the wallet--and Bad Teacher didn't.
  67. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    Bad teacher is one of those movies that looked funny from the trailer but watching it, the trailer only used the funny parts which was about 2 lines in a over hour and half movie. Just another movie that tried to be funny and came up way way to short.
  68. Jun 19, 2012
    2
    This movie really didn't have anything going for it aside from having....uh what was her name?....in it. Poor acting, poor story, and completely unrealistic. I was bored out of my skull watching this movie and when the "funny" parts came, it was more groans and "did they really just do that?" kind of moments.
  69. Sep 2, 2012
    7
    The movie looked great from the trailer, except the only problem was....those seemed to be all the funny parts. I liked that the main character didn't change in the end. I still liked it though. The setting was funny coming from a teacher's perspective.
  70. Jul 28, 2012
    7
    Bad Teacher is 2011 comedy from the writers of The US Office starring Cameron Diaz as a gold-digging, unscrupulous and rule-breaking high school teacher.

    Diaz plays the renegade teacher role with relish and is the highlight of the film. The Office style humour comes through in the form of some quirky characters, none more so than Lucy Punch's angelic and sugary sweet contrast to
    Bad Teacher is 2011 comedy from the writers of The US Office starring Cameron Diaz as a gold-digging, unscrupulous and rule-breaking high school teacher.

    Diaz plays the renegade teacher role with relish and is the highlight of the film. The Office style humour comes through in the form of some quirky characters, none more so than Lucy Punch's angelic and sugary sweet contrast to Diaz's character and the dolphin obsessed principal.

    The concept of a teacher not really giving a damn, not learning her pupil's names, providing education through the showing of films and turning up hungover most days is a promising one that could have yielded stronger material. That being said, I don't understand some of the low reviews this film received. Without being laugh out loud funny, Bad Teacher is a decent enough comedy providing you accept it for what it is, a fairly trashy comedy with a predictable ending.
    Expand
  71. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Very predictable, but still a few good laughs. I really thought that Cameron Diaz was a little to old to play opposite Timberlake - it really made her look her age...
  72. May 2, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Elizabeth Halsey returns back to the school that she had just left the previous year, after her marriage to her wealthy fiancé is called off. Though she wants nothing more than to be married to a rich provider, she continues to teach to save money for her desired breast implants. All the while she constructs devious plans to procure what she desires; whether that is cash or the heart of a rich substitute teacher. Throughout her year at the school a zealous teacher tries everything in her power to show the school what a terrible teacher she is, and yet has her plans foiled, and backfired on her every time. This movie does not have many good qualities or morals to glean from. Halseyâ Expand
  73. Oct 18, 2012
    3
    It's just a stupid movie. Every single laugh is in the red band trailer. The rest of the hour and a half is filled with dick jokes and attempting to have the audience like an awful human being. I'm not kidding when I say "Jack and Jill" was funnier. And I HATED that movie.
  74. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    The film is alright but it relies to heavily on Cameron Diaz's ability to get away with extremely crude references. I thought that Jason Segal was brilliant but him aside, the film was a little of a bore at times. I also enjoyed the cameo from Modern Family's Eric Stonestreet, who plays a slightly contrasting mod biker.
  75. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    A funny but, ultimately, unmemorable film, as this falls into the "typical studio comedy" trap, where plot points are telegraphed from miles away and any originality has been stripped away and replaced with marketability. Sad that this is what Cameron Diaz's career has come to, as she (and Timberlake/Segel) is better than this material.
  76. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    The purpose of the similarly titled 'Bad Santa' was to exploit something society thought of as innocent to the highest level possible. Bad Teacher attempts to do the same, but the supporting characters are so dreadful that we begin to root for Diaz, thwarting the film's entire objective.
  77. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Cameron Diaz is terrific in this, the best I've seen her in years. The big problem with Bad Teacher (and Young Adult with Charlize Theron) is that the ending is sympathetic towards a character that's anything but sympathetic. Besides those inconsistencies, Bad Teacher is hilarious and entertaining.
  78. Jan 5, 2013
    0
    Absolutely terrible and the worst movie I have ever seen. I'm not a fan of American comedies, but this one takes the cake. Horrible characters, mediocre and predictable plot, meh acting, and the humor is just not funny. The main character is a terrible person and there was NOTHING charming about it. How can you even pretend this is revolutionairy or good? This movie tottally sucked and myAbsolutely terrible and the worst movie I have ever seen. I'm not a fan of American comedies, but this one takes the cake. Horrible characters, mediocre and predictable plot, meh acting, and the humor is just not funny. The main character is a terrible person and there was NOTHING charming about it. How can you even pretend this is revolutionairy or good? This movie tottally sucked and my family agrees. Expand
  79. May 13, 2013
    0
    Very very bad movie!
    No history, no humor, character zero!
    Pity to have lost time on this film!
    Normally Cameron Diaz is a good actress but on this film... Just a stupid teacher
  80. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    i expected less from this movie but it just impressed me when I saw it. It has some great actors, cameron diaz was a great actor to be the bad teacher and the plot is not that bad. I laughed at some moments and that's all. just another american comedy. only that this one was a bit of funny
  81. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    Cameron Diaz is raunchy, profane, and not fit to be a teacher at all, but you have to admit she succeeds with fulfilling these terms pretty well, as well as being quite shocking.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    It IS consistently funny. Its trash-can humor is tasteless, no doubt, but hey, that doesn't make it unpalatable.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 26, 2011
    50
    Bad Teacher revels in being distasteful. But it can't just let a bad woman be bad; she also has to be burdened with physical insecurity, even if it makes no sense. Can you imagine if Billy Bob Thornton's character had become Bad Santa so he could steal to fund his penis implant?
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 26, 2011
    40
    From time to time, Bad Teacher gestures vaguely at the movie it could have been. Diaz slouches and snarls effectively through the early scenes. It isn't till we realize her redemption will be unsatisfying that the character starts to curdle.