New Line Cinema | Release Date: October 6, 2000
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 25 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
17
Mixed:
4
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SethB.May 14, 2001
The only reson I can't give this movie a 10 is the ending left something to be desired. The overall movie itself however was brilliant, even if it was painfull to watch at times. What Lee was attacking was not only the media and blacks The only reson I can't give this movie a 10 is the ending left something to be desired. The overall movie itself however was brilliant, even if it was painfull to watch at times. What Lee was attacking was not only the media and blacks that all too often ignorantly self parody themselves, it was society itself. In case nobody got it, it was almost a direct attack on the televison show,"In Living Color" showing the many parallels between it and the minstrel show. Society loved that show, and the question Lee asks without ever asking is 'Why?' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomAug 3, 2002
Brilliant! IT really makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Mar 25, 2007
This is the most moving film I've seen in years. We had a party at my college where students wore "blackface" and, you know, I couldn't figure out what to think about it. On one hand, they were well meaning kids just going for This is the most moving film I've seen in years. We had a party at my college where students wore "blackface" and, you know, I couldn't figure out what to think about it. On one hand, they were well meaning kids just going for yucks and trying to have fun - and it was funny. On the other, it seems like they, like the white tv producers in this film, perhaps love hip-hop culture themselves but as a joke they don't seem to quite even understand - and there's a certain horror in that. Lee is criticized for not having a clear answer to his problem, well, and for not being clear in general. I disagree. There are certainly ambiguities along the way - Wayans' character development could've gone smoother. But Lee's great strength in dealing with race, and what made Do the Right Thing so great, is that he portrays all the nuanced positions in the debate in relation to each other, so that all the truths and all the absurdities of positions you actually identify with come through. The film is actually best (not worst) at its finish (although the action sequence is agreeably a bit much - perhaps fashioned after Natural Born Killers). In the very end, the tone we are left with is mournful. Lee profoundly asks, "What would it take to grieve our past so that its ghosts no longer haunt us?" Those reviewers who felt the film was confused just think there ought to be easy answers. Do the Right Thing, one of the greatest films ever made, did much of what this film did better - but this is as close as Lee has come to repeating himself as prophetic, bittersweet, funny, charming, greek tragedian. Underneath all the vitriol that gets tossed around is still the profound humanity of that film - but only in the end and "backstage". Is there a filmic sequence more poignant than when various members of the audience of the minstrel show, in black face (at first you are horrified they are in black face at all, and using the word nigger) stand and announce that they too are "niggers." You start thinking, well, it's not demeaning to black people then; it's a white fantasy and people are really joining together. But then that romanticized dream of universal-niggerdom comes quickly crashing down, when you remember the horror of what "niggerdom" actually means, when you realize the most authentically unique character in the film will be erased as a person by this movement. It's just so heart rending you can't help but join Lee in quietly letting go of the judging anger, the tittering glee, the capitalist free-for-all, the romantic conformism and you just have to sit still and watch and allow yourself to feel grief. He's got it nailed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenJun 7, 2008
It boggles my mind how a film like "You don't mess with the Zohan" can have a metacritic score higher than that of Bamboozled. How does that even happen? If anything, it shows the current state that we are in as a society -- where a It boggles my mind how a film like "You don't mess with the Zohan" can have a metacritic score higher than that of Bamboozled. How does that even happen? If anything, it shows the current state that we are in as a society -- where a quick fix of laughter is more "enjoyable" than a brooding dark comedy/tragedy. For all the reservations I have of Spike Lee as a director and a spokesmodel for everything that is "colored", this film was excellent in almost every way. I am fully aware that Lee fails to answer his own questions on race. Unfortunately, that is the problem with the whole notion of race. It being a social construction, there really is no "solution" for it. Using a rather postmodern approach, Lee explains this in an eloquent manner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.May 25, 2001
Brilliant. A staggering media piece turns into a genuine masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelF.Mar 29, 2002
The Bad Stuff: A bit preachy and over-the-top. It got to just be silly and sterotypes white people. The Good Stuff: Acting, screenplay, humor, drama. It was really touching and an all-out important film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpongeeeMay 29, 2006
Top 10 movie of all time. So many layers to enjoy this film on. Captures the struggle of African Americans in a white world, esp. when it involves billions of dollars, the media, and our culture as a country.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LynneH.Dec 19, 2001
This film is brilliant on so many levels that it leaves one gasping for breath. Lee asks questions about assimilation, about striving, about survival, about selling out, and, especially, about negative stereotypes. He is vicious, but he This film is brilliant on so many levels that it leaves one gasping for breath. Lee asks questions about assimilation, about striving, about survival, about selling out, and, especially, about negative stereotypes. He is vicious, but he skewers both black and white culture. His greatest point to me deals with negative, derogatory, stereotypes and why people to this day traffic in them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful